castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Complicity / shantalanadevil)
[personal profile] castalie
First, because I can't NOT squee about it - even though everyone knows about it by now - OMG The Sentinel might come out on DVD! And hey, if it does come out in 2006 - it'll be soon. Why soon? Because we've been waiting for a hundred years already so 2006 sounds like a short delay compared to that. This is... a dream come true. And okay so I've heard there might be no extras on that first season box set but when TPTB will realise that their DVDs sell well, they'll add stuff on the second season box set, right? And see? The secret is in the positive anticipation. So YAY!

Second, I had the best of time yesterday with the French Posse. We went to the movies and saw Elizabethtown - well four of us saw that movie and two others picked another one, but that's beside the point. That movie? ROCKED SO MUCH! It was absolutely not what I expected and when the film was over I realised I didn't know what I expected after all. But certainly not this. So it was a very pleasant surprise. I also cried several times but I wasn't the only one so didn't feel too lonely *g* As soon as we were out, SAM, Rosie, GD and I decided that we needed the soundtrack but alas the store was closed, so no soundtrack for the French Girls *sniffles* To comfort ourselves we all - Catia and Babe were back with us by then - went to the Paradis du Fruit where we ended the evening. So yeah, best time, see? And back to Elizabethtown, a DVD I'll definitely wait impatiently *nods*

Third. I watched Numb3rs last night. The episode and the missing part *rolls eyes* Hopefully a complete file will appear sometime this week? Or it already did, I didn't check. It's not horrible but it's always nicer to have a complete file at once - and no, I don't want to do it myself, I'm lazy *cough*

Anyway. Numb3rs 2x07 - "Convergence".

Don, Charlie and Larry playing frisbee together! Playing frisbee together! I was already melting from the cuteness and awesomeness, like, two minutes into the episode. Wow, that was fast!

Dude! We've been waiting to see more of Charlie's world for the longest time - we certainly got our wish. It was great! And it brought us angsty!Charlie - you can't ever go wrong with that!

It also brought us some über-über geeky discussions and that was a thing of beauty too. And Math Fight! See? Geeks are dangerous too. Only they use their minds and their words to fight. That scene in Charlie's office with David and Colby in the background and Charlie and Penfield in the foreground? Cracked me up. I mean, it was like a real duel lol Of course I wasn't laughing when Penfield got the last word because, not that I'm biased or anything, but my Charlie should always have the last word - just on principle, for he is my genius woobie and the likes of Penfield shouldn't be mean to him! Of course if Penfield hadn't done what he'd done throughout the episode, I wouldn't have gotten my dose of angsty-unsure!Charlie so I'll forgive him. But just because he's a means to an end. Which is so unfair but that's life for you, Penfield! Sorry, really *apologetic look*

Because yes, my poor Charlie! Doubting his work - being stuck on the FBI case and just - he looked so sad. Yippee! It was also great to really see Charlie's conflict re: his math work v. his consulting work. And okay, he's still doing math when he's working for Don but you know what I mean. So this episode was perfect in that regard. I truly enjoyed his conversation with daddy!Eppes about it, which is so not surprising but some things bear repeating. Alan always gives the best advice, btw. Again, not that I'm biased.

Speaking of Alan, it was nice to see him officially starting to work on his consulting job. And I liked the idea of him retiring when mommy!Eppes - will we ever get a name for her, I wonder - got sick.

I also wonder, did Alan think he would have peace and quiet once his youngest would be all grown-up? Because the poor guy must still be waiting lol That scene with his mobile? Cracked me up! Charlie and Larry are naughty kids, really.

Back to Penfield now. When he came to Charlie's help, it felt quite weird. I'm so used to seeing Charlie explaining his theories to a captured audience, it was odd seeing the tables turned on him. I'm glad he wasn't so far gone on his dislike of Penfield that he couldn't listen to him - in the end, it did save lives and help arrest three guys.

But it was quite fun seeing Charlie so riled up. And like, did we ever hear him swear before? I don't think so. That's the problem with geniuses, they're so used to being successful all the time that when they're confronted with someone who contradicts them and goes as far as show their work is flawed, they can't stand it. Well of course it was Charlie's life work that was on the verge of going up in flames so I'm not joking about that - but even before he knew what Penfield's seminar was about, he was ready to go for the kill. Dangerous geeks - so cute!

Finally, I loved the last two scenes:

a) The Alan-Amita-Larry one because how sweet is that that Charlie's friends are comfortable enough with his dad to stay with him? Instead of going to a seminar at that! And I know, it's not the first time we see either of them interact with just Alan - I particularly loved the chess scene between Alan and Larry in "Sniper Zero" - but I can't get enough of those scenes :-)

b) The Charlie in the garage one. First because he was so excited about his new work and he looked so happy and at peace - like he reconciled himself with the whole thing - and second because it was like that scene in "Uncertainty Principle" only this time, it was completely positive. It's like in "Uncertainty Principle" we were seeing the dark side of his genius/personality and this time it was the bright side coming to the fore. It was intense as well, as if we could sense Charlie's excitement... I just loved it *happy sigh*

Also re: the domestic and family and friends scenes. If I love them so much in that series is that they seem to be there for no other reason than showing us the characters' life outside work. What I mean is, usually in cop shows you catch glimpses into the characters' lives if it serves a purpose: like you'll see a character who's a parent have a scene with their kids after a particular gruesome case - or you'll see them have a fight with their SO to emphasis how their job is being hard on them and so on and so forth. Here, it really feels like those domestic scenes have no purpose - they're here for their own sake, so to speak. How awesome is that?

I still adore my domestic scenes in The Sentinel - I mean, how many cop shows have their two lead characters cooking breakfast in the house they share together or going on vacation together? Yeah - but still...

Some more random thoughts:

  • Charlie's look and little, I don't know, wriggle when Megan showed the pic of the "total geek"? Was priceless lol


  • Megan still rocks my world. And she wore a suit at one point - must have pleased all those people who hate seeing her in a tank top. Except she wore a dress afterwards during their little operation so I guess it annuled it? I don't care, I love Megan and she could wear a bikini I would still think she's smart and competent and strong.


  • I even liked Colby in that episode. I guess the guy did grow on me. Who would have thought? I particularly enjoyed the whole Colby-David calculator banter ;-)


  • I'm still madly in love *happy sigh*

    Also, does anyone know where I can find the preview for next week's episode? And I can't believe how sucky the CBS site is, really *pout*

    Date: 2005-11-13 01:33 pm (UTC)
    spikedluv: (charlie_smile_sophiesly)
    From: [personal profile] spikedluv
    OMG!! I swear we are Numb3rs!twins. Or we share the same Numb3rs!brain. Whenever I read your comments I'm always surprised and pleased that we squee over the same things!

    The boys playing frisbee, Charlie being all sad and depressed, Alan's great advice, Charlie swearing, lol, Charlie taking apart Alan's phone because "I need mine", lol, Megan!, Colby and David, Alan hanging with Larry and Amita, happy Charlie.

    Just, I'm telling you, so. much. love.

    (And also, Don with the cap on backwards. I don't know why, but there's something about a man wearing the backwards cap...and sunglasses...and high-fiving Charlie. *vbg*)

    Date: 2005-11-13 02:29 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Numb3rs!twin, I love that! lol I have yet to read the Numb3rs reviews on my flist but I always know I'll find similar thoughts on your journal, anyway *g*

    So let's squee together, yay! And so.much.love for that episode again, somuchlove! That series... it makes my heart sing, know what I mean?

    Date: 2005-11-13 01:49 pm (UTC)
    enigel: Aziraphale shielding Crawly under his wing ([Numb3rs] [D/C] wistful)
    From: [personal profile] enigel
    Colby and David competing to out-geek each other was a thing of pure geeky beauty! :DD And with this episode I'm starting to like poor Colby - he was sort of cute sitting there in the grass and talking muzzle velocity with David *g*

    It feels like they're both trying to be worthy of Charlie ;)

    Charlie's look and little, I don't know, wriggle when Megan showed the pic of the "total geek"?

    I noticed that too! Hee! I was anticipating your commenting on it :D

    And pretty much all the rest of the things you said :) (I knew if I waited long enough, you'd write a review so I won't have to :D)

    As for the chopped scene, I really hope they'll record the whole episode again during a rerun, because there's still something missing between the two clips :/

    Date: 2005-11-13 02:33 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I'm glad you could download the episode, girl!

    Colby and David were awfully cute in their geeky scenes - and I love your theory about them wanting to be worthy of Charlie ;-)

    I noticed that too! Hee! I was anticipating your commenting on it :D

    *high fives*

    knew if I waited long enough, you'd write a review so I won't have to :D)

    You're such a cheater lol Then again, with your connexion problem, I can see your point *nods*

    I'm hoping we'll get the episode again, in its entirety this time *fingers crossed*

    Date: 2005-11-13 01:54 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] sockich.livejournal.com
    Back to Penfield now. When he came to Charlie's help, it felt quite weird. I'm so used to seeing Charlie explaining his theories to a captured audience, it was odd seeing the tables turned on him. I'm glad he wasn't so far gone on his dislike of Penfield that he couldn't listen to him - in the end, it did save lives and help arrest three guys.

    I hate Penfield! The bastard made Charlie all doubtful and sad and, while that's good to watch, it still sucks very much. But even though Penfield was a total prick to him, Charlie listened to him (and I really didn't like that, I'm still convinced Charlie should be the smartest one) and that's awesome. Charlie is clearly a far better person than I am, I'd probably just punch the guy and tell him to STFU, NOW! lol

    It's like in "Uncertainty Principle" we were seeing the dark side of his genius/personality and this time it was the bright side coming to the fore. It was intense as well, as if we could sense Charlie's excitement... I just loved it *happy sigh*

    That was exactly my reaction to that scene. And it was really good seeing Charlie all happy like, especially after all the self-doubting and angsting he went through.

    Charlie's look and little, I don't know, wriggle when Megan showed the pic of the "total geek"? Was priceless lol

    I laughed out loud at that. Got me some weird looks too.

    Except she wore a dress afterwards during their little operation so I guess it annuled it?

    OMG I loved her in that dress. So sexy and then with the gun and she totally rocks!

    I particularly enjoyed the whole Colby-David calculator banter ;-)

    I've been saying this from the start - Colby/David is so OTP! ;)

    Date: 2005-11-13 02:36 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I wonder about that last scene between Charlie and Penfield. I mean, okay, Charlie did thank him and I'm sure he was sincere about that, but the whole thing... wasn't he just feeling smug anticipation because he'd found a way to solve the flaw in his own theory and he could finally show Penfield he wasn't the Smartest Mathematician around? Sneakly little Charlie!

    And it was really good seeing Charlie all happy like, especially after all the self-doubting and angsting he went through.

    That last scene was just awesome - really feel-good scene *g*

    I laughed out loud at that. Got me some weird looks too

    We should totally watch Numb3rs together, no weird looks between us!

    Megan was sexy, wasn't she? She's sexy all the time, mind.

    Date: 2005-11-13 05:41 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] sockich.livejournal.com
    wasn't he just feeling smug anticipation because he'd found a way to solve the flaw in his own theory and he could finally show Penfield he wasn't the Smartest Mathematician around? Sneakly little Charlie!

    Heh, I agree, he was totally smug in that scene. I loved it and there was much "In your face Penfield!" from my end.

    We should totally watch Numb3rs together, no weird looks between us!

    We totally should, it be awesome to see something with a person who gets squeeing over a show is perfectly normal, lol. Stupid kilometers separating us.

    She's sexy all the time, mind.

    Yup, she really is. Sexy, strong, intelligent, awesome!

    In other news, how do you like my new icon? I fell into a I need a change, now! Change everything! mood a lot sooner than expected. *g* Thanks again for letting me use it!

    Date: 2005-11-13 06:39 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I love that Charlie can be a smug little thing. Perfection is so overrated, isn't it? lol

    I LOVE your new icon *eg* And you're quite welcome. Kindred spirits should be able to use the same perverted icons now and then lol

    Date: 2005-11-13 02:51 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] cain1999.livejournal.com
    Did Charlie prove that his thesis was right or did his work go up in flames due to Penfield? And is there any truth that Penfield might have been just a tad bit obessed about Charlie?

    Mum!Eppes is called Margaret. Cheryl Heuton was asked about her and as they didn't have a name until then, she named her. I love it because my grandmother's name was Margarete. :-)

    I love your weekly reviews!

    Last but not least...I don't have any Cold Case songs, but I have the songs that appeared in Without a Trace from ep. 1x01 til 2x06 if you are interested. :-)

    Date: 2005-11-13 03:54 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    No, in the end he found a formula that solved the flaw that Penfield had found - so he's back to having his theory validated *g*

    And well, there was obsession on both sides lol Charlie was obsessed about Penfield in a very paranoid way and Penfield about Charlie in a very stalkery way *eg* Thing is, Penfield admitted that he found Charlie's work fascinating, which is why he did everything he did *g* It's also good ole math rivalry.

    Margaret, really? Hey, I like it. Yeah, it fits *nods*

    I love your weekly reviews!

    Thanks!

    And I'm afraid I don't even remember the songs in those two episodes. Hmm, I think I'll pass, but thanks all the same :-)

    Date: 2005-11-13 04:18 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] cain1999.livejournal.com
    The songs would be:

    1x01 Linkin Park - In The End
    1x02 Turin Brakes - Future Boy
    1x04Outspoken - Farther
    1x05 Moby - One Of These Mornings
    1x06 Staind - Outside
    1x09 Bob Dylan - Not Dark Yet
    1x10 Midnight Sun Steve Earle - Goodbye
    1x11 Avril Lavigne - Nobodys Fool
    1x13 The Neville Brothers - A Change Is Gonna Come
    1x14 Coldplay - Trouble
    1x16 David Gray - Say Hello Wave Goodbye
    1x17 Pink - My Vietnam
    1x18 nerd (the neptunes)-09-baby do - Untitled
    1x18 The White Stripes - Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground
    1x19 Tom McRae - You Only Disappear
    1x23 Jeff Buckley - Hallelujah
    2x01 Gary Jules - Mad World
    2x03 David Bowie - Something In The Air
    2x03 Confidence The Tao Of Groove - One
    2x05 Tchaikovsky - Arabian Dance
    2x06 Our Sons and Daughters Mazzy Star - Fade Into You
    2x06 Tricky - Scrappy Love

    Date: 2005-11-13 04:22 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Oh. OH! Scratch what I said, then. I would love to have them, if it's no bother *g* Thanks a lot!

    Date: 2005-11-13 04:55 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] cain1999.livejournal.com
    No bother at all! Send me your adress to my email addy and I'll try and send it to you sometime this or next week. If you'd like a soundtrack or two...I have the following on my PC

    Movie:
    Armageddon, BHD, Batman Begins, CSI, Children of Dune, Conquest of Paradise, Neverending Story, Equilibrium, Three Hazelnuts for Cinderella, Dune, Forrest Gump, Gladiator 1+2, Harry Potter3, King Arthur, Kingdom of Heaven, Ladyhawke, LotR 1-3, Master and Commander, Mi-2, Pacts des Loups, PotC, Star Wars-RotS, The 13th Warrior, The last Unicorn, The Mists of Avalon, The Time Machine, The Magnificent Seven (TV), The last of the Mohicans, The last Samurai, The Village, Timeline, XXX, Troy, Willow

    *cough* I have a thing for soundtracks. ;D These are only the ones I have on PC...I have a few more at home.
    Just add one or two that would interest you and I'll add it.



    My email:
    keiji_izumi [at] yahoo [dot] com

    Date: 2005-11-13 06:36 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Man you're a doll *g*

    Okay so I'll email my addy and all but since I'm here *g*

    I would love the soundtrack of Forrest Gump and HP3, please *g*

    Date: 2005-11-13 06:50 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] cain1999.livejournal.com
    No prob! Will do! :-)

    Date: 2005-11-13 06:54 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Cool. Mail sent, btw :-)

    Date: 2005-11-13 03:34 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] audrarose.livejournal.com
    eeee! Sentinel DVDs! *bounce*

    I echo your entire squee! I can't believe how much I love this show. *happy sigh*

    During the frisbee scene? When Don had to leave? I loved the whole...seriousness of that, and Larry's reaction to it. I think Larry has great affection for both the Eppes boys. They've done such a great job interlinking everyone on the show. *loves*

    And the thing about the tank tops... I have no problem at all with Megan wearing them (believe me, I'm not baggy-sweater girl myself *g*) BUT when she's wearing a tank top and all the men are wearing suits, ties, with collars completely buttoned up -- then I take issue. If Megan were a real person, making her own decisions on what to wear, fine; but she isn't. TPTB made a conscious decision to dress the men in suits and put the sole woman in bar clothes. IMO it objectifies her, reduces her to simply eye candy.

    It's not like this keeps me up nights or anything, but that's my basic contention. *g*

    Date: 2005-11-13 03:51 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I love how Larry is comfortable with the whole Eppes family *g*

    Thing is, I've never seen her tank tops as "unprofessional" because they're just, like, what is under the suit - it's not as if she wore cute pinkish revealing tank tops. The men sometimes don't wear ties, it's the equivalent to me. I've never seen Magan as eye candy - if she was, she would have wore other stuff - I mean, that's how I see it *g* I mean, I do think she's gorgeous and all, but not in a "sexy bimbo of the series" kinda way. Not like Nadine, for instance who I couldn't stand *cough* And who, btw, I never found sexy either - just nerve grating.

    Date: 2005-11-13 04:01 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] audrarose.livejournal.com
    Yeah, it's not really a deal breaker for me or anything *bg*. I love Megan, as much as Terry, shockingly, and seriously, if I had her body? I'd wear the exact same thing. I guess to me it's the implied attitude of the people making the show that bothers me. I could very well be over-thinking this. *g*

    And preview! Yes, you must find it and then come freak out with me! *bites nails*

    Date: 2005-11-13 04:05 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I suppose the "connotations" would grate on my nerves too if I considered them but I guess I just chose to totally ignore it and see Megan for who she is, not what the writers might have wanted us to see - I do that a lot *g*

    And I can't find the preview *sobs*

    Date: 2005-11-13 04:45 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] zanzou-chan.livejournal.com
    Is it sad that, while watching the episode, one of my first thoughts was "[livejournal.com profile] castalie is going to go NUTS... x3"? XD

    It was totally wonderful and angsty, though. *_* I love that you posted your fic so close after it aired. :D

    *loves on Megan*

    Date: 2005-11-13 06:34 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I don't know about being sad - I would say it was incredibly sweet though *g*

    *loves on Megan*

    *high fives*

    The one with the barely awake Babycakes

    Date: 2005-11-13 06:53 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
    not reading the review or anything, but isn't episode 1x07 'counterfeit reality'? this episode is season 2, right?

    as for Elizabethtown, my flatmates went to see it this weekend and told me it sucked lol I'll wait until it comes out on DVD :P

    apart from that: again, I'm so happy you have the French Posse to go to the movies with! *tap dances*

    Re: The one with the barely awake Babycakes

    Date: 2005-11-13 06:59 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I think my mind is still in s1 mood lol But let's say it's a good sign - it means they didn't break the rhythm, or anything.

    I'm not surprised. I bet there are more people who thought it sucked than the opposite. Or let's say 50/50 - but I thought it was a beautiful story, really sweet story and the romance was kinda original. Also, I guess people losing a member of their family resonated a lot with me...

    And yes, I'm having so much fun with the French Posse! *bounces*

    Also, chérie? You might not get your email today... I mean, maybe you will but maybe you won't so, like, better not wait for it, okay? That way you won't be disappointed *apologetic look*

    Re: The one with the barely awake Babycakes

    Date: 2005-11-13 07:03 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
    oh, cause Elisabethtown is about losing a member of the family? *is a moron who doesn't even know the synopsis but whatever* *giggles*

    *shrugs* don't worry about the email :) - I'll watch Numb3rs and think about you instead *giggles* I actually watched Counterfeit Identity last night, and that last scene in Don's apartment? With Charlie all cute? I just adore it! *loves Eppes family*)

    Re: The one with the barely awake Babycakes

    Date: 2005-11-13 07:16 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    It actually follow two stories in parallel and one of them is the aftermath of OB's character losing his father. Wonderful family movie in that regard *g* And then there's the romance between OB and KD's characters - except it's kinda atypical ;-)

    I'll watch Numb3rs and think about you instead

    LOL Well, that's a nice program - on both account *g*

    Oh that last scene... that last scene *happy sigh*

    Date: 2005-11-15 08:04 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] yami-tai.livejournal.com
    I hope we get to see the missing part of Numb3rs too because the end scene is generally always my fav. Megan was gorgeous in that dress and she could still kick bad guy butt ^_^!

    Date: 2005-11-15 01:28 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Didn't you download that missing part, Tai? Cause I did so technically I had it all. It's just that I like my files complete and I've been told that the transition had "stolen" a few seconds of the last scene so it would be nice to really have the whole thing in one file *g*

    Hail to kick-ass!Megan!

    Date: 2005-11-15 07:29 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] yami-tai.livejournal.com
    Didn't you download that missing part, Tai?

    I didn't realise it was up for download! Thanks for the heads up, I'm downloading it now ^_^!

    Date: 2005-11-16 01:18 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Yes yes it was. I'm glad I pointed it out to you because that missing part and the very last scene with Charlie were just brilliant. It would have been too bad to miss it out *g*

    Date: 2005-11-15 01:33 pm (UTC)
    ext_1650: (Charlie (digital_diva))
    From: [identity profile] turps33.livejournal.com
    TS out on DVD seems like a dream at the moment, like one of those things you've wanted so long that you know will probably never happen. You wait and wish then suddenly. TS on DVD! Whoa!

    Guess what? I haven't seen Numb3rs yet, but I think I'm going to like this ep somehow *g*

    Date: 2005-11-16 01:17 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I know! We've been waiting and hoping for so long, even now, with those new rumours, it still doesn't seem true.

    So did you see Numb3rs between your comment and now? ;-)

    Profile

    castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
    Mouse

    January 2023

    S M T W T F S
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031    

    Style Credit

    Expand Cut Tags

    No cut tags
    Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 10:43 am
    Powered by Dreamwidth Studios