castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Eppes Men / lalla32)
[personal profile] castalie
Writing a post during the switchover wasn't my best idea but on the other hand, I had no idea I was writing it during aforementioned switchover, right? Also, I should maybe take that as a sign that I should stop rambling about dominoes and Hustle and stuff but no! I won't be defeated. I'm also quite paranoid now because how many entries did I miss that my flist wrote? So anyway, [livejournal.com profile] x5_536? I did wish you a happy birthday on the 19th *point link* It's just that LJ ate my entry - though you might miss that entry too if you already started your hiatus *ponders*

Changing the subject now, I watched Numb3rs 2x08 - "In Plain Sight".

First, I was quite happy to see that [livejournal.com profile] cain1999 and I were right in thinking there was nothing in the preview that indicated that Colby - or anyone one else Important - would die. I mean, I really didn't think it would happen, but hey it's nice to have been right cause Colby has been growing on me a lot and it would have sucked to see him offed now.

Second, I have to say... the episode was almost a let down. I mean, one could say I expected too much from it but between you and me, I always Expect Too Much from Numb3rs, except they usually deliver ;-) I just can't help it with that show, it's my shiny show and I have a lot of expectations - for good reasons, too *cough*

I liked their argument but, well, I think I was more hoping for something the likes of "Uncertainty Principle". Dunno why but there you go. So, sure it was great seeing them at each other's throat like that but it really didn't blow me away, I'm afraid. Also, I didn't buy the "Charlie feels guilty because of what happened when he was a kid" storyline, so each time they brought the topic in the conversation, it pulled me off the scene so to speak. It just looked like it came out of nowhere to me. Also, I thought it was unnecessary - I would have loved it much more if Charlie had gone into it for no other reason that he wanted to save the little girl, period. Not out of guilt for something that happened when he was a kid. It just.. didn't work, I don't know why.

Having said that I still loved a lot of things, of course, I mean, this is Numb3rs we're talking about, right? ;-)

So, I did like the argument between Don and Charlie [I love it when they're sweet and cute to each other but I also love it when they're conflicted because yay angst! ] and I also saw both points. Charlie's point was pretty obvious so it's no wonder but what I mean is, I saw Don's too - the poor guy was under a lot of pressure. I think I would have sided with Charlie but thing is, it's easy to behave like Charlie did when you don't hold the kind of responsibilities Don holds. And just - technically, I'd say they were both too stubborn and holding onto their grounds too tightly. Neither one was really listening to the other, which actually is a trend with those two, imho. Also, this is how it happens IRL and I thought it was pretty realistic. Besides, Don and Charlie are so different it's a wonder they don't clash more often when you think of it. And considering the case they were working on, it was not surprising in the least that it did explode.

I'm glad Charlie didn't give up though and that he tried whatever he could to help the little girl. I guess they should have both dealt with the problem differently but hey, they're men and stereotypically realistically speaking, talking about their feelings isn't exactly something that comes easy to the majority of them so, like, finding the words to explain why they behaved the way they did... was just not in the cards.

On a side note, I liked the heated discussions from both sides, ie how Charlie gave Don a piece of his mind and didn't let himself be overwhelmed by Don's intimidating posture when he's angry - but I also enjoyed how he would shut up and lower his head now and then *is a sucker for vulnerable pose*

Incidentally, I quite liked the irony of having Don trying to convince Ice Cream Girl - can't believe she's still there *sigh* - to help both mother and daughter and her explaining it might not be possible. Karma is a bitch.

Now, I loved Alan too. Which hi! Is so not surprising. But whatever! He's so the voice of reason - though he is still obsessed with the idea that Don is pushing Charlie too hard. I like that. The man is a father - being overprotective is his prerogative. And while it's not exactly fair to Don - he is quite overprotective as well, so it's not nice accusing him of always pushing Charlie - it sounds realistic to me.

I also adored a) how Charlie would look at him even while arguing with Don during that first argument in his office and b) when Alan all but ordered Charlie to "walk him to his car" because dads know best and he knew his boy needed to talk and let it go. And I enjoyed that we're still seeing him working on his project, btw. Yay continuity!

Larry was great here too. The scene with Charlie when they're both sitting on the bench, looking at the stars and talking was just too sweet for words. Also, when Charlie runs back to him and bends down... I swear I thought he was going to kiss him. But no he didn't. Oh and Larry sent flowers to Megan, awww! But he sent them anonymously... loved his little explanation, btw. Pure Larry! *shakes head*

Finally, I quite liked how there wasn't any real resolution between the brothers. I mean, not in a Family Scene at the end. I don't know if we'll hear about it in the next episode - like either of them trying to mention it or not but still... you don't always get to be gracious about an argument you had with your sibling on the same day said argument was had, so I don't think it was necessary as such.

And now... I'll obsessively check out the CBS site until they decide to update it with the preview for the next episode and I'll squee like a squeeing thing. Because I know Numb3rs will deliver again *determined look*

Lastly. I'm going to come out as the saddest person ever but I need to get it out because when I discovered the site I was all excited. So. If some of you are fans of Ari Willem von Hildebure - if you even know who Ari Willem von Hildebure is and if you're a fan of the *cough*EuroMillion*cough* commercials, go here and have a good laugh. It cracked me up so much that I downloaded all the files I could - they're hilarious and I can't get enough of them. Also, I'm a big fan of Ari Willem and his Résistants.

PS: Had a double dose of Nicholas Lea today. First on TF1 since they decided to air Once a Thief again - which YAY - and on M6 with one of my favourite XF two-parter. It's alwlays such a pleasure seeing Vic and Alex again :-)

PS2: Happiness is chatting with [livejournal.com profile] babycakesin, quoting Kaamelott, obsessing about Numb3rs and meta'ing about Supernatural. And okay the last one? Wasn't "meta'ing" as such *cough* Though wait, no we truly are meta'ing SPN. Sorta.

Why I think bottom!Dean works. Because Babycakes asked.

I have to admit that my primary explanation for Dean = Bottom follows the theory that Mouse's Favourite Character = Bottom. Here Dean = Mouse's Favourite Character, hence the conclusion that Dean = Bottom.

But! I can try other stuff as well, if this explanation isn't scientific enough *nods*

Thing is, both Dean and Sam are the alpha types. I mean, technically Dean is the older brother and his personality would make it look like the alpha dog but Sam is no slack in the department and he's on the same level as Dean - for me, that is. But I see Dean a tad needier than Sam. Maybe because he's the one who lost everything he knew: first his mother - Sam never knew her so technically he didn't lose her the same way Dean did. Not that I'm minimising the trauma, far from it, it's just different. Then his brother left him and, sure, Sam wanted a normal life and had perfectly valid reasons to leave for College which, in fact, didn't have anything to do with Dean himself but that's how Dean saw it; an abandonment. Then finally, the only person he had left disappeared, namely his father.

Now, he's on the road to find him again, with a brother who a) didn't want to join him and b) looked at first more intent on finding the ones responsible for Jessica's death than their own father and I can see how Dean would feel upset at the whole thing and even more conflicted.

So I'm down to an alpha type character who has issues to end all issues and who is more vulnerable than he would ever admit. To me, he needs to be reassured that no, he didn't lose everyone and he still has a family to surround him.

Also he does show us that he's not above being helped or leaning on other people. Because a) he usually lets Sam lead as well, ie Sam is far from being the meek little brother who follows and obeys his big brother and b) we see that he needs his dad to help him and, like, this isn't a character who's so alpha that he has to call all the shots. He does know how to reach out when it counts and he's not deterred by Sam's manhandling him now and then, which - again shows me - that he's not obsessed with the idea of being The One On Top - metaphorically speaking here.

But everything above brings me to believe that he could be a bottom and it wouldn't be against his personality. Now, I don't think - for a nanosecond - that bottoming equals being weak, but it does put you in a vulnerable position in the sense that you're - quite literally, too - open to your lover, and I think Dean would be able to do that. It would also bring him the connection he craves, ie the closeness he might have felt he lost when Sam left...

So anyway, this is why I think Dean could be a bottom without it being OOC :-)

But my first theory still stands. Dean is my favourite character, hence he should be the bottom. QED [/stubborn brat]

Also I need to emphasis that Dean's bottomness works so well for me because of - thanks to - Sam. He's the one I think needs the more control and he's also the one who never lets Dean go away with his attitude just on the basis that Sam is the younger brother. Sam is manhandling and manipulatin Dean as well - even if he does defer to him, I'm denying that - and puts himself on the same level as Dean, which in turn enables me to put Dean on the bottom... so to speak *eg*

Date: 2005-11-19 11:28 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] katikat.livejournal.com
I have a question, luv. You mentioned something about the Faith ep of Supernatural, but except for some bits and pieces, I can't find any spoilers for it. Could you tell me more?

Date: 2005-11-19 11:32 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
I have the feeling I don't know more than you if you already read bits and pieces :-) All I know is the following: "Dean is sick and they go to a faith healer. Dean only believes in what he sees, and Sam believes in God (of some sort)" as succinct and kinda badly told it can be :-)

The poster then makes the surprising "There isn't that much character/story arc stuff in the sides" note following the summary but seeing as the episode seems to be all about Dean and Sam, therefore all about character arc - somewhat - I'm thinking they meant it wouldn't be about strangers and the regular kill-an-evil-spirit storyline, which is just great, imho because I love nothing more than the brothers, thanks :-)

In any case, we'll see *g*

Date: 2005-11-20 01:01 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] katikat.livejournal.com
Ha, I knew I would find something. If you want to know more about the upcoming Faith episode, go here:

http://loyalfans.net/j-forum/viewtopic.php?t=203&sid=49e3ed72bbf524e41d418a222142bcd4

Date: 2005-11-20 05:46 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Thanks for the link!

Date: 2005-11-19 11:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] stacy-l.livejournal.com
Had a double dose of Nicholas Lea today

Mmm Nic Lea...YUMMY!!

Date: 2005-11-20 05:28 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
You always had good taste lol

Also! I started going through your fic and okay first, wow! Second, I'm not done at all yet *g*

Thing is, I know I said I'd focus on the added-coloured parts, but to make sure I do get the context right, I need to read more and it's taking me longer than planned, but no worries, I'm liking what I'm reading so far :-)

Date: 2005-11-22 12:20 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] stacy-l.livejournal.com
Oh the colored parts aren't the only new additions to the story. I've done quite a bit of reworking as you'll notice. The version I sent to you last is the newest version. Haven't been able to add more to the story for some reason but I'm not getting worried yet. I'm thinking the muse will return when it's ready and figures out where to take me next. : )

My biggest problem at the moment is tying the Sam/Daniel, Daniel/Cassie scenes in with the Jack/Daniel/Layla scenes. It seems as if the parts all fit together but there are two very distinct stories going on within. It's strange to me and definitely interesting. : D

I'm glad you're enjoying the story so far and please don't feel you have to race through it. I probably should have held off and sent it it to you when things were a bit more calmer for you, but I really wanted feedback on those scenes I marked in color. I'm thinking that's another reason my muse has halted because I'm not certain how those scenes sound.

Again thank you so much for taking the time to read it and I'm glad you're liking it so far! : )

*hugs*

Date: 2005-11-19 11:39 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
and don't forget reminiscing the early LJ entries!

seriously, it's just amazing how we can spend an hour and a half just giggling on the phone - I *knew* I liked you for a reason! *smootches*

Once a Thief! *squee*

Date: 2005-11-20 05:30 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Hee you're right, there was lot of reminiscing the early LJ entries. Much fun was had at this point lol

Dude! You'd better know you liked for a reason! *smooches back*

Date: 2005-11-20 01:16 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] drinteot.livejournal.com
Just reading your comments about Bottom!Dean and now I know we must be kindred spirits indeed because I, too, always want my favorite boy to bottom. When I read your story it seemed so natural for Dean to bottom I didn't even think about it. I see him the same way...big surprise!

And you know Nicholas Lea is my favorite boy of them all no matter what character he is. It would be fantastic if he guest starred on Supernatural.

Date: 2005-11-20 05:32 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Finally! Someone else who has this distinct top v bottom preference lol Actually, that makes three of us :-) Thing is, I don't care in RL things are different - or not, actually - but when I read fics, I just like it best when my fave is bottoming. I love you for sharing that quirk with me *high fives*

I think I might have read about Nicholas Lea being your favourite boy, yes lol

It would be fantastic if he guest starred on Supernatural.

Ohhh that would be fabulous!

Date: 2005-11-20 02:47 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] drinteot.livejournal.com
Thing is, I don't care in RL things are different - or not, actually - but when I read fics, I just like it best when my fave is bottoming. I love you for sharing that quirk with me *high fives*

Sometimes I read your comments and it's like an echo in my head because I think exactly the same. I even posted the same comment almost word for word on a slash list a while back.

I love knowing I have some company.

I really don't pick out OTP. I pick out my favorite bottom boy and everything sort of conforms around how I feel about him. Of course, I have my preferences as to who he pairs with, but it always boils down to my fav bottom boy. It makes life much more simple that way. : )

Date: 2005-11-20 02:03 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] midnighta.livejournal.com
Urgh! Yeah, I was like Noooo! when I saw that prosecutor girl again. Though at least she was there in a professional sense this time.

And I agree that not always having the happy resolution at the end is more realistic. My worry though is that they're gonna let this argument fall into the cracks and be forgotten. I'd like to see it addressed again in the future.

You're gonna love the preview btw ;) It's the one where Edgerton returns and oh. my. god. is the preview ever so slashy! Especially the last bit. lol.

Date: 2005-11-20 05:40 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
We have to admit that for once, she didn't look so, I don't know, misplaced? But I still can't stand her. I know I should feel bad about it, but damn I can't because I just don't like her, period. Even her voice grates on my nerves *cringe*

Well, so far the show didn't let us too much down regarding continuity so maybe we can hope for some kind of mention in next week's episode? Or it'll mean that the writers really didn't think the argument was important to begin with - no matter how they actually wrote an episode about it - and they'll let it slide... we'll see.

I cannot wait to see the preview! I've been waiting all week to finally see it, ever since I read about Edgerton coming back. It's like a fangirl dream come true, I swear lol And ohhh slashy preview, too? Yummy! Then again, with those three... how could it be not slashy, right? *eg*

Date: 2005-11-20 02:38 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] x5-536.livejournal.com
thank you! i'm already on hiatus but i'm ONLY skimming through to reply to happy birthday entries.

Date: 2005-11-20 05:41 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
You're welcome. And breaking the hiatus to read and reply to the bday wishes? Best reason EVER!

I'll miss you on my flist! *kisses*

Date: 2005-11-20 05:22 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sockich.livejournal.com
Second, I have to say... the episode was almost a let down.

Yeah, I felt the same way. It was still a good episode full ox great moments but it just felt like something was missing, imho.

Also, I didn't buy the "Charlie feels guilty because of what happened when he was a kid" storyline, so each time they brought the topic in the conversation, it pulled me off the scene so to speak.

See, what bugged me about this was...Charlie is a math genius, everybody knows that but a people person? I love hit to bits but that he is not, he's to self-absorbed, too preoccupied with everything going on inside his head. And now they're trying to tell me that a kid!Charlie, who was probably even more self absorbed, noticed something like that? I don't know it just...it feels forced somehow. And I agree it was unnecessary...it was like Charlie needed a special reason to feel so strongly about this.

Charlie's point was pretty obvious so it's no wonder but what I mean is, I saw Don's too - the poor guy was under a lot of pressure.

I loved this. I hate it when only one side of the argument is shown as the right side. Both of them were right they just couldn't come to an understanding, so they clashed and the whole thing was just shown so realistically (including the whole "no resolution" thing) and I loved it.

Ice Cream Girl - can't believe she's still there *sigh*

OMG, I know! Why is she there? What purpose does she serve? Somebody, please tell me, 'cause I'm seriously confused.

Also, when Charlie runs back to him and bends down... I swear I thought he was going to kiss him.

You and me both, dear. You and me both. ;)

Oh and Larry sent flowers to Megan, awww! But he sent them anonymously... loved his little explanation, btw. Pure Larry!

Larry/Megan OTP! Come on, it could totally happen and then I would die of the cute, lol!

And now, I really need to get some sleep. Hopefully filled with lovely Numb3rs/TS/Hustle dreams...hey I girls can hope, right? *g*

Date: 2005-11-20 05:32 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sockich.livejournal.com
PS ('cause I'm sleepy and it slipped my mind but I just remembered): OMG EDGERTON NEXT WEEK SQUEEEEEE!!!!! And London for you, of course, but OMG EDGERTON SQUEEEEE!!!!!

Also that the thing above should say a girl can hope not I girls can hope, obviously. I really need to get some sleep, lol.

Date: 2005-11-20 05:35 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
EDGERTON OMG! Will we ever get tired of mentioning his return? I DON'T THINK SO! I just know it's going to be good, I know it!

Also don't worry, sleepy as I am, I can assure you that I didn't see any typo *makes boy scout sign*

Date: 2005-11-20 05:46 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Something missing, exactly the way it felt to me, too. That was weird.

they're trying to tell me that a kid!Charlie, who was probably even more self absorbed, noticed something like that

Yeah tell me about it. Also, a kid like Charlie who must have been overprotected somehow and all? I don't think so. Like you said, it looked forced. I just don't know why they decided to go down that route. I mean, why did they feel the need to have the whole Jessica's storyline? The current case would have sufficed - no guilty conscience was needed, really. Well, for us - obviously the writers thought differently *pout*

Larry/Megan OTP! Come on, it could totally happen and then I would die of the cute, lol!

Those two have been flirting since the first day, haven't they? lol They're just so cute.

And now, I really need to get some sleep. Hopefully filled with lovely Numb3rs/TS/Hustle dreams...

I can't believe you added TS and Hustle to your repertoire... this is awesome!

Date: 2005-11-20 02:39 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sockich.livejournal.com
The current case would have sufficed - no guilty conscience was needed, really. Well, for us - obviously the writers thought differently *pout*

Well, obviously, we are smarter then the writers...but they usually do an awesome job, so I'm willing to forgive them on this. *g* Especially since they were mart enough to OMG BRING EDGERTON BACK!!!! And no, I don't believe we'll ever get tired of mentioning his return.

Those two have been flirting since the first day, haven't they?

They so totally have. And it's perfect, this way we have Don/Charlie, David/Colby and Megan/Larry....and I suppose Amita/Ice Cream GirlNadine, just for the hell of it (and so they'll leave Charlie and Don alone).

I can't believe you added TS and Hustle to your repertoire... this is awesome!

All thanks too you. *g*

Date: 2005-11-20 04:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] marecagee.livejournal.com
Damn, I always forget X-Files is airing on the Tuesdays; ah well, I think he's on tonight's Serie Club's eps, too. Was pleasantly surprised by the surprise airing of Once a Thief, though, but Vic's voice? *shudder*

Dean = Bottom follows the theory that Mouse's Favourite Character = Bottom.

Dude, yes, with the yes and the yes. Erm. *g*

To me, he needs to be reassured that no, he didn't lose everyone and he still has a family to surround him.

See, I agree with everything you wrote, including this, except: even if he needs it, would he really accept to be reassured? And I can't find a way for the answer to this question to be 'yes' whatever the situation, at least for now.

That said, I still have trouble accepting actual Wincest sex that isn't dramatically fucked up, so even if I could accept that Dean would let himself be the one who needs, instead of the one who cares and helps, I can't imagine a 'realistic' sex scene in which that would happen.

That said, Bottom!Dean fills me with all kind of squee and glee, because. Well, yeah. ;p

Date: 2005-11-21 07:37 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
If you mean Saturdays, then yes it does *g* Though I tend to forget too. Have no idea why since I've always loved that show. But I think I'm not used to seeing it airing in the afternoon on a Saturday. At least, that's my story and I'm sticking to it *g*

even if he needs it, would he really accept to be reassured?

Ah but him needing to be reassured and him accepting to be would be two different things, maybe, yes *nods* Definitely opened to interpretation :-)

I think he would... but in a no-nonsense way, like take enough of it to fill the void - well, that's a bit melodramatic but still - but not enough to let himself be overwhelmed by it and all. So that maybe he would still keep control over himself at least. I don't know how to explain it exactly without the whole thing not sounding contradictory, but it makes sense to me lol It's still compatible...

That said, Bottom!Dean fills me with all kind of squee and glee, because. Well, yeah. ;

Sometimes, just the idea is enough lol

Profile

castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
Mouse

January 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 10:58 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios