castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Sam Smiled / stoffel)
[personal profile] castalie
Ha! SAM and I so win at Starbucks! We did go on Sunday and we had mucho fun and mucho delicious drink and food *smacks lips* Then we wandered in Saint Michel and made a little detour to the Jardin du Luxembourg; it was great! Also, the situation at la Sorbonne was apparently not getting better since lot of people were there, including CRS in full gear, ie gladiator outfits - pretty cool, too - and shields.

Unrelated now: Oh.My.God! To quote my beloved Vince, I am such a twat! So I was trying to find whether novellisation of Life on Mars existed - they do that all the time, so why not this time, eh? Though, well, not this time as no such things exist. So whatever - when I stumbled upon this link... and I just couldn't resist!

Philip Glenister and John Simm reading the CBeebies Bedtime Hour stories *facepalm* But dude! I could listen to John Simm read the bloody phone book, okay? So believe me, hearing him tell the story of Wilbie and Harry or of Bones and the Pigeon Race was seriously cool. Cool, not.lame! Except when it was totally lame.

So er yeah, I'm sorta still kinda totally addicted to Life on Mars. The more I watch it, the more I like it, the more I like it, the more I watch it and, well, talk about feeding your addiction ;-) So. Why do I love Life on Mars so much?

I'll tell you why: because of the characters. No surprise here, a show might be the smartest and shiniest show, if the characters don't do it for me, I don't see how I could get into it.

Sam first - Sam is my woobie! He's alone and he's lonely and he's lost and he's running after both his present and his past and it's sometimes painful to watch but it's always a wonderful ride. Some of my favourite scenes are the ones when he hears the hospital sounds and voices and desperately tries to reach out to those people Outside. He breaks my heart time each time he does because each new failure is another blow to him. And I also love those scenes because even when he doesn't completely break down, it makes him look crazy to outsiders - though I guess to insiders as well, ie us viewers - and I'm always curious to see the reaction of those who witness those 'spells'.

I love how smart he is and how he succeeds in adapting to his new life: sure he wants nothing more than 'going home' and he has problems and issues - boy does he ever! - but for someone who comes from 2006 and, even more importantly, for someone in his situation - freaky as it is - he sure manages to fit somehow. I mean, Gene hasn't killed him yet, has he? That's proof enough, I'd say :-) He sure beats on Sam on a regular basis but abuse notwithstanding it's clear Gene respects Sam and thinks he's a good copper and coming from the guy, it's quite the huge compliment!

Sam has integrity and he's stubborn and he sticks to what he believes is right and he's not afraid of Gene - the last things is also quite impressive everything considered. I always enjoy those scenes when Sam gets in his face, though I usually cringe each time he does because I just know the poor guy is going to get it *cringe* Of course it usually brings me great moments with Gene getting Sam on his knees, or Sam plastered against the wall and hey, I'm only human, you know? How could I resist those scenes?

So to make a long story short, one could say that Sam has pretty much everything I like in a character - he's smart, I think he's really sweet, he has issues - including daddy ones, btw - he's angsty, he's in a situation that makes him vulnerable but it also shows his strength. He gets emotional a lot and teary eyed as well and I can't resist male characters like that, I just can't. Oh and as it happens, I'm in love with his smile.

Lastly, he has a big alpha male as a lover. What's not to love? :-)

Before I forget, a question regarding the very last scene of the June episode, ie 1x02: when Sam is in the hospital room and the doors all close on him and he's screaming for help... am I delusional or does he actually call out for Gene? I mean, I'm almost certain he does but sometimes... well, does he or does he not? Cause if he does, man, that one little word makes the whole scene even more brilliant - and that's saying something!

On second thoughts? I'll do Gene and Annie and the others later. And ha! I so love the English language *giggles*

Unrelated again - though trust me, I'll link the thing to LoM quickly enough: I meant to pimp from day one and was distracted so I'm doing this now - do you remember the multi-fandom car porn challenge I've mentioned some time ago? It's been officialised and it now has its own community and everything! So go and join [livejournal.com profile] highwaymiles for all kind of car porny goodness. And TS people? Now would be the time to pimp our guys - just to prove to people that no, OUR FANDOM IS NOT DEAD! Not that I'm bitter or anything *cough* Also? Well, if someone wants to write some Life on Mars slash? I mean, please, will someone write me Gene/Sam car porn? For now, it's time to give prompts so I posted two LoM ones, we'll see how it goes.

*frowns* Wait. Note to self: Find LoM people and friend them.

Date: 2006-03-13 11:49 pm (UTC)
ext_14365: If you made this, tell me and I'll credit (LOM save me)
From: [identity profile] fluterbev.livejournal.com
Oh, happy sigh! I love LoM sooooooo much!

Sam! Sammy! ::dies::

Date: 2006-03-14 02:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
I can't get enough of Sam! And when Gene is interacting with him, oh the LOVE!

Date: 2006-03-14 12:26 am (UTC)
ext_8938: (Life on Mars - Sam & Gene (thespyglass))
From: [identity profile] versaphile.livejournal.com
I'm always curious to see the reaction of those who witness those 'spells'.

Me too. I'm dying for more fic that deals with Sam's crazy.

Lastly, he has a big alpha male as a lover. What's not to love :-)

I can't think of a single thing. *g*

Date: 2006-03-14 02:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
I'd love to read more fics dealing with Sam's crazy, I so second that. And I'd love to see it even more in the show. I can't help hoping for more; in particular after the last episode of the first series...

Date: 2006-03-14 10:00 pm (UTC)
ext_8938: (Life On Mars - Sam Not Listening (hercir)
From: [identity profile] versaphile.livejournal.com
Oh yes. Ep 8 is just loaded with crazy!Sam moments, beyond even his Ep 1 weirdness. Most importantly, his strange attachment to Vic, which goes noticably against his methods for the rest of the series.

Date: 2006-03-14 09:36 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] seiyaharris.livejournal.com
He does scream out 'GENE!' *g* and it is LOVE lol

Date: 2006-03-14 02:27 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Hee I knew it! Man, that moment is pure love, oh yeah!

Date: 2006-03-14 09:54 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] yami-tai.livejournal.com
Yaaaaay! You seen Life on Mars and you like it. This is such great news ^____________^!

I agree with everything you say about Sam and I have to say that the thing I love most is Sam getting in Gene's face, standing up to him in a way that no-one else does. Gene obviously isn't used to it but like you say he respects (and *cough*loves*cough*) Sam so he lets it go most of the time with just some alpha male posturing ^_^!

am I delusional or does he actually call out for Gene?

*hee* I'd forgotten that! I can't wait till the DVDs come out so that I can watch them all again...

My broadband will be sorted on 21 March and man, it can't come quick enough, imho!!!!

Date: 2006-03-14 02:28 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Yes, I'm completely in love with the show!

Each Sam-Gene confrontation is a thing of beauty, isn't it? *g*

Hey, do you mean you haven't the episode on your HD or anything? Cause if you only saw them live and haven't them on CDs, I could burn them for you...

21 March? I'll be patient with you *sigh*

Date: 2006-03-16 10:17 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] yami-tai.livejournal.com
Each Sam-Gene confrontation is a thing of beauty, isn't it? *g*

It sure is ^_________^! The chemistry between the two actors is palpable, I think, and it really made me fall in love with the show.

Hey, do you mean you haven't the episode on your HD

I don't because yes, I watched them live. If you could burn them for me, that would be absolutely fantastic *smooches you*!

Date: 2006-03-14 01:00 pm (UTC)
enigel: Aziraphale shielding Crawly under his wing ([SPN] [S/D] boys interrupted (me))
From: [personal profile] enigel
Heh, when I saw "car porn" I was sure it would be something about SPN, yet you didn't even mention the Metallicar. :D

Date: 2006-03-14 02:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
I didn't mention SPN because I didn't need to *g* It was kinda created after it, after all. It's well represented already, which isn't necessarily the case of TS, and much less LoM :-)

LoM Car Porn Recs

Date: 2008-06-10 01:36 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] seileach67.livejournal.com
Hi! I saw a old post on [livejournal.com profile] lifein1973 about a ficathon for carporn where someone(you) had given LoM prompts which apparently no one on that comm answered, *but*!!! there does exist LoM porn with cars involved.
[livejournal.com profile] clonesgirl's Cortina Chronicles (http://homepages.ihug.com.au/~violetn/Lifeonmarsfic.html) series
In which we see Gene/Sam through a different character's "eyes".
[livejournal.com profile] draycevixen's Autogenesis series
Sam, Gene, and Surprise Canon Character!
Stock Car (http://community.livejournal.com/lifein1973/1032587.html)
Cara Mia (http://community.livejournal.com/lifein1973/1164227.html)
Automate (http://community.livejournal.com/lifein1973/1212051.html)
Auto-erotic (http://community.livejournal.com/lifein1973/1222303.html)
Autocratix (http://community.livejournal.com/lifein1973/1235846.html)
Molto Carino (http://community.livejournal.com/lifein1973/1243294.html)
Hope you like them (and maybe the other folks into car stuff might also)!

Re: LoM Car Porn Recs

Date: 2008-06-10 10:10 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Hi! This comment is like opening a door to the past lol

Thank you so much for taking the time to come here and link me to all those fics! You're a doll :-)

Profile

castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
Mouse

January 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 11:41 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios