I swear yesterday was my Let's Live By Wesley's Philosophy Day - it was pathetic, really *cringe* It didn't help that we - as I thought - didn't get to see SW last night. It's not that anything bad happened at all - just, like, lots of stupid little things and considering I'm tired all the time these days - for nor reason, either - I felt quite under the weather from start to finish. It was pathetic, I wasn't so far gone that I didn't see that *pets self anyway*
Maaan, I'm such a ray of sunshine today, aren't I? But actually no, I am - and I'm going to prove it to you by speaking about Numb3rs - that way, you'll know for sure *g* So yay! It's been officially officially renewed. In a way, I thought it already had been since the cast-spoilers-I-won't-mention-here concerned the second season, but I suppose you never really know until it's been officially announced. So, thank you CBS *kisses* And it's apparently keeping the same time slot? Good *g* I also quite loved the whole culminating with NUMB3RS, which finished its freshmen season as the night's #1 show in all key categories thing. This is so not a surprise for us, guys, that series rocks beyond the telling of it, of course Numb3rs would be numb3r #1! Sorry, couldn't resist *cough*
Speaking of which, if you go to
dsudis's LJ you'll see a really cute pic of Rob Morrow and David Krumholtz on the set *g*
And this has nothing to do with anything, but a little meme for me. Blaired from
babycakesin though I think
scrollgirl also wanted her flist to do it...
Book Meme
1) Total number of books owned?
Hmm okay so something like 550 for the novels? And something around 250 for the manga and BDs - and I have like 40 BDs only, so that makes some nice manga collection, come to think of it.
2) The last book I bought?
Dictionnaire de l'Histoire du Christianisme, La Guerre au Moyen-Age by Philippe Contamine [for the uni, I'll admit, though the former is incredibly interesting and I won't part from it, nah uh] and Fire From Heaven by Mary Renault [not for the uni, I'll admit]. Oh and er, yeah all right, I bought the Bible, too. I realised I had a very old Italian Bible, the King James' Bible but no French one, so I just remedied that. And [that day when I gave my credit card I literally whimpered] L'Humanité Perdue by Finkielkraut.
3) The last book I read?
That would be the first two books I mentioned above plus Le Monde au Moyen-Age plus another I forgot. All pleasure-pleasure books will have to wait until I'm finished with my finals and my fucking concours. I still have to read the latest Jo Bannister for instance. Daniel, Brodie and Jack are waiting for me.
4) Book that means a lot to me?
Les Thanatonautes by Bernard Werber
L'Empire des Anges by Bernard Werber [and all right, pretty much all his books]
La Faim du Tigre by René Barjavel [as well as La Nuit des Temps and Le Grand Secret]
La Fée Carabine by Daniel Pennac [well, the whole Mallaussène series, really, I'm a huge fan of this series]
Comfort and Joy by Jim Grimsley [I just couldn't not include him here]
The Persian Boy by Mary Renault [can't help it, it's like she took several of my kinks - including the whole history!kink - and wrote the story for me *g*]
Peachtree Road by Anne Rivers Siddons. First 'adult book' I read - you just never forget your first times *g*
And the books from my childhood:
The Oui-Oui [Noddy] series by Enid Blyton from when I first learnt how to read.
The Martine collection [holds a special place in my heart for some very specific reasons *g*]
Le Club Des Cinq [Famous Five] by Enid Blyton
The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by CS Lewis
The Dicey Tillerman's series by Cynthia Voigt
Les Aventures de la Chevalière by André Hodeir [one of the books I won at a poetry contest when I was nine]
Le Petit Nicolas series by Sempé-Goscinny
And pretty much all books by la Comtesse de Ségur, which I devoured too *g*
Sacrées Sorcières by Roald Dahl
And just many more...
Changing the subject now - it seems I saw some Lost squeeing on my flist this morning? Makes a change from the last two weeks. Then again, I didn't see that many Lost posts... and that really makes a change compared to Before The Last Hiatus, when my flist was filled with Lost reviews each Thursday morning and I had to pray real hard that no-one would spoil me *g*
Oh and GIP, because I have the bestest friends ever *hugs
yami_tai*
ETA: OMG! I do have the bestest friends ever! Tai, I received the Japan Parcel! Thank you SO fucking much, it is squee worthy, no matter what you told me! I'm wearing the bracelet right now and love it to pieces! And the rest? Wonderful! Couldn't have arrived at a better time, too *hugs tight*
Maaan, I'm such a ray of sunshine today, aren't I? But actually no, I am - and I'm going to prove it to you by speaking about Numb3rs - that way, you'll know for sure *g* So yay! It's been officially officially renewed. In a way, I thought it already had been since the cast-spoilers-I-won't-mention-here concerned the second season, but I suppose you never really know until it's been officially announced. So, thank you CBS *kisses* And it's apparently keeping the same time slot? Good *g* I also quite loved the whole culminating with NUMB3RS, which finished its freshmen season as the night's #1 show in all key categories thing. This is so not a surprise for us, guys, that series rocks beyond the telling of it, of course Numb3rs would be numb3r #1! Sorry, couldn't resist *cough*
Speaking of which, if you go to
And this has nothing to do with anything, but a little meme for me. Blaired from
Book Meme
1) Total number of books owned?
Hmm okay so something like 550 for the novels? And something around 250 for the manga and BDs - and I have like 40 BDs only, so that makes some nice manga collection, come to think of it.
2) The last book I bought?
Dictionnaire de l'Histoire du Christianisme, La Guerre au Moyen-Age by Philippe Contamine [for the uni, I'll admit, though the former is incredibly interesting and I won't part from it, nah uh] and Fire From Heaven by Mary Renault [not for the uni, I'll admit]. Oh and er, yeah all right, I bought the Bible, too. I realised I had a very old Italian Bible, the King James' Bible but no French one, so I just remedied that. And [that day when I gave my credit card I literally whimpered] L'Humanité Perdue by Finkielkraut.
3) The last book I read?
That would be the first two books I mentioned above plus Le Monde au Moyen-Age plus another I forgot. All pleasure-pleasure books will have to wait until I'm finished with my finals and my fucking concours. I still have to read the latest Jo Bannister for instance. Daniel, Brodie and Jack are waiting for me.
4) Book that means a lot to me?
Les Thanatonautes by Bernard Werber
L'Empire des Anges by Bernard Werber [and all right, pretty much all his books]
La Faim du Tigre by René Barjavel [as well as La Nuit des Temps and Le Grand Secret]
La Fée Carabine by Daniel Pennac [well, the whole Mallaussène series, really, I'm a huge fan of this series]
Comfort and Joy by Jim Grimsley [I just couldn't not include him here]
The Persian Boy by Mary Renault [can't help it, it's like she took several of my kinks - including the whole history!kink - and wrote the story for me *g*]
Peachtree Road by Anne Rivers Siddons. First 'adult book' I read - you just never forget your first times *g*
And the books from my childhood:
The Oui-Oui [Noddy] series by Enid Blyton from when I first learnt how to read.
The Martine collection [holds a special place in my heart for some very specific reasons *g*]
Le Club Des Cinq [Famous Five] by Enid Blyton
The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by CS Lewis
The Dicey Tillerman's series by Cynthia Voigt
Les Aventures de la Chevalière by André Hodeir [one of the books I won at a poetry contest when I was nine]
Le Petit Nicolas series by Sempé-Goscinny
And pretty much all books by la Comtesse de Ségur, which I devoured too *g*
Sacrées Sorcières by Roald Dahl
And just many more...
Changing the subject now - it seems I saw some Lost squeeing on my flist this morning? Makes a change from the last two weeks. Then again, I didn't see that many Lost posts... and that really makes a change compared to Before The Last Hiatus, when my flist was filled with Lost reviews each Thursday morning and I had to pray real hard that no-one would spoil me *g*
Oh and GIP, because I have the bestest friends ever *hugs
ETA: OMG! I do have the bestest friends ever! Tai, I received the Japan Parcel! Thank you SO fucking much, it is squee worthy, no matter what you told me! I'm wearing the bracelet right now and love it to pieces! And the rest? Wonderful! Couldn't have arrived at a better time, too *hugs tight*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-19 09:08 am (UTC)Oh and I'm still on episode 3 of Lost. I have some episodes to catch up on. ;))))))
no subject
Date: 2005-05-19 06:41 pm (UTC)Episode 3? Yeah, you certainly have some catching up to do lol But it's one hell of a ride, enjoy *g*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-19 11:19 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-19 06:43 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-19 06:46 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-19 11:31 am (UTC)*grins* I hope finding an icon slot for it wasn't too traumatic, sweetness ^_~!
I'm wearing the bracelet right now and love it to pieces! And the rest? Wonderful! Couldn't have arrived at a better time, too *hugs tight*
*hugs tight back* I noticed you wore bracelets when we met so I was hoping you would like it. I hope you feel better soon and I'm sorry that you didn't get to see Star Wars :( !
no subject
Date: 2005-05-19 06:45 pm (UTC)Well, amazingly enough, I'm doing good in that department lately... though technically I do have more icons than icon slots if I did decide to use the ones I want right now lol
I noticed you wore bracelets when we met so I was hoping you would like it.
Wow, that is the sweetest thing ever! *kisses* And I really do *beams*
I hope you feel better soon and I'm sorry that you didn't get to see Star Wars :( !
Thanks, ma belle. Am hoping we'll get to see it sooner than I think. We'll see *g*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-19 08:01 pm (UTC)Me too, me too... although I do need to find another good Numb3rs icon to replace the one I deleted.
Am hoping we'll get to see it sooner than I think. We'll see *g*
I'm hoping to go and see it at the weekend myself but I haven't done anything about getting tickets yet so I may be disappointed.
no subject
Date: 2005-05-19 06:47 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-19 07:57 pm (UTC)*grins* Thank you. It was easy to do, I just resized Mouse's screencap of the unforgettable moment and of course, Charlie provided me with the words ^_~!
no subject
Date: 2005-05-19 12:45 pm (UTC)*dies happily*
*Snickers at Rob's jacket which reads "Bi" on the sleeve*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-19 06:47 pm (UTC)It was unbearably cute, wasn't it?
*Snickers at Rob's jacket which reads "Bi" on the sleeve*
That killed me too - they really do make it easy for us, don't they? lol
no subject
Date: 2005-05-19 04:19 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-19 06:49 pm (UTC)Your icon is a riot, btw lol
no subject
Date: 2005-05-19 08:15 pm (UTC)It's funny 'cause its true.
no subject
Date: 2005-05-19 07:34 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-19 08:48 pm (UTC)The squeeing re: Lost suddenly appeared on my flist this afternoon after I came back from school - it seems those who had been a little disappointed with the last two are suddenly back in the game. Makes me bouncy *g*
And, you know, last night's episode would have been a perfect season-ending cliffhanger for any other show; can't imagine what more J.J. Abrams and his team have in store for us with the two-hour show next week.
Ohhh *wide eyes* I can't wait!
no subject
Date: 2005-05-19 07:38 pm (UTC)Sometimes you need to wallow, but don't wallow for too long...
About the meme:
Heee! La Comtesse de Ségur! I think I read everything she wrote since my grandparent's library was full of her books!
And I still haven't read you review about the last two Lost episodes... Still watching?
no subject
Date: 2005-05-19 08:52 pm (UTC)La Comtesse de Ségur! I think I read everything she wrote since my grandparent's library was full of her books!
Hee tope là! Her stories were so lovely *happy sigh*
I haven't see the last episodes of Lost yet. Don't have the time right now. It seems I'll marathon it once everything is back to normal around here. Can't wait though, yesterday's episode in particular seems to have been of the good *g*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-19 09:13 pm (UTC)Oh, yeah... My sister and I did some serious drooling and squeeing!
no subject
Date: 2005-05-19 10:07 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-20 07:34 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-20 01:27 am (UTC)I'm afraid I don't know any of the other books you named, but then the only book in French I've ever read was a translation of Agatha Christie's The Orient Express, and that was for French class! *g* Sadly, I've forgotten what little French I learned in school...
no subject
Date: 2005-05-20 07:44 am (UTC)I was quite happy to realise that most of my favourite books were, in fact, French ones. Sometimes, with all the English-reading that is going on, I feel like I betray my own language, you know? lol And I'm afraid I have no idea whether those books were translated into English - though if they never were, it's really a pity. Maybe not for the Maullaussène series though because I'm afraid it would lose too much in translation, but the rest? They're gorgeous works! Actually... I think one of Bernard Werber's books have been translated. Empire of Ants, which is the book - well, series - which made him famous. I'm more partial to his other books though, in particular the Thanatonautes series. He writes really smart books which all tell compelling and beautiful stories while at the same time using science or mythology or religion or technology - sometimes several at the same time - for his plots. You usually learn a lot while reading his books, without even noticing you're doing so *g*
And ohhh how could I forget The Orient Express, btw! One of my favourite books - I have most of Agatha's Christie's books as well...
Languages are forgotten too easily, that's sad. I wish we could keep them forever *sigh*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-24 04:40 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-24 07:04 pm (UTC)