castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Family / carmendove)
[personal profile] castalie
So today was grand. I couldn't meet with [livejournal.com profile] whitevanilla because tbf!Sandra needed me to help her with a project but it was really interesting and the weather was gorgeous - I was in a tank top all day! - and we ended the day sitting on the quaie de Seine working on her project after spending a couple hours at the Cluny museum and yeah - wonderful day all around.

Then I came home, watched Numb3rs in French - love me some new Friday ritual - and I just finished watching Supernatural. I couldn't end my Friday better now, could I? :-)

First, each time the writers give me the whole Winchester family in an episode, I want to cry from joy because right next to the Eppes, the Winchesters are my FAVOURITE FAMILY EVER!

The vampire thing... was cool? Actually I'm kinda with Dean; vampire - it gets funnier every time I hear it. I didn't exactly care about the vampires, okay I'll admit. I suppose we do need a "plot" in order to have the boys and their daddy do their things so hey, I'm not complaining, just - I wasn't there for the vampires, kthxbai.

Also I have to get something off my chest. But! I'll be nice and warn you; if you love Sam so much that you can't stand the slightest 'criticism' against him, you'd better skip that part. Me, I could care less if you thought Dean sucked - you have your opinion, I obviously have mine and, though they might run in different directions, it's not a problem at all. But seeing that some people are so sensitive about the "issue", I just want to warn you, is all.

Ready? Thanks.

OMG SAM BUT WILL YOU STOP WITH THE EMO!TEEN REBELLING THING? You KILL me each time you do that and not in a good way! *dies*

Man, I feel better already *breathes more easily*

Okay just - he couldn't stand how John was treating them like kids. I get it. I really do. Dude, I've been following the boys from the pilot, so I know that they rock and kick ass exactly the same way John does, okay? So of course John appearing out of the blue and suddenly taking command again would get on Sam's nerves, of course he would feel like Daddy is treating them like kids and of course he would get mad about it. I'd argue that behaving like a fifteen year old in full emo!teen crisis isn't exactly the best way to prove to your dad you're a mature adult and, in fact, his equal, but whatever - that's Sam for you. So I do get his point, I just hate how he made it.

And seriously, seeing him and John like that? I had flashes of what might have been Sam's teenage years and my God but it had to be a nightmare! For everyone, Sam included. I feel really sorry for them all. Family tension and angst are always painful to see.

Of course - and you might have seen that one coming - the one I felt the most sorry for was Dean. How painful it had to be - how it has to be for everyone in that same situation - to always been in the middle of a fight between the two persons you love the most. To play the peacemaker all the bloody time - sometimes to physically have to separate them like he actually did in the episode.

Man, that scene when Sam and John get in each other's face and you hear Dean trying to diffuse the situation and then you see him step in the middle of their fight and, like, having to almost fight to separate the two? It killed me! Only in a good and angsty way.

But okay, Sam's behaviour towards their dad? Had a purpose. I still disliked it but I'm not so far gone that I can't acknowledge the fact that if Sam hadn't stood up to their dad in such a vocal and virulent way, Dean might never have taken a stand himself. Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying Dean is a coward or a spineless guy, I'm just saying that without Sam, he might just have decided that, if that was what it took to have Daddy with them again, then he would accept everything. And dude, he actually said it himself, right?

So he's ready to accept things as they are - for the family's sake. Only, Sam keeps pushing... and then he realises that Sam is right and I love that scene when he tells John how what he's saying is just bullshit. Man, Sam's look and John's surprised 'excuse me?' - they were awesome! And I loved it because it was quiet; no yelling, no fuming, just a simple sentence but it said so much because it came from Dean. Dean who's always the perfect little soldier.

Same thing with the last scene when John isn't happy because the boys disobeyed him and Sam is all 'yes, sir' and it's actually Dean who reminds John that they 'saved his ass' in the process and, again, Sam's look is just priceless and just - god, I love the Winchesters SO MUCH!

Speaking of scenes I loved - there's also the one between Sam and John in the motel room. And I totally second Sam, they are so the same. And not just because they're both trying to avenge the death of someone they loved. I really enjoyed that scene, it was powerful and just lovely.

And awwww John had started college funds for the boys! That has to be the sweetest thing ever! See, Sam, John was SO against you leaving for College that he started putting money for a college fund right after you were born! I'm glad John told him. And I loved when Sam asked what had become of the money and turns out it's been spent on ammo and they both laughed together and aww father-son bonding, yay!

But the best scene was at the end when John admitted that Sam and Dean were right and that they were stronger as a family and that they would fight together. THANK YOU DADDY!WINCHESTER FOR MAKING THE BOYS AND THE MOUSE HAPPY!

Also the moment when Dean says the words, 'we're stronger as a family' had me melt and ache for him because, that's Dean's motto, isn't it? It's the thing he's been saying over and over - with words or silently - each time he spoke about the three of them and I adored that line.

And speaking of Dean - or maybe it's about Jensen Ackles. Something I adore? Is how he plays Dean differently when Dean is alone with Sam and when they're both with their father. It's subtle, it's not in your face, it's quiet but it's there, in the way he suddenly gives over the reins and suddenly goes from leader to son and okay I'm not sure I'm saying this right but there's something in the way Dean behaves when he's just with his brother and when he's with the two men and I absolutely adore it! *won't EVER stop loving Dean/JA like whoa*

Onto the random stuff:

  • Dean's little laugh and his 'vampires. It gets funnier each time I hear it' cracked me up.


  • It's officially canon! John gave the Metallicar to Dean. This was LOVE!


  • Which reminds me that I loved Dean's sad little face when his beloved car is insulted and when he's basically accused of neglecting it.


  • I wonder how many Hunters there might be... Do they have card members and stuff?


  • Oh yeah, I almost forgot: and Sam got choked - sorta - again.


  • I can't believe the season is almost over *sobs* And let's hope I won't get spoiled against my wish before the season finale. So far so good *fingers crossed*

    PS: I'm watching Nip/Tuck - it's the "Manya Mabika" episode and I'd almost forgotten how incredible the show was!

    Date: 2006-04-21 10:53 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] foofasaurus.livejournal.com
    Heh. I ranted on the same thing in my own post. I'm just getting tired of it.

    I'm not sure I agree that Dean needed Sam's temper tantrum to openly disagree with John, though. I think he would've, in his own time, when he thought his dad was most receptive to hearing it. I think that's how he's handled it in the past and how he'd prefer to keep handling it, and I think that's part of the wariness we saw when he decided to speak up in the middle of the fight, and the surprise from John and Sam. Because I can buy them being surprised that Dean would speak up then, but I can't really buy them acting like Dean never spoke up like that. Nor do I really think that Sam's temper tantrums of all things would have such an effect on Dean, not when it seemed like they annoyed and frustrated him more than anything else.

    Speaking of scenes I loved - there's also the one between Sam and John in the motel room.

    I was really uncomfortable with this scene. It's just that with how everything can be about Sam sometimes, I tend to cling to the few things that seem to be unique to Dean. Dean's bond with John is one of those things. I don't mean to say I'm against Sam and John patching up the rift, but I don't like there being this new element of them being more like each other than anyone else in the world (to paraphrase Sam).

    I guess I just want something that can be Dean's. SOMETHING.

    Date: 2006-04-21 11:26 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I need to go and hunt the reviews that were posted on my flist now - it's gonna take me some time methinks! lol But I'll read yours first :-)

    I see your point *nods* What makes me think differently though - except that I agree, it can't have been the first time Dean spoke up like that - is Dean's 'if that is what it takes'.

    Or whatever it was he said exactly, sometimes I long for subtitles, believe me.

    He almost sounded resigned to me; he would go with the flow because if that was the price - and okay that might be too strong a word but whatever - to pay to have the family together, he was totally ready to pay it, no biggie.

    But then when things got a bit too much, he couldn't keep silent anymore, and for me, if Sam had shut the hell up, it might have taken longer for Dean to tell John what he did.

    In a way, it reminds me of "Scarecrow" when Dean reveals to Sam that he was a bit impressed at Sam's standing up to their father back then and how maybe he should have done the same thing and all. Here too, I thought it was Sam's pissy behaviour that was a sort of catalyst for the admission - because Dean is confronted with another way of dealing with their dad.

    It's like Sam's actions make Dean reconsider some of his own...

    Also, technically I don't like the idea of anything that might come between John and Dean - I can't help it, I just love their relationship too much. John and Sam can argue all they want; it's bearable - though it pains me on John's behalf - but to imagine the same thing between John and Dean? Is seriously painful.

    And I'm digressing, I know lol

    Where was I? Oh yeah, that's why - to me - Sam's behaviour has something to do with Dean's, it's like it's giving him an alternative somehow.

    And hopefully I'm making myself clear. Not so that you'll agree with me, but at least so that you'll understand my point of view :-)

    but I don't like there being this new element of them being more like each other than anyone else in the world (to paraphrase Sam).

    Lol I love you, seriously! Yeah, I totally get what you mean. I didn't mind at all though because to me, the John-Dean bond is just too strong and it is unique, it is totally Dean's. Also, I always trust Sam to make things difficult with his dad and to show us that the rift is still there, somehow, no matter what *cough*

    And your icon? Is still much LOVE.

    Date: 2006-04-22 12:06 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] foofasaurus.livejournal.com
    No worries, I know exactly what you're saying. To some extent, I agree with you. I do think Sam's actions often push Dean to do something, BUT I think that Dean would've done it anyway, just a little later. Sam kind of forces Dean to do it sooner than he might otherwise like, the way I see it. So I think Dean would've resigned himself to go along with the hunt on John's terms, letting John lead and keep his secrets, but he would've talked to John about it afterward -- asked 'hey, so how did you X, Y, and Z? What made you A, B, and C?' Sam pushes things to happen when HE wants them to happen and Dean is kind of left with no other option.

    I just think Dean has an entirely different way of handling John, and we saw glimpses of it. Sam shouts and gets in John's face and digs in his heels and refuses to budge until he gets his way. Dean quietly, but firmly, states his case, and he does it with respect. I think that's why in both cases John responded instantly to Dean whereas he would've just kept fighting and getting more stubborn with Sam.

    Also, technically I don't like the idea of anything that might come between John and Dean - I can't help it, I just love their relationship too much.

    I've become very, very attached to the relationship John and Dean have, and I don't want to see anything mess with that. I suppose that's why I get antsy when he we hear Dean saying that he wishes he had been more like Sam, because it implies that Dean isn't as content with how things are between him and John as he might otherwise appear. It's also why I'm not comfortable with the idea that Dean never disagreed with his father like a lot of fans are saying, because that's just messed up and I don't want those two to be messed up.

    I didn't mind at all though because to me, the John-Dean bond is just too strong and it is unique, it is totally Dean's.

    I think why it really got to me when otherwise I wouldn't have cared that Sam and John were bonding, was that they specifically had to go for the 'we understand each other like no one else can; we're more alike than anyone else ever could be' route. Because... well, that's how I saw John and Dean. I had Dean pegged as the brother who had turned out so much like John, and I loved that it was Dean who understood their dad. So I was kind of stricken, you know? Like, of all things for them to bond over, damnit did it have to be that? *sulks*

    And the icon is TOTAL love. Have I mentioned that I totally have a thing for Dean in that shirt? And that sad, tired look he had in that scene... *sighs*.

    Date: 2006-04-22 10:03 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    To some extent I do agree with you as well *nods*

    And you're right, Dean knows how to handle John - and here again, I'd say it might be because he understands John better than Sam does. Also, because Dean has a lot of respect not only for who John is but for what John does. Dean undersands and respects it all, which might not be Sam's case - or not to the same extent, at the very least.

    Also, I don't think Dean never stood up to John in all his life but I do believe his tolerance was extremely high - well okay we've seen it throughout the whole season - and not just because of his guilt and kid!trauma caused by the events we saw in "Something Wicked" but because, again, he always respected John and accepted he did what he did for a reason and trusted him to do right by them.

    Also because Dean always believed in what they did, and ultimately believed in John, period. Again, something that differs from Sam.

    I do believe Sam and John are much more alike that they ever thought they were but, where it counts, ie the sense of family, the sense of sacrifice, of dedication, it's all about John and Dean for me.

    This is where they're similar and that's one of the many things I love so much with those two.

    And I totally snagged the icon too lol Couldn't resist. I also took that one - I love Dean's look ;-)

    Date: 2006-04-24 02:24 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] andromakhe001.livejournal.com
    I think a agree with hearsawho. I don't think it was because of Sam that Dean stood up to Dad. "If that's what it takes". For what? For the family to be together, and alive. What does he see John doing when he stands up to do? He sees John's planning on taking off again, not to keep them ALL safe and eventually kill the demon, but so he can be reckless. John says himself he doesn't expect to come out of this in one piece.

    Bang. Dean's not going to let that go quietly. He stood up to John for totally different reasons, reasons which were very much his own. And I think he would have done it even if Sam hadn't been around under the same circumstances.

    If anything I think Sam's squeaking so much over the years could be why Dean got so locked into NOT disagreeing with John. I've kind of been in that situation myself(not nearly so bad as Sam and John mind you) and when you've got a younger sibling causing all sorts of problems for your parents, alot of times you almost feel like you shouldn't do it. "They have so much stress because of...I don't want to cause them more." That kind of thing. Sam was so adamently on one side that Dean might have felt he couldn't say anything. If Dean said anything nice about his dad, it would set Sam off. On the flip side Dean would also feel like he couldn't really voice his own frustrations about dad because that would just add more fuel to Sam's fire. He was in a no-win situation.

    Sam and John both get pissed off at each other and then take it out on Dean in various ways. Like John's comment about the Impala. We've seen Sam do it too, he gets annoyed about something with Dad, he starts getting angry with Dean. So add that to all the fighting they did themselves and I think Dean was just tired. To the point where if there was a moment of peace he wasn't going to do anything to ruin it because it was such a rare thing.

    Date: 2006-04-24 10:40 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    You and [livejournal.com profile] hearsawho both make excellent points, thanks for sharing :-)

    I actually agree with some of yours - to a certain extent - I'll admit *nods* I'm not going to explain my view all over again because I'm afraid I'll bore you to death if you've already read the different comments in the thread, though *cough*

    The one point I really see differently is the one where you say: 'Dean might have felt he couldn't say anything. If Dean said anything nice about his dad, it would set Sam off' because it seems to me like Dean never really shied away from telling Sam how wrong he was in the way he behaved towards his father. Dean has been John's defender since day one for me, so I'm not sure it weighed in the equation, know what I mean?

    Sam and John both get pissed off at each other and then take it out on Dean in various ways.

    Yes but how much did it have to do with the fact that Sam's 'target' wasn't present? I mean, for the most part, Sam's frustration couldn't be directed at John since he wasn't there - so he picked the one person who was present, and that was Dean. But once John was back, I thought Sam definitely knew where to direct his anger. Same thing with John who got on Sam's face without a problem.

    Date: 2006-04-24 02:47 pm (UTC)
    From: (Anonymous)
    ***Yes but how much did it have to do with the fact that Sam's 'target'
    wasn't present? I mean, for the most part, Sam's frustration couldn't be
    directed at John since he wasn't there - so he picked the one person who
    was present, and that was Dean. But once John was back, I thought
    Sam definitely knew where to direct his anger. Same thing with John who
    got on Sam's face without a problem.
    ***

    I meant when Sam was there. :) Like in this past episode. They needed to stop fighting to get on with the job but what did John do? He had to make that nasty crack about the Impala. Look at Scarecrow, Sam and John at least start out with a nice little convo before it degenerates into fighting but what happens when Dean gets on the phone? We don't hear it but just look at Dean's reaction, almost the second after he gets on the phone, it's pretty clear there is no nice little convo with him, John just starts abruptly spouting orders at him. I'm sure in quite an annoyed tone.

    Sam did it when John wasn't there, but he still did it which at least shows the tendency. And he did sort of start in on Dean, sure it was in a "we" "us" kind of way about John coming in and taking over but now that he's got a bit more understanding of his brother he dropped that when Dean said "If that's what it takes". He may not have done that before.

    Date: 2006-04-24 02:54 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I meant when Sam was there. :) Like in this past episode

    Ooops, sorry lol But yeah, I didn't see it that way at all, I can't exactly relate to that, then :-)

    Date: 2006-04-24 02:56 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] andromakhe001.livejournal.com
    ***Yes but how much did it have to do with the fact that Sam's 'target'
    wasn't present? I mean, for the most part, Sam's frustration couldn't be
    directed at John since he wasn't there - so he picked the one person who
    was present, and that was Dean. But once John was back, I thought
    Sam definitely knew where to direct his anger. Same thing with John who
    got on Sam's face without a problem.
    ***

    I meant when Sam was there. :) Like in this past episode. They needed to stop fighting to get on with the job but what did John do? He had to make that nasty crack about the Impala. Look at Scarecrow, Sam and John at least start out with a nice little convo before it degenerates into fighting but what happens when Dean gets on the phone? We don't hear it but just look at Dean's reaction, almost the second after he gets on the phone, it's pretty clear there is no nice little convo with him, John just starts abruptly spouting orders at him. I'm sure in quite an annoyed tone.

    Sam did it when John wasn't there, but he still did it which at least shows the tendency. And he did sort of start in on Dean, sure it was in a "we" "us" kind of way about John coming in and taking over but now that he's got a bit more understanding of his brother he dropped that when Dean said "If that's what it takes". He may not have done that before.

    I wasn't clear in my comments about Dean defending John. Dean did but I'm sure there times when he wished it wouldn't cause an argument. :)

    Date: 2006-04-24 03:10 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I realise I haven't developped my comment above, so I'll do it here. It's not as if talking about SPN was difficult for me lol

    John just starts abruptly spouting orders at him. I'm sure in quite an annoyed tone.

    I see what you mean. I don't see it that way but I totally see your point and yeah, it does work with you perception of the dynamics between the three men.

    As I saw it, John spouted orders at Dean because he knew that he could count on Dean not to discuss things and that if he wanted things done, he had to be clear about them and, again, Dean would get it.

    I felt really sorry for Dean during that scene because I wish John had found the time to say hi and just be nice for even a couple of seconds but that's John for us, I guess. He was on the job at that moment and wanted things to be taken care of.

    Dean did but I'm sure there times when he wished it wouldn't cause an argument. :)

    I can agree with that, yes lol

    Date: 2006-04-21 10:56 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] sparklinblossom.livejournal.com
    Okay, I can kind of agree, the Sam!Angst is going into overload, but I like how it finally made him and Papa Winchester see eye to eye.

    I like how towards the end of the ep, it was Sam following Dad's orders and Dean was the one who said no.

    So awesome!!!

    Date: 2006-04-21 11:28 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I'm happy for John each time he gets to win some grounds with Sam, and technically I do enjoy the fact that John and Sam try to understand each other a little but, man, Sam gets on my nerves sometimes, somethins fierce!

    Yeah, that was a nice little role reversal, wasn't it? lol

    They're love, that's what they are *nods*

    Date: 2006-04-22 07:40 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] sockich.livejournal.com
    OMG SAM BUT WILL YOU STOP WITH THE EMO!TEEN REBELLING THING? You KILL me each time you do that and not in a good way! *dies*

    OMG I KNOW RIGHT!?! Seriously, I love Sam and I totally get why he acts the way he does, but damn is it annoying.

    he might just have decided that, if that was what it took to have Daddy with them again, then he would accept everything. And dude, he actually said it himself, right?

    Dean is my woobie the end. Just, he loves both of them so much and he would do anything for their family to be together and get along and it just kills me. He's like the perfect man, he is.

    Is how he plays Dean differently when Dean is alone with Sam and when they're both with their father.

    Yes, yes, yes! I've said it before and I'll say it again, JA can act like nobody's business.

    Dean's little laugh and his 'vampires. It gets funnier each time I hear it' cracked me up.

    Hee, I know the feeling.

    Date: 2006-04-23 02:34 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Each time he does - and he does it a lot of the times, it's just the way he is - he grates on my nerves like you wouldn't believe. Well, yes, you would but you know what I mean lol

    People keep saying how it's realistic and all and yeah, it is, so what? Just because it's realistic desn't mean I should like and applaud his behaviour, man!

    JA is LOVE.

    Profile

    castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
    Mouse

    January 2023

    S M T W T F S
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031    

    Style Credit

    Expand Cut Tags

    No cut tags
    Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 07:39 am
    Powered by Dreamwidth Studios