castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Straight Line / dubhartach)
[personal profile] castalie
Wasn't there something different about Numb3rs this week? Felt that way to me. It's not even a complaint. I was just wondering.

Numb3rs 1x13 - "Double Down"

I wasn't riveted to my screen, but I did enjoy the episode because I can always find something interesting in that show. It's just that I didn't enjoy it as much as I do when it's all about the brothers, is all.

The Geeky Trio should be worshipped. For reals. They bring geekiness and dorkiness to a whole new level and make it the coolest thing you've ever seen. I mean, oh how I adore them.

Though for the record, I can't stand Amita's voice. Each time she opens her mouth, it hurts. It's too bad, really. Thankfully, I have Megan's voice which is pure sex lovely *innocent look*

Yeah okay so last week was David's episode and this week it was Larry's. And hey, I love Larry and David. Larry even more than David admittedly, but see, this is another time when I really feel the not-even-a-real-season'ness that is Numb3rs. Because when you only have thirteen or fourteen eps? Each one counts. But still, I did enjoy the Larry storyline. And anyway, where Larry is, Charlie follows so it was of the good lol

Besides, I was pretty fascinated by the story of those MIT students who had formed their group of card counters and raided all those casinos when I saw the documentary some time ago, so seeing the exact same story in Numb3rs, with Larry as a former card counter himself - among other things - to boot, well that was cool :-) Also, it made me smile because I've always thought that counting cards and applying math to win money over at casinos and stuff wasn't really cheating since it was just a person using their own intelligence and knowledge. So yeah, Larry, I'm with you on that one lol

Speaking of which, the casino scene... the casino scene! Was love, pure and simple. I rewound it a few times because it was so cute and geeky and dorky and also, I loved the music. Then it got a bit angsty with Larry behaving like a junkie, which yeah was bound to happen, and really, it was great.

That last scene was awesome too. So okay I thought both Alan and Charlie were a tad insensitive because offering to play poker to Larry after everything he'd admitted and gone through throughout the episode wasn't exactly nice. Though one migh argue that they just wanted to, like, de-traumatise the whole situation? In any case, Don was there to fix it. He was quite the saviour for Larry wasn't he? So cute.

And then, then, we had the "I guess it's just you and me" scene which wow! Was so fantastic that words fail me *g* But seriously... Charlie's face, the look he gave his dad. Man, I'm so in love with DK's facial expressions. And I adore it when he acts tough ;-) And Alan is so sneaky - betting the house? Dude! lol

Which reminds me, I quite love how the whole house issue is always mentioned. Because yeah, Charlie did buy it but it seems everyone is always forgetting that little fact lol Poor homeowner!Charlie *pets him*

I can't believe there're only two episodes to go. I mean, two more episodes, is that it? [ETA: Okay so it would appear it's not, yay!] And dude! What about a third season, then?

Changing the subject #1. OHMYGOD! Guess what is premiering tomorrow on M6? Hustle! Hustle will air on the not!cable! I mean, I have no idea whether the French version will be any good but Hustle! On M6 *bounces* I'm almost ready to forgive them for still having no info on when the bloody hell they'll air Numb3rs.

Changing the subject #2: I saw Kaamelott today and I swear the third season is killing me each time a little more! I was pretty gone during all the episodes - dude, "Le Porte Bonheur" was priceless - but when I saw "Le Fléau de Dieu II", that pretty much did me in. Attila was back! And it's funny cause they used the exact same setting for that episode as the one in the unaired series. That was fun *has exponential love for her show*

Changing the subject #3: My favourite TV Guide loves Brokeback Mountain and tells us so: "Wyoming, début des sixties. Engagés pour surveiller la transhumance, Jack et Ennis, deux cow-boys solitaires et peu loquaces, deviennent amants avant de reprendre le cours de leur vie et de fonder une famille. Cet amour interdit marquera à jamais leur existence dans cette Amérique profonde aussi puritaine qu'intolérante. Ang Lee risque fort de désarçonner au pays du rodéo avec ce western ou les chromos virils de l'ouest mordent la poussière. Interprété par des acteurs de premier ordre, Heath Ledger (en lice pour les Golden globes... et l'Oscar ?) et Jack Lyllenhaal (tout aussi digne d'éloges), ce drame bouleversant a remporté le Lion d'Or à la dernière Mostra."

And it was written by a guy. Sweet :-)

Date: 2006-01-15 03:21 am (UTC)
ext_8725: (DonCharlie [by shantalanadevil])
From: [identity profile] juleself.livejournal.com
I can't believe there're only two episodes to go. I mean, two more episodes, is that it? And dude! What about a third season, then?

Hmm, of course I could be wrong, but doesn't Season 2 have 23 eps which would make it 10 more eps? Spoilers are only up until 2.15, but if I remember correctly what I read on numb3ers.org, they just got back to filming this week...

Date: 2006-01-15 03:25 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Omg a real season, really? *wide eyes* I had no idea. I don't frequent any Numb3rs site - only consult the CBS for the video and I have to admit I think it sucks otherwise - and I didn't know. Man if it's true, it's awesome!

Thanks *g*

Date: 2006-01-15 03:33 am (UTC)
ext_8725: (DonCharlie [by shantalanadevil])
From: [identity profile] juleself.livejournal.com
Well, I cruised my way through several forums and ended up lurking on numb3rs.org because the producers (and lately even David Krumholtz!) post there, so the info is bound to be more reliable than anywhere else.

Somewhere (I can direct you to the actual post though) it was said it would be a full season and since they took a break over Christmas, I doubt they just come back to film two episodes (which probably all already finished by now).

And CBS.com sucks rocks if it weren't for the video. *nods*

Oh, and in case you didn't know, Season 1 on DVD in May with lots of extras. *wails* I need money!

Date: 2006-01-15 03:34 am (UTC)
ext_8725: (donfury [by chocojester])
From: [identity profile] juleself.livejournal.com
And my spelling sucks rocks as well. *shakes head*

Date: 2006-01-15 11:47 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Dude, it was way past three in the morning, it was a miracle we could even write anything!

Date: 2006-01-15 11:46 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Man you bring me the best news! That's great, thanks again *g*

And you mean the DVD could be out in May? Hee just in time for my birthday, if that's not good timing, I don't know what is lol

Date: 2006-01-15 03:46 am (UTC)
spikedluv: (numb3rs_family_midnighta)
From: [personal profile] spikedluv
I can't believe there're only two episodes to go. I mean, two more episodes, is that it?

Do not scare me like that! *gives you a noogie*

Sadly, this ep did not send me to my happy place. Not enough family interaction, and the Larry-the-blackjack-stud storyline kinda bored me.

Amita's voice doesn't grate, but I hate the way she speaks, almost like she's very carefully enunciating each word. Which may simply be because she's 'exposition girl' in these eps, explaining to us what Charlie's doing, and that's annoying, and also boring. I'd actually rather be a little bit lost with the math behind the math, so to speak, than have so much meta in the episode. I don't really need to know the nuts and bolts of what Charlie's doing to enjoy watching him do it. *weg*

I also adore Alan (and everyone else) forgetting that Charlie owns the house, lol! First when he offered it up for Val's wedding, and and this ep when he's all, 'my living room...your living room'. *g*

Date: 2006-01-15 11:43 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Heee sorry lol

That episode was lacking somehow, wasn't it? I know I found myself replying to comments while watching it at one point which uh, just never happens.

Still, it was enjoyable and it brought the Larry-Charlie relationship to the fore - I quite love how they don't really have any idea of the other's space :-)

I swear each time Amita speaks it grates on my nerves. And now I wonder if it's indeed her voice or the way she speaks. I guess I'd need to hear her in another role. But in the meantime argh!

Alan is so the head of the family. And the head of the family has his son living with him, not the other way around lol

Date: 2006-01-15 09:35 am (UTC)
ext_1650: (Don/Charlie ( digital_diva))
From: [identity profile] turps33.livejournal.com
Man, you were up so late! I was a couple of hours from getting up then as James needed to pick the BiL up at an insane hour.

Anyway, that's not important. Numb3rs, and I was thinking it was still a pretty long review until I went back and checked your tag, and yeah, for you it was short *g*

Still good though, because you give the best reviews ever!

Date: 2006-01-15 11:45 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Another bout of insomnia. I was dozing off around 5.00. Lovely. Not!

Ouch and you mean you got around five/six? That's horrible *shudder*

For me that was short, yes lol

Thank you ma'am *bows*

Date: 2006-01-15 10:46 pm (UTC)
ext_1650: (arghhh)
From: [identity profile] turps33.livejournal.com
You got it, it was about 5 when we had to get up. I say about because my eyes wouldn't focus right at the time *g*

Date: 2006-01-16 12:29 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
That's just cruel *pets you*

Date: 2006-01-15 01:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] moimoietmoi.livejournal.com
Wow! Hustle on M6?!

Date: 2006-01-15 03:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Vi, Hustle sur M6 ;-) J'attends de voir ce que ça va donner en français. Plus si longtemps que ça à attendre maintenant, yay!

Date: 2006-01-15 05:44 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] moimoietmoi.livejournal.com
Bah, le doublage était pas mal finalement! C'est dommage qu'on perde l'accent de danny, mais bon...

Date: 2006-01-15 06:10 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
le doublage était pas mal finalement

Oui, une fois que j'ai entendu toutes leurs voix, j'ai soulagée *g* Danny/Marc Warren a la voix de Dominic Monaghan - entre autre - c'est une voix que j'aime bien.

Mais c'est clair que la version anglais est tellement mieux - leurs accents, c'est un vrai bonheur.

Profile

castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
Mouse

January 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 05:22 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios