castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
[personal profile] castalie
  • Desperate Housewives is so good it's not even funny. Of course I already knew it but some things bear repeating. I'm going to enjoy my Thursday evenings a lot *beams* Also, I can't get enough of seeing Richard Burgi - though he was such a twat! - in shows other than The Sentinel. I love how the man can play so different characters and always be credible, he rocks! Also, my love for Bree and Susan grows exponentially. I love them all but Bree and Susan have a special place in my heart *loves*


  • And I can't believe I forgot to mention the voices! So, the dubbing. Well, I did like it. Except for Bree maybe - I mean, I thought there was something missing. Then again, by the end of the second episode, I wasnt noticing anymore, so it's okay. Susan's is Teri Hatcher's usual dubbing - sekrit message to YouKnowWhoYouAre: the name of the actress is Claire Guyot - which I love so yay, voice that also happens to be Buffy's dubbing in, well, Buffy, obviously *g* Lynette is Scully's voice, which made me smile because Rex's is Mulder's *g* Carl had Richard Burgi's usual dubbing which omg thank you cause I love Bernard Lanneau's voice. Babycakes? Emmanuel Curtil is there too! He was Doug Savant's voice in Melrose Place - not that I watched it, of course *cough* - so he took the voice over again *g* And Gabrielle's voice is the one that made me smile a lot too because I was like, damn, I know that voice - and then it went bam! It's little!Jarod's voice in The Pretender. Funny that. Yes, women do dub young kids in shows - and sometime little boys, too *shrug* And Mary Alice's is Jordan's voice in Preuve à l'Appui, I think.


  • So it's official, I'm hosted at vox populli! Don't expect to see my site soon though cause, see, I thought all File Managers were also HTML Editors but seems I was wrong and that new File Manager is just that, a File Manager - so I had to download FileZilla [ftp]. I was able to connect to my site - yay! - and upload and delete files - double yay - but I need to work a little more on it because, like, I have trouble with the links. It doesn't work like it used to. Boy, changes and me... we're not that good of friends. Hopefully, FTP and I will learn to know each other and we'll get along just fine *fingers crossed* Though if it keeps telling me the files I upload are 0k when they're not, I don't know how we'll manage *sigh*


  • Btw? Alice is a sweetheart! *loves*


  • Today is the day of our Fierté Slasheuse II, whee! Meeting at 18h00 at Bastille in front of the FNAC - we hang around, eat some, then off to the Rocky Horror Picture Show where I'll finally see for myself how crazy this little event is. Then... invasion of Babe's home for a Nuit Blanche - when you pull an all nighter? Though we might invade Catia's home as well - and no, I won't forget the DVDs and CDs, girls - cause it seems some people don't have any sound on their computer *cough* Then again, I might just fall asleep on the floor - yeah cause it seems some people don't have any real furniture in their home either *re-cough* But seriously, I'm curious about the Zen Place *g* Anyway, to make a long short, I can't wait omg!


  • Today is also the day when the stories for the Numb3rs Slash Ficathon are due and as you can see, I have no story to offer. It just didn't work. RL was a little upsetting the past weeks and though I can go and read fics and watch tv and all, I need my head clear when I'm writing fics so, well, it didn't happen. And yes, I did warn the mods beforehand - I'm the polite type, thanks :-) So I'll enjoy the ficathon as a reader only.
  • Date: 2005-09-09 11:29 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] catiadoodle.livejournal.com
    I can't wait for season 2 of Desperate Housewives !
    So you watched the show on Canal + yesterday, right ? how was the voice over ?
    Bree is sooo my favorite !

    "The Zen place", haha.

    Date: 2005-09-09 11:50 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    She does, she so does! *is in love*

    Date: 2005-09-09 11:50 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    When does season two premiere?

    And the voice over was real nice - actually, you reminded me that I hadn't mentioned the dubbing, so I edited my post because, like, I can't not mention the dubbing! lol

    I can call it that now, I'll see how I'll call it tomorrow lol

    Date: 2005-09-09 11:57 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] catiadoodle.livejournal.com
    September 25 !! More than 2 weeks to wait ! >:O

    Read the edit, and wow ! You're the voice queen ! You can recognize everyone ! I used to be like that when I watched anime, I used to recogize each voice and knew the voice actor's names too... Yeah that was a long time ago.

    Date: 2005-09-09 12:01 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Two days after Numb3rs premiere, then - september 23 is kinda my reference these days lol Clark is going to be so busy, poor little guy *pets him*

    Thanks lol It's one of my hobbies so to speak. I think it's a matter of watching so many shows all the time, after awhile it really becomes natural - well, you know the feeling, or knew, obviously *g* And I try to learn as many names as possible in honour of all those actors and actresses who do the dubbing - I mean, they do such a great job and they're always in the shadow. So I try and all *g*

    Date: 2005-09-09 01:39 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] dont-callmebabe.livejournal.com
    Tomorrow ?

    What tomorrow ??
    Did I forget to tell you ?

    There is no tomorrow whatsoever, at the end of the show, everyone just dies !

    Date: 2005-09-09 01:41 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    And you're telling me now? Damn. Well okay then, I'll just cancel my plans for the weekend! And uhm, the ones for the rest of my life too *takes notes*

    Date: 2005-09-09 01:50 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] sori1773.livejournal.com
    *crying*

    RL sucks,that's for sure. I was so looking to your story!

    But Yay for Vox Populli! *bg* That's where I host. Check the file names for the link problems - capitals matter so the file names have to look exactly like they do in the file manager. This completely threw me and sent me NUTS.

    Date: 2005-09-09 02:12 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    RL hasn't been nice this year *shrug* Just life, as they say *g* I'm sure I'll write a new Numb3rs story - I do have two fucking scenes, dammit - but not now now. It sucks because I was so looking forward to participate *pout*

    Yeah but before, I had to link to, say: < a href = " http://geocities.come/de_solaris/NameOfFile.html " >blahblah , right? But here what do I write? I'm told to just put the name of the file, but I can't just put the name of the file, can I? Like < a href=" NameOfFile " > blah blah ? This is driving me nuts too *is nuts*

    Also, I've just received a message telling me I'm running out of disk space and I need to remove some files out of my account and dude! I haven't uploaded anything yet *sigh*

    I really can't wait to have a good handle on the whole thing, believe me! HTML editors on previous file managers were so easy *re-pout*

    Date: 2005-09-09 02:20 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] sori1773.livejournal.com
    Yep, you just put the file name. It's in the same general file so they're all acessible without additional file directs.

    it'd be... < a href = "Don smut.html" >

    Date: 2005-09-09 02:23 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    THANK YOU *cries*

    That's one less problem in my list *beams*

    Date: 2005-09-09 02:00 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] nilyveth.livejournal.com
    Oh, Desperate Housewives... Friend of mine has been bugging me for days now about season 2 (it started airing here Tuesday, one day after the Nub3rs premiere^^).
    Wow, you're lucky with the french dubbing. The German dubs sucks, imho. Of course, again I can't really relate to the original voices, but it's absolutely annoying to listen to the voices on Desperate Housewifes over here. It's not even the voices themselves, as I know most of them from other series, but the way they're talking, the accentuations. Most of the women sound fake and exagggerated. I don't know if it's the same in the original episodes (kinda suspect it is^^"), but I can't bear watching DH for more than 5 minutes without getting a headdache. I don't really like the series anyways so no shame, I guess.

    Date: 2005-09-09 02:16 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    The new season premiers on the 25th in the States - two days after Numb3rs eee! - and I can't wait :-)

    Too bad about the German dubbing... but yeah, Bree in particular has a pretty peculiar speech pattern in the original version, as does Mary Alice - the narrator, ie the one who killed herself - so that might be what your own dubbers tried to convey? A dubbing that doesn't work for us truly ruins a show, doesn't it? I'm always a tad anxious before the French version starts because what if they ruin it? And when it's a favourite show, well, it just sucks beyond the telling of it [/drama queen]

    Nope, Bree is Miss Perfect... the one who can't accept that her marriage is dissolving right in front of her eyes - though who would, really... *points to icon*

    Date: 2005-09-09 04:14 pm (UTC)
    crazybutsound: (most badass cop in LA)
    From: [personal profile] crazybutsound
    Bleargh. I really, really don't like Desperate Housewives, but that's more to do with me not liking soap operas and how I believe it IS a soap opera, only maybe a good one. Also has to do with how it reminds me too much of say... Melrose Place which I always hated as well. I guess I'm just not big on shows which aren't crime shows, you know? Unless it's House. But really, other than that, give me my CSI or Numb3rs any day and I'll be happy. I can maybe take Sci-Fi, too... dunno, I'll need to try and watch more sci-fi shows to see about that. But soaps, bleargh. Hate them, lol.

    Now, are you going to also try to watch Rescue Me? Because I'd be really curious to know what you think of that one. I mean, I don't like Desperate Housewives because of my own personal tastes, but I have some real issues with Rescue me and I'm real curious as to whether I'll end up being the only one having those issues, lol.

    Date: 2005-09-11 11:48 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Funny that, cause I don't see it as a soap opera at all. Or else, I wouldn't see the point either. But thank God it's not and I love love love it! I'm watching the rest of the season on CDs so I'm drowning in a sea of DH *g*

    I seriously don't know whether I'll watch Rescue Me or not. To be painfully honest, I'm not so big on all those post-9/11 storylines so I think I'll give it a miss. Well, we'll see but I read the summaries of the episodes, and I wasn't exactly interested *shrug*

    Date: 2005-09-11 11:58 am (UTC)
    crazybutsound: (most badass cop in LA)
    From: [personal profile] crazybutsound
    DH not a soap opera? Uh... ok, if you say so. But to me, a show which is only about people's lives, as in who sleeps with who, who does what, who has a skeleton in their closet, etc. That's a soap opera. It's maybe not quite as much of a soap or as bad as Santa Barbara, but it works on the exact same idea. DH reminds me of Melrose Place meets Côte Ouest. *shudders* I can see the point of such a show, I just hate it.

    And Rescue me as far as I've seen isn't about 9/11. It's about firemen, but it's got nothing to do with 9/11. That said, I don't think you'll be missing much if you don't watch it. I'm just kind of curious as to whether I really did miss the "second degré" but it's there, or if it really is as homophobic and misogynistic as I felt it was, you know?

    Date: 2005-09-11 12:09 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Nope, I don't see DH as a soap opera at all. Not to say you can't see it like that, obviously, but there's no risk of me ever seeing it either cause just - no *g*

    I didn't say it was about 9/11 but the summaries I read made it a post-9/11 oriented series... they kept mentioning it at every turn. But if you say it's not proeminent at all - well, no more than it would be under the circumstances, ie firemen in New York and all - I might give it a try. But I'll admit the more I hear about it, the less I'm interested because if it does appear homophobic and misogynistic to you... then again, we disagree on other stuff, so I might see it totally differently. Well, should I watch the show one of these days, I'll let you know *g*

    Date: 2005-09-11 12:19 pm (UTC)
    crazybutsound: (smile!)
    From: [personal profile] crazybutsound
    Eh. I guess I just get really bored when shows are only about people and not about something aside from their mere personal lives. Probably why I like crime shows better. I get more into the plotline about the crime, and what happened and how to solve it, and anything other than that is a bonus. When a show centers on just the lives of the characters and what they do with them, then to me, it's a soap and I get really really fucking bored, lol. In a way, it's why I couldn't keep up with "Lost". It turned out to be so much more about the people and who they were and how their lives had brought them where they were than about anything else and I got bored. If it was more about the island and the monsters and such, I might have gotten more into it.

    It's also why I have so much love for C.S.I. We know so little about the characters other than how they are at work and react to things... plus each episode is self-sufficient (well, sometimes it runs over but it's never been more than two eps so far) so it's as far from a soap as you can get. Another reason why I get bored with soaps is that you HAVE to watch every single ep to keep with the plotline. I want to WANT to watch every single ep because I can't get enough of the show, not feel like I have to watch them or get lost, lol. I can take short soap-like "feuilletons" but not entire series. Half a season is good, maybe a whole season, but if I know there's no end in sight... bleargh, lol. I know, I'm weird.

    Date: 2005-09-11 12:25 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I'm not into soaps either - so I know the feeling. Which is why it makes me smile that you're comparing Melrose Place and Côte Ouesst to Desperate Housewives.

    And people don't see the beauty of having different opinions and views? Man, they're missing out something *shakes head*

    Date: 2005-09-11 12:28 pm (UTC)
    crazybutsound: (smile!)
    From: [personal profile] crazybutsound
    I love debating, lol. That said, you have only said you disagree, you haven't told me why. Come on! Tel meeeee! How is DH so different from being a show about people and their lives and what happens in them? And I don't mean in the treatment. I get that it's more... sarcastic and "déjanté" and such. But it's still about people and what happens to them in their everyday life. Hence in my book, a soap, lol. Now, your turn. ;-)

    Date: 2005-09-11 12:40 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Okay so to me, the difference between DH and a soap is that in a soap, characters are all pretty much unidimensional and transparent. Everything in a soap is pretty sanitised - also, soaps usually mean that the storyline grows slowly, ie you can miss some episodes for weeks and when you're back... it's pretty much the same in spirit. People sometimes go back to the storyline weeks later and find pretty much everything as they left it. It might sound horribly complex to the non-initiates, like they're a gazillion characters all doing all kind of non-interesting things and sleeping with everything that moves, but in reality soaps are made so that the average housewive or old little lady can go back to it whenever they want and find things as they were - no offense meant to aforementioned housewives and old little ladies, btw.

    So anyway, to me soaps means unidimensional and transparent characters, sanitised world and no real "life" beyond what you see on screen :-)

    Date: 2005-09-11 12:57 pm (UTC)
    crazybutsound: (smile!)
    From: [personal profile] crazybutsound
    Ah, yes, to you a soap is only say... Santa Barbara. I do agree that it's probably initially the right definition, but I tend to extend it to shows which came afterwards and sort of don't fit anywhere anymore, shows which aren't crime or comedy or sci fi, and are solely about people's everyday lives, "normal" people and what happens in their houses, with their neighbours and friends, etc. Like Melrose Place and Bervely Hills 90210 and yes, ultimately DH. Like I said, I would never put it at the same level as a really bad soap like the ones you described, I mean, I did say it was a good soap to me, but it's still... maybe not a soap, but soap like. I mean, it's a show about some divorcee and whether she's going to sleep with that other guy who's divorced too, and about some crazy controlling bitch and how she's killing her husband's libido, and about some nympho trying to bribe some little girl into keeping her affair with the pool guy or whoever to herself, etc. It might not be a soap per se but it has soapish plotlines, lol. And that's the part I don't like.

    Date: 2005-09-10 06:24 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
    waddaya mean 'who else cares about the dubbing'?! oh okay, the 'sekritmessage' made up for it *giggles*

    Anyway: I just adore Bree and Lynette *g* - and she has the Scully dubbing? *giggles* and Lynette is married to Emmanuel Curtil?! *squee*...

    *looks for icon* dammit! I don't have a single DH icon!

    have fun at the FS2! *smootches*

    Date: 2005-09-11 11:49 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Hey I did say "and a selected few" - you can be assured you were the first I had in mind here lol

    And yeah, those little details cracked me up, really.

    DH icon is a must *nodnod*

    I sure did *g*

    Date: 2005-09-11 07:27 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
    mmm... can't find a DH icon I like *pouts*

    Profile

    castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
    Mouse

    January 2023

    S M T W T F S
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031    

    Style Credit

    Expand Cut Tags

    No cut tags
    Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 01:16 pm
    Powered by Dreamwidth Studios