Heroes

May. 22nd, 2004 03:16 am
castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Happy Couple / thefakeheadline)
[personal profile] castalie
I'm calm, I'm relaxed. You know, it's funny because I'm pretty zen-like in RL, really relaxed and quiet - I don't even know if it comes across my LJ, I'm wondering about that all of a sudden lol-- but as soon as my computer and internet are concerned, I very quickly lose my cool. I know it's not important in the grand scheme of things, but damn, it just gets to me.

Anyway... I watched "Heroes" tonight and I wanted to talk about it - remember it was the first time for me *g* Well, I watched the second part to be exact. During the first part, there was an asylum - made of Auré, Henry, Ali and Momo - settling in the computer room and since I wanted to see what was happening to Clark, I didn't leave and only saw what was happening without hearing it so I'll have to wait tomorrow to watch my tape. But when second episode started, I couldn't resist anymore and left everyone to watch it in peace.

Well before starting anything, let me tell you that I adored part two of "Heroes". It gave me goosebumps and made cry a lot. It was painful and heartbreaking - I didn't really know what to expect, but it was so much more than what I could have imagined.

First, there were the way the episode was filmed that I really enjoyed. How each time we saw an interview, it looked like a real interview - it looked so real, not like how a fictional episode is filmed, but how a real documentary would be. It gave a particular feel to those scenes, IMHO. It felt like we left fiction to enter the realm of reality - and we all know reality is pretty bad. It gave a sense of doom somehow, I just really liked this trick *g*

Then, there was the no music thing. It's always funny how you tend to forget that pretty much every show/movie under the sun uses music to enhance the impact of some particular scenes, how you tend to forger that music is used to sometimes nudge the audience toward the proper emotion to feel. You usually only realize how much you're used to hearing background music when... it suddenly gets silent. It's oppressive somehow. In a good way, of course, it makes things look/sound so much more real, but it's oppressive. That's one of the things I really liked in "Heroes". Though I should have to watch it a second time to really see if it wasn't just me feeling all tense and not hearing anything anymore lol

That said, they did break the silence at least twice... and if the second one was pretty poignant to me - at the very end, when Daniel gives the tape to Emmett - the first one really grated on my nerves. Did they want me to believe in Jack/Sam? Sorry, didn't work - not even with the bad ass music in the background. I only saw someone comforting a close friend who just lost someone and who felt lost herself. That's what I saw.

Oh and there also was the way the interview was showed, the one when we jumped from Daniel to Sam to Teal'c in a maddening dance of questions and answers. I really love the rhythm of a scene conducted that way. And I enjoyed Daniel's departure tremendously. Here was the man who looked System Lords in the face and laughed at them, did Woolsey really think he could intimidate a man like that? *smirk*

Second, and now that the not-so-little-details are out of the way, let's start with the big stuff. The episode turned around the studies of the different characters after all - even more so than usual since we were dealing with a really human issue here, we were dealing with something really traumatic, ie the loss of someone really close to not only SG-1 but the audience as well. It wasn't a faceless soldier dying here, or a Tok'ra we saw from time to time and who was more or less detached to everything that went on at the SGC, here it was our very own Janet Frasier, Janet who had been part of the SGC as much as Jack, Daniel, Sam or Tea'lc. Yes, SG-1 (and the audience) had gone through the loss of someone important once, but Daniel wasn't dead per se, he was ascended and he did come back in the end. Here... it was another matter altogether, here the death was definitely real, and there would be no coming back.

So yes, it was different - and I think Hammond summed it up perfectly when he told Sam that even though every man and woman under his command is important to him, some of them can't help being more important somehow. They're just different, and it definitely felt that way to us too!

So yes, I said I was going to talk about the characters. I really loved Sam and Daniel in that episode. I hate when I'm watching a show with a dramatic and sad storyline and I'm the only one who feels things. I'm just watching the drama whereas the characters are supposed to be living it, and I expect them to show me they're touched by what is happening, I want them to show me they're really there, going through a difficult time and feeling it from deep inside them. I hate robots, I hate stoic characters. Sam, Daniel, Teal'c and Hammond did show me it wasn't just a fake death on a screen, they were totally lost in the face of such a traumatic event. They were devastated.

Ah yes, Hammond? I like his character well enough, he's pretty much always there for SG-1, always supportive, he never caves in to the pressure coming from TPTB, he believes in what he does, so I really like him, but to me he was very often just the guy who got to order SG-1 around, the 'SG-1, you have a go' kinda guy. I'm exaggerating of course, we did see him take action when he was needed, but to me he was never better than in "Heroes". I loved him today, I swear. He was everywhere... not only as the General but as the friend as well... yeah, he rocked my world lol

Sam now, she started to make me cry as soon as they were back from the mission, you could see she was crying and apparently been at it for a while, and it just moved me so much... it was only the beginning, of course, since we were all heading toward the revelation. I'm glad she was asked to write Janet's eulogy. I didn't see who could have done it anyway. She made me cry again when she was writing it and crying herself - the scene with Teal'c right after was so beautiful *sigh* I loved the fact that he participated in writing the thing and gave Sam his own text.

Daniel, ah my poor Daniel as well, I ached so much for him. I realized he'd been once again witness to the death of someone he cared about. I loved the intensity of his look for most of the episode - I don't know, it felt so.. powerful somehow, deep, know what I mean? I really enjoyed his scenes with Emmett too. When Bregman tells him about the importance of some pictures, of the view we have of them, it was really a great scene, and I started to see Emmett differently as well. So far, he'd been annoying and I wanted to kick his ass, but after this scene, he looked different. The other scene I enjoyed was at the very end, when he tells Daniel he won't use the tape after all and when Daniel shows he really heard him and gives him permission to do it. As painful as it was, Daniel is right, the tape did show who Janet was - someone whose goal was to save lives, at the risk of losing hers. Heroes should never stay hidden.

Daniel was indeed the only member of SG-1 who didn't get a comfort hug; it pained me, but it felt like something Daniel would do... isolate himself. It did break my heart though to see him all alone, sitting in the dark in that corner, crying. But like I said, it looked like something he would do. And let's not forget he actually saw Janet die... I think he needed some time alone, anyway.

Now, about the main event - I have to see I disagree with a lot of the entries I saw. I saw it really differently *g*

I remember reading how some people hated Janet's death, I mean, the way she died and hated how the scene has been shown, how it was almost an anti-climax because it happened so fast and it was almost like the audience had been tricked or something. I have to say I disagree with it. I thought her death scene was perfect because it happened so fast.

In a second, tops, a life is taken away. That's what happens to people in RL - in war or otherwise. I'm glad the writers decided to show it like this... somehow to film a dramatic and long death scene would have cheapened it to me. And yes, it's just my opinion *g* I thought Janet's death was so traumatic - apart from the obvious - because it was so swift. It looked so fucking real - one second she's here, trying and succeeding in saving someone's live, the next she's dead.

It made me shiver, it was so good. It did give me goosebumps, yes. That and Daniel's cries when he realizes she's been shot and he knows it has to be bad. The fact that we don't even *see* anything at this point, only hear his screams made the whole scene so much powerful and painful.

To my eyes, Janet's death scene was beautiful and heart-wrenching in the sense that there was no artifice. And it made me cry like you wouldn't believe... I couldn't believe it actually. I mean, I knew it was coming, I'd been waiting for it, but once it was done, it felt surreal somehow. And since it did happen so fast, it felt like my mind had some trouble grasping the concept that Janet was gone... she was dead, there wouldn't be any miracle, it was over. Talk about a powerful moment! Know what? I can't even imagine what it would have been like if I hadn't *known* she would die in that episode *shudder*

And let's not talk about the funeral. Oh man. It was so poignant... the moment that did it for me is when Sam starts to recite the names of all those people Janet saved at the SGC. It was a wonderful move that one... and I felt so proud of Janet too, you know? She'd died saving someone else life... she's been saving lives all along, there aren't many things that can equal that *g* It was a beautiful moment. That and the scene when Daniel goes visit Simon and his wife - how cute Daniel looked with the teddy bear btw *melts* - and we realize they named the baby after Janet. Janet didn't die in vain... we knew it, but we had the perfect prove in front of us... beautiful scene *sigh*

I did think there was something lacking with Cassie's absence somehow, but I guess they didn't have time to show everything, and I'll survive her absence even though it did feel weird... but whatever. Also, loved the very last scene... I never like Jack more than when he's serious and not pulling his dumb-ass routine.

To make a long story short - as if! - I adored this episode. It was beautiful.

And oh wow! When did I lose control of this entry? Didn't realize it was so long... well, I guess I needed to write it, right? lol

Date: 2004-05-21 06:00 pm (UTC)
ext_16871: (SG teddy)
From: [identity profile] nicci-mac.livejournal.com
I'm glad you enjoyed Heroes. I loved that episode too but I dont think it's one I'll be watching over and over-- too sad. ::sniffs::

Date: 2004-05-22 01:58 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
I know I'll watch at least once, once I watch the first part, but somehow, this is going to be one of those episodes that are a tad too difficult for me to watch again.

It's like the last episode of Quantum Leap. I've had it on tape for almost ten years (OH MY!) but I only watched it twice.

But it *was* a wonderful episode *sigh* What was weird was than they showed The Curse afterward, and I couldn't help scream "She's alive, she's alive!". Of course they *had* to show an episode where we saw her a lot *sigh*

Date: 2004-05-21 06:06 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lornelover.livejournal.com
I loved those episodes. I'm excited for you to see the first part. They really work well together. I found the second part was even more poignant after the first, which is just so silly and lighthearted and highlights why we love these characters so much. There just a big, goofy family. And then the second part hits and you cry like a little bitch. At least I did. :) Man, I wish we'd kept better track of our tapes and not recorded over so many good eps of the season. D'oh! Now I wanna go back and watch it again. :)

Anyway, happy viewing!

Date: 2004-05-22 02:00 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
I've heard about the contrast between the two episodes-- I could more or less see it, even without the sound *g*
It really puts the second on in another perspective, doesn't it? The shock has to be so much bigger.

Definitely great episode. I was so not disappointed.

Date: 2004-05-21 06:08 pm (UTC)
ext_2551: gray flowers on a wallpaper (1000 things you would die for)
From: [identity profile] walkawayslowly.livejournal.com
Oh man, that was a good episode, definitely. And the part in your entry about the funeral made me start crying again. Sam reading off the names, and reading the names of SG-1 first, that was just awesome.

Glad you liked it. :)

Date: 2004-05-22 02:01 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
This is an episode that will make me cry over and over again, no matter how many times I watch it, I can already tell. And the moment when she reads the name was really powerful, I loved it *sigh*

I'm glad too lol Sometimes I'm afraid I won't get to feel the excitement I want to feel when I watch certain episodes in particular. Well, I wasn't cheated here *g*

Date: 2004-05-21 06:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] seiyaharris.livejournal.com
Mmm, yes, lots and lots of yes. That was pretty much my take on the ep. I saw bits and pieces of it on the season rerun a couple of weeks ago and you just articulated opinions of the show I didn't even know I had lol

Daniel & Sam broke my heart, and T (how much do I love that Jack calls him that?) and Hammond are perfect characters to roll in and hit you with an emotional moment when you least expect it. Daniel curled in the corner of the room in the dark, and then walking around the bed with the tape on it, talking about how he died in that bed. **sighs** Breaks mah heart *g*

Also, re Janet's actual death? Yes. That's the way it happens. The woman gets hit in the chest by a blast from a staff weapon, she's going to go down and stay there. That's war, that's what happens. Daniel's screams for a medic were heartfelt, as where Sam's tears. And I teared up at the end, during the eulogy when she just read off the list of people Janet saved, starting with herself.

What makes it sadder is reading an interview with Chris Judge and Michael Shanks, and them saying that they not only thing themselves it was a bad decision to cut Teryl, but also that they're of the opinion the producers feel that way too now there's going to be another season.

Ah well, we will forever remember her *g*

In other news, if you liked the extra weight and drama provided by the lack of music, have you seen the Buffy episode 'The Body'? Whole epidsode without music (again, an ep concerning the death of a semi-regular). On the reverse, there's 'Hush', next to no dialogue, an episode relying on the score. I fricking love Buffy, and Stargate lol I'm going now 'cause this is an essay! My apologies lol

Date: 2004-05-22 02:09 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
They broke my heart, really. Damn, they were perfect, all of them. But some moments were just stronger than others, and really the curl-in-a-dark-corner-alone-crying was one of them.

Well, maybe the producers should think a little more before offing one of their main characters lol I know that when I heard about Janet's death the first time, I was like, they're kidding, right? They're going to kill *Janet*? I always really liked Janet sometimes more than I liked Sam, but it's all the fault of the writers who makes her look like a teenager pining after the football team captain, and boy seeing her die was so bloody sad *tears up*

And speaking of her death, yay on you thinking the same thing btw *high fives*

Ohhhhh boy do I remember The Body? Yes, I do, and I do remember the no-music thing, I really love when they do that *g* As for Hush unfortunately I didn't see it yet, only extracts and I was already laughing my ass off, so it should be a blast when I finally do watch it *g*

Date: 2004-05-21 11:04 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] porntestpilot.livejournal.com
What [lj user="seiyaharris"> said, MS likes Heroes, it was well done [though personally I still agree with the first eppy he really liked, The Torment of Tantalus, still my fav and the one where I really feel in love with Daniel. Anyway.] The decision to kill off Janet was made when they thought they were done.

Then another season is coming, so they fucked up. I cried the entire second episode and I hated it. Not because it was bad but because Janet was the only female character on there I like anymore, AND I LOVE Teryl. Plus, Daniel just broke my heart.

But I'm glad you liked it Mousey. *mwah* I'm glad it moved you.

Date: 2004-05-22 02:12 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
From this point of view, it really looks like a waste. Damn. So it means that should they have known for sure a new season was coming, they wouldn't kill her yet? Way to feel her death even more painful *wails*

I really like Janet too-- well now it's just Sam. And the pining thing is getting sooooooooooooooo bloody old *sigh* And what about her boyfriend btw? Did the writers forget it? Did *she* forget about him? I don't get it.

I'm glad as well, as a matter of fact, I love when I watch something and it really makes me *feel* things *g*

*kisses*

Date: 2004-05-22 01:20 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] nostalgia-lj.livejournal.com
I was dreading the memorial for the mush-potential, but the whole 'list of the not dead' thing was fabulous. But the only bit that nearly made me cry was the Vietnam story. I loved that parallel between the photographer and Janet - the strange space between soldier and civilian.

Also totally with you on the sudden-death thing. The only way they cheated was trying to - bizarrely - make us think Jack was dead.

Eh, I laughed when they named the baby Janet though...

Date: 2004-05-22 02:15 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Yes, the story was good. It also put the whole thing in a bigger reality check somehow. I love when they do that.

This trying-to-make-us-believe-it-was-Jack was so lame. I mean... really *sigh* Anyway, if they wanted to play a bit, why the hell not, but I just thought it was lame.

I liked the baby thing --I have a thing for people naming their babies after other people for a reason-- even more than we were made to believe she was a he, so we did have a tiny bit of surprise. Well, you know what I mean lol

Date: 2004-05-22 06:33 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pirl.livejournal.com
Word. Every show sometime or another does the poingant death episode... and this one was one of the best I've ever seen (#1 was Buffy's mom, imo). TV shows *rarely* make me weepy, and this one had me a little choked up.

Great writing, great acting, great pace and the little cloak n' dagger about "who's dead?" worked really well. I had not idea she was going to die when I saw it and it totally took me by surprise.

Date: 2004-05-22 01:16 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
You're not the first to compare Janet's death to Joyce's and I totally agree with you all. Joyce's death was one of the first that totally blew me away *because* --once again-- it looked so very real. The Body and Heroes look alike in that regard, including the no-music thing, which I enjoyed so much.

TV shows *rarely* make me weepy, and this one had me a little choked up.

I'm not the only one then. I feel less lonely, believe me *g*

You hadn't been spoiled at all? Wow, it must have been quite a shock! I mean, I knew it was Janet who died --I asked to be spoiled, though-- and it totally blew me away when I did see it for myself anyway, so not knowing would have been... wow! lol


Date: 2004-05-22 07:47 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pirl.livejournal.com
You hadn't been spoiled at all? Wow, it must have been quite a shock!

It was a shock. They had me guessing the whole show. But I'm like that- I avoid spoilers like the plague. When LotR came out (in particular, the 3rd installment) I became paranoid that I'd find out accidentally what happened. Call me crazy, but being surprised is a lot of fun. *bg*

Profile

castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
Mouse

January 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 07:23 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios