Numb3rs 2x16 - "Protest"
Mar. 5th, 2006 02:08 pmYay! I watched Numb3rs yesterday! It's always so good coming back to my shiny and beloved show after a hiatus *loves*
I really loved the episode! I also quite enjoyed the case. I don't care whether it was flawed or weak or anything, I thought it was interesting and I loved how their basically worked both in present and past time. Reminded me a bit of Cold Case, actually, which is of the good because I adore that series.
Anyway, I enjoyed the case in and of itself, and the fact that it involved Alan was just the ice on the cake :-) Dude, but the Eppes family has secrets up the wazoo, don't they? lol I loved the idea of Alan as an anti-war protester - I don't know, I thought it just fit him perfectly, it seemed like an Alan kind of thing to do.
It also gave me some awesome scenes between Alan and Don - seeing them argue like that was quite brilliant. It was great how they didn't let themselves be intimidated by the other, how they stuck to what they believed in - and I loved how it was basically two worlds colliding... Something else that amused me was to see Don leaving the house in a huff - and hey, it made me think of a younger Don who would do the same thing each time he got pissed off because of something his parents had said to him. Also, how much did I love that he went to Charlie's garage? A lot, yes, that was a nice and sweet move *g*
At one point I realised that I should have felt Charlie's absence a lot - I mean, he wasn't that much in the episode - but I didn't mind because man, Don rocked! He ruled the episode and I just loved him. It made me smile because it felt like the guy was constantly feeling the generation gap; first with his dad and second with Lawson. Oh and Lawson? Dude the guy was a hardass, all right!
Each and every scene between Lawson and Don was brilliant, imho. I was like "You go, Donny!" and "You tell him, Don!" all the time lol I cheered when Don called him an ass - that was a great moment *cheers* And isn't Don The Man, btw? That scene when Lawson and him are arguing about the procedure and Colby and David seem to not know what to do and who to obey and Don tells them to keep going was great as well. Ha, Don is so the boss!
The father-son arguments were great but, of course, what was a hundred times better was the reconciliation. That make-up scene was so sweet! And Charlie sitting on the stairs eavesdropping? Aww! Here again, it made me think of kid!Charlie doing the same thing... I love me some kid!moments :-)
Speaking of Charlie, I loved the scene at the FBI when Don, David and Colby are going through tons of files and Charlie is sitting on a desk playing with a Rubik's Cube... Man I have a huge Rubik's Cube kink - have ever since I watched Jarod playing with one and solving it in, like, twenty seconds. Don't know why, it just got to me, you know? So seeing Charlie with one? Was of the good :-)
On the random stuff:
I really liked the actress who played Sterling's daughter.
Come to think of it, I actually liked all the guest characters in that episode.
I liked that Charlie told her all the things Alan had said about her father, it must have been so wonderful hearing all those things. That was thoughtful of Charlie.
I liked the scene at the bar with Lawson and Charlie; loved his 'I have national security clearance'. Ha, take that, you ass!
Ah Numb3rs, I love you so *happy sigh*
Speaking of which, I've finished my latest Don/Charlie piece. Man, if I can keep writing on such a regular basis, I'll be a happy Mouse ;-)
Now on something a bit different - though not that different if you consider who's writing this - two little pimps: first
estrella30 is thinking of doing a Multi-Fandom Car Porn Challenge. Multi-fandom, people... think SPN car porn... think TS car porn, Sweetheart just wants to come and play with Jim and Blair and you know it! That could be a challenge to remember *g* And then a new comm, namely
hurt_dean, which speaks for itself, I think *g*
Finally,
Selena did the Word Usage meme and I was curious to see the new result I'd get. So I'm not pasting the whole thing because this meme is so very pointless - I know it's the whole point of a meme, but still - but some results are still interesting. So in the middle of all the 'a', 'and', 'because' and other boring words, we find:
23. charlie (140) 24. dean (138) 61. brother (65) 27. sam (134) 38. don (108)
Nice. Now, of course, I feel horrible that Jim and Blair don't appear at all - and I know for a fact that they did the last time I did the meme - but they're still #1 in my heart even if they're not in that list so I feel less ashamed, see? But I do feel a bit guilty all the same *cough*
I really loved the episode! I also quite enjoyed the case. I don't care whether it was flawed or weak or anything, I thought it was interesting and I loved how their basically worked both in present and past time. Reminded me a bit of Cold Case, actually, which is of the good because I adore that series.
Anyway, I enjoyed the case in and of itself, and the fact that it involved Alan was just the ice on the cake :-) Dude, but the Eppes family has secrets up the wazoo, don't they? lol I loved the idea of Alan as an anti-war protester - I don't know, I thought it just fit him perfectly, it seemed like an Alan kind of thing to do.
It also gave me some awesome scenes between Alan and Don - seeing them argue like that was quite brilliant. It was great how they didn't let themselves be intimidated by the other, how they stuck to what they believed in - and I loved how it was basically two worlds colliding... Something else that amused me was to see Don leaving the house in a huff - and hey, it made me think of a younger Don who would do the same thing each time he got pissed off because of something his parents had said to him. Also, how much did I love that he went to Charlie's garage? A lot, yes, that was a nice and sweet move *g*
At one point I realised that I should have felt Charlie's absence a lot - I mean, he wasn't that much in the episode - but I didn't mind because man, Don rocked! He ruled the episode and I just loved him. It made me smile because it felt like the guy was constantly feeling the generation gap; first with his dad and second with Lawson. Oh and Lawson? Dude the guy was a hardass, all right!
Each and every scene between Lawson and Don was brilliant, imho. I was like "You go, Donny!" and "You tell him, Don!" all the time lol I cheered when Don called him an ass - that was a great moment *cheers* And isn't Don The Man, btw? That scene when Lawson and him are arguing about the procedure and Colby and David seem to not know what to do and who to obey and Don tells them to keep going was great as well. Ha, Don is so the boss!
The father-son arguments were great but, of course, what was a hundred times better was the reconciliation. That make-up scene was so sweet! And Charlie sitting on the stairs eavesdropping? Aww! Here again, it made me think of kid!Charlie doing the same thing... I love me some kid!moments :-)
Speaking of Charlie, I loved the scene at the FBI when Don, David and Colby are going through tons of files and Charlie is sitting on a desk playing with a Rubik's Cube... Man I have a huge Rubik's Cube kink - have ever since I watched Jarod playing with one and solving it in, like, twenty seconds. Don't know why, it just got to me, you know? So seeing Charlie with one? Was of the good :-)
On the random stuff:
Ah Numb3rs, I love you so *happy sigh*
Speaking of which, I've finished my latest Don/Charlie piece. Man, if I can keep writing on such a regular basis, I'll be a happy Mouse ;-)
Now on something a bit different - though not that different if you consider who's writing this - two little pimps: first
Finally,
23. charlie (140) 24. dean (138) 61. brother (65) 27. sam (134) 38. don (108)
Nice. Now, of course, I feel horrible that Jim and Blair don't appear at all - and I know for a fact that they did the last time I did the meme - but they're still #1 in my heart even if they're not in that list so I feel less ashamed, see? But I do feel a bit guilty all the same *cough*
no subject
Date: 2006-03-05 02:22 pm (UTC)Looks pretty good to me :)
I loved Don in this epiosde too, but the retired FBI guy annoyed me so much that I had to skip some of his scenes. Bleh :p
Loved Don calling him an ass though :D
no subject
Date: 2006-03-06 07:18 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-03-05 02:33 pm (UTC)Didn't he just?
And Charlie sitting on the stairs eavesdropping?
I think that was probably one of my favourite moments in the episode. You could just see him doing the exact same thing when he was a kid.
I liked the scene at the bar with Lawson and Charlie; loved his 'I have national security clearance'. Ha, take that, snotty guy!
Dude, I loved that moment. Ha, take that, snotty guy! was pretty much my reaction, too.
Lol, OK, I think I like this episode a lot better after reading your review. You just really know how to bring up the best moments. *g*
Now, lets talk Multi-Fandom Car Porn Challenge. You will write something, right? 'Cause I'm willing to beg here. I know you already wrote some, but there can never be too much car porn in the world.
Also,
Also also, love the meme results. *g*
no subject
Date: 2006-03-06 07:21 pm (UTC)OK, I think I like this episode a lot better after reading your review. You just really know how to bring up the best moments.
Heee best compliment ever lol
You will write something, right? 'Cause I'm willing to beg here. I know you already wrote some, but there can never be too much car porn in the world.
I'm hoping I'll write something, yes, though maybe I will beg myself for inspiration to strike me lol I have to say that I'd love to write a little Jim/Blair piece now...
no subject
Date: 2006-03-05 04:10 pm (UTC)And ohh car porn! Yay, 'cause I can't seem to pass up a challenge these days *sighs*
no subject
Date: 2006-03-06 07:22 pm (UTC)You'll participate? YAY!
no subject
Date: 2006-03-05 05:28 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-03-06 07:24 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-03-06 05:24 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-03-06 07:24 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-03-07 12:44 am (UTC)p.s. Jim and blair are still my faves too==even though Im immersed in supernatural and numb3rs, so dont feel bad! The dVD comes out soon==YAY!
no subject
Date: 2006-03-07 09:13 pm (UTC)Hee you're right, the net thing was awesome! It was supposed to go in my Random Stuff category but apparently it didn't make it lol Thanks for pointing it out cause it was a great detail *nods*
Lol Also dude, thanks for the compliment - re the favourite author thing *beams* - you're a doll *g* Also that's one good plot bunny you have here *nods* You lack the time - and dude, a thesis should definitely come first - and I lac the inspiration for case stories... I'd love to write one of those but I can't. Though one could, of course, turn around the problem and all...
Yeah anyway, thanks for the plot bunny - I'd love to read that kind of fics myself *nods*
p.s. Jim and blair are still my faves too==even though Im immersed in supernatural and numb3rs, so dont feel bad! The dVD comes out soon==YAY!
You too, uh? I don't feel so bad, then lol And yeah, Jim and Blair are always our favourite guys anyway *pets them*
no subject
Date: 2006-03-09 02:13 am (UTC)Aww! Here again, it made me think of kid!Charlie doing the same thing...
OMG, lol, give me back my brain! *vbg*
Such a good ep, because it was all about the Eppes boys. So much love for this one.
no subject
Date: 2006-03-09 12:27 pm (UTC)And yes, another great episode which filled me with glee *bounces*