castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (On the Road / dev_earl)
[personal profile] castalie
Checking the flist on a Friday after an SPN Thursday always cracks me up. There're a gazillion SPN reviews back to back and so few entries I can actually read lol I love it :-) And something else I love is how I only had to wait forty-two little minutes before watching the episode myself. It's pure joy not having to wait a whole day!

The timing was also perfect because my back has been acting up last night - third time in, what, less than three weeks? - so I had another bad night, trying to keep still and not breathing too hard - which kinda sucks - and it's still hurting like a bitch today and I'm a bit tired of this but! SPN made everything better so let's focus on that, shall we? :-)

I thought the episode was... well, it was okay, I guess. But the Winchester boys, they were awesome. I definitely can live with that. A lot of the times I love the episode+boys combo and sometimes it's just the boys that make it good. It is a win/win situation, see?

Also, this will be rather short, I think, because I'm not exactly up to par.

First scene (with the boys that is) was BRILLIANT! Not the revelation as such, mind, because, well, I don't think there's a single person in the fandom that hadn't seen it coming. Still, to see the reaction it provoked in both Dean and Sam, it was worth not being surprised. It's so the worst thing that could happen to Dean - having Dad tell him that he might have to kill his beloved Sam. It's like irony at its finest - tell the one person whose mission in life it always has been to protect Sam that he might have to kill him. I can't see how it could have been worse. Loved the argument, Dean's face, Dean's begging Sam, fucking begging him. Sam's anger and despair - it's his worst nightmare happening too, poor Sam. Fucking intense and brilliant scene, I adored it!

I hated that Sam and Dean were separated for so long but Ava made it all better because, dude, she was right, she was awesome! Why couldn't Ava be Jo? But okay that's not the point. I loved Ava and of course they had to make her evil, typical! Still, mucho love for her character. And I loved Sam trying to explain things that, yeah, might sound a bit out there for someone who isn't watching the show isn't in this lifestyle. And he watches a lot of TJ Hooker? *cracks up*

Dean threatening to kill Gordon if he hurt his brother! Dean being tied up! Dean being so fucking angry at Gordon, so fucking scared for Sam. Sam kicking Gordon's ass and showing him how fucking wrong he was about Sam! Also loved that Dean wanted to finish the job... and I loved Sam's solution. Loved it when Dean checked on Sam to see if he was okay and loved Sam's, not dragging Dean but, you know, pulling him with him and away from Gordon.

And then the scene in the car... the seriousness, Sam's 'so not funny' joke that he did find funny, the destiny talk, Dean saying he's tired of the hunt - again - Dean's desire to lay low coming back - in Amsterdam lol Oh hey, Dean-o! Why not in Choisy-le-Roi?! - Sam guilt-tripping him to follow him, the banter, the name calling, the laughing. OH DUDE! Our boys are BACK, whee!

I just love how much they love each other... love how Dean isn't giving up on Sam, not ever. Love that they have their little world of two and to what extent they'll go to protect each other... and I might like that there's a bit of 'them against the world of hunters' thing going on now. Makes thing interesting, all right.

Hmm? Why yes there's a lot of love in that review. The Winchesters are just that wonderful :-)

Watching the episode though, it made me think that the fic I intend to write for [livejournal.com profile] j2_otpathon will have to be set in s1 and not s2... I'm afraid some stuff are a bit redundant now... oh, well, we'll see.

100% Unrelated PS: My cousin Ludivine is in Australia for the year and she just promised to bring me Tim Tams! Now, this is what I call a serious promise!

Date: 2007-01-12 02:21 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] improperlydone.livejournal.com
I just love how much they love each other... love how Dean isn't giving up on Sam, not ever. Love that they have their little world of two and to what extent they'll go to protect each other... and I might like that there's a bit of 'them against the world of hunters' thing going on now. Makes thing interesting, all right.

*sigh*

I had to watch the part where Dean checked on Sam a bajillion times because OMG I love him so much and I love how much he loves Sam!

And Dude... Ava was so awesome I couldn't stand it. Hope to see her again!

I'm so glad you got to see it and you liked it!! The boys make me so happy.

Date: 2007-01-12 05:44 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Dean checked on Sam a bajillion times because OMG I love him so much and I love how much he loves Sam!

That scene is a favourite, isn't it? lol

I do hope we get to see Ava again. It's possible, I think, considering how it ended, they might face evil!Ava one of these days. Or she'll just be a tool for the plot and we won't ever get to see again... but I prefer the first theory.

Date: 2007-01-12 07:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mab-browne.livejournal.com
So, is it kind of silly of me to ignore the Spn squee, and just go, 'Timtams! Whee!!'?

Date: 2007-01-14 04:08 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Lol Considering how good and tasty and delicious they are, I don't think it's silly at all *g*

Date: 2007-01-12 08:32 pm (UTC)
spikedluv: (sam&dean_theboysareback_autumnjoy)
From: [personal profile] spikedluv
Wonderful episode! The boys were amazing! Loved how worked up Dean was over the thought of ever having to kill Sam, and how he went after Gordon (I knew it was him, the scuzzball!) to protect Sam, and how worried he was about Sam when Gordon had him tied up, and then how devastated when he thought Sam was dead. And yes, first thing, checking Sam over. ♥ Loved Sam getting enough out of Ava's dream to know where the trip wires were and being smart enough to set both of them off. And after he's beaten the crap out of Gordon, who kept calling him 'Sammy', he's all, "It's Sam." *loveslovesloves* And Sam had the plan to take care of Gordon. And the banter in the car. Just wonderful!!

Date: 2007-01-14 04:09 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
There were so many fantastic Sam-Dean moments, weren't they? Plus the rest... I also love how, even though they might not be physically close sometimes, they're still so very connected!

Date: 2007-01-12 11:18 pm (UTC)
ext_1650: (are you there? (dana_crimson))
From: [identity profile] turps33.livejournal.com
I've only seen the first five minutes, but had to comment to laugh at your so called short review. Man, it's ten times longer than anything I ever do *g*

I hope your back is feeling better soon. This is happening far too often :(

Date: 2007-01-14 04:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Duuuuude, this is short! But if you want to know a secret, sometimes I'll start a review, thinking it'll be quick, and then I realise I did have stuff to say and, well, it's not so short anymore *g*

Back is feeing better today, finally! Thanks *g*

Date: 2007-01-13 01:09 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sockich.livejournal.com
because my back has been acting up last night

*hugs you, gently* Hope it gets better soon.

Dean saying he's tired of the hunt - again -

See, that way I figure, people have been writing fic where Dean is the one to leave all of this behind and Sam keeps hunting for ages. And now they're showing us in canon this would probably be the case.

So, as long as Wincest fics keep getting written, we should, someday, see that in canon, too. *beams*

Date: 2007-01-14 04:12 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
It's finally better today, thans *g*

So, as long as Wincest fics keep getting written, we should, someday, see that in canon, too.

Amen, sister! lol

Date: 2007-01-14 06:03 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ninjetti75.livejournal.com
Ohhhhhh, I know some of it's just because this was the first ep after the mid-season break, but I LOVED THIS ONE SOOOO MUCH!!! For all of the reasons you listed; I am in 100% agreement. Ava's line in response to Sam's asking "Are you okay?" "-I just helped steal some dead guy's confidential psych profile... ..I'm awesome!" was =SO= awesome, glee!! And the various shadings and questions regarding the rest of the supernatural hunting community outside of the Winchesters definitely have my curiosity piqued for the future. Can't wait to see what's next! i'd still friggin' kill for a hug between the boys though, honestly!

Date: 2007-01-14 04:13 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Ava was awesome; it's funny because my flist seems to have loved her a lot. That's cool *g*

i'd still friggin' kill for a hug between the boys though, honestly!

You and me both lol

Profile

castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
Mouse

January 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 04:56 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios