castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Don & Charlie / kalena_henden)
[personal profile] castalie
Forgot to wish a happy birthday to [livejournal.com profile] greensilver yesterday. Sorry, girl, and a Happy Belated Birthday to you. Hope you had a fantastic day *hugs*

Since I never sleep, I watched Numb3rs 2x02 early this morning last night. Do some of you remember how even though I enjoyed the episode last week, there was something that felt off to me? Well DUDE! Nothing felt off this time, NOTHING!

Okay so if I did a Cliff's Notes version of the review? It would look like this: great Charlie scenes, great eppes!brothers scenes, great eppes!family scenes and hey! Cool math scenes!

And this is what makes me happy because it was like I had everything I loved back, just the way I loved them. Last week it felt as if the core elements of Numb3rs were there but altered somehow, this time it felt as if they were back to being the key element of the episode and it made me feel all tingly inside because watching one of your favourite shows with the feeling that something is missing isn't buddies so when things feel right, it's grand :-)

I loved the brothers scenes - every one of them. The first one was pretty cute - well, I thought Charlie was pretty cute, at least lol His rolling his eyes at his brother and his reproachful "I spent the whole night indexing" line made me smile. And all the others flowed wonderfully. Actually, last time, I really noticed when they were not together - here, it didn't matter because it felt like the connexion was still here even when they were separated. Definitely a nice feeling *nods*

Come to think of it, I actually had all the scenes I love with them: a) at the FBI b) at the university and c) at home. All the different aspects of their relationship/partnership were there to enjoy. How cool is that!

The eppes!family scenes were awesome as well - what else is new, really? First with the Alan-Charlie moment and the recap of Charlie's disastrous evening and then with the family moment. Here again, I also got both personal and "professional" moments, including daddy!Eppes coming to the rescue of his boy and being the one to push them into the right direction. Don't think it's only my Eppes Family bias, but dude! They do make one hell of a good team! Also, Alan made me laugh with his bookie ;-)

I enjoyed the math moments at lot too - and btw? I'm ever so grateful that they gave up on the davy crockett thing. But yeah, I really liked all the math moments - I felt right at home again.

The FBI scenes pleased me too - in particular the scenes with Charlie explaining one of his theories in front of a raptured audience. It even included Charlie playing with office supplies to explain and make his point - and I just love it when he does that. I also got the attentive!agents which I adored from season 1 - though it felt at one point like New Guy's smile was tad on the mocking side, but I told myself it's only because I don't like him that I saw that, so I'll shut up now.

It really looked like everything was back in place and it made a very happy camper :-)

On some random thoughts - and no, the previous thoughts were not random, thanks:

  • I still really like Megan - and I still enjoy how she's smart enough to know how to admit it when she doesn't understand something.


  • I still don't care about New Guy at all - I know his name is Colby, btw - but at least he blended in and he wasn't so much In Our Face this time, so he was less annoying than last time for me. See? Progress already.


  • Boy was Amita and Charlie's date awful! *cringe* Charlie is right, there's no way to explain how awful it was. Well. That will teach Charlie to have a date with someone who's not Don! Oh please! Don't tell me you didn't see that one coming.


  • Charlie called Don "bro" - that was cute. Did he call him that before?


  • And speaking of which, did Don call Charlie "buddy" during the family moment - when he asks what is wrong, you know? I missed it, so it's cool to have it back.


  • Speaking of that scene, Don's affected "It's an Eppes thing" made me laugh - it's the way he says it. You have to see/listen to the scene *g*


  • Chalk holder thingie doesn't please me at all. I know it's an odd thing to be fixated on but - I don't know, it doesn't ring Charlie to me. The visual isn't the same, is all *shrug* I wish they let him play with the chalk like they did in season 1 - and does it sound dirty to you, too? Maybe not. Okay, moving on! Not that I'd spend my life comparing the new season to the old one of course but he never used that kind of thing before so, like, the chalk thingie has to leave! I mean, please?


  • And okay speaking of things that don't compute... I'm kinda sad to say that Larry is grating on my nerves these days. There I said it. I liked his "Come on, my physics versus your geometry" line and that very last image of Charlie and him playing - but before that... he's kinda annoying me and this is so wrong! I mean, I love Larry. What is happening to me? *gasp*


  • And finally:

  • Penguin movie! Charlie saw the penguin movie! And seriously, I don't know how many penguin movies were released in the last months but I'm only thinking of one, ie the French penguin movie and just - that movie was so cool that my cool show mentioned it! *dies*


  • Oh that was good *beams*

    And to keep with the theme:

    #1: Some quotes from the episode by [livejournal.com profile] spikedluv.

    #2: A little tag for "Bettor or Worse" by [livejournal.com profile] spikedluv again. Don/Charlie warning...

    Totally unrelated now, the Kaamelott Quote of the Day - we so need a Kaamelott quotes comm around here!

    Yvain : [sur le sujet de la future campagne militaire qu'il devra faire]
    Je refuse d'aller me battre pour soutenir une politique d'expansion territoriale dont je ne reconnais pas la légitimité.

    Dois je ajouter qu'Yvain est le beau-frère du roi ?

    Date: 2005-10-02 12:03 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] sockich.livejournal.com
    - though it felt at one point like New Guy's smile was tad on the mocking side, but I told myself it's only because I don't like him that I saw that, so I'll shut up now.

    Actually, I thought so too...but I'm not a big fan of his either (though I loved the scene with him and David after they catch Remy and David smiles at Colby...uh yeah, hi, I'm weird) so I could be biased.

    Charlie called Don "bro" - that was cute. Did he call him that before?

    Yes! That was totally awesome. *might have rewatched the scene a hundred times* *g*

    Chalk holder thingie doesn't please me at all.

    Thank you! I so completely fucking agree! The thing annoys the hell out of me. Seriously what are they thinking, Charlie is so not a chalk holder kind of a guy!

    Overall, I agree that this episode was way better then last week's. Totally more season one-ish. :D

    Date: 2005-10-02 12:38 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Ah so maybe it wouldn't just be me? I think we'll have to watch the scene again to officially make up our minds. And maybe we should also re-watch the whole episode just to put it in the right context. Yeah...

    Ah! So I heard, right, seriously I loved that little moment *g*

    That was a great episode, it feels like we're back in business, now :-)

    Date: 2005-10-02 04:05 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] sockich.livejournal.com
    Ah so maybe it wouldn't just be me? I think we'll have to watch the scene again to officially make up our minds. And maybe we should also re-watch the whole episode just to put it in the right context. Yeah...

    Now that's my kind of a plan! Hey, it's all for purely research related reasons. *g*

    Date: 2005-10-02 12:19 pm (UTC)
    spikedluv: (don&charlie_myhero_justabi)
    From: [personal profile] spikedluv
    I missed Colby smiling mockingly at Charlie, but I wouldn't be surprised. Look at how he mocks Megan's points, last week about profiling and this week about blaming the crime women commit on men, blah, blah. He will start to get on my nerves if he doesn't tone it down, and if I'd seen that mocking smile.... I may have to go back and look, just to see, 'cause he could end up on my shit list sooner rather than later. *g*

    Also, 'bro'? OMG, I missed it! I-I can't believe it! I even watched it twice! *whines* Which scene was that?

    And yes, Don called Charlie 'buddy'. He called him 'buddy' a couple times last season, as well.

    The only thing I didn't like about Larry's scenes with Charlie is that he was trying to convince him to ask Amita out, and then to give it another shot. I just want to say, Shut up, Larry! Thank you very much.

    I'm beginning to see chalk as some kind of kink now, lol. Maybe it's a production thing and it got DKs hands and clothes too messy, or something. *grasps at straws*

    Hee! I have much love for your love of your penguin movie!!

    And also, family moments!!!! And wonderful Don/Charlie moments. I am so right there with you with the squee.

    And just because I'm anal, it's 'Bettor', you know, as in betting, gambling. If you care. *g*

    *icon love*

    Date: 2005-10-02 12:37 pm (UTC)
    enigel: Aziraphale shielding Crawly under his wing ([Numb3rs] [C/E] angles)
    From: [personal profile] enigel
    Charlie hates the chalk-holder, but after one too many suspicious-looking chalk traces on Don's shirts, he had to start using it.

    :D

    Date: 2005-10-02 12:49 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Ah see? That theory, I like. I like very much, even *bows to your perversion genius*

    Date: 2005-10-04 09:47 pm (UTC)
    spikedluv: (don&charlie_ineedyou_justabi)
    From: [personal profile] spikedluv
    LOL I want to see the missing scene that explains this. *bg*

    Date: 2005-10-02 12:40 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Damn, wanted to add something and totally messed up with the last comment *sigh*

    Actually, I'll have to watch that scene again because I really need to know whether it's true or not - ie, see if it wasn't just my NG dislike talking, know what I mean? *cough*

    Yes, "bro" - or that's what I heard, anyway. It's er, when Charlie calls Don on the phone? He starts with "Hey, bro". Also, if I did't hear right? Don't tell me, cause I really liked what I "heard" lol [after I commented above, seems like Charlie did call Don "bro" *g*]

    And yeah, Don called Charlie "buddy" in s1 but I was glad he called him that again since he didn't in the season premiere and I wondered at one point if it was something "new", ie something we'd lost, you know? *is paranoid sometimes*

    Larry is playing Yenta all around, what's up with that, anyway? First Don, then Charlie?

    Are you trying to tell me TPTB don't see the beauty of dirty!DK/Charlie? Poor souls!

    Thanks! I have much love my penguin movie too but knowing Americans are loving it too... I don't know, there's something special here. Usually you just take some of our films, remake them and destroy them in the process, so you know... lol

    There was so much squee in that episode!

    It's "bettor" then? I mean, it makes more makes sense now. Thanks, I definitely care :-)

    Date: 2005-10-04 09:45 pm (UTC)
    spikedluv: (don&charlie_brothers_lenabee)
    From: [personal profile] spikedluv
    "Hey, bro, it's me." *squees* That's so cute, lol. Is it sad that I had to go rewatch to see that?! *g*

    It's "bettor" then? I mean, it makes more makes sense now. Thanks, I definitely care :-)

    I'm glad it makes more sense. When I was reading the episode names prior to airing, I was like, must be a typo, lol. But it's a great play on words, with him being a gambler and screwing up his marriage with this stupid stunt. I'm actually impressed with whomever thought it up! *g*

    Date: 2005-10-02 12:28 pm (UTC)
    enigel: Aziraphale shielding Crawly under his wing ([Numb3rs] [Charlie] peek-a-boo)
    From: [personal profile] enigel
    Man, I didn't even notice this chalk-holder you're talking about :O

    Is Larry grating on your nerves because he's always nagging Charlie or Don about their love lives, by any chance? :D

    And how about Don's quip at Charlie and Larry having a "lover's spat? :D I was on the floor laughing!

    The penguin movie is so famous even I knew exactly what movie Charlie was talking about, though it opens here in December, a week after Serenity.

    Yeah, New Guy's smile/smirk was a little condescending, but it goes with his character; maybe we're not meant to like him ;-)

    Date: 2005-10-02 12:48 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I noticed the chalk-holder in the season premiere - it's red and all - and I hoped it would be a one time thing but it's back. And like, even though I can see how more practical it is, Charlie never ever used one in season 1, which should tell us it's not something he uses and now he does? Not buddies *pout* It's just a detail, mind, but I'm kinda obsessed with details, sometimes.

    Is Larry grating on your nerves because he's always nagging Charlie or Don about their love lives, by any chance?

    That would be a good explanation, wouldn't it? lol And totally plausible too, considering, but no it's not even that. I don't know what it is, exactly - just, I used to love his talking about astrophysics/quantum physics/etc all the time and all but now it just feels like he can't hold a normal conversation even when people need him to and it's suddenly annoying me a bit *shrug*

    The "lover's spat" was a riot, yeah lol

    The penguin movie is so famous even I knew exactly what movie Charlie was talking about, though it opens here in December, a week after Serenity.

    Yeah but I'm not exactly surprised that Europeans or other countries outside Europe do know of it *g* The fact that the movie worked in the US though, where the population isn't usually that receptive to non-american!movies, well that was pretty impressive, ya know?

    maybe we're not meant to like him ;-)

    In that case, it's working perfectly! lol

    Date: 2005-10-02 12:52 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] moimoietmoi.livejournal.com
    we so need a Kaamelott quotes comm around here!
    I'd say we need a Kaamelott community! I don't think there's one?

    Date: 2005-10-02 12:57 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    En même temps oui lol

    Et non y'en a pas... pour le moment.

    Date: 2005-10-02 02:30 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] moimoietmoi.livejournal.com
    Pour le moment? Tu te sentirais d'attaque pour...?

    Date: 2005-10-02 06:39 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Avant toute chose, ton ICONE, SAM, ton ICONE! *dies* Tu voudrais pas en faire une série dis? Parce que là, j'adore...

    Et je sais pas trop... à part nous, je sais pas trop si y aurait vraiment du monde, tu sais lol On doit être 10 à avoir inclu "kaamelott" dans notre liste d'intérêt... Tu me diras, même si y a que nous, ça nous suffirait déjà lol

    Date: 2005-10-02 08:40 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] moimoietmoi.livejournal.com
    Tu voudrais pas en faire une série dis? Parce que là, j'adore...
    Bon, si t'insistes...

    C'est vrai que Kaamelott est pas super représenté sur lj... lol

    Date: 2005-10-02 01:58 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] cain1999.livejournal.com
    Thank you for commenting! Needed to have a little
    [Error: Irreparable invalid markup ('<i<numb3rs</i>') in entry. Owner must fix manually. Raw contents below.]

    Thank you for commenting! Needed to have a little <i<Numb3rs</i>-fix in order to survive the next week without Charlie! ;-)

    Date: 2005-10-02 03:37 pm (UTC)
    enigel: Aziraphale shielding Crawly under his wing ([Numb3rs] [Charlie] peek-a-boo)
    From: [personal profile] enigel
    I wasn't sure what you meant by "next week without Charlie" (I was afraid there'd be no episode :O) so I rushed over to epguides.com. There is an episode, but I found something else: they moved Assassins two more weeks later O_o

    Considering that it was meant to be the 2nd season's premiere and we were so curious to see it, that's at least weird...

    Date: 2005-10-02 03:41 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] cain1999.livejournal.com
    He, he...sorry...I'm from Germany and they are currently airing the first season. Tomorrow is German Unity Day, so no new ep...*sniff*

    Date: 2005-10-02 03:51 pm (UTC)
    enigel: Aziraphale shielding Crawly under his wing ([Numb3rs] [D/C] wistful)
    From: [personal profile] enigel
    Aw, I hadn't looked up the tv schedule yet :/

    I'm watching the Pro7 episodes too, to improve my German; besides, seeing Numb3rs on a big tv screen (as opposed to a small Winamp window) never hurt anyone :D (I'm from Romania, but we get Pro7 on cable.)

    Date: 2005-10-02 04:08 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] cain1999.livejournal.com
    Cool...I can understand about the small window...did that with
    [Error: Irreparable invalid markup ('<i<the>') in entry. Owner must fix manually. Raw contents below.]

    Cool...I can understand about the small window...did that with <i<The Magnficent Seven</i> and <i>Cold Case</i>... so much better on full screen. :-)

    Date: 2005-10-02 02:45 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] zanzou-chan.livejournal.com
    o.o Is March of the Penguins french?

    *thought it was that one, so.. if not, which is it? XD;*

    Date: 2005-10-02 06:11 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    o.o Is March of the Penguins french?

    It sure is *g* So no one mentioned that little detail? Go figure!

    Date: 2005-10-02 06:14 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] zanzou-chan.livejournal.com
    xD I remember noticing at the end of the credits that it was a French company (ie, the language was French) but I wasn't sure which COUNTRY it came out ot.. xD Cool.

    *saw it twice in theatres, yay* :D

    Date: 2005-10-02 06:18 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    *saw it twice in theatres, yay* :D

    Go you!

    Date: 2005-10-02 06:20 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] zanzou-chan.livejournal.com
    I'm a total penguin nerd. xD I sleep with a penguin, have penguin pajama pants, a penguin pillow... It's sad, really. *hugs them*

    Date: 2005-10-02 11:50 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
    yeah, but apparently they changed many things from the original version - and the US version seems to be much better because if I recall correctly, there is no characterization of the penguins (ie they don't imagine what the penguins are saying) lol

    Date: 2005-10-03 08:56 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Dude! You missed the point; Charlie saw the movie. This is all that matters lol

    And it's French too, that's all there is to say *feels French pride*

    Date: 2005-10-03 08:08 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
    oh, alright, whatever you want, pumpkin *smootches*

    go French pride, especially when it is related to Numb3rs! lol

    Date: 2005-10-02 04:04 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] katikat.livejournal.com
    Chalk holder thingie doesn't please me at all.

    I don't mind it at all. Actually, I prefer it that way. Maybe it's because I work with chalk at school every day so I know what that awful thing can do to your skin, how it starts to burn and you get the white stuff all over yourself even when you try to avoid it. So yeah, count me to the pro-chalk-holder folks.

    Date: 2005-10-02 06:17 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    See, I agree with the practicality of the thing - the chalk holder is practical because yeah, chalk is kinda messay. That's not where my "problem" is - if one can even talk about a problem, mind. But since Charlie never used one, one could assume he just never liked the practicality of the thing - except now he is, and I just don't like the red thingie *pout*

    Sometimes, I'm easy... only in a bad way lol
    From: [identity profile] nina-ds.livejournal.com
    It really was much improved wasn't it? I agree with all your points, really - chalk holder, "bro", "buddy", family time, bad date (although I do kinda agree with Larry that, especially on a first date, talking about what you have in common isn't a bad idea - if you develop as a couple, you develop more things to talk about).

    I can see Charlie seeing March of the Penguins. I can see the Eppes family going as a group, with Don moaning and complaining and secretly really enjoying it.

    I do think NG (aka Jerk with Bland Poster-Boy Looks) was being snotty about Charlie, which is a shame, because I liked last year that the FBI accepted Charlie once he'd proven himself.

    And it's not just you. I'm also finding Larry irritating this year, which is a shame. I think they're overusing him - a little goes a long way; more isn't always better. And how does he get to be the advice fairy? It's not like he has a shining love life as an example. If anyone should be dispensing life advice, it ought to be Alan, who had a long, successful marriage and raised two good boys.
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Suddenly it felt like I was really watching the Numb3rs I love again. Twas great :-)

    I guess since NG is new in the group, he doesn't know of Charlie's prowess and Charlie is just another geek for him? If NG is military he might need more proof before acknowledging Charlie. Then again, he keeps being annoying re: Megan's own theories, so maybe he's just stupid. I don't know, we'll see how it develops - if it even does, anyway.

    And it's not just you. I'm also finding Larry irritating this year

    Thank you! And yes, a little goes a long way, I definitely agree.

    Date: 2005-10-02 04:43 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] french-hobbit.livejournal.com
    Dois je ajouter qu'Yvain est le beau-frère du roi ?
    Arthur: "Mon beau-frère ? Ah non, j'ai pas de beau-frère..."

    Date: 2005-10-03 08:54 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Il m'éclate avec son blocage lol

    Date: 2005-10-02 11:48 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
    *morte de rire* putain decidemment, c'est trop drole Kaamelott!

    as for Numb3rs: *squee*

    Date: 2005-10-03 08:55 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Je pourrais passer ma vie à citer Kaamelott, et je suis sure que ça te ferait mourir de rire à chaque fois :-)

    Squee is right *g*

    Date: 2005-10-03 08:07 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
    oui, faut dire que j'ai le rire facile *giggles*

    Date: 2005-10-04 12:08 pm (UTC)
    ext_1650: (Charlie (digital_diva))
    From: [identity profile] turps33.livejournal.com
    I'm so relieved that things are better this week!

    Now if only that damn torrent would hurry up!

    Date: 2005-10-07 09:24 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Torrents are sometimes evil - I'm sure they slow down on purpose. Just to drive us crazy!

    Profile

    castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
    Mouse

    January 2023

    S M T W T F S
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031    

    Most Popular Tags

    Style Credit

    Expand Cut Tags

    No cut tags
    Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 06:29 am
    Powered by Dreamwidth Studios