castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Father & Son / midnighta)
[personal profile] castalie
Spent pretty much all day [from 11.30 am to 7.30 pm] with the French Posse today and had a blast - as per usual. I had my Starbucks fix at Bercy Village [Paris] then we wandered around [we had a crisp autumn day - I'm in love with that type of weather] and made up the best crack!movie you've ever seen [Sci-fi! Violence! Intensity! Druidism! Mysteries! Artefacts! Tattoos! Heroic Death! Het smut and hot gay sex! Evil Baker! Deadly baguettes!] and then off to Babe's to chat the day away. In the end, she forced GD and I to watch we watched the live stream of the Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire World Premiere on her new pc. But seriously it was fun and exciting so I can only imagine how the fans felt ;-) I'm glad Babe got to see it because at one point it really looked as if it would be impossible and dude, I felt sorry for the girl. But in the end, everything worked out just fine.

Oh and btw? Choisy is calm again. I didn't expect a repeat of yesterday's activities and this time I was right. So all is well.

Changing the subject now. I watched Numb3rs 2x06 "Soft Target" last night and OMG I found my favouritest episode of the season! It was so good I thought I would burst!

Quick! A Cut tag so that I can squee in peace!

Numb3rs 2x06 - "Soft Target"

So. Yeah. BACKSTORY! We had backstory. Backstory of the best kind. And we had issues and brotherly talks! And issues and cuteness and backstory.

This episode? Was almost too good to be true. The family parts were so incredibly awesome I could watch them all day and it wouldn't be enough.

So first we have the cutest three stories ever told to mouse man:

Story #1: Thirteenyearold!Charlie having a crush on a girl, namely Val.
Story #2: Thirteenyearold!Charlie feeling vindictive when Big Brother invited Val to the prom.
Story #3: Thirteenyearold!Charlie wrestling on the lawn with Big Brother because Don had invited Val to the prom.

And okay, I think I need to say it again:

  • Thirteenyearold!Charlie Wrestling. On The Lawn. With Don!


  • This? KILLED ME DED!

    And also, like, it's all in the delivery. So we have Larry innocently asking whether Charlie and Don both knew Val and daddy!Eppes practically literally jumping on the opportunity to tell everything about the crush his boy had on aforementioned Val - for he is a dad and thus entitled to tell embarrassing stories about his kids to said kids' friends. And when Charlie tries to be So Cool about it, daddy!Eppes shows his superiority and rattles on the whole Wrestling Match affair. And Charlie is trying to deny it all and he's feeling all embarrassed and he's doing the hand thing and stuttering and just - Numb3rs writers? WARN ME NEXT TIME YOU DO A SCENE LIKE THIS AGAIN, kthxbai!

    So the cute backstory? Would have been enough. Honestly. But! The writers love me us and deemed it necessary to bring Angst and Issues as well and I about died then and went to heaven because suddenly there was more to the funny little story we'd been told. Up that to that point we had normal sibling rivalry with a pretty normal solution for two kids "I'm gonna kick your ass cause you did something I didn't want you to / Oh yeah, I'm gonna kick your ass because I'm the big brother and I do whatever I want to and you're just a fucking kid" - which btw, from Charlie's side sounded so normal a reaction, like any other kid's, know what I mean? But then we're seeing it differently and there is a kid hurting involved and - wow, loved that.

    Loved it even more that the revelation was given to us during a great moment between the brothers. That scene in Charlie's office is one of my brand new favourite Don-Charlie moment *nods solemnly* I loved the tension between Don and Charlie here. Charlie's revelation of how tough high school was for him, how hard it was being "Don Eppes's thirteen-year old brainiac brother" broke my heart. And I loved it when he explained why he loved Val so much back then and why he felt so upset when Don took her to the prom: because she was someone who didn't treat him like he was different. And seriously that rocked so much - Charlie did look really upset, as if it clearly was a subject that is still hurting him now. But he didn't exactly got the reaction he was hoping for, I'm sure, as Don got upset and brought up his own issue and the intensity was, like, brought up a notch and heee tension between the brothers!

    I have to say I quite enjoyed the awkward ending of their conversation. Charlie had effectively closed the topic by coming back to the case but it was clear they needed to talk again, except at this point they just couldn't do it, and YAY!

    Which, of course, brings us to my second brand new favourite Don-Charlie moment, namely the second conversation between the brothers, at home. I mean, they couldn't stay angry at each other - they had to clear up the issue and I loved it so much when Don started apologising. I mean, it was so thoughtful - so sweet. And then they admitted that neither of them understood the other when they were kids but hey, now they're doing good and oh yeah, loved that moment so fucking much! It also reminded me of that scene at the very end of "Counterfeit Reality" with the whole "two different worlds" conversation, and you have to wonder when exactly the brothers really started to understand each other. I mean, they didn't when they were kids, and they didn't when they were adults either - if they mother hadn't died, would they have ever find each other again?

    But anyway, back to the scene: they stop angsting and since they both told the other what they wanted to say, they finally feel fine enough to come back to their - now - usual interaction and we're confronted once again with the Utter Perfection that is the Don-Charlie unit.

    That whole scene flowed so wonderfully! And their - I don't know, togetherness felt so natural, so fucking awesome! I mean, they could be - and sound - cuter together, but would I survive it? I seriously doubt it. Also, I have a thing for characters who laugh. Characters don't laugh enough in series - or not naturally enough, at least. And that scene was beautiful - to me - because of that, too. When Charlie's goes "Just think how happy Dad would be if one of us married a doctor" and Don replies "I think he'd be happy if I married someone with a pulse" in that way and they start laughing - I had to rewind the scene, like, a gazillion times!

    So those two scenes only would have sufficed to make of this episode my favourite ep in s2 - as it happens, there was also lots of other scenes:

  • Don finding Larry and Charlie in the yard - both almost bursting of excitement at the prospect of maybe finally winning the finals of the University game.


  • Larry and Charlie jumping up and down, talking at the same time, encouraging their little robot as it's towing Larry's big car - which btw, yay to continuity!


  • Charlie harassing the remote as their little bot stopped working.


  • Basically -> Larry and Charlie being two little kids in front of Don, who's being so nice with his "Sorry, guys" at the end lol

  • Larry asking whether something is bothering Charlie because he saw that Charlie wasn't so comfortable with Alan's anecdote - he's a really good friend, isn't he?


  • Alan harassing his boys with the wedding issue.


  • And lots and lots of other moments - like Charlie using applied mathematics to place people at the wedding. That cracked me up so much lol

    Oh and still love Megan more than words can say. And I'm warming up to Colby. Case in point, I called him Colby and everything! David is still cool as well, of course. Something else I enjoy is all the looks they give each other all the time - when one is joking, or when Charlie is explaining things, come to think of it. I'm going for "fond looks" for everyone, which pleases me a lot *g*

    Hmm what? The case? Sure there was one -> Everyone was super competent and they beat the bad guys at the end. but I mean, did you read my review? Who needs to talk about the case! Though wait, there was Cyril in there. Wouldn't mind seeing Toby or Keller one of these days, too.

    So to make a long story short: I LOVED THAT EPISODE!

    Date: 2005-11-07 02:17 am (UTC)
    ext_2353: amanda tapping, chris judge, end of an era (numb3rs don charlie)
    From: [identity profile] scrollgirl.livejournal.com
    Darn, I keep missing Numb3rs! So dumb, I should remember to set the VCR. But reading your review more than makes up for it. The episode sounds wonderful and I'm sooooo gonna have to go find fic about it, aren't I. Oh dear ;)

    Date: 2005-11-07 10:08 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Glad you liked my review but I'll second the thought, you really need to try and watch the actual show cause you're missing out sooooo much *nods*

    Date: 2005-11-07 03:00 am (UTC)
    spikedluv: (don&charlie_alwaysonmymind_midnighta)
    From: [personal profile] spikedluv
    BACKSTORY! We had backstory. Backstory of the best kind. And we had issues and brotherly talks! And issues and cuteness and backstory.

    Thirteenyearold!Charlie Wrestling. On The Lawn. With Don!

    the Utter Perfection that is the Don-Charlie unit.


    I just read this going 'squeee!', 'uh huh, uh huh', 'squeee!', 'cause I so agree with everything you said, and you reminded me of some of the greatest moments ever. This ep? Rocked. Hard.

    I mean, just imagining a recreation of the wrestling alone has me all melty. *g* But as you say, backstory and issues and talking and tension and laughing. Loved the scene when they're talking about marrying a doctor and Don's picking a meatball out of the lasagna, lol! It's just so...homey. And now they're back on track and heading to the bedroom for make up sex.

    And Larry and Charlie jumping around like kids was to die for.

    Hmm what? The case? Sure there was one -> Everyone was super competent and they beat the bad guys at the end. but I mean, did you read my review? Who needs to talk about the case!

    *snorfle* I so agree! I had to think for a minute to remind myself what the case was, even.

    Date: 2005-11-07 10:09 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I was already in love with the last episode for all the family stuff we'd received but wow! It's like they decided to up the ante or something this week - there was so much LOVE for that new ep!

    Date: 2005-11-07 03:31 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] thothscribe81.livejournal.com
    Oh my gosh I love your livejournal! All my favorite slashy guys are on the right hand side!! Is it okay if I friend you? I am new to the livejournal world (a few months). I love meeting new people who share my interests in everything jim/blair and jack/danny!

    Jamie

    Date: 2005-11-07 10:13 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Hey sure, my friend is public therefore you can friend it if you want to *g* Always happy to "meet" fans of my favourite pairings *g*

    The one with the ETA

    Date: 2005-11-07 05:14 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
    not reading the Numb3rs things (yeah, no spoilers for once *giggles*), but *squee* at the day with the girls! sounds like a blast indeed! and what was the movie again?

    ETA: I swear, some day I'll try to *think* before posting the comment *sighs*

    anyway: hail to Choisy being quiet again! but it's actually fun to hear France discussed every morning in NZ lol

    Re: The one with the ETA

    Date: 2005-11-07 10:14 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Dude the movie was so much crack! lol It would be too long to give a summary even now but suffice to say The Girls and I were inspired *eg*

    Re: The one with the ETA

    Date: 2005-11-07 11:15 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
    hum... yeah, but what was the title?

    Re: The one with the ETA

    Date: 2005-11-07 11:34 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Babycakes, it's a movie we made up - not one we went and see *g* Though if you are asking what was the title of the movie we created... I think it was something like Les Frères de la Farine, ou un truc dans le genre lol

    Re: The one with the ETA

    Date: 2005-11-07 11:37 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
    Oh. Oooooooh. Oh! okay *coughs* Ignore me. I'm not passing. I'm high on cheese right now *whistles innocently*

    I had *totally* understood that, of course! *runs away*

    *mumbles* where on earth did I put that invisibility cloak? cause man in shameful moments like those, it could really come in handy!

    Re: The one with the ETA

    Date: 2005-11-09 10:54 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I never saw you here, you never commented!

    Date: 2005-11-07 01:39 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] sockich.livejournal.com
    This episode? Was almost too good to be true.

    Yes! Yes, yes, yes, oh dear god yes! Just...don't even know what to say here except OMG SQUEEEEEEEE!

    I totally completely agree with every single thing you said. Backstory!!!!! Cuteness!!!! Angst!!! Backstory!!!!!

    That scene in Charlie's office is one of my brand new favourite Don-Charlie moment *nods solemnly*

    Yes! It's absolutely perfect. The way Charlie said "High school was hard for me." Damn near killed me. And that Don's "I look like an idiot around you." OMG, just kill me now, why don't you.

    Which, of course, brings us to my second brand new favourite Don-Charlie moment, namely the second conversation between the brothers, at home.

    What really gets me here is that, not only is the scene absolutely beautiful, the details, namely Charlie's yearbook page, were brilliant.

    Basically -> Larry and Charlie being two little kids in front of Don, who's being so nice with his "Sorry, guys" at the end lol

    Those two really are the geekiest, cutest pair of BFF ever! *loves on them*

    like Charlie using applied mathematics to place people at the wedding.

    I loved that part 'cause it shoved Charlie using maths somewhere other that with the cases and I love it when that happens.

    Oh and still love Megan more than words can say.

    Totally with you here. I've developed a thing for the way she sits on chairs. All curled up and relaxed and...yeh, I have a thing!

    Though wait, there was Cyril in there. Wouldn't mind seeing Toby or Keller one of these days, too.

    Dude, Cyril! I totally didn't realise it was him on the picture so when we saw him I was all OMG IT'S CYRIL! HI, CYRIL! lol And Toby or Keller (or, hell, you know, Toby and Keller) in Numb3rs? I seriously doubt I'd survive it. But what a way to go! *g*

    So yeah, OMG SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE! lol

    Date: 2005-11-07 10:16 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    The backstory we got this time all but killed me - it was so GOOD! How can they write such great family stuff, how?!

    And Larry-Charlie is so incredibly cute and sweet and adorable and geeky and brilliant that there's no words to express how much I love them both lol

    Toby and Keller? *dies with you*

    Date: 2005-11-07 07:45 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] yami-tai.livejournal.com
    You do the best episode summaries, hun! I did like everything that was going on between Don and Charlie in this episode, but I have to say my favourite moment was actually when Larry asked if Charlie was okay because he didn't seem very amused at his dad's amusing anecdote. *pets Larry* He is just so sweet with Charlie ^_^!

    Date: 2005-11-07 10:18 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Thanks *blushes* Am glad you're enjoying them as well *g* Admittedly, with such great material, it's easy :-)

    That scene was fantastic, I second that. I mean, it told us so much about their friendship. It was grand.

    Date: 2005-11-08 02:01 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] audrarose.livejournal.com
    *spins in circles*

    It rocked!! So much!!

    Charlie was hurt, but not kid-hurt, you know? Like he's an adult who can look at it with some distance but there's still something there? And Don apologizing! *dies*

    My love for this show is endless. eeeee!!!

    Date: 2005-11-08 11:15 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Yes yes, exactly! It was a grown-up hurt - an almost dignified kinda hurt even, which is why it hurt so good for me, too *g*

    I can't believe how much I love this show, I swear!

    Date: 2005-11-08 02:24 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] aswanargent.livejournal.com
    I agree with you completely. It was a wonderful episode. :-)

    Date: 2005-11-08 11:16 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I've watched it like four times already - I can't get enough of those family scenes lol

    Date: 2005-11-09 08:04 pm (UTC)
    ext_1650: (Charlie (digital_diva))
    From: [identity profile] turps33.livejournal.com
    Oh man, your recaps rock! I can't wait to see but I have to wait for House to download then Supernatural but NUMB3RS! So much love!

    Your crack movie sounds insane btw, but het? I take it that wasn't your contribution *g*

    Date: 2005-11-09 10:21 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I'm thrilled my recaps aren't boring you yet lol I have yet to watch Supernatural myself and can't wait! Something else I can't wait is next week's SN episode because I read something about Dean in a certain scene and OMG ARE WE NEXT TUESDAY YET?

    But back to Numb3rs - tell your downloads to hurry cause really, reading about "Soft Target" is one thing, but watching it? There's no words for it!

    And dude, how did you guess the het part wasn't my contribution! You must be psychic or something *eg*

    Profile

    castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
    Mouse

    January 2023

    S M T W T F S
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031    

    Style Credit

    Expand Cut Tags

    No cut tags
    Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 12:04 pm
    Powered by Dreamwidth Studios