castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Sam & Dean / carmendove)
[personal profile] castalie
I've finally seen "Scarecrow"! I'm a happy fangirl, yay!

Supernatural 1x11 - Scarecrow

Okay so when we first saw the couple, the soontobedead!guestcharacters? The whole scene in the field had me bounce on my bed, going OMG BUT BE DEAD ALREADY! For a) I am mean and b) I'm not here for the plot soontobedead!guestcharacters, kthxbai.

But they were finally offed and YES! The Phone Call scene, which truly was as wonderful as expected. I mean, I already said it but I'll say it again, did you notice how long Dean sat on the bed, his arm out for the phone, DID YOU? Because man, it was a long time! And his face! There's so much longing there, and there's worries and dude! Best moment ever! Dean re-broke my heart.

But then, then it became even more awesome because Dean did get the phone! And instead of, like, talking to his father and having his dad talking to him, his son, we had a soldier talking to his CO and a CO giving out his orders, and my poor Dean! Because though he was being all obedient and soldier-ey with his dad, we had his face in front of us and we were seeing his reaction and, I mean, seriously JA? I love his acting more than words could say because he can put so many emotions in just one look. Each time he does an emotional scene, I'm sold. Completely. And he broke the little pieces of my heart that had previously been broken. Twice.

The whole episode had me bounce and squee and melt and wince because okay sure the plot, mean evil scarecrow killing innocents, blahblahblah, blonde hitchhiker whose fake identity is so obvious it's laughable - then again, I'm not into SPN for the plot so okay why not, let's pretend we didn't see that one coming - blahblahblah, sacrifices blahblahblah. Okay that was nice but THE BROTHERS! Their scenes together - which is funny as they were separated pretty much the whole time - were so brilliant!

From their confrontation in the car - and dude, siblings know where to hurt, don't they? They don't pull their punches, those two - to the time they spent apart to their reunion, it was an angst fest and wow, it was a thing of beauty.

I've enjoyed seeing the brothers argue since day one, in particular in regard to their past and/or their relationship with their dad and yeah, the whole fight when they were en route to Indiana totally pushed my buttons. It's like two men with their own and opposite philosophies, of course it would clash. Also, they played on Dean's blind faith for his father and that's another theme I absolutely adore, how he is - and has always been - the one who always says amen to everything their father said, no matter what he might feel.

And see, Dean's relationship with daddy!Winchester kinda fascinates me. I'm all for the brothers except not, because I'm really into the whole Dean-John relationship as well, I dare say they're on the same level for me, even. And for instance, seeing how the brothers react differently to John and considering that Sam was always able to stand up to their dad, unlike Dean, well I wonder why Dean always behaved that way?

Was it done out of love? Out of duty? Both? And when he talks to Sam in the middle of the episode and Dean makes his incredibly open and emotional speech to Sam, I wish he'd finished his sentence. What did he wish exactly? That he'd been strong enough to stand up to their father too? And to what extent? Like, that he was able to stand up to him but still live that life? That he was able to stand up to him and do like Sam did and lead his own life, far from it all? Or just that he was able to stand up to him and actually follow Sam when he decided to go to California instead of Indiana and - yeah, I sure wish he'd finished that sentence of his lol

Speaking of that conversation, wow. WOW! So Dean is the tight-lipped one between the two? Well, man, he knows how to open up! That was such a great scene. And he was all choked up kinda watery and could I love Dean more? Well actually, yes, I think my love for Dean is of the exponential type lol

But okay seriously, I loved that he was able to tell all those things to Sam, and Sam's reaction was moving too "I don't know what to say" - I thought it rang true. I loved it. Also, Dean's "I'm not hinting anything" reply to Sam's "if you need anything, just call" had me smile because yeah Dean, you're not hinting... you're practically spelling it out! And I love you for that *hugs Dean... and okay hugs Sam as well*

I also wonder who was the one who called. And really, I think it's evil that they didn't tell us. I would have said Dean at one point because Evil Girl was always trying to stop Sam from communicating with his brother and she would have stopped him from calling Dean, like when she did when she just appeared out of nowhere, but then she was sleeping during that scene - or pretending to, whatever, she wasn't doing anything anyway, which is my point - so it could have been Sam too. And now we won't ever know *sobs*

Something else that was beautiful was the last scene between the brothers with Sam's turn to speak and yeah, that's what I like to hear, Sam! Actually, I already cheered loudly at the "he's my family" line directed to Evil Girl because that he is, you tell her, Sam, yay! And I loved how Dean tried to goof around with his "hold me, Sam, it was beautiful" because it so didn't ruin the scene at all. I mean, usually one is being emotional, the other is being a manly ass and it's like it kinda negates The Moment except not here because Dean wasn't hiding his emotions at all and it was all over his face and it was great. So it didn't take either of them long to pull themselves together and start throwing insults and stuff but it was okay because I did have my Emotional Moment just before. Thank you for that.

Hey, did you notice? They both talk about the other to complete strangers! If that's not love, I don't know what is lol I thought it was so sweet. Also dude, they really make a better team when they're together.

Now onto the truly random

  • The thing I liked about Evil Girl? Is the parallel with the brothers, ie she's - apparently - working for her father while Dean and Sam are working for theirs. Also for the record? They'd better not pull a Star Wars on us with the two families here, I'm just sayin'.


  • L'Homme à la Cigarette! Cigarette Smoking Man was here! And he was bad again and you shouldn't EVER trust teh CSM. Even when he's playing a geeky professor.


  • And actually, Emily's uncle was in XF too. Nice :-)


  • Loved Dean's take of breath when he realised it was Sam coming to his rescue.


  • Who would have thought that cell phones could be so meaningful!


  • So anyway, that episode was LOVE! And now, with "Faith", I'll be in heaven *happy sigh* Oh, speaking of "Faith". Does anyone know why they aired "Scarecrow" before "Faith" when - from what I've read somewhere, but I'm not sure how accurate the info was - "Faith" did come first?

    Unrelated now: the Sentinel love is strong in my flist and because I want to spread that love, I'll share with you that Sentinel Soundtrack I got from [livejournal.com profile] cesperanza. I zipped the songs [13 total] and uploaded them for everyone who wants the set. And seriously, if you don't possess the soundtrack already and you're into TS? Why wouldn't you want it! It has Blair and Jim's love themes! It has the Fountain theme! What's not to love, right? :-)

    Sentinel Soundtrack [*crosses fingers so that it works correctly*]

    My Numb3rs fic is at 3000+ words and it decided to pick a direction I never imagined so I decided to let it rest for the night. I'll go back to it tomorrow and see if I want to keep it that way. Also, I swear - I swear that I'll write a light, angst free Don/Charlie soon. I know I can do it!

    Date: 2006-01-12 01:17 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] drinteot.livejournal.com
    {{{gives Mouse a huge crushing hug of fangirl love}}}

    Your comments on Scarecrow made me do some bouncing and nodding...yes! oh god yes!...all the way through.

    Dean talking to his dad...how can anyone say that Dean is unemotional in that scene?! I keep repeating to everyone that will stand still long enough that Dean's face is an open book!

    Oh, how happy am I that you've discovered the joy of the Winchester family! And I totally agree with you about the interesting aspects of Dean and John.

    I can not wait for Faith.

    Oh...and who did Emily's father play on the X-Files? I've been doing a trivia quiz with friends making all sorts of connections, but I missed that one.

    Date: 2006-01-12 02:54 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    *hugs and high fives back*

    how can anyone say that Dean is unemotional in that scene?!

    How indeed!

    I keep repeating to everyone that will stand still long enough that Dean's face is an open book

    It's like preaching to the choir but yes, omg yes! Dean might be snarky and cocky and everything you want but he is a pretty open book when things really hurt or upset him. And if he might hide them from Sam sometimes - like when he hides and makes sure his brother isn't close when he calls their dad - a) it's not always the case, case in point "Scarecrow" and b) he can't hide things from us the audience. I mean, we're supposed to see it all, and that we do *nods*

    I've been waiting for "Faith" for what seems a lifetime, already lol

    As for who Hartley - or whatever his name was in the ep - played in XF, I think it was someone called Drake, or something. Sorry, I don't remember more than that, only that he played in the show too *g*

    Date: 2006-01-12 02:43 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] red-tanger.livejournal.com
    blonde hitchhiker whose fake identity is so obvious it's laughable - then again, I'm not into SPN for the plot so okay why not, let's pretend we didn't see that one coming - blahblahblah, sacrifices blahblahblah. Okay that was nice but THE BROTHERS! Best recap ever! Yes, I was like "she''s too flirty to be soontobedead, thus she is evil. I thought she kinda sucked (someone made a 'Charmed' reference, and that's pertty close to the truth), but who's watching this for the plot? really, anyone? :)

    Who would have thought that cell phones could be so meaningful! Did you see the little picture of sam next to his number? so cute!

    Does anyone know why they aired "Scarecrow" before "Faith" when - from what I've read somewhere, but I'm not sure how accurate the info was - "Faith" did come first? Since Scarecrow picks up about 5 seconds after Asylum, they would have had to do both of them after Faith in that case, so I think that it makes sense.

    Date: 2006-01-12 03:00 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Evil Girl was so obvious. I mean, first she comes out of nowhere and apparently for no reason - it was like 'okay what's the point, already?' And then how incredible, she had the exact same 'problems' with her family that Sam had and just - yeah, they could have made it more obvious, but I wonder how lol

    I did see, that was too cute for words lol Also, people tend to imagine a Dean who has no friends or no no one, but his contact list was nicely filled, wasn't it?

    So you mean that right from the start, "Scarecrow" started as a clear follow up from "Asylum"? I mean, that it was made that way from the start? Cause in that case, yes, it does make sense they would have aired as they did. But then, what doesn't exactly makes sense is why they were talking about "Faith" first... oh well, I'm not following the boards enough, so maybe I just zeroed in on "Faith" because of the plot and didn't concentrate on what date everything was supposed to be :-)

    Date: 2006-01-13 05:48 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] red-tanger.livejournal.com
    Well in Smeg's defence: she didn't do the shifty eyes (you know, looking evil as the camera zooms in when no-ones looking?) Until the end talking with daddy dearest.. so really, it could have been more obvious!

    So you mean that right from the start, "Scarecrow" started as a clear follow up from "Asylum"? Well, at least before they cutting of Asylum. Since the phonecall at the end is the same as the one in the beginning of scarecrow, the desition to air those after eatchoter must have been made then, if not earlier...
    I did hear about faith first as well, but that I think was because the 'coming next year' promo (the one with several other series like Smallville & Gilmore girls) featured almost only clips from Faith.

    Date: 2006-01-14 12:03 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Lol You're right, she didn't do the Shifty Eyes, and I should have been thankful for that :-)

    Date: 2006-01-12 06:16 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] moimoietmoi.livejournal.com
    The SPN ep was just wonderful!

    Plenty of moments between the brothers and I thought Jensen's acting was pretty damn good in the phone call scene. I loved the way he went from "I want to talk to my daddy" to "soldier ready to obey orders". The Sam-Dean-Dad interaction is just so good! *g*

    Date: 2006-01-13 10:35 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I love Jensen when he's doing an emotional scene. He has the cockiness down to a pat and okay that's also a part of him that I enjoy, but when he's upset and sad and all? It always gets to me!

    I love the Winchester family, yay!

    Date: 2006-01-12 10:41 pm (UTC)
    morningfine: ([amused])
    From: [personal profile] morningfine
    Incidentally, a partial transcript! I have no idea what you'd do with a transcript, but for comments such as [bus station of California Here We Come] and [the root cellar of waiting to die a classier death] and [SCOTTY's Homecook'n Establishment of Fattening the Sacrifice], I had to point it out. ::g::

    Date: 2006-01-12 10:47 pm (UTC)
    morningfine: (Default)
    From: [personal profile] morningfine
    Also, DEAN: [solemnly lights The Ceremonial Branch of Let's Torch The Fucker]

    On the whole, I may need to see this episode because some of that just can't be real, can it?

    Date: 2006-01-13 10:39 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Lol Yeah, you should try to see that episode.

    Technically, what the comments say are true, except they're a bit classier and, you know, less funny when you see it ;-) Also, there was great interaction between the members of the family.

    Or if it really doesn't get to you, well you can look at everything that happens in that ep the same way the comments are, ie in a funny way. Could work both ways, I guess lol

    Date: 2006-01-13 10:36 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Actually I love transcripts - first because I love quotes and a transcript is kinda filled with them and second because I write a fic, it's usually easier to check a transcript than an actualy episode, so thanks a lot *g*

    Also, the comments of that transcript seem particularly funny lol

    Date: 2006-01-17 10:49 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] yami-tai.livejournal.com
    My favourite bit of Supernatural was at the end where Dean says, 'Hold me, Sam, that was beautiful.' Matt and I both laughed so much ^_^! Gonna have to have my own squee about this episode later... I can't wait for this week's episode!

    Date: 2006-01-17 11:29 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    That scene was pure Dean, wasn't it? lol

    And yes, you should have your own squee about the ep yourself, mewants that too lol

    And HEEE FAITH TONIGHT TOMORROW!

    Profile

    castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
    Mouse

    January 2023

    S M T W T F S
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031    

    Style Credit

    Expand Cut Tags

    No cut tags
    Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 07:46 pm
    Powered by Dreamwidth Studios