castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
[personal profile] castalie
1
. I've finally watched Heroes and I can't believe we'll have to wait a whole month to get the new episode! Hiatus will be the death of me one day, mark my words. Also, I suppose someone already translated the little French bits but in case no-one did, you know where to ask *waves*

2. I've also watched the web-only Black Donnellys episode "God is a Comedian" and okay I don't get the whole 'too violent for network' thing. I'm thinking it was just a little ploy to, like, make us all watch/download the episode from the site, which, seriously, you didn't need to lure us into doing it! You just had to say 'ep 3 in advance' and I'd have been there in no time! So I don't know what kind of version or episode we'll get next but I really don't see why it was supposedly too 'dark and violent' for airing. I mean, it's The Black Donnellys, sure it's definitely not Little House on the Prairie, but it wasn't anything worse compared to the two previous episodes, was it? Or maybe we're not seeing it because, I don't know, we're dark? [/Dean]

2b. My love for Kevin grows and grows with each new episode. Oh, Kevin I love you SO MUCH *squishes* I have many reasons but the most important is because of how torn up he is about the whole situation.

His loyalty is both to Tommy and Jimmy and he's fucked - and fucked-up - because they both demand a lot from him, and said demands run in complete opposite sides and it's like a perpetual conflict of interest for him. Like he betrays one when he helps the other and it messes with his mind and then he feels upset and angsty and hurty and it makes me squeal with delight because family issues is always of the good as far as tv shows are concerned.

Of course it's no better with Tommy who's fucked-up his whole life to help his brothers, to help Jimmy and who has Jimmy accuses him of not being a good brother. Man, that scene at the prison really broke my heart. Jimmy yelling obscenities at him when we know what Tommy did for him. It made me want to do Jimmy some harm, I have to say. I also wanted to do him some harm again at the end when he leaves Kevin after Kevin just bailed him out of prison.

Oh and I'm also having some issues with Mama Donnelly, by the way. So I'm not taking back what I said in my last review, I really loved those scenes with her and Kevin - and Kevin's sleeve - and then with Jenny, but in "God is a Comedian", I felt a bit of annoyance/anger toward her.

Okay so I do understand how bloody worried and terrified she was at the whole situation with Sean - things were spinning out of control and it was scary. When you're afraid, you sometimes do/say stuff that aren't exactly charitable, so I'm not even commenting on that but - did she have to put the burden on her sons' shoulders. On Tommy? Wasn't there anything she could have done to help Sean, to help the situation? And then, when Tommy comes to her and is like 'I tried, I really tried, but I couldn't do anything', did she have to basically tell him he hadn't done enough? I mean her 'say that to Sean' really hurt me on Tommy's behalf. He's doing everything he can to help them, there's shit over shit piling up on him, he's lost and drowning a bit, and like, what, it's his fault if he couldn't force a doctor to help them?

So anyway, it's like I understand where she's coming from. I don't necessarily have to like it, do I?

3. Still madly in love with L&O:CI and now that I have all of s1 on DVD, I can bask in the Bobby & Alex love :-) Oh and one of my random L&O:CI episode - 5x15 "Wrongful Life" - made me smile because it had Jonathan Tucker as one of the guest stars. Funny timing, that one :-) And his character had some nice similarities with Tommy. That was amusing too.

4. New Numb3rs is downloading, wheee! Seeing how slow it is, I have no idea whether I'll be able to see it before I leave for the weekend. We'll see.

5. We're celebrating my cousin Rémi's 20th birthday tonight, so we'll leave for my godfather's later today. Man, he's twenty-years old... even though The Sis and I had strictly forbidden him from growing up when we were kids. But do kids listen to you these days? Of course not! It's funny because I still remember when my aunt was pregnant with him... She would sometimes lie on the bed and Auré, Julien and I would lie beside her with our heads on her belly and we'd wait for the baby to kick... and now said baby is 1.88m - around 6'02"? Time flies, guys, it really does.

Date: 2007-03-10 11:23 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] foofasaurus.livejournal.com
*waves arms* Translate it for meeee. *puppy eyes*

Date: 2007-03-10 11:44 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Okay here you go:

First when The Haitian is on the phone:

'J'ai la fille, qu'est-ce-vous voulez que je fasse? Je comprends. Marseille' -> I have the girl. What do you want me to do? I understand. Marseille.

[Big city in the South of France]

Then:

Mrs Petrelli: Au moins maintenant elle sera en sécurité. Mais pas grâce à vous -> At least now she'll be safe. But no/t thanks to you.

[She had a very thick accent, I didn't immediately get that she was speaking French *facepalm*]

The Haitian: Ecoutez j'ai fait tout ce que j'ai pu. Elle aurait bien fini par trouver sa propre voie -> Look, I've done everything that I could. She would have found her own way here anyway/eventually.

[And okay technically 'sa propre voie' should be translated in 'her own path' but it's sound a bit, I don't know, OTT in a way. Because it kinda sounds like he's just telling Mrs Petrelli that Claire would have found her anyway and would have found out about her identity in the end. Except the whole 'propre voie' thing doesn't exactly mean that. Almost sounds like a bad translation from English to French. I don't know, so I'm just giving you the two translations *g*]

Date: 2007-03-10 11:35 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] szeretni.livejournal.com
In case you didn't know about these...

http://community.livejournal.com/padacklesrps/

http://doodle-writes.livejournal.com/9637.html#cutid1

Date: 2007-03-10 02:06 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
I already knew about the former except, though I wasn't a member because I already belong to an RSP comm, you know? Except you recc'ed that fantastic fic afterwards and I realised I'd missed a bunch of J2 fics that hadn't been crossposted so er, right, I ended up friended it too *nods*

So thanks!

Date: 2007-03-10 11:36 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sockich.livejournal.com
I know Sean is the baby of the family, but I really think it's Kevin who acts that way. He's like a little kid and Tommy and Jimmy are his everything and when they make him choose it literally breaks him. *hugs him*

It made me want to do Jimmy some harm, I have to say.

*nods* Yes. Then again, it did make for some wonderful angst, so I'm willing to forgive.

Same with Mama Donnelly. That was not a cool comment but. Angst! Tommy!angst. ♥

And happy birthday to your cousin. *g*

Date: 2007-03-13 05:13 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
I like your take on Kevin :-) Being in the middle and trying to please everyong is just not the best place to be in, isn't it? Of course it gives us great Kevin!angst so I'm all for that :-)

Same with Mama Donnelly. That was not a cool comment but. Angst! Tommy!angst. ♥

I second that, the angstier, the better *g*

And thanks on his behalf :-)

Date: 2007-03-10 05:32 pm (UTC)
enigel: Aziraphale shielding Crawly under his wing ([Numb3rs] [C/E] angles)
From: [personal profile] enigel
Those of us who've watched Heroes as soon as it was available have to wait even more for the next episode! Take comfort in that. ;)

Are you taking Numb3rs from mininova too? It's horrendously slow, and claims to have 7 more hours to go. :( And then there appears to be a hiatus until the 30th!

Date: 2007-03-13 05:17 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
You're right, it's nice to know others have to wait more; it does make me feel better, thanks lol

IIRC it was the mininova one, yes. It did take some time though after a while it went faster - still, I couldn't watch it in time. I still haven't watched it, actually...

Date: 2007-03-11 09:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] nicelyobsessed.livejournal.com
J'ai vu le new Heroes hier, que j'ai évidemment adoré, mais je suis surtout sous l'emprise des frères Donnellys. J'ai updaté dessus parceque sérieux en un épisode je suis totalement in love avec le show, ça ne m'était pas arrivée depuis Dexter. *loves*

Date: 2007-03-13 05:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Je vais aller voir ce que tu as à dire sur TBD; j'attendais ça depuis un petit moment. Je me disais bien que tu aimerais mais on sait jamais, hein ? Hey, tu vas faire des icônes, d'ailleurs ?

Date: 2007-03-13 06:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] nicelyobsessed.livejournal.com
Mon post était sur le premier épisode, entre temps j'adore aussi Kevin, parceque pauvre petit Kevin pris entre ses deux grands frères. Et quand il freak out, I wanted to hug him. Oh le corps à corps OMFG, que je les aimes les Donnellys LOL
J'ai fais 3 icones sur le pilot, je vais m'attaquer au deuxième épisode et posterai quand j'en aurai un nombre suffisant.

Date: 2007-03-14 04:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Ca y est, j'ai vu *g* Et n'est-ce-pas que c'est un joli woobie aussi le Kevin ? *loves*

Ah ah, donc y a bien des icônes en perspective, sympa :-)

Date: 2007-03-12 03:52 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] micawbish.livejournal.com
not to be a total downer, but it's actually SEVEN more weeks til a new heroes, which just makes me *weep*. and i'm totally with you on mama donnelly. i loved her in the premiere with what she said to jenny and that scene with the *sleeve*, but in the web episode? not so much. even if i understand where she's coming from, i do think she came down just on the other side of unreasonably harsh. i still like her, though, i just hope that didn't set a precedent. :/

also, how is numb3rs this year? i fell off the show somewhere last season, and i keep wondering if i should make an attempt to catch up.

Date: 2007-03-13 05:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Ouch, seven? That's even worse than I thought *cringe* Well, it's not as there's anything we can do against it, right? *sigh* Thank Gof for The Blck Donnellys, though. Let's just hope they're not gonna cancel it on us without finishing the season, though! Hmm? Yes, I'm paranoid, why do you ask?

Glad to see I'm not the only one who had some issues with Mama Donnelly's comment to Tommy.

Also, I'm really enjoying this season of N3. It's still not s1, which is my most favourite season of the three, but it's great too and has some kick-ass episodes :-)

Profile

castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
Mouse

January 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 07:05 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios