N3 is back!
Sep. 24th, 2006 11:49 amAnd so Numb3rs 3x01 has been watched. Twice. Once last night and once this morning - which is also my way of saying that I loved the episode. Just in case you disliked it and don't want to bother with a positive review, you know?
That episode really made me happy. In particular as I remember the season two premiere and the sense of... not disappointment as such but I remember feeling something was off and I didn't like it. I don't suffer from Fan Entitlement where I think TPTB should cater to my whim and write the show exactly how I see it, but when their way of writing an episode does coincide with my perception of the characters and how I like things to happen, well, it's quite a lovely feeling :-)
So anyway onto the review.
And first I'll talk about something that made me squee a lot throughout the episode, though I knew about it beforehand. I'll just get it off my chest once and for all and we'll be done with that.
Because shallowness does have its place in a fangirl's review, right? Right.
Now a second thing, even though, here again, I knew about it: Edgerton was here! Right from the start of the season! Which fills me with glee because it's like officially acknowledging the awesomeness of his character. Now he's even here right from the beginning where it counts. That is, no, I loved waiting til the ninth episode to get him back and I'd gladly wait again for his character to appear but I love the fact that he was in the premiere, is all. And not just that but since it's a two-parter it means we'll get him again next week? Brilliant!
Oh Edgy, how I love you, let me count the ways! *clings*
I adore that character. I don't think I've loved secondary characters as much as him. And actually, technically he's a guest character not even a secondary character, is he? Cause I totally see him as one. He's so great *fangirls him like crazy* I love him on his own and I love him with Don and Charlie. I love his cool attitude and love how fond he seems to be of the brothers, in Charlie in particular.
Which is why that first scene with the three of them made my heart sing! The teasing! He knows how to get Charlie going, doesn't he? I so enjoyed the fond smile and amused look he gave Charlie when Charlie got all smug about his past successes v Ian's skepticism. Incidentally I was amused at Don's look when Charlie started; like he was saying to Ian 'Dude, you know he'll be all smug and annoying, why do you encourage him?'
And speaking of Charlie, I thought he was unbearably cute in that episode. In his behaviour, his mannerism, his freak-outs about 'losing a housemate and gaining a girlfriend', his awkwardness, his smugness, his enthusiasm, his... Charliness. Just - yeah, I absolutely adored him and, okay, me? I kinda adore Charlie on a good day, you know, so that's kinda saying something.
Which also brings me to the whole Amita/Charlie thing. Know what? I thought it wasn't as painfully painful as usual. Oh it's still awkward and difficult and I still don't know where they're going or if they're even really going somewhere and I'm not sure I'd want them to, anyway, but they're really trying this time and it made a difference to me. I quite liked that Amita said it without detour. That staying in CalSci might be a great opportunity for her professionally but that it also might be a great opportunity for them. It was clear and honest and I liked it.
I also liked that Charlie, even though he'd forgotten about their dinner afterwards, did stop what he was doing to go with her because, yes, his work for Don is important but Amita is important too and so he chooses her. I don't know, I thought that for all Charlie's awkwardness - or is that immature behaviour? - he didn't screw up this time. Even if , admittedly, in the end they didn't go out together.
A couple that I'm totally into now - hee that sounds nicely kinky lol - is the ever so cute Megan/Larry. How adorable are they together? And it does make a lovely change from the Amita/Charlie's awkwardness. They're so comfortable together, so sweet. It's a joy to see :-)
Let's forget about the ships now - because I'm not into N3 for the romance, btw - and let's talk about the Eppes family. So. Alan is talking about moving out again, uh? Can't say I'm happy with that development but it's not as if it was coming out of the blue, right? After all, Alan did want to sell the house so that he would go and live on his own. So it's like we're getting back that little bit of continuity. And I do get his point, too. I just don't like it because I want Daddy!Eppes to stay with
So I guess I'm like Charlie: I totally get what Alan is saying, I do understand his reasoning, I want him to be happy and do what he wants but inside? I'm not a happy camper because I don't want to lose that housemate either! *clings*
Speaking of, loved Charlie's not!freak out about Alan's desire to move out - how he was all 'fine and dandy' with the decision. I laughed when he was supposedly talking about the case and the elusive missing dot, sorry elusive point, with Larry and how he's all 'my dad is moving out!' all of a sudden. Yes, you're so fine with the whole thing, Charlie, you're barely thinking about it at all, right? Too cute for words.
Is Alan really going to move out? Rhetorical question, btw, I don't want to know... I don't really have a spoiler-free policy as far as Numb3rs is concerned, but I'll just wait and see.
Another moment I loved was the Don-Charlie little relaxing time at the FBI where they're talking about Daddy and girlfriends. It was sweetly familiar and brotherly and I loved it. And boy do those two have girlfriend issues!
Onto the random now:
And lastly two pieces of dialogues that I adored:
Alan: Larry, I’m gonna give you the same advice I’ve given to all the geniuses I know.
Larry: Which is?
Alan: Don’t be an idiot.
Charlie: You know, I - I’ve been running expressions assuming a dog chasing a cat, but it’s actually a dog chasing a cat chasing a mouse.
Edgerton: I thought it was an airplane?
Charlie: Oh, cats and dogs work better now.
For more quotes, go to
Can't wait for next week's episode!
I also watched Criminal Minds 2x01 but I just have one thing to say. Oh, Reid! And also, I'm madly in love with the characters and that season premiere confirmed that. No wait, there's something else. So I loved the episode and the role Reid played in it. I loved the ending tag and that last scene of Hotch going to Elle's place and washing the blood from the wall? Killed me! It was fantastic and intense and I love that team more than words can say.
Okay good. Now I'll prepare for a whole day of laziness. I'm not setting a foot outside. Today is a Me Day and I'm gonna catch up with some of my shows and read and did I mention the lazying around? Good, then. And I have a sudden craving for chouchou so I'm gonna raid the kitchen because I know The Mum bought some the other day.
no subject
Date: 2006-09-24 10:12 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-09-26 09:54 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-09-24 11:12 am (UTC)I like men with long hair, so I liked the "previous" Charlie better. And especially because he was slender. I just can't get over the fact that he looks kind of fat now X(
But Edgerton did it for me in this ep. And you are not the only one who found the stick-scene sexy. Goshy goshy, that was so cool! :)
no subject
Date: 2006-09-26 09:59 am (UTC)I like men with short hair or short-long hair, like Daniel in the first season of SG, for instance? But long hair as such in men usually doesn't do it for me. With some exception of course but still... so seeing the short curls, well, yeah, it filled me with glee *bonces*
As for Charlie looking fat... well, DK might have put on some weight but I seriously don't care one bit. Maybe I'm not that tv!shallow, after all ;-)
Edgy was all kinds of sexy, wasn't he? And so you fell for the stick-scene too? Go us! *high fives*
no subject
Date: 2006-09-24 12:15 pm (UTC)L'épisode était génial, Ian is backkkk. j'ai hâte de voir la suite, et de revoir Edgerton soon.
Comme toi j'adore la nouvelle coupe de Charlie, tout le monde dis qu'il a le visage un peu "bouffy" mais je trouve que ça lui donne un air encore plus juvénile et donc super cute!!
Pareil pour la coupe de Don, je dois être l'une des rares à aimer son new look. En plus il a l'air d'avoir fait un peu de muscu le petit Rob!! (ce qui n'est pas pour me déplaire^^).
J'ai adoré les scènes que tu as quoté idem pour
Parcontre c'est dommage qu'il n'est pas gardé la scène entre les deux geeks comme elle était dans le preview. Je trouvais la scène encore plus drôle quand Larry frappe Charlie avec la massue et que Don arrive à ce moment là. La panique qu'il exprime est terrible et le "hoohooo" m'a fait mourrir de rire! Enfin, le point positif, c'est que la scène était plus longue...
Charlie et Don au bureau du FBI, j'adore ces scènes, j'ai trouvé ça d'un cute, et leur hésitation/incertitude en ce qui concerne leur relation avec leurs girlfriends, huhu, on peut l'interpréter de différente façon, mais perso, j'ai mon idée...
Bon sinon moi aussi je glande today, oh que j'aime ce genre de journée, je lis fics, je matte TV show et je vais dessiner, j'ai deux clex à faire pour un challenge et j'ai fini un chibi Charlie que je dois coloriser. Glandouille quand tu nous tiens...
no subject
Date: 2006-09-26 10:04 am (UTC)Ouais t'as vu ça, tout le monde il est méchant avec Charlie parce que DK aurait pris un peu de poids *pout* Moi ça me dérange pas du tout - j'ai mes limites niveau superficialité à la télé, faut croire - et en plus, je crois b ien que t'as raison, ça lui donne un air un peu plus juvénile encore.
Ah moi je regretterais toujours Terry parce que je l'adorais vraiment mais j'ai jamais regretté Mégan à proprement parlé parce que je l'aime tout autant. Si j'avais pu avoir les deux, j'aurais été aux anges. Mais bon;...
Et Megan/Larry, ils me font rêver *happy sigh*
La glandouille, y a rien de mieux parfois !
no subject
Date: 2006-09-24 03:36 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-09-26 10:05 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-09-24 07:48 pm (UTC)They were both so perfect and awesome and fucking hell I love my shows so fucking much! ♥
no subject
Date: 2006-09-26 10:06 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-09-24 08:08 pm (UTC)Anyway, you have really whetted my appetite for the episode now ^_^!
no subject
Date: 2006-09-26 10:12 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-09-25 12:01 am (UTC)OMG -- Alan picking a complex with a tennis court for Don -- my heart! B/c that's such a perfectly parental thing to do -- they never, ever miss a step with Alan on this show and I LOVE them for it!
(I'm excited about next week -- I just don't want Megan to get roughed up too much, you know?)
no subject
Date: 2006-09-27 05:51 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-09-25 01:17 am (UTC)I was amused at Don's look when Charlie started; like he was saying to Ian 'Dude, you know he'll be all smug and annoying, why do you encourage him?'
Yes! The expression on his face! It looked like he almost wanted to cut Charlie off before he got going, because he was all jealous that Edgerton could get a reaction out of Charlie. *g*
I just don't like it because I want Daddy!Eppes to stay with us Charlie! Of course, from a slasher POV, this is quite the interesting twist, but that's another story altogether!
I want him to stay, too, but you are so right about it being a slasher's dream. *g* And Charlie's freak out was adorable! You knew? As for Alan really moving out, I don't know for sure, but I hope not. It will cut terribly into the family moments we've been able to see, with Don coming over and hanging out, and that will make me an unhappy camper. I think Alan will think about it, look around, then realize he doesn't have to leave. *crosses fingers*
I loved the idea of Don and Charlie talking, about their father, about relationships, it was just so wonderful.
Can't wait til next week. *g*
no subject
Date: 2006-09-27 05:54 pm (UTC)Yeah, I definitely hope our family moments won't suffer too much from the new developments in that season *crossed fingers*
Can't wait til next week either, well, I mean, til the end of the week now ;-) Which also reminds me that I need to check out the cbs site to see whether they uploaded the trailer for that ep!