Aug. 19th, 2012

castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Peter and Neal / sallymn)
Guys, I had all those fannish thoughts that I meant to share with you, what with the season finale of Teen Wolf and the latest episode of White Collar and my having seen Magic Mike, but then I hit a bit of a wall in Phase 2 of Thesis and it kinda drove all the fannish thoughts away. I had to face the fact that aforementioned Phase 2 is not going as fast as I hoped it would and that I would not be able to meet the deadline. So I decided to be brave and just bit the bullet; I sent an email to my thesis advisor asking for an extension. She answered today telling me she didn't mind but that she didn't know whether Admin would be ok with it - she at least gave me one more week and is going to check whether I can have more. Honestly, the week is better than nothing but I'm not sure it'll be enough - two weeks would be perfect, especially as I'm going back to work next week.

In any case, I'm grateful that she didn't make me feel like a failure or anything. Honestly, she's a wonderful thesis advisor; she never made me feel like I didn't deserve to be a student just because I'm a "school returnee" so to speak and because I actually have a full-time job that, yes, comes before classes. Believe me when I say this isn't the case of all the professors I had.

Anyway, I'm not out of the wood yet and there's no guarantee I'll be able to defend in September, I might have to enroll again and do it next year in June, but that additional week at least means I have one more chance, so there is that :-)

Wait, I'll end this entry on a fannish note, after all. So, the Teen Wolf season finale: I did enjoy it a lot but, once the excitement over it was over, I suppose it was kinda cutting because of potential spoilers blahblah )

Then onto the White Collar spoilers for Honour Among Thieves ) Mind you, the good news is that even after four years, WhiCo still GIVES ME ALL THE FEELINGS :-)

And then Magic Mike! No reviews or spoilers but I'll just say that I loved it. It was fun, a lot of fun - we laughed so many times! - but also touching and sweet. And the numbers? The numbers were fine! And I didn't even have The Motts! Or only once, but it doesn't count. Anyway, I'd definitely rec it. Not, I'm sure, that many of you even needed to be convinced ;-)

Profile

castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
Mouse

January 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 08:44 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios