We're on!

Nov. 20th, 2005 07:08 pm
castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (The Con is On / crazybutsound)
[personal profile] castalie
Reason why the ole The TS Fandom Is Dead argument won't ever stop making me laugh #155412: a new J/B fan is born every day it seems *kisses [livejournal.com profile] sockich* and a new TS writer emerges with a little gem as first offering all the time, in this case [livejournal.com profile] princessofg with her Five Things That Never Happened to Jim Ellison story. I really liked that fic. Also it made me smile because I've been caressing the thought of trying a Five Things That Never Happened to Blair Sandburg for some time now and here is the Jim Ellison version of it. Lovely *g* Also, it always surprised me a bit that we didn't find more of this genre - until now, that is - in the TS fandom. [ETA: Mea culpa, I did forget [livejournal.com profile] crazybutsound who's getting into it, too. I pimp because I love ;-)]

Or hey, if "dead" means "still alive and kicking and bringing new people in on a regular basis" then I have to agree, TS is really dead! *nods*

Changing the subject. Lookit: "Le Grand Jeu", "L’Ultime Razzia", "L’Art et la Manière", "Échec et mat", "Ce que femme veut", "Le Dernier Pari". What are those, you wonder? I'm gonna tell you. They're the French titles of the s1 episodes of Hustle. Dude! I've just found out the show aired in France. On the cable though, so no reason for me to be sad for missing it since - well okay, sadly - I don't have the cable to begin with but hey, Paris Première knows the good stuff *nods* Also, C+ airs Spooks, they should totally air Hustle as well. It also means we'd get the original version which, yay!

Speaking of Hustle, I've been re-watching it last night - didn't sleep more than two hours, believe me, I had aaaalll the time in the world to OD on Mickey and Danny and Stacie and okay you get the picture - and the love? It consumates me. But in a good way.

Some Stuff I forgot to mention about Hustle. In bullet points. I'll be short, promise.

So I already mentioned how much I loved Hustle because of:

  • Mickey and Danny and Stacie and Albert and Ash.

  • DANNY BLUE!

  • The cuteness that is the interaction between the characters.

  • The funniness that is that show.

  • The funniness that is Danny Blue.

  • The utter class of those guys.

  • The coolness of the cons.

  • The neato filming and stylish way of telling the stories.

  • The originality of said filming.


  • And wow! I'm so articulate sometimes, aren't I?

    But also because of:

  • The whole Speak To The Viewers thing which works with me every time because omg! Mickey and Danny are talking to me! And Stacie just winked at me too *dies*

  • Danny being chastised because he was doing the Speak To The Viewers thing and just - that was so cool! And sweet, because you know, Mickey chastising Danny and all that.

  • The little tidbits we get when they're doing their cons. Even when we know they're doing a con within the con, we're never sure about the reason behind it and what exactly is the direction they're taking. And finally when everything is over, we go back to all those little pieces they fed us here and there and they're finally showing us the big picture and YAY!

  • The laughters. It goes back to the whole "family feel" we get when we watch the show, but like I keep saying on my journal, I have a thing for characters laughing and Hustle gives it to me. Big time! And I love that show for that reason as well *g*


  • Also! Did you notice how I haven't - not even once - mentioned Hustle slash so far? Well now is the time. So omg! I would kill someone for some sweet and hot Mickey/Danny because just - MICKEY/DANNY! That is all, kthxbai.

    That show is just too cool for words *happy sigh*

    Still no "Toxin" preview over at the CBS site. Bad CSB site, no cookie!

    Date: 2005-11-20 06:05 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] rhianne.livejournal.com
    And, because slash is never far from my mind *eg*, (particularly now because I've just finished writing my first ever slash sex scene eeeeep! *ahem*), didn't you just love the scene where Danny is trying to convince Stacie to sleep with him, and says to Mickey "if you were a bird, would you shag me"? Because ROTFL! I adore that scene like an adoring thing :)

    Date: 2005-11-20 06:13 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    LOL Right after I posted the entry I thought I'd forgotten something and edited it to add some slash because Mickey/Danny? Is a thing of beauty ;-)

    And I love that line - and the whole scene, actually *g*

    Also, is "bird" slang for "girl", then?

    Date: 2005-11-20 06:15 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] rhianne.livejournal.com
    Yes :) It's London slang for girl. Might be cockney rhyming slang, but I'm not 100% sure about that. Either way, it's definitely slang.

    Date: 2005-11-20 06:41 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Cool, thanks *g*

    Also since you're here; what is Danny's accent? I mean, what part is it from?

    Date: 2005-11-20 06:57 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] rhianne.livejournal.com
    Oh, he has a London accent, iirc. Not quite full-on thick London cockney tone, but it's definitely a reasonably strong London accent.

    Date: 2005-11-21 07:26 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    That is supposed to be the London accent? Dude, you'll need to speak a bit slower than usual when you'll be talking to me, alright! lol

    Though if you mention Danny's "strong London accent", it means yours wouldn't be so strong? Please?

    Date: 2005-11-20 06:14 pm (UTC)
    crazybutsound: (hustle danny blue has the conman's blues)
    From: [personal profile] crazybutsound
    Hey, what about me and TS fandom? I really only just started getting into it since you offered to give me the 1st season. :-) Won't be writing in it, though.

    And it amuses me to no end how utterly into Hustle you are. Makes me happy. :-)

    Date: 2005-11-20 06:45 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Hee you're right! I'm sorry *hides* I edited my post and included you because you are indeed getting into it *g*

    DUDE! I love Hustle so much!

    Date: 2005-11-20 06:35 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] carodee.livejournal.com
    Or hey, if "dead" means "still alive and kicking and bringing new people in on a regular basis" then I have to agree, TS is really dead! *nods*

    Such lovely snark, Mouse! *g* *quietly adores you*

    Date: 2005-11-20 06:45 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    *preens*

    *giggles*

    *kisses*

    Date: 2005-11-20 07:04 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
    I love how hyper you sound in this entry *giggles*

    and yeah, I have to admit, TS is quite impressive! *in awe*

    Date: 2005-11-21 07:21 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Now that you mention it... sounded kinda hyper, yeah lol

    Love it when I see "TS" coming from your mouth. Well - you know what I mean...

    Date: 2005-11-20 07:21 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] drinteot.livejournal.com
    We are so doing this psychic connection thing lately! I just finished reading [livejournal.com profile] princessofg only it was Staying Present and thought Wow! this is so well written and so moving, just lovely. I've never given up on TS.

    Date: 2005-11-21 07:23 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Are we kindred spirits or what?!

    I haven't read Staying Present yet but I'll do it asap *nods*

    I've never given up on TS

    You and me both *loves her TS fandom*

    Date: 2005-11-20 07:45 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] moimoietmoi.livejournal.com
    I've just watched the 1st episode of Hustle and I love it! *g*

    I am totally in love with Danny! His eyes, his accent, his manners... *hurries off to watch the 2nd ep*

    Date: 2005-11-21 07:24 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    YAY another has fallen *does the happy dance* That makes two of you on my flist just thanks to my entries. If Hustle isn't über-powerful, I don't know what it is lol

    And Danny is the sweetest thing ever, isn't he? *fond look*

    Date: 2005-11-21 01:30 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] sockich.livejournal.com
    *kisses [livejournal.com profile] sockish*

    *whisper* That's [livejournal.com profile] sockich. :p But I forgive you, for I am a generous spirit. *smooches you*

    But seriously, something as awesome as TS can never die! It's impossible. And if there are really gonna be DVDs next year, that means new fans and then TS fandom shall live forever! *is a dork*

    I still need to do a squee over Hustle but I can't seem to find the time...I watch a couple of episodes, then read some Jim/Blair, then watch some Hustle and read some Jim/Blair again and so on and so forth. You have ruined me for anything remotely productive. *g*

    Date: 2005-11-21 04:26 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Of course I had to spell your name wrong *sigh* And thanks for being so forgiving, you're too kind *smooches back*

    TS can never die, I totally agree with you. How could it ever die, anyway? Some ts fen are just stupid odd.

    I can't wait for you to do a squee over Hustle *bounces*

    You have ruined me for anything remotely productive. *g*

    I'm so proud *is moved*

    Profile

    castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
    Mouse

    January 2023

    S M T W T F S
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031    

    Style Credit

    Expand Cut Tags

    No cut tags
    Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 04:55 am
    Powered by Dreamwidth Studios