Numb3rs love. Again.
Oct. 9th, 2005 01:32 amOh boy! I'm feeling so much love for Numb3rs right now that I could burst and maybe even die [/typical fangirl exaggeration] Except that I am feeling so much love for Numb3rs right now that I could burst :-)
I watched "Obsession" [2x03] and just - I'm so in love with my show! The season premiere might have been off but the last two episodes 100% made up for it. They've been great and pure Numb3rs and know what? I think I know what happened *nods* The season premiere - it was ananomoly anomaly! That's the only explanation why it felt so weird to me when the last two episodes felt so right.
Anyway, Numb3rs 2x03 - "Obsession"
How much did I love that the episode started with Don and Charlie arriving at a crime scene together, in the middle of a conversation about hockey? This much. Yes, good answer! Also er, I know it wasn't how the episode started per se, since we had the whole Crime Being Committed scene but at the same time Numb3rs really starts for real when one of the Eppes men appears, doesn't it? So yeah.
But back to that first eppes!boys' appearance - I saw it and told myself: "Self? You're going to enjoy that episode a lot. Trust me on that one." And I was so right!
Once again, I had pretty much everything I love in that episode:
#1- Brother interaction, which started quite wonderfully like I said and which is wonderful no matter what. Wouldn't mind getting more now but with all the characters involved... we have to make do, I guess. Still, the scenes we had were great *g*
#2- Geeky Trio interaction, those three keep being fantastic together. They're so sweet, you know?
#3- Larry-Charlie moments, the teasing that comes from both side is really delightful. The whole car banter throughout the episode made me laugh a lot. I also love how it doesn't have anything to do with the plot, ie with the case they're working on. I mean, I love the banter that happens when they're working on a case - they're a riot those two and they're so geeky it defies the imagination [North American Sundial Society, anyone?] - but I really enjoy the fact that we seem Doing their Things even when they're not strictly working on a case, here the the whole oldie car thing.
#4- Larry-Charlie-Alan moment, with Alan coming to their rescue and helping them with their model - also hi! I don't think I'll ever get tired of Alan being there to help them and being competent and showing his skills. When I think of those people who think his character is boring - dude, don't listen to them, you rock and you're brilliant and I love you beyond the telling of it. Each time you're here, I feel like smiling. Except I'd love it if you stopped with the Amita thing all the time but hey, you can't be perfect, I guess? So you're forgiven. But anyway, Alan rocked, both with Larry and Charlie, then with Charlie since I also had a nice little Charlie-Alan moment as well - they do make a great team those two.
Actually know what? The whole episode was like a huge Character Interaction Fest: Don-Charlie, Charlie-Larry, Amita-Charlie-Larry, Charlie-Alan-Larry, Charlie-Alan, Megan-Charlie, Megan-Amita-Charlie-Larry, Megan-Larry - oh and New Guy-Charlie, David-Charlie, Megan-Don-Charlie. That was grand!
The professional and familial scenes were mixed in the most wonderful way - pure Numb3rs, I'm telling you!
I even got some trivia regarding Charlie's childhood. Not only once but twice! The little story about fourteen year old!Charlie was fun, as was Larry's reaction to it but my favourite is - no surprise here - the fifth grade souvenir. I loved the idea of Charlie asking his parents for help re: his diorama and both of them so fucking happy to finally be able to help with something school related that they forgot they were supposed to do just that, help, and let themselves be conned by Charlie into doing the whole thing - it's so incredibly sweet while at the same time being a little sad, in a way. I mean - helping your child must be so wonderful, and Alan and his wife never really had the chance to do that with Charlie. I can't take my mind off young!Alan & Wife all eager and proud to be able to finally help their genius of a son for once for something that had to do with school.
Also please, someone tell me what age you're supposed to be in fifth grade? I have the hardest time remembering what grade means what age in the American school system, thanks *g* Also I wonder, how old might have been Charlie in fifth grade?
So yes the whole episode did make me squee and bounce and smile and feel good - oh and it also made me rewindlots of a couple of scenes several times.
Oh and btw, the anonymous love letter Charlie received? So I know some people will theorise that it was, in fact, Don who sent it and see, I have to disagree here because I don't think Don would have gone through the hassle of finding someone to write the letter for him and find the pink paper and the lavender perfume and all, because actually when Don wants to pass some love messages along? He just uses his cell phone. Yeap, he calls Charlie and talks dirty to him at the most inappropriate times. It makes him laugh and it also makes him hot and horny, but see it's worth the sweet torture because when he joins his brother at night? Oh the sparkles! But I digress. So no, the love letter? Was sent by a fangirl - or a fanboy, mind. I mean, they mentioned topology as proof that after getting into the show, they started getting smarter by doing all kind of research but then they couldn't hide their true identities and they totally revealed their true nature by mentioning the hair - QED.
Some other things now:
Charlie dresses up like a kid at times - and at others? He doesn't and, dude! Charlie in a tie! He looked so pretty. Well, he always does, granted but this time he looked pretty and he had a tie.
One thing which cracks me up is how David and New Guy and Megan seemed to always be running from the office to Where Charlie Is. Be it at home or at the university. And I can almost picture Don ordering his agents to "go and find Charlie - wherever he is, kthxbai." Except I'm thinking Megan would volunteer. She seems to get on so well with the Geeky Trio, I bet she doesn't mind going to them at all.
Speaking of Megan and the Geeky Trio? At this rate, I'll soon have to call them the Geeky Quartet :-) They certainly get on well. And not just Megan and Charlie on one side with Amita and Larry on the other - but Megan with all of them. And in at one point, I was all "hey! Look at Megan and Larry bonding! Over a car, of all things. Oh wait! Look at them flirting now! And Megan even wants a ride!" I just loved that scene lol In particular Larry's "parking lot" answer. Priceless.
So anyway, another episode I loved, thank you very much :-)
ETA: To keep with the theme: sometime ago,
nina_ds posted her "first complete attempt at a NUMB3RS fic" over at her LJ. I read it and was blown away for it's a beautiful story! I couldn't share with you because it was friendlocked though, which was very sad. But! She finally relented and opened the post so do yourself a favour and go and read the fic, namely Hot Zone or you may regret it otherwise *g* And because I do read gen sometimes, well this one isn't Don/Charlie, so there :-)
I watched "Obsession" [2x03] and just - I'm so in love with my show! The season premiere might have been off but the last two episodes 100% made up for it. They've been great and pure Numb3rs and know what? I think I know what happened *nods* The season premiere - it was an
Anyway, Numb3rs 2x03 - "Obsession"
How much did I love that the episode started with Don and Charlie arriving at a crime scene together, in the middle of a conversation about hockey? This much. Yes, good answer! Also er, I know it wasn't how the episode started per se, since we had the whole Crime Being Committed scene but at the same time Numb3rs really starts for real when one of the Eppes men appears, doesn't it? So yeah.
But back to that first eppes!boys' appearance - I saw it and told myself: "Self? You're going to enjoy that episode a lot. Trust me on that one." And I was so right!
Once again, I had pretty much everything I love in that episode:
#1- Brother interaction, which started quite wonderfully like I said and which is wonderful no matter what. Wouldn't mind getting more now but with all the characters involved... we have to make do, I guess. Still, the scenes we had were great *g*
#2- Geeky Trio interaction, those three keep being fantastic together. They're so sweet, you know?
#3- Larry-Charlie moments, the teasing that comes from both side is really delightful. The whole car banter throughout the episode made me laugh a lot. I also love how it doesn't have anything to do with the plot, ie with the case they're working on. I mean, I love the banter that happens when they're working on a case - they're a riot those two and they're so geeky it defies the imagination [North American Sundial Society, anyone?] - but I really enjoy the fact that we seem Doing their Things even when they're not strictly working on a case, here the the whole oldie car thing.
#4- Larry-Charlie-Alan moment, with Alan coming to their rescue and helping them with their model - also hi! I don't think I'll ever get tired of Alan being there to help them and being competent and showing his skills. When I think of those people who think his character is boring - dude, don't listen to them, you rock and you're brilliant and I love you beyond the telling of it. Each time you're here, I feel like smiling. Except I'd love it if you stopped with the Amita thing all the time but hey, you can't be perfect, I guess? So you're forgiven. But anyway, Alan rocked, both with Larry and Charlie, then with Charlie since I also had a nice little Charlie-Alan moment as well - they do make a great team those two.
Actually know what? The whole episode was like a huge Character Interaction Fest: Don-Charlie, Charlie-Larry, Amita-Charlie-Larry, Charlie-Alan-Larry, Charlie-Alan, Megan-Charlie, Megan-Amita-Charlie-Larry, Megan-Larry - oh and New Guy-Charlie, David-Charlie, Megan-Don-Charlie. That was grand!
The professional and familial scenes were mixed in the most wonderful way - pure Numb3rs, I'm telling you!
I even got some trivia regarding Charlie's childhood. Not only once but twice! The little story about fourteen year old!Charlie was fun, as was Larry's reaction to it but my favourite is - no surprise here - the fifth grade souvenir. I loved the idea of Charlie asking his parents for help re: his diorama and both of them so fucking happy to finally be able to help with something school related that they forgot they were supposed to do just that, help, and let themselves be conned by Charlie into doing the whole thing - it's so incredibly sweet while at the same time being a little sad, in a way. I mean - helping your child must be so wonderful, and Alan and his wife never really had the chance to do that with Charlie. I can't take my mind off young!Alan & Wife all eager and proud to be able to finally help their genius of a son for once for something that had to do with school.
Also please, someone tell me what age you're supposed to be in fifth grade? I have the hardest time remembering what grade means what age in the American school system, thanks *g* Also I wonder, how old might have been Charlie in fifth grade?
So yes the whole episode did make me squee and bounce and smile and feel good - oh and it also made me rewind
Oh and btw, the anonymous love letter Charlie received? So I know some people will theorise that it was, in fact, Don who sent it and see, I have to disagree here because I don't think Don would have gone through the hassle of finding someone to write the letter for him and find the pink paper and the lavender perfume and all, because actually when Don wants to pass some love messages along? He just uses his cell phone. Yeap, he calls Charlie and talks dirty to him at the most inappropriate times. It makes him laugh and it also makes him hot and horny, but see it's worth the sweet torture because when he joins his brother at night? Oh the sparkles! But I digress. So no, the love letter? Was sent by a fangirl - or a fanboy, mind. I mean, they mentioned topology as proof that after getting into the show, they started getting smarter by doing all kind of research but then they couldn't hide their true identities and they totally revealed their true nature by mentioning the hair - QED.
Some other things now:
So anyway, another episode I loved, thank you very much :-)
ETA: To keep with the theme: sometime ago,
no subject
Date: 2005-10-08 11:42 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-10-09 10:39 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-10-08 11:58 pm (UTC)I did feel a little like last night's episode was a big shuffle, with different groups interacting and thus cutting down on the Don-Charlie interaction, but at least we did get the opening scene, which goes a long way toward making up for it. I agree, I think Megan is grooving on the geek energy. It's an amorphous group, but I will be very disappointed if it ends up Charlie-Amita, Megan-Larry, because that's just too geometrical and not particularly sexy.
But mainly, I wandered over to let you know I've now unlocked my "Hot Zone" story (the one about the sprinkler). You had commented on it, and I'm gradually getting a little bolder!
no subject
Date: 2005-10-09 10:43 am (UTC)The Don-Charlie interaction was somehow cut down, yeah. That's the problem when the writers decide to give everyone screen time. And now we have, like, way more characters getting it than before. But that first scene with them was so very awesome and even later the scenes where they were both involved - even if others were in there too - did flow, so it was okay to me. Though I'd love to have more of them together, I won't deny that lol
You unlocked the story, yay! That's great news *g* I edited the post to include the link last night when I saw that - thanks a lot :-) Getting bolder is nice *cheers*
no subject
Date: 2005-10-09 05:54 pm (UTC)That was exactly my fear when they started adding characters. I even made a post about it. I've never been so sad to be proved right. ::hangs head in shame:: It's not as bad as it could be, but those Don-Charlie moments, or Eppes Family moments, are like gold and should be hoarded at all possible times.
And thank you so much for the rec! (My first...) That's very sweet. And I had a new reader within an hour, no kidding! That's some amazing rec mojo you have.
Getting bolder is nice *cheers*
Thank you. I've actually ventured out with two new fics in public since then (well, three, if you count one in due South). The world hasn't collapsed yet!
no subject
Date: 2005-10-09 12:10 am (UTC)In fifth grade you'd be about 10, but Charlie graduated when he was 13
or 12 *g*, at the same time Don did, so it's up in the air how old he was in fifth grade. I mean, Alan said he needed special teachers and classes by the time he was 4 ('Uncertainty Principle'), so Charlie was probably much younger than 10.no subject
Date: 2005-10-09 01:38 am (UTC)It was great! "Get your vogue on, Charlie." So, so cute!
(And you know, I couldn't help thinking that if this were TS, one of them would have slept with the singer. *bg*)
no subject
Date: 2005-10-09 10:56 am (UTC)Dude, you're so right! I never ever thought I'd say this one day but - I'm so happy it wasn't TS! lol
no subject
Date: 2005-10-10 12:00 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-10-11 10:01 am (UTC)And there's nothing better than that *agrees*
no subject
Date: 2005-10-09 10:47 am (UTC)And the tie? I blinked at the screen and was like "wait a minute, was that a tie?" And it was! *dies* He certainly looked so good in it :-) Besides, we can picture some nice bondage scenes afterwards. I'm just sayin'.
Thanks for the fifth grade info - wee!Charlie in the middle of those bigger kids... dude, there's so much potential here. Intellectually he was more than ready but what about emotionally and socially? I always wonder about those genius kids... must be so hard fitting in. If they ever feel like they really do, anyway *hugs wee!Charlie... and big!Charlie for good measure*
no subject
Date: 2005-10-09 11:37 pm (UTC)I always wonder about those genius kids... must be so hard fitting in. If they ever feel like they really do, anyway
I agree. I think that's why it's so easy to imagine and write Charlie as the one who needs protecting. He's very smart, but his real-world experiences, at least before he graduated and started teaching, were probably very limited as he was stuck inside his own head most of the time. I think the way he looks also leads to the, not feminization of Charlie, really, but making him the weaker character. He's smaller, he's more pretty, he's got this bouncy excitement (omg, NA Sundial Society, lol!)....
Holy crap, he's Blair! And Daniel! I'm afraid I have a type, lol.
no subject
Date: 2005-10-10 12:14 pm (UTC)And people wonder why Charlie is my favourite character in the show? DUDE!
Holy crap, he's Blair! And Daniel! I'm afraid I have a type, lol.
Don't tell me you just realised you had one lol
no subject
Date: 2005-10-09 01:36 am (UTC)I loved, loved, loved it!!
And I loved that! I loved how the whole group is interacting, and I wanted to die at David's reaction to Larry and Charlie's sundial society comment or whatever it was. Way too adorable.
The Car So, so cute! I was waiting for Charlie to ask to drive it, you know? Now that he has his learner's permit back? *g*
*joy*
no subject
Date: 2005-10-09 10:51 am (UTC)I won't say I wouldn't love a little more Don-Charlie interaction because I'd be lying, but at the same time I can't even really complain because I thought all the scenes flowed and those characters are all so great - minus New Guy maybe, though I didn't feel like ignoring him or anything in that episode, so there's still hope! Besides, so many scenes involved Charlie anyway - I was in heaven lol
David's reaction to übergeek Larry & Charlie was priceless lol
no subject
Date: 2005-10-09 04:09 am (UTC)That was complete nerd heaven! *loves sundials*
I love the interaction between the geek trio and Megan, it seems like while she doesn't understand most of it, she seems like the little sister who want's to join her brothers gang of friends.
Such a cute episode, I love Papa Epps to pieces! So helpful and a wiser eye to things.
Just so much happiness!
no subject
Date: 2005-10-09 10:54 am (UTC)And both Charlie and Larry were so incredibly proud lol *loves*
Funny, I see Megan as the big sister who wants her kid brother's gang of friends because she realises she can have a lot of fun with them after all lol Seriously now, we certainly agree on the great interaction she has with the Geeky Trio :-)
Daddy!eppes is so awesome that there's no word for it *loves* He's always there, on the look-out and always so prompt to help or give advice. I love him *hugs*
no subject
Date: 2005-10-09 11:27 am (UTC):) :) :) :) love all around, ahahaha.
i don't know the answer to the 5th grade question. i totally agree with you on the tie!charlie. i died a little :) oh and ahahaha, i like your theory that it's not don who sent the letter (i mean, lavender?!), but then, who did? O_o.
n particular Larry's "parking lot" answer
i love larry even more in season 2 :) :)
now i have to run off to bed. i make an effort to comment this week since it looked like i was ignoring everyone last week even if i wasn't. go me.
no subject
Date: 2005-10-09 11:42 am (UTC)Twas like a huge orgy - or something *snicker*
Apparently, you'd be 10 or 11 in fifth grade - well, if you're not Charlie Eppes that is, since obviously he wasn't your typical pupil :-)
I found my Larry love back with that episode, which pleased me to no end, believe you me.
i make an effort to comment this week since it looked like i was ignoring everyone last week even if i wasn't
You so didn't need to, but that was sweet *g* I admit I enjoy talking about Numb3rs with you :-)
no subject
Date: 2005-10-09 11:33 am (UTC)When I think of those people who think his character is boring
Wait, there are people who actually think that? The mind boggles.
Charlie dresses up like a kid at times - and at others? He doesn't and, dude! Charlie in a tie! He looked so pretty. Well, he always does, granted but this time he looked pretty and he had a tie.
Yes! Yes yes yes yes yes! Yes! (I kinda really love Charlie in a tie, can you tell? :P)
One thing which cracks me up is how David and New Guy and Megan seemed to always be running from the office to Where Charlie Is.
So I wasn't the only one who noticed that! Awesome.
And yeah, I'm now officially a Megan lover! She rocks something fierce!
no subject
Date: 2005-10-09 11:39 am (UTC)I kinda really love Charlie in a tie, can you tell? :P)
I rewound the scene when I realised that, yes, he was in fact wearing a tie. He needs to wear one more often now *nods* Also love how it wasn't formal either - it was kinda loose, wasn't it?
So I wasn't the only one who noticed that! Awesome.
Nope, you weren't lol
And yeah, I'm now officially a Megan lover! She rocks something fierce!
I saw that! Go you! She does rock, I lover her *g*
no subject
Date: 2005-10-09 11:52 am (UTC)That could actually be considered sorta freaky...but, than again, what on LJ isn't! *g*
Also love how it wasn't formal either - it was kinda loose, wasn't it?
And that? Is my favourite thing about it! Loose ties on pretty boys are so my weakness.
no subject
Date: 2005-10-10 12:16 pm (UTC)We fucking need an icon of that one! And btw, where are the icons for that episode? What are the icon makers of this world waiting for? *dies*
no subject
Date: 2005-10-10 01:26 pm (UTC)We really do!
And btw, where are the icons for that episode? What are the icon makers of this world waiting for? *dies*
Lol, I wouldn't know, I try and stay away from most things icon related. Otherwise, I just see the pretty and die because I don't have the space to use them. Hope someone makes some soon, though. :)
no subject
Date: 2005-10-11 11:43 am (UTC)You know, visits from cute babies and fireworks and stuff is awesome but I need a Numb3rs fix too!
no subject
Date: 2005-10-12 04:06 pm (UTC)