castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Don & Charlie / kalena_henden)
[personal profile] castalie
So much for catching up on the flist last night. I did try but when it's the middle of the night and you reach skip=300 and you know you still have two days to go, well, it kinda becomes too much so you have to give up. For your own sanity, you know? I resumed my reading today and stopped at skip=620 - I think I did it all. Actually, something that always surprises me is how everything stays the same on LJ...

Anyway "Toxin" downloaded when I said it would - only took four hours which was really nice :-) I found the time to watch it today and see I had a lot of expectations for that episode. Well DUDE it was even better than I expected. The sheer incredibleness of that episode almost did me in.

See, sometimes I'm watching Numb3rs and I have to wonder how is it possible to love a show so fucking much that I fall in love with it all over again pretty much every two episodes. I mean, seriously how is that possible?

So yeah, on with the squee that was Numb3rs 2x09 - "Toxin".

I always love those Charlie-explains-one-of-his-theories thing at the FBI like the one we had at the beginning of that episode with the whole Find the Key thing because I always love the whole brainstorming moment when Charlie starts playing and the whole team joins him and they find the solution themselves, but it was nothing compared to the brainstorming scene between the Eppes men that followed.

How fucking awesome was the whole scene! I guess it could have looked cosier and cuter but I can't see how: you have father and sons all gathered in the same room, you have Don reclining on the couch going through his files, Alan doing crossword puzzles and Charlie grading papers and everyone is both doing something on their own and doing something together. And people still wonder why I love this family?!

The whole thing was great. I quite enjoyed the Alan-Don discussion about big corporations and smiled at Charlie's silently nodding at what his father had told Don. I don't know, it was so natural... it was also unnecessary in a way - almost done in passing - but as usual with Numb3rs gratuitous scenes aren't ever omitted and I positively love that.

You know it's like those moments when the characters speak at the same time. You have that a lot in Numb3rs - Larry and Charlie in particular do it a lot, and Don and Charlie too - it sounds so normal, so realistic, the characters look so comfortable with each other. Usually in shows it doesn't really happen that way. Character A will talk and Character B will wait for him to stop talking before starting with their own lines and they'll cut each other only if it's to make a point. Here it happens all the time and you sometimes hear characters talking in the background even though you might have trouble working out what exactly they're saying because yes, that is what happens in RL, people talk even if the camera isn't on them and I don't know, maybe it just makes sense to myself only but it's something I noticed in that show, so there.

Yeah er anyway where was I? Yes, that scene - I tremendously enjoyed it. Also love continuity and we now have one more word that Charlie can't spell - you have to wonder how many mistakes the guy makes when he's grading his papers *g* Alan made me laugh with his "people might think that our educational system has failed you completely, Charlie" line because that was just too funny lol Besides it's also quite sweet when either Alan or Don - or okay both - calls Charlie on his inability to use the English language properly.

Then we have another of Charlie's mini lecture and I loved it even more this time as it was a family effort or something. Everyone participated, including Alan and don't they make the perfect team? In a completely unbiased way... And the Don-Charlie thing, it's like a dance, you know? Charlie will make the first step and Don will join him and bam! Sparkles fly. Or a break through in the case happens, in our case *g*

To end my rambling about that scene - man, I'm already losing control of that review and we're supposedly, what, fifteen minutes into the episode? *blink* - it made me smile how Charlie still has the last word, ie the moment when he gives Alan the answer to one of the words on the crossword puzzle. Loved the way he delivered the line and loved even more Alan's look *loves*

Hey this episode mentioned again the never ending theme of Charlie having work of his own and being expected to stop everything to help Don. I like how it's a recurring theme. As usual, it ends up with Charlie pushing everything back and eagerly accepting to actively help Don because as was previously established, he can't ever say no to his brother. Though in this case, one might add that Charlie can't say no to Edgerton either as it seems impossible for him to miss an opportunity to see Edgy again. One minute he's all "I seriously have way too much work on my hands, I'm sorry but I can't help too much" the next he's all "I'll get my minions to do my work it's okay; let's just pack already!" and if that's not too cute for words, I don't know what it is.

I mean, seriously when Don asks if Charlie remembers Edgerton and Charlie gives him his reply it made me laugh because I know exactly how his line ended in reality:

Don: Remember Edgerton?
Charlie: The FBI sniper instructor? The guy who fucked me while you watched? Of course I remember him!

Dude, of course he does! You wouldn't forget a ride like that, believe you me. But I guess the writers cut the ending of that piece of dialogue because of a technical problem? Maybe the episode turned out to be a tad too long or something. Cause that's the only rational explanation as to why it didn't make it to the actual episode.

Also, who in their right minds could ever forget Edgerton anyway? He has to be one of the best guest characters ever known to fangirl. I'm thinking Coop was awesome as well but Edgy is still #1 in my heart. Because as cool as Coop was, I'm not sure he wanted to nail Charlie right away, whereas Edgerton was completely smitten with him immediately, see? And an equation that doesn't include Charlie is missing an important component. Not That I'm Biased Or Anything #14452.

So yeah Edgerton is a god. He's the bastard son of Clint Eastwood and Yoda. He's a legend. He pretends to be doodling when he is in fact making art and as previously established, he's madly in lust with the brothers and it's so very mutual, too. Edgy is so very cool and competent and aloof and it would be anyone else and maybe, just maybe it would taste of Marty Sueness but it's Edgerton and it fucking works, period. He's also adorable with Charlie and just - I love Edgerton, kthxbai.

When I say the Eppes men make a great team, I should also add the Don/Charlie/Edgerton Don-Charlie-Edgerton team in my list of Best Teams Ever because those three are perfect together. And seriously, dirty slashy thoughts aside, they really are.

I love their relationship - they have wonderful chemistry, they do seem so comfortable with each other and it's a joy to see them interact. Edgy also reminds me of Megan and Co with his easy acceptance of Charlie and the way his mind works. Technically, it's not something brand new since we already saw it in "Sniper Zero" but some things bear repeating. I also enjoyed how s1!Edgerton was indeed s2!Edgerton, if it makes sense.

I absolutely loved the smiles the guys have when they meet again, but it was nothing compared to the "I always have the best time with you guys" moment when Charlie is beaming and actually winking at Edgerton and Don is being all coy. Cutest thing ever!

I loved the Soap Bubbles scene which was awfully cute too. Charlie is all happy and proud of his accomplishment and he's having a blast explaining his method and Edgerton doesn't really get how it all works but he trusts Charlie and his crazy mind and it's quite affectionate and then Charlie is smiling and laughing and isn't it cute when he puts his hand on Edgerton's shoulder after the "Of course you did" line and explains it better? *takes a breath * Or at least, it did look to me as if he was reaching out to Edgerton *g*

I enjoyed those Eppes-Edgerton scenes so much it's a miracle I actually survived, I swear! It was grand :-)

Then we have the last scene of the episode and okay maybe I died a little here again but please! Did you see that scene?

Togetherness again, banter, bratty!Charlie tattling on Larry [the way he smiled at Larry after he mentioned the kinda!date was positively naughty lol] and it's so cosy and sweet and fun, but then we have sadness as mommy!Eppes is mentioned and icing on the cake we actually get to see a picture of mommy!Eppes as she was not so long before she dies, I guess and wow! Then it's back to the fun and sweet and how much did I love that scene? THAT much, yes. Larry's line right before he walks out of the door was perfect and what followed was even more perfect, what with the Eppes men laughing together and being all puzzled at the - potential - new development in the whole Megan/Larry dynamic :-) Such a fantastic scene *happy sigh*

Randomly now:

  • Colby is a fanboy! How funny was he when he was fanboying Edgerton lol


  • Charlie's office is so cool. Also quite enjoyed Don playing darts while talking to Megan.


  • Megan is so incredibly awesome that I fall in love with her all over again, too. And Don publicly admitted she kicked ass and that moment was pretty brilliant, in particular in that context.


  • Speaking of which, loved how Don trusted Megan implictly.


  • The Megan/Larry scene rocked my world.


  • I quite enjoy Charlie in teasing mode. [to Don] "Hey so you have an apartment?"


  • Charlie's sleeves - he often has too long sleeves. Makes him look like a little boy, which I guess is the point? Or not, but there you go, his sleeves are often too long. And no, it doesn't have anything to do with anything, I know.


  • Charlie and Edgerton pointing in the same direction at the same time? *dies*


  • Don being all annoyed at Charlie because he used pins on the wall in their cabin room was of the good. So brotherly and all. In particular since Charlie obviously doesn't listen to a word of what his brother is saying.


  • Don's "Be careful, Charlie" had me melt. Thank you, Don.


  • There's loving a show and then there's loving a show. See?

    Also I know it's obviously not the London report. It'll come. Later.

    Now I'm off to read the latest Numb3rs slash fics that were posted while I was away and then I'll have to hunt the 2x09 reviews my flist wrote. Also, if you know of "Toxin" icons... let me know, please? Thanks!

    PS: Completely changing the subject here. Message to [livejournal.com profile] yami_tai: do you remember the m/m s/m book I saw at Waterstone's on Saturday? How I was coveting it but thought I should wait and see if Amazon didn't have it for a better price? Well I was inspired, I found the book for half the price we saw at the bookstore. So er, I took that as a sign that said book was indeed destined to be mine and I kinda ordered it :-)

    Date: 2005-11-29 10:40 pm (UTC)
    enigel: Aziraphale shielding Crawly under his wing ([Numb3rs] [C/E] angles)
    From: [personal profile] enigel
    I'll make it easy for you :P

    http://www.livejournal.com/users/enigel/253736.html
    http://www.livejournal.com/users/enigel/254106.html

    Read them and see that YOU'VE HACKED INTO MY BRAIN OMG! Like word for word hacked! Or maybe we're already at the mindmeld stage? :D

    Date: 2005-11-30 07:06 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Thanks for the links, I'll try to finally check them out tonight *g*

    Hee we're Numb3rs twins, too *clings*

    Or maybe we're already at the mindmeld stage? :D

    Nice, you're my ty'la... or however it spells :-)

    Date: 2005-11-30 12:15 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
    you're baaaaaack for real! (hum, you're going to have those kind of comments all week long btw - totally worth leaving for three days, isn't it?)

    Glad Numb3rs was awesome - I just wanted to show up my new icon, because I find it cute as hell *coughs*

    Date: 2005-11-30 07:06 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Oh yes, I'm back for real lol All week long? Can't say I'll complain ;-)

    Your icon is awfully cute, indeed *nods*

    Date: 2005-11-30 01:34 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] nina-ds.livejournal.com
    ::nods:: Basically, there's not too much to add! The squees were pretty much heard 'round the fandom, I think.

    Are you aware of this? It's a WIP, started before last week - but it was as if the writers were reading our minds! (This would start between the two episodes...)

    Date: 2005-11-30 07:09 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    The squees must have been heard from very far, methinks *g*

    And thanks for the link, I haven't read that one *g*

    Date: 2005-11-30 02:51 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] kirusai.livejournal.com
    Let me say that I am really getting the 'how much can you love numb3rs?' part. I am obsessed with Spn, but it's a completely different genre, so the obsession is on a different level. And I admit - I'm kind of in love with two hot guys, who wouldn't be?

    But with numb3rs, I get a great sense of community interlaced with drama and tons of character development in a realistic world. The entire series is made of so many stories, yet you see people being more fleshed out with every episode. I love all the characters, supporting, and the ones just on the sidelines. They bring to numb3rs a whole new level of 'team'.

    Actually, I'm rewatching numb3rs during the Supernatural hiatus. So far, the show is just kicking my butt, and I hope I'll be able to pick up on new things the second time around.

    Date: 2005-11-30 07:12 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I hear you re loving SPN and Numb3rs differently. I love SPN too as you know but Numb3rs... it is on a whole other level altogether. I also think the relationship between Don and Charlie is so much more realistic than the Sam and Dean's one. And I mean, sure, the circumstances are completely different and SPN is all about the supernatural but I'm talking about the brothers' relationships themselves... there's something completely different between the two.

    Yeah anyway lol

    I love you description about Numb3rs - this is why I love the series so SO much, yes *g*

    I hope I'll be able to pick up on new things the second time around.

    Hope you will, too.

    Date: 2005-11-30 04:04 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] catiadoodle.livejournal.com
    Welcome Baaaack !

    Yeah, that is short, but I'm off to sleep. :D Will gladly read the report !

    Date: 2005-11-30 07:14 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Thank youuuuuuuuu *g*

    And short is good, anyway lol

    Date: 2005-11-30 04:15 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] zanzou-chan.livejournal.com
    The FBI sniper instructor? The guy who fucked me while you watched? Of course I remember him!

    D: Why you no written this fic yet? Whyyyy? *shameless begging goes here*

    Date: 2005-11-30 07:15 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Heeee I don't know why I haven't written that fic yet! I totally should, if only to have fun with my favourite Numb3rs threesome lol

    Date: 2005-11-30 11:08 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] sockich.livejournal.com
    Well, it's good to see the brain sharing continues, 'cause that? That was pretty much exactly the same reaction I had, except you wrote it all nice and long and OMG THAT EP WAS SO FUCKING GOOD!!!! And you totally made me want to watch it again and since I've never been one to deny myself...*goes off to watch and squee*

    Date: 2005-11-30 07:16 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    We did the sharing-brain thing again? Dude, we rock *high fives*

    THAT EPISODE WAS SO GOOD IT SHOULD BE ILLEGAL! That is all *bows*

    Date: 2005-11-30 01:04 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] french-hobbit.livejournal.com
    Yes! You're back!

    Glad you found the ep - not reading the review to avoid spoilers (I'm waaaaay behind lol), but, still, yeah.

    Date: 2005-11-30 07:17 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    You should hurry in your Numb3rs watching so that we can all squee together lol

    And yes I'm back, woohoo *kisses*

    Date: 2005-11-30 03:37 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] frayen.livejournal.com
    The wonderful [livejournal.com profile] cross_stitchery sent me all the numb3rs eps she had downloaded up until 'In plain sight'

    I downloaded 'Toxin' before I got the DVDs, and I wasn't going to watch it until I got to see 'Sniper zero' Didn't work out that way, I couldn't wait.

    I loved how Charlie was so eager to see Edgerton, he was all "But I have papers to grade" then when Edgerton is mentioned it's "I'll get the TA's to do it" *hee*

    i have to go and watch all the eps now, I am up to 'noisy edge'
    *rubs hands*


    I can't 'cest the Eppes, I just don't see it. Incest has always been a squick. But . . . . But . . . . The Winchesters. I . . . . I . . . . um. . . . yeah, hot!

    Date: 2005-11-30 08:04 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Yes you'll be able to catch up on Numb3rs! And I recommend you for even trying to be patient and wait before seeing "Toxin" but I agree that it was impossible to do so lol

    That episode rocked so much... Charlie really was too eager to forget about everything just to be able to meet with Edgerton again, that's way too sweet for words :-)

    So wait, you can't cest the Eppes because incest squicks you but you can kinda see the incest with the Winchesters? Dude! lol

    Date: 2005-11-30 08:29 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] frayen.livejournal.com
    So wait, you can't cest the Eppes because incest squicks you but you can kinda see the incest with the Winchesters? Dude! lol

    It was a squick, it is slowly becoming less so, and I blame Sam and Dean. The TPTB are slapping you in the face with it. Still don't see it with Don and Charlie though. However Charlie and Edgerton rock my world *g*

    Date: 2005-11-30 09:00 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Sam and Dean are naughty boys, aren't they? Slowly easing you into cest. Or maybe not easing you in but making it less a squick and all :-)

    It's fun cause for me, it's more Don/Charlie than Sam/Dean. I mean, obviously I love the Wincest but I'm really into Don/Charlie first and foremost *g*

    As for Edgerton/Charlie - oh yeah, it does rock my world too *nods*

    Date: 2005-12-01 04:01 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] frayen.livejournal.com
    Sam and Dean are naughty boys, aren't they? Slowly easing you into cest. Or maybe not easing you in but making it less a squick and all :-)


    Yes they are, and they must be spanked *g*

    Date: 2005-12-01 09:07 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Yes they are, and they must be spanked *

    Oh god, the visual! *glassy eyes*

    Thank you lol

    Date: 2005-11-30 04:18 pm (UTC)
    spikedluv: (don&charlie_perfectteam_shantalanadevil)
    From: [personal profile] spikedluv
    OMG, where have you beeeen?!!! *welcomes back other half of Numb3rs!brain with hugs and kisses*

    I adored every single Eppes family moment. Alan teasing Charlie about his spelling, Charlie telling Larry he could have whatever scraps of his brain Don left him *loved*, Charlie teasing Don about having an apartment, lol, and the last scene, where we have a somber moment as they all remember mama!Eppes, and then they all join in on teasing Larry.

    And their smiles when Edgerton says he has the best time with them, god, they were so wonderful. And the song that started playing, and that went through the next scene? *loved*

    Don: Remember Edgerton?
    Charlie: The FBI sniper instructor? The guy who fucked me while you watched? Of course I remember him!

    Dude, of course he does! You wouldn't forget a ride like that, believe you me.


    OMG, I think I broke something. *vbg*

    Edgy also reminds me of Megan and Co with his easy acceptance of Charlie

    Yes!!! I thought so, too!!!

    Charlie's office is so cool. Also quite enjoyed Don playing darts while talking to Megan.

    Word.

    Don being all annoyed at Charlie because he used pins on the wall in their cabin room was of the good. So brotherly and all. In particular since Charlie obviously doesn't listen to a word of what his brother is saying.

    Charlie miming his trying to stick the papers between the logs killed me!

    And I loved Larry being all tongue-tied with Megan. Just loved.

    And also, I wrote fic. One's a tag for the last ep, In Plain Sight, and the other's a missing scene from this one. *bg*

    Welcome back! I've had so few people to squee with this weekend, sadly. *g*

    Date: 2005-11-30 08:08 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I couldn't wait to finally be able to watch the episode and squee with you all! lol We did download the episode when we were in the UK, Tai and I, but we couldn't play the file. Though I couldn't have written my review anyway so hee!

    But yeah, I finally did both now and wow... that episode? Was too good to be true, really *loves*

    OMG, I think I broke something. *vbg*

    You and me both lol

    And also, I wrote fic. One's a tag for the last ep, In Plain Sight, and the other's a missing scene from this one. *bg*

    YAY ficcage! I'll tab those ones and read them asap, I'll be in for a treat, I already know that lol

    Thanks *g* Glad you could squee with me lol And I'll have to squee with you too once I'll finally be able to read your review :-)

    Date: 2005-11-30 06:01 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] moimoietmoi.livejournal.com
    Wow! Mouse, I think you broke some kind of record for the length of post! lol

    Date: 2005-11-30 08:09 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    *reads entry again* You might be kinda right lol

    Date: 2005-12-01 09:52 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] yami-tai.livejournal.com
    I have said it before and I will say it again, you do the best episode summaries! Imagine me nodding and smiling at everything you said ^_~!

    do you remember the m/m s/m book I saw at Waterstone's on Saturday?

    Of course, it had the best cover! I thought you showed great fortitude resisting it, but it was fate obviously because it was meant to be yours, only cheaper, lol!

    Btw, Big Ben now has pride of place opposite the Eiffel Tower on my fridge ^_^! I shall have to take a pic to share on my LJ. Thanks again for it, hun.

    Date: 2005-12-02 10:01 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I have said it before and I will say it again, you do the best episode summaries!

    Eee thanks *blushes* Glad you enjoy them, as I know they're so incredibly long all the time *facepalm*

    The book has been dispatched, yay!

    My pleasure, really - it was nothing *kisses*

    Profile

    castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
    Mouse

    January 2023

    S M T W T F S
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031    

    Style Credit

    Expand Cut Tags

    No cut tags
    Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 10:37 am
    Powered by Dreamwidth Studios