I'm feeling a little melancholic today - it's the date, I know - so I decided to stay home and focus on my happy place, which I decided - totally at random - would be Numb3rs. And when I say it was randomly picked? Yes, I'm lying.
Though wait, today is a nice date for someone so a Happy Birthday to
hearsawho. Hope you'll keep your SG love for a long time to come, you're like a beacon of positivity in a fandom that usually loves to thrive on negativity *hugs*
Back to Numb3rs now. I saw the preview for "In Plain Sight"! I finally saw it, yay! CBS site? You do suck, but sometimes you get with the program, so thank you. Also, I cannot wait for that episode, it's going to be brilliant! Also also I wouldn't have thought of Colby dying if it weren't for my flist's freak out lol So now, even though I didn't imagine that Colby would be the one to die in that ep - like at all - I'll still worry because my flist made me. Bad flist, bad!
Hey guys, do you sometimes go back to your tv reviews? I do that sometimes - in particular the very first ones cause I'm always amused to see the Very First Reactions to a show. Like, was it love at first sight or did I have to try several times? This isn't a meme, but let's pretend it's one, gacked from er, well okay me *sigh* So I paid a little visit to my Numb3rs tags and found the very first entries I wrote for that series:
Very First mini-review - 1x01 [short sample]
"I think I'm going to dig Numb3rs really much, and Don and Charlie a lot too. Their dad as well. They make a very good team and I'll enjoy seeing them interact with each other *g* Most of the characters were interesting, actually. I think it'll be a blast *g*"
Second mini-review - 1x02 [ditto]
"The relationships between Don and Charlie or Don, Charlie and their father are quite wonderful. Charlie is so fucking smart but has lots of issues and even though Don might not always understand how everything works in his brother's mind, he still knows exactly when to be comforting and tender to Charlie or when to be tough and push him - they love each other so very much, it's just plain sweet."
Though these are samples, the first reviews weren't that long yet anyway. It seems I waited until 1x08 to do one that required a cut. Oh and at the time I wasn't slashing the brothers at all. I even asked myself at one point whether it was possible to fall for a "gen pairing". Gen.pairing. Dude! *is amused* But anyway, when I go back to those first reviews, I realise that a) I totally got the brothers' well er, number and b) it truly was Love At First Sight.
And because a pimping job is never done - or because even as a fan you sometimes miss stuff. I share - with their creaters' permissions - my four favourite vids [RapidShare links for three of them - unlimited downloads]
Numb3rs vids are here - they'll contain spoilers for pretty much all of s1, btw.
Disease by
wistful_fever
Writing Numb3rs by
daughtershade
Someone Might Have Been by
merryish, this link is to her site. Second vid is the one I'm talking about.
Lullaby by
chi1013
They're all absolutely gorgeous. And I dare you to look at me in the eyes and tell me you're not even the slightest interested in those brothers or this series. Come on I DARE YOU!
And finally, two clips from 2x06 - "Soft Target"
Don and Charlie during the CalSci scene
Don and Charlie during the dinner scene
Though wait, today is a nice date for someone so a Happy Birthday to
Back to Numb3rs now. I saw the preview for "In Plain Sight"! I finally saw it, yay! CBS site? You do suck, but sometimes you get with the program, so thank you. Also, I cannot wait for that episode, it's going to be brilliant! Also also I wouldn't have thought of Colby dying if it weren't for my flist's freak out lol So now, even though I didn't imagine that Colby would be the one to die in that ep - like at all - I'll still worry because my flist made me. Bad flist, bad!
Hey guys, do you sometimes go back to your tv reviews? I do that sometimes - in particular the very first ones cause I'm always amused to see the Very First Reactions to a show. Like, was it love at first sight or did I have to try several times? This isn't a meme, but let's pretend it's one, gacked from er, well okay me *sigh* So I paid a little visit to my Numb3rs tags and found the very first entries I wrote for that series:
Very First mini-review - 1x01 [short sample]
"I think I'm going to dig Numb3rs really much, and Don and Charlie a lot too. Their dad as well. They make a very good team and I'll enjoy seeing them interact with each other *g* Most of the characters were interesting, actually. I think it'll be a blast *g*"
Second mini-review - 1x02 [ditto]
"The relationships between Don and Charlie or Don, Charlie and their father are quite wonderful. Charlie is so fucking smart but has lots of issues and even though Don might not always understand how everything works in his brother's mind, he still knows exactly when to be comforting and tender to Charlie or when to be tough and push him - they love each other so very much, it's just plain sweet."
Though these are samples, the first reviews weren't that long yet anyway. It seems I waited until 1x08 to do one that required a cut. Oh and at the time I wasn't slashing the brothers at all. I even asked myself at one point whether it was possible to fall for a "gen pairing". Gen.pairing. Dude! *is amused* But anyway, when I go back to those first reviews, I realise that a) I totally got the brothers' well er, number and b) it truly was Love At First Sight.
And because a pimping job is never done - or because even as a fan you sometimes miss stuff. I share - with their creaters' permissions - my four favourite vids [RapidShare links for three of them - unlimited downloads]
Numb3rs vids are here - they'll contain spoilers for pretty much all of s1, btw.
Disease by
Writing Numb3rs by
Someone Might Have Been by
Lullaby by
They're all absolutely gorgeous. And I dare you to look at me in the eyes and tell me you're not even the slightest interested in those brothers or this series. Come on I DARE YOU!
And finally, two clips from 2x06 - "Soft Target"
Don and Charlie during the CalSci scene
Don and Charlie during the dinner scene
no subject
Date: 2005-11-15 04:47 pm (UTC)Exactly my thoughts! We tend to think alike! ;D
And falling for a gen-pairing...you are scary because I had about the same thought.
Soft target...don't you think that Charlie looks way too old in the year book? Besides I missed the curls. They are his trademark and I tend to have that picture stuck in my mind with teenage Don ruffling through little Charlie's curls...so that album photo does *not* exist in my book. My young Charlie was curly haired! :p
no subject
Date: 2005-11-15 10:15 pm (UTC)Charlie does look a bit too old in the year book. In particular considering that I saw some caps of DK in that Addams movie when he was thirteen/fourteen and yeah, he certainly looked younger in reality. And I love the curls as well so tend to imagine a Charlie who pretty much always had them. As it happens, The Curls are kinda recent if his previous roles are any indication... but it's a new trademark I love beyond the telling of it, so I can only hope he'll keep them lol
no subject
Date: 2005-11-15 05:08 pm (UTC)LoL :) Well, if the random pick is between Numb3rs and let's say.... numb3rs, then you're not technically lying.
And 'bout Colby dying? I haven't seen the preview, but I'm worried sick right now (witch isn't really healthy/normal, but that's old news)
Thank you for the vid links! the bloody site wont let download all of them now but I loved the first one :)
And I dare you to look at me in the eyes and tell me you're not even the slightest interested in those brothers or this series. Anybody who can do that needs their eyes and ears checked (I have a thing for Don's voice :)
I already have the whole episode otherwise I'd be stealing those two clips faster than you can say Charlie and Don playing with whipped cream splenda' :)
/Tanger
no subject
Date: 2005-11-15 10:16 pm (UTC)I love the way you think!
You're welcome for the links. And do you mean you couldn't download Merry's vid? Cause if it caused problem, let me know and I'll upload it, no problem *g*
I'd be stealing those two clips faster than you can say Charlie and Don playing with whipped cream splenda' :)
LOL Dude, I love the way you think :-)
no subject
Date: 2005-11-15 10:49 pm (UTC)No, It was just some stupid "no more downloading within the hour". but that's fixed now, and I have all the slashy goodness I need. For today that is; tomorrow I'll need a whole new batch (totally unrelated: did you know Rob named his daughter "Tu Morrow"? Feels a little cruel to me, but :P)
LOL Dude, I love the way you think :-)
Why thank you :) inspiration comes easily with all you people corrupting little 'ol me *whistles*
Also? You got me hooked on Supernaturals brotherly *cough* love. Witch wouldn't be so bad if I had seen anything from the show. Or knew what it was about... (okey I have the vauge basics, but besides that? nope :) Not sure I even would watch it if I could, I visited the homepage and it scared me shitless (sometimes I'm such a girl)
But what can I say? The picspams, the fic, the videos... I can live in the fandom, that's fine:)
/Tanger
no subject
Date: 2005-11-15 11:20 pm (UTC)Good to hear. Also, I just added a fourth - I was waiting for her permission to share *g* So if you don't already have it -> Lullaby (http://rapidshare.de/files/7668521/Numb3rs_Lullaby.wmv.html) by
did you know Rob named his daughter "Tu Morrow"? Feels a little cruel to me
I've heard about it and er, I think it's better if I don't comment because seriously! Though it is funny - just not for the poor kid, of course lol
Hail to you getting hooked on SPN "brotherly *cough* love" As for knowing what it's about you have synopses and previews and other goodies at the WB (http://thewb.warnerbros.com/web/show.jsp?id=SN) site. Though wait, I guess that's the "homepage" you were talking about? And yeah, it certainly is freaky now and then [read, more often than not lol] but apparently I love being scared shitless. Of course the brother dynamic and the angst have a lot to do with my love for that show *eg*
no subject
Date: 2005-11-16 12:04 am (UTC)and yes, that's the homepage.. ah, who needs synopsis anyway? :P And yes, the disfunctional but hot brotherly thing is something this one and numb3rs have in common.... we need more of those shows:)
no subject
Date: 2005-11-15 08:13 pm (UTC)I haven't even seen the preview but I've heard so much about it I'm really starting to freak out here. *g*
I even asked myself at one point whether it was possible to fall for a "gen pairing".
Gen paring. You're just freaking adorable, you know that, right?
no subject
Date: 2005-11-15 10:19 pm (UTC)Gen paring. You're just freaking adorable, you know that, right?
Well, I do now lol
The one with the Eppes brothers
Date: 2005-11-15 08:32 pm (UTC)*hides 'I <3 Don' shirts* no.way. *erases all entries dedicated to Don love* fangirling the Eppes brothers is so.wrong.
and no, I didn't stay up until midnight watching Numb3rs last night and bounced like wow whenever Don was on screen and whenever Charlie's hair was mentionnedRe: The one with the Eppes brothers
Date: 2005-11-15 10:21 pm (UTC)I know you didn't. I mean, who would stay up til midnight to watch THAT show? Much less bounce all the time.Re: The one with the Eppes brothers
Date: 2005-11-15 11:09 pm (UTC)I actually hurt myself bouncing and knitting at the same time - my love for Don hurts, dude!Re: The one with the Eppes brothers
Date: 2005-11-15 11:23 pm (UTC)See this? Is as credible as saying that in 1000 years I'll have forgotten that you didn't tell me about your creating your own LJ *looks innocent*
Take notes! Next time, stop knitting before you not watch Numb3rs!Re: The one with the Eppes brothers
Date: 2005-11-15 11:27 pm (UTC)not knitting while watching a show? *blinks* interesting concept...You're right. I should focus on Him... *bats lashes*no subject
Date: 2005-11-15 09:30 pm (UTC)I realise that a) I totally got the brothers' well er, number and b) it truly was Love At First Sight.
*falls all over you with hugs and kisses*
I heart you. so. much.
(And I'm not sure who started the rumor that it was gonna be Colby, but I never got that vibe, so rest assured. *shifty eyes* OMG, he's sure to die now that I've said that! *weg*)
no subject
Date: 2005-11-15 10:23 pm (UTC)*beams* *kisses back*
(Dude, it's totally Audra's fault! I love her too much to blame her for real, but she's the one who started it. And god! Do you think you jinxed it too? Not Colby, dude! Not when I was warming up to him. But just - the preview so doesn't make me worry... We'll see, anyway.)
no subject
Date: 2005-11-16 06:15 pm (UTC);)
no subject
Date: 2005-11-17 01:37 pm (UTC)