SPN 1x15 - The Benders
Feb. 16th, 2006 06:48 pmCousins #1 and #2 left. We spent the day in Paris and I even had my Starbucks fix *smacks lips* Then once back home, we planted ourselves in front of the tv and watched the snowboard cross competition - we'd missed pretty much everything else, sadly. And hey, we got two medals today, yay! We were starting to get a bit desperate, I'll admit, but today made up for the whole no-new-medal anxiety thing of the previous days. And ohmygod but how much cuter could Paulo and his brother be!! Xavier was all bouncy and he was smiling like crazy and repeating "I'm so happy for my bro" and Paulo was all "I wish Xav had been on the podium too" and they were bouncing together, embracing each other and just - *melts* Also one of the commentators was so happy for the medal Paulo had won that he kissed him as a 'thank you', but then a) it's not unusual - hi, French people here - and b) the guy loves kissing the athletes when he thinks they did good - medal or not, btw *g*
Unrelated now. I finally watched SPN and dude, that was a great episode!
Dean, oh Dean, how much do I love you, let me COUNT the WAYS! At this point, I'm not sure who's the one I love best: Dean Winchester or Jensen Ackles, you know? Because JA just owns his role and he's so fucking good, but then if Dean wasn't Dean, JA wouldn't have to break my heart with the way he acts and the way he lets you see everything he's feeling via his voice and his face and just - wow, I love the whole DeanJensen entity, man!
See, when I saw the preview for "The Benders", I thought the episode would be more or less an equal angst fest, what with Sam being in his cage, all alone and stuff, and Dean being crazy with worry about him, but in the end it was even better than that, because though I felt sorry for Sam, all alone in his cage and stuff, the one who really did it for me in that episode angst-wise was Dean.
Dean did it for me from the moment when he realised Sam had disappeared with the whole "Sam?" "SAMMY!" "Sam?" to his speeches about how Sam was his responsibility and how he had to do whatever it takes to find him again to the ending when he was saved by Sam and he could finally breathe and he reverted back to his smart ass persona.
He loves his brother so much, you know? It's almost painful to see sometimes. And what was painful was to see him struggle to get Sam back while trying to make Deputy Girl understand how important it was for him to do so, and for instance, his "please, he's my family" broke me because a) Dean isn't above pleading when he thinks it's important - which dude, makes me love him even more - and, of course, what would be more important than his brother and b) it's like this simple line sums Dean up perfectly because, yes, family is what counts most in Dean's life and it explains it all for him. Well, I just adored that moment, is all.
Admittedly, every moment that gives me emotional Dean is a winner for me. Which is why I love SPN because no matter what people might say, it does brings us emotional!Dean a lot. And in that episode, it was a thing of beauty. Usually, we get Dean worried about his brother the duration of a scene in particular, here it was throughout a whole episode; of course it would mess with his head *loves*
I mean, between the two, the one who sorta suffered the most was... well, I'm not even being biased, I swear, but let's see: while Sam was in his cage, Dean was torturing himself about his fate and getting desperate of ever finding him in time. While Sam was in his cage, Dean was getting beaten up. While Sam was in his cage, Dean was, you know, tortured - sorry, there might be another word for when someone beats you up, ties you up, threatens you, punches you in the face before finally touching you with a white hot poker but, to me, that's kinda torture material. And finally, while Sam was in his cage, Dean believed for a moment that the choice he'd made - or was forced to make but let's be honest here, it wouldn't have made the slightest difference for him - was going to cost his brother's life. And wow that moment? When he hears the gunshot and assumes they hurt Sam was SO BRILLIANT!
So, you know, during that episode? I hurt for Dean; physically and mentally. He broke my heart with his fears and then he made me cringe with the physical blows he took. As for the whole woobiness - well, in the end who saves the day? Sam; because Sam kicks ass and it's Sam who saves Dean - how's that for a nice twist, uh? I love me some kickass!Sam.
Speaking of him, I loved Sam's fears when he doesn't understand what the fuck is going on, loved his confusion when he realises the ones responsible for the disappearances are actually people and I adored the trust he has in his brother - that was some serious brotherly confidence, wasn't it?
Also for the record? I'm craving h/c with angry!Sam and hurt!Dean and just - I love SPN, but the fandom? Doesn't cater to my whim on a good day and I just have this feeling that the stories that people are going to write will all be hurt!Sam and comfort!Dean and though I don't have a problem with it - dude, to each their own blah blah blah - it makes me sad because I want the other way around and why couldn't I get my wish too? *cries* And okay sure, I'm never expecting Fandom to cater to my whim, but it sure is great when it happens :-) In particular when we actually have canon material *puppy dog look* Also? This is totally the moment when you tell me "Mouse, dude, you're so mean! InsertUserName just wrote the kind of fics you want to read, so I'll give you the link and you'll shut up, yes?"
Back to the episode. I didn't even mention Creepy Family. Cause dude, that was a creepy bunch. I can't help but wonder why dirtiness brings the whole creepiness up a notch but it seems it always works. And Missy, the kid was good *shudders*
There were several moments that freaked me out, like when Dean was looking at the pictures of Creepy Brothers and the corpses, or when Dean was in the house with Creepy Daddy busy doing his 'cooking' - the contrast between the disgusting sounds he made when he was cutting and sawing and the music playing combined with Dean's attempt at not being seen made the whole scene pretty stressful as far as I'm concerned.
Finally, I'm wondering. So TPTB have been hitting us over the head with the whole killing human v killing demons debate, Dean being the one who apparently doesn't have a problem with it and Sam being the one who's always against it - then we have this episode where a guest character kills someone - a human someone - as a revenge and because, obviously, that family was beyond redeeming and oh look! That guest character is a character who had a brother she loved enough to go as far as kill someone for him and - well okay, I'm just wondering where the whole thing is going exactly, because the build up seems so obvious and if it were to go nowhere... well, that wouldn't be buddies.
For the Random Thoughts:
They look good as sheriffs, but I don't think they'll ever be able to top the Priest thing. Nah uh.
Dean is such a pop culture whore!
Loved how Sam just had to clear his throat and look at Dean that way to have Dean get back in track. They crack me up.
Oh wow, continuity! Hello continuity! So someone finally, finally mentioned the whole Dean Winchester is dead thing *loves*
And now, if someone knows where I can find the preview for next episode or has it and would be willing to share? Well, I'd be eternally grateful - yes again - because YAY BABY! That is all *cough*
Unrelated now. I finally watched SPN and dude, that was a great episode!
Dean, oh Dean, how much do I love you, let me COUNT the WAYS! At this point, I'm not sure who's the one I love best: Dean Winchester or Jensen Ackles, you know? Because JA just owns his role and he's so fucking good, but then if Dean wasn't Dean, JA wouldn't have to break my heart with the way he acts and the way he lets you see everything he's feeling via his voice and his face and just - wow, I love the whole DeanJensen entity, man!
See, when I saw the preview for "The Benders", I thought the episode would be more or less an equal angst fest, what with Sam being in his cage, all alone and stuff, and Dean being crazy with worry about him, but in the end it was even better than that, because though I felt sorry for Sam, all alone in his cage and stuff, the one who really did it for me in that episode angst-wise was Dean.
Dean did it for me from the moment when he realised Sam had disappeared with the whole "Sam?" "SAMMY!" "Sam?" to his speeches about how Sam was his responsibility and how he had to do whatever it takes to find him again to the ending when he was saved by Sam and he could finally breathe and he reverted back to his smart ass persona.
He loves his brother so much, you know? It's almost painful to see sometimes. And what was painful was to see him struggle to get Sam back while trying to make Deputy Girl understand how important it was for him to do so, and for instance, his "please, he's my family" broke me because a) Dean isn't above pleading when he thinks it's important - which dude, makes me love him even more - and, of course, what would be more important than his brother and b) it's like this simple line sums Dean up perfectly because, yes, family is what counts most in Dean's life and it explains it all for him. Well, I just adored that moment, is all.
Admittedly, every moment that gives me emotional Dean is a winner for me. Which is why I love SPN because no matter what people might say, it does brings us emotional!Dean a lot. And in that episode, it was a thing of beauty. Usually, we get Dean worried about his brother the duration of a scene in particular, here it was throughout a whole episode; of course it would mess with his head *loves*
I mean, between the two, the one who sorta suffered the most was... well, I'm not even being biased, I swear, but let's see: while Sam was in his cage, Dean was torturing himself about his fate and getting desperate of ever finding him in time. While Sam was in his cage, Dean was getting beaten up. While Sam was in his cage, Dean was, you know, tortured - sorry, there might be another word for when someone beats you up, ties you up, threatens you, punches you in the face before finally touching you with a white hot poker but, to me, that's kinda torture material. And finally, while Sam was in his cage, Dean believed for a moment that the choice he'd made - or was forced to make but let's be honest here, it wouldn't have made the slightest difference for him - was going to cost his brother's life. And wow that moment? When he hears the gunshot and assumes they hurt Sam was SO BRILLIANT!
So, you know, during that episode? I hurt for Dean; physically and mentally. He broke my heart with his fears and then he made me cringe with the physical blows he took. As for the whole woobiness - well, in the end who saves the day? Sam; because Sam kicks ass and it's Sam who saves Dean - how's that for a nice twist, uh? I love me some kickass!Sam.
Speaking of him, I loved Sam's fears when he doesn't understand what the fuck is going on, loved his confusion when he realises the ones responsible for the disappearances are actually people and I adored the trust he has in his brother - that was some serious brotherly confidence, wasn't it?
Also for the record? I'm craving h/c with angry!Sam and hurt!Dean and just - I love SPN, but the fandom? Doesn't cater to my whim on a good day and I just have this feeling that the stories that people are going to write will all be hurt!Sam and comfort!Dean and though I don't have a problem with it - dude, to each their own blah blah blah - it makes me sad because I want the other way around and why couldn't I get my wish too? *cries* And okay sure, I'm never expecting Fandom to cater to my whim, but it sure is great when it happens :-) In particular when we actually have canon material *puppy dog look* Also? This is totally the moment when you tell me "Mouse, dude, you're so mean! InsertUserName just wrote the kind of fics you want to read, so I'll give you the link and you'll shut up, yes?"
Back to the episode. I didn't even mention Creepy Family. Cause dude, that was a creepy bunch. I can't help but wonder why dirtiness brings the whole creepiness up a notch but it seems it always works. And Missy, the kid was good *shudders*
There were several moments that freaked me out, like when Dean was looking at the pictures of Creepy Brothers and the corpses, or when Dean was in the house with Creepy Daddy busy doing his 'cooking' - the contrast between the disgusting sounds he made when he was cutting and sawing and the music playing combined with Dean's attempt at not being seen made the whole scene pretty stressful as far as I'm concerned.
Finally, I'm wondering. So TPTB have been hitting us over the head with the whole killing human v killing demons debate, Dean being the one who apparently doesn't have a problem with it and Sam being the one who's always against it - then we have this episode where a guest character kills someone - a human someone - as a revenge and because, obviously, that family was beyond redeeming and oh look! That guest character is a character who had a brother she loved enough to go as far as kill someone for him and - well okay, I'm just wondering where the whole thing is going exactly, because the build up seems so obvious and if it were to go nowhere... well, that wouldn't be buddies.
For the Random Thoughts:
And now, if someone knows where I can find the preview for next episode or has it and would be willing to share? Well, I'd be eternally grateful - yes again - because YAY BABY! That is all *cough*
no subject
Date: 2006-02-16 05:59 pm (UTC)Also, I loved this ep and you just made me want to watch it again. Bad Mouse! I have work tonight! *kisses*
no subject
Date: 2006-02-16 06:45 pm (UTC)And ha! I'm such an evil enabler *evil laughter* But hey, you could take a tiny 42 minute break, maybe? For your own good, of course *nods*
(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2006-02-16 06:01 pm (UTC)And wow that moment? When he hears the gunshot and assumes they hurt Sam was SO BRILLIANT!
I don't know which of those two moments rocked me more. JA's facial expressions are fantastic.
no subject
Date: 2006-02-16 06:46 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-02-16 06:07 pm (UTC)And I love the idea we were watching the same thing at the same time, a Channel apart!
no subject
Date: 2006-02-16 06:48 pm (UTC)The English commentator decided that Paulo was his new favourite athlete because of his performances in that event :-)
Awww seriously? I love your commentator, he's the best! lol
And I love the idea we were watching the same thing at the same time, a Channel apart!
Eeee you're right, that's brilliant!
(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2006-02-16 06:24 pm (UTC)And, yes... I'm down with the Dean love. I want to love Sam as much as Dean, but... damn. I just can't. I so wanted to hug Dean through pretty much the whole damn episode.
Just a little note to see if I'm the only one to notice (and get really, really squicked by it), when Dean said "it's not nice to marry your sister," anyone else notice Missy look at her brother and him... pet her hair? Just... ew. As much as I love the Wincest, that made me a little nauseous. I'm pretty sure it's less the incest implication and much, much more the fact that A, she's thirteen, and B, he looks like he's somewhere in his early twenties. And, you know... C, SHE'S THIRTEEN.
I'm just sayin.
Kisses...
no subject
Date: 2006-02-16 06:54 pm (UTC)Hail to the Dean love! *cheers* I love Sam, but Dean? There's no words for how much I love him - no words!
And no, you weren't the only one who noticed lol It creeped me out too, the way they exuded creepy incesty vibes; and like you said, not so much for the cest part as mushc as the very very young age of Missy *shudders*
I'm just sayin', too *nods*
*kisses back*
no subject
Date: 2006-02-16 07:59 pm (UTC)I still think that the best part of that episode was the end of it, with the quotes that I posted and stuff.
Dean gushing about Godzilla cracked my shit up, and then he was like, "SAM LIKES THE ORIGINAL HAHAHA WHAT A TARD!" and the little kid was like "ROFL!!" and Sam was like "OKAY NEW SUBJECT, HEY LOOK WEIRD SHIT IS HAPPENING DEAN SHUT UP!"
Except he said it by clearing his throat. LOL.
no subject
Date: 2006-02-16 08:35 pm (UTC)Your mind reading abilities leave me speechless and I bow to your genius!
(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2006-02-16 08:37 pm (UTC)And did you notice how both brothers said, "I'll be damned," almost exactly the same way when they respectively realised that the attackers weren't paranormal in any way? Random, lol, but cute.
"Don't... call me... 'Sammy'!" *snuggles Sam*
"Eat me. No, no, no, wait, wait... you actually might."
(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2006-02-16 08:47 pm (UTC)Any idea where I could find the ep to download that's not on a torrent site, mate?
(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2006-02-16 09:00 pm (UTC)Also, there's a sekrit comm that could interest you except you need to apply to join it and they've closed their admissions until further notice - yes, seriously.
But hey, I could either burn the episode - or other episodes - for you, or even upload it. YSI might even cooperate *gasp* Or another site, mind.
no subject
Date: 2006-02-16 09:05 pm (UTC)WHY do we have to wait two weeks?!? I'm gonna have to take some kind of sedative to make it thorugh week 2 :p
no subject
Date: 2006-02-16 09:15 pm (UTC)*clicks*
*downloads*
*watches*
*squees and dies and bounces and squees some more*
*bookmarks site*
WHY do we have to wait two weeks?!? I'm gonna have to take some kind of sedative to make it thorugh week
I don't KNOW! Because life is cruel? Or because TPTB really want us to pant after "Shadow" even more and so they thought of this evil plan?
(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2006-02-16 09:51 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-02-17 11:38 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-02-16 10:25 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-02-17 11:38 am (UTC)(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2006-02-17 12:02 pm (UTC)Sam, I love Sam, I do, but he's not Dean, and Dean got all bashed up and tortured and why is there no fic showing this?! It's an outrage and needs to be remedied. You should remedy it! You're a kick ass SPN writer, write more. Now! Please *bats eyelashes*
Ahem, yes. You don't have to obviously, but I'd so love it if someone did. Are you listening fandom?
no subject
Date: 2006-02-17 07:01 pm (UTC)And what about you! I'm sure you'd kick ass if you tackled SPN... and boy, I also know your fic would push every single one of my buttons lol
no subject
Date: 2006-02-17 06:20 pm (UTC)OMG ME TOO! I can't write fic to save my life so I depend on others in the fandom for my fix of Dean and Sam angst. I love Protector!Dean liek whoa so I definitely love reading hurt!Sam comfort!Dean fics, but I am just DYING to read some hurt!Dean! Why is this so difficult to find? :-(
no subject
Date: 2006-02-17 07:03 pm (UTC)I love writing SPN and giving myself every theme I crave in a fic, but I'm lazy and it would be nice getting the stories without having to write them myself lol
no subject
Date: 2006-02-17 10:33 pm (UTC)Damn I love Sam this ep. But I gotta give your boy Dean lots of kudos right until he took ages looking for the Benders and thus got his ass caught.
Hot Fighting Sam made me so hot, and totally made the ep for me.
And I have to say I've seen SO many Dean hurt Sam angry, comforting him I was totally hoping for more of the other way around, how about you point me in the direction of HurtSam, comfortingDean fic and I'll point you in the direction of the opposite. Hee.
Cuddles x
no subject
Date: 2006-02-17 10:41 pm (UTC)And I have to gotta give your boy Sam kudos because he so saved Dean's ass and, seriously, takecharge and kickass!Sam is the one I love best so I was thrilled *bounces*
Ouch, can't help it, sorry, hun. Thing is, I don't read that much SPN fics just for the reasons I
whined aboutmentioned, ie it's not the kind of dynamic I want to read. Not to say they suck or that they're badly written, far from it, but they just don't do it for me, know what I mean? So I kinda forget about them *cough*But if you were still wiling to point me in the right direction, which would be the opposite one for you, I'd be a happy camper. Hee too lol