castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Alone / manuanya)
[personal profile] castalie
I'm having a splendid weekend, guys :-)

First, I met with a new lj!person yesterday; the lovely [livejournal.com profile] whitevanilla. She was with a friend, so technically I met with two new people but only one of them was a lj!person, so... And oh but what a wonderful time I had with them both! I'm always a bit nervous about meeting someone from lj because, well, it's not so much that I want them to like me that I want us to like each other. I mean, getting on well with someone on-line is already great enough but I want the friendship to go well IRL too - and so far, I've never been disappointed.

So it was yet another lj success story :-)

Our rendez-vous was at 2.30 pm and I came home at 8.00 pm - this should tell you how well it went *g* We wandered around Paris - I brought them to the Jardin du Luxembourg, we watched a pétanque game for a little while - that is so French that they HAD to see it, just once. And, well, they also saw tons of police vehicles and policemen in full gear, a blocked Sorbonne and blocked streets because of the students' protests - so I guess they did see a lot of typical French things yesterday lol

Then we just walked around: les Halles, le Marais, Beaubourg. We made a halt at Paul's and had a hot drink: it was heaven if you ask me. Also, see how I said 'Paul' and not 'Starbucks'? Brit did offer but I thought it would be better if we chose a French place, and it's been ages since I've had one of Paul's hot chocolate. We didn't talk about slash that much, though we did introduce Claire to the whole thing, which I think was really great of us lol But at this point we were talking about lit classes and books and stuff so I thought it was the perfect time to pimp my favourite French authors... and so as a result we did a little detour to the FNAC at the Forum. Everyone was really good though and no one bought anything, though Brit might spend some money in the near future cause yeah, she has good taste lol

On our way back to the station, we made another little detour to a favourite street of mine since one of my favourite shop is in there, namely Album. So I also brought them to two Album shops and incidentally bought myself a little pendant for my mobile, a Totoro one which is just teh cute!

So anyway, before we even knew it, it was already close to seven and so I headed back home. Man, time flies when you're in lovely company :-)

Second, because the internet is mysterious and absolutely lovely, I was able to download Prison Break 1x14 today! *dies* I could have waited... I made it that far, so what was two more days, right? But the file was there! And I can resist everything but temptation so in the end, I caved in. Also, I was pleasantly surprised because the quality was actually pretty good. And in case you were wondering? The episode was LOVE.

Michael was awesome in that ep! One moment desperate, the other hopeful, the next planning and trusting, the next crushed and desperate again - that was one hell of an emotional ride for the poor guy! He also broke my heart with his "I did everything I could" to Lincoln. It was so fucking sad... he sacrificed so much and he was realising that it might have been for nothing: Lincoln would still die and he - Michael - would stay in prison... He looked so lost, so sad, so alone. Man, he really made me ache for him!

I also love how we saw Lincoln thinking of Michael. He was worried about his brother after the failed escape, he was worried about how Michael would react after his death. I liked that he asked Sara to take care of him after he's gone. I'm a huge fan of the dysfunctional love going on between the brothers, I love how needy Michael can be and how hard Linc is too, but I'm also a sucker for protective!Lincoln and those moments were love!

And for instance the whole scene between the brothers, when they're playing cards... wow, it was awesome! And Michael was softly singing and they were so playful with each other and just - such a wonderful moment! Because you know what is really going on inside their heads, and you know Michael has to be screaming and screaming inside but he wants to grant his brother's wish so he's talking about nothing special and he's playing cards and - yeah, it was great. Awfully sad too. Then Veronica comes in and you see the hope showing its head again for nothing and I wonder, how many times can Michael see his hope crushed before he really gets to break?

I mean, it had to be safer for Lincoln to just stop hoping for a last minute miracle, resignation is sometimes the best way not to lose your mind, but Michael couldn't do that... and it also reminded me of all those times when it felt like Michael was fighting against the system and his brother while trying to save him. Talk about a burden! *hugs Michael*

They also didn't forget how play with us. The rat thing? Was awful - Michael had succeeded in his new plan, it was going to buy Lincoln time, it would have fucking worked! Then Tweener ratted on him and Bellick was particular efficient and ARGH, it failed! Damn you Bellick for having a one-track mind and for being good at your job! Dude, I love that guy, he always makes things so very interesting - and he's such a jerk to Michael. When he comes to the cell to bring Michael to Lincoln, you can see him play with the guy... and it's so very clear that he's enjoying every second of it too.

Also, I have no idea whether lights really get on and off when you work on the whole chair thing - actually, is the chair still really used like that? What about injection? - because aren't you supposed to have a really good electric system and stuff, but I don't care, it was damn chilling!

But not as chilling as the ending. Talk about a way to end the episode, eeek! Also, the governor's call sucked so fucking much! I can't believe it would be done like that. Could it be done like that? In any case, it made the moment so painful for everyone involved. Poor Michael and Veronica and Linc and poor us, too! *hugs everyone*

Some random stuff!:

  • That scene when the gang comes back to their cells, in slow mo - or kinda slow mo - was brilliant. You can see in their eyes how they really believed they wouldn't ever seen that place again, and here they are, inside once more and for what might be a long time. Also, not to sound biased or anything but Michael's look in particular really made me ache.


  • I'd seen the protective!Sucre scene in the trailer already but I'm pretty sure I won't ever get tired of it so seeing it live - well, you know what I mean - was fantastic. Sucre rocked throughout the whole episode, I kept cheering at the guy *loves*


  • Okay just on a side note! Simon Banks! Bruce A Young was in the episode. God, don't tell me he's been here for a long time and I either missed or forgot about him?


  • I know I'm forgetting a bunch of stuff, but I guess I'll watch it again later, anyway :-)

    And now, off to watch Hustle! I love me some nekkidness *eg*

    Date: 2006-03-19 02:12 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] moimoietmoi.livejournal.com
    OMG! PB 14! Where?! Where?!
    *flails*

    Date: 2006-03-19 02:16 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] moimoietmoi.livejournal.com
    And glad your meeting with [livejournal.com profile] whitevanilla went well! It's so great to meet people from lj! *g*

    Date: 2006-03-19 02:47 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    It is always great *g*

    Date: 2006-03-19 02:46 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    But are you sure you really want it now? Have you watched 1x13 yet? And don't you want to be spoiler free til the actual day of the ai - oh okay am shutting up now lol Try here (http://s39.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=0X21FFPJ5MAVY3R3UE53DKILC2) :-)

    Date: 2006-03-19 02:50 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] moimoietmoi.livejournal.com
    Wheeeeeeee!!!!
    *tacklehugs*

    *ignores your mean insinuations*

    Date: 2006-03-19 03:21 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] sockich.livejournal.com
    And in case you were wondering? The episode was LOVE.

    OMG I know, right? Everything you said is just so...yes! Now, the show does have its not so perfect moments, but this? This was just pure angsty bliss!

    Date: 2006-03-19 09:06 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I think it's going to be one hell of a good ride - can't wait to get my weekly PB fix :-)

    And gorgeous Dean icon!

    Date: 2006-03-19 06:42 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] thelana.livejournal.com
    Yay for 14! The episode was slightly strangely paced for a Prison Break episode and I'm not convinced it totally payed off. Still, it was sweet. I thought there could have been a few things they could have done to elevate it from sweet/good to mindblowing, but yeah, LOVE.

    Date: 2006-03-19 09:09 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I liked the difference in pace during that episode, I have to say - but I'm also curious to see how the rest of the episodes will be.

    I'm so excited about the whole thing... and now PB is back for good, yay!

    Date: 2006-03-19 09:14 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] thelana.livejournal.com
    I'm so excited about the whole thing... and now PB is back for good, yay!

    I know! That's the important thing.

    My fear is just that the next episodes will be somewhat slower. Something that we fans of the show will obviously adore, but it might make it harder for new people to get reeled in.

    Date: 2006-03-19 11:33 pm (UTC)
    ext_1650: (You make me happy)
    From: [identity profile] turps33.livejournal.com
    I'm so glad your meeting went well! But I'm astounded at you saying no to Starbucks! ;)

    Nekkid Hustleness rocks!

    Date: 2006-03-19 11:34 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    See? This is the ultimate proof that I DO have willpower! *preens*

    And man, the episode CRACKED ME UP lol And they admitted their love to each other, too, it's canon! lol

    Date: 2006-03-19 11:39 pm (UTC)
    ext_1650: (brennan electric)
    From: [identity profile] turps33.livejournal.com
    LOL. That icon always kills me.

    I know! The first two seasons are going to have a lot to live up to now I've seen that ep. Hugs and admissions of love. That's so cool!

    Date: 2006-03-19 11:44 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Isn't it the perfect icon? lol And have you seen that one? *points*

    Also, you should love those first two seasons: you see the relationship evolves between Mickey and Danny and believe me, Mickey isn't always nice to him, poor Danny lol But then, you have all those fond looks from Mickey - and the rest of the team - and those moments when he's worried about Danny and just - yeah, it's a tragedy that there's no slash about those two. And a mystery too. I mean, we have LoM slash after just one season and nothing as far as Hustle concerned after two? Why is that? *blink*

    Date: 2006-03-20 12:01 am (UTC)
    ext_1650: (You make me happy)
    From: [identity profile] turps33.livejournal.com
    Ahahahahahahaha. Man, I think I love that one even more!

    What?! Wait. There's no slash? Like, no slash at all? That's so wrong. First Sliders, now this. How can fandom be so blind?!

    Date: 2006-03-20 09:37 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    No slash, sadly. I think you might find one or two fics written for Yuletide, and even then, I'm not that sure. It is so sad! And wrong!

    Date: 2006-03-21 09:57 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] whitevanilla.livejournal.com
    It was a great time! I hope we can do it again at least once more before I head back to the States!

    Date: 2006-03-21 02:23 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    It was, wasn't it? And we'll have to do it again, I second that :-)

    Profile

    castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
    Mouse

    January 2023

    S M T W T F S
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031    

    Most Popular Tags

    Style Credit

    Expand Cut Tags

    No cut tags
    Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 02:02 pm
    Powered by Dreamwidth Studios