castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Dean!Squee / mediocrechick)
[personal profile] castalie
Hi, flist, hi! Am back from Connotations, where I had the most amazing time! Which I talk about behind the cuts below. When I say I can't write these days? It obviously really just means I can't write fics because give me an event to write about and I'll put War and Peace to shame!

So here's my report. With pictures. Just, not as many as I actually took because many of those had con go-ers on them and I didn't feel comfortable sharing those without their permissions.

Friday

I was pretty excited so I sorta woke up early, ie much earlier than 7.00 AM, which is when I'd set up my alarm. This is what happens when I'm leaving for a con, my brain just refuses to shut up. Not that I'm complaining; the whole pre-con excitement is delicious too :-)

I left Paris at 10.00AM. Arrived in London at 11.23 AM, local time - don't you love how precise they are with their schedules sometimes, btw? I just love it.

Met with [livejournal.com profile] yami_tai at the station - cue happiness. We didn't waste time and we headed immediately to King's Cross to hop in our train for Newcastle, meaning three more hours of train for me, btw. Again, not that I'm complaining. I just love being in a train. Especially when I'm with a friend and we can talk about interesting stuff like con and fics and SPN. And about our lives, because we can talk about non-fannish stuff too. Really, we can!

Oh and it was one of those four seats placement, right? So we had two 'neighbours' - and the man sitting in front of Tai was reading this book. He finished it during the journey and believe it or not but he threw the book away! In a bin! Tai, the girl sitting in front of me and I all went like this : 0-0, I swear. Dude, who throws away book?!

Speaking of the girl sitting in front of me; she reminded me a bit of Torchwood!Gwen and she was reading The Kite Runner. And sucking her thumb, which struck me as a little bit odd because you see few non-kid people sucking their thumbs.

What? No, it doesn't have anything to do with the price of tea in China - or in our case, Connotations. I just felt like sharing pointless details, is all.

Yes, so. We arrived in Newcastle and took another train that brought us to our Tynemouth station - pretty station, too.



That's when we decided to walk to the hotel because, hey, twenty-minute walk, right? Totally feasible? Yes. Except it was windy and cold! And by the end of the little journey, I couldn't move my fingers. Note to self: next year? Bring gloves!

Also, a Lady Bobby on a bike accompanied us for five minutes; till we were on the right path. Oh! And I saw all those kids in school uniforms which was cool as, hi, French girl here, so I'm not used to that. And some of the kids went to a posh school so they had those fancy Harry Potter-like uniforms which made my day.

There, that was another pointless detail. Except not for me because I thought it was pretty cool :-)

I took a couple of pics on the way - because I love to take pictures of, well, pretty much everything when I'm abroad.


Brit houses *cooes*


And look at the background, there's the sea!

The hotel was right across the beach, as it happens, you could see it from the lounge and everything.

We made it to the hotel and ohhhhh warmness! That was the first thing that I noticed, did I mention I was freezing? We went to check-in and Tai and I heard someone coming behind us and it was [livejournal.com profile] turps33! I mean, omg! Terri! For reals! Best welcome ever. I got a Terri hug! It was pretty surreal, I'll tell you that. We've known each for around seven years now and she went from being a-girl-on-line to someone who, like Tai, I consider a 'real life friend', know what I mean? But the both of us had never met each other till that day and wow, talk about a rush!

So I gave her a hug and then, because she's nice like that, she was like 'you can give me your French kisses too' so I did - on the cheeks, I mean - and it was fantastic! To be there and having her in front of me and everything :-)

Tai and I abandoned Terri for a spell so that we took possession of our room and the welcome wasn't that good this times; it was freezing in there! Turns out there was a problem with the window. I'll say upfront that even though I really loved the part of the hotel where the actual con was held - we had a whole part of the hotel just for us, talk about awesome - the rooms themselves left a bit to be desired. Not that we spent that much time in there, admittedly but, yes. First it was freezing, then it was too hot, and we had the hardest time closing our door.

Anyway, we left our luggage there and then headed to the con.

It was around, I don't know, 4.00 PM, or around that time, so even though we'd already missed two panels we could have gone to the last one, but we got distracted.

We went to the registration desk and walked in the, I don't know, Common room? It was one of the three rooms assigned to us - this is where you could sit at tables and write and do whatever. It's also where the coffee and tea appeared all weekend long, as well as the food.

Someone, I think [livejournal.com profile] graculus but don't quote me on that, commented on my Threadless shirt because at a con there're always someone - and usually more than one 'someone' - wearing a Threadless shirt and that made me happy because Threadless rules. The End. Actually, the day after, I was queuing for food and the girl in front of me had a Threadless shirt of her own and - again, I think - [livejournal.com profile] graculus came to us and was like 'hey, we should do a Threadles convention', which, dude, we should, yes!

Anyway, we went to the Vid room to register and insta!love. I just loved that room - when we weren't in the Panel room we were in the Vid room - we sorta had 'our territory' there.

It had what I called the Magical Candy desk in one corner, where candies and chocolate and popcorn would appear all the time out of nowhere, right next to it was the Loot table where all the items you could win at the raffle were exposed:


Nice loot, eh?

And there was the Zine Library desk on the other corner, where you could pick a slash zine and read it if you wanted to:



Then there was the big screen in the middle where one tv show or another was always showing. All weekend long. And the chairs were comfy too, which is a nice thing as we did spend many hours sitting on them :-)

We were given a zine - huge one at that! - plus a couple of sheets ; our schedule and one of those quizzes they always give away at cons and make you sweat over. You wouldn't believe how tough the questions are. We also got a little orange rubber duck and this intrigues me so much. Why a duck? I remember at Wincon 2.0, a couple of people received evil rubber ducks and what's with the duck? I'm afraid I'm missing something pretty big here.

Also, instead of giving a badge already made, this time, we got to make them ourselves. We had coloured pens and scissors and those cute and funny little stickers.

So instead of going to the next panel, Terri, Tai and I sat down at a table in the common room and started on a little workshop. First, the badges. It was quite a lot of fun. Mine said 'Evil Mouse aka Wild Child Alex aka Funky Castalie'. And I put one more sticker, a 'wanted' one, for good measure.

Then we decided to do the quizz and argh, they're always so frustrating! You always end up feeling so lame and shameful because you think you're such a tv buff and then you can only answer like two questions out of twenty! So frustrating. But we did work a lot on those quizzes - I know we're supposed to work on our own but it's just not possible, ok? If you ever played those quizzes, you'd understand. So our sheet was a common sheet... Tai's, Terri's and mine. And [livejournal.com profile] davidbrider's.

Yes, because something awesome about con is how you meet new people, right? And [livejournal.com profile] davidbrider sat at our table at one point - obviously I didn't know his name by then - and asked about our answers and because we needed more of those on our little sheet we decided to share if he helped. Which he did. So when I say it was a team effort, I really do mean the 'team' part lol

We also played a wordsearch game where you had to find interesting words like 'threesome', 'porn', 'wincest', 'kink' etc... This took us some time :-)

After a while we also met [livejournal.com profile] shamus2uk, Terri's kick-ass husband. And I do mean the kick-ass part too! James? Is a little bit Bobby Singer, he's awesome!

By then it was dinner time, so we all headed to the restaurant. I think I was a little too tired to really be hungry and appreciate the food but I was in good company so I can't say I cared either way :-)

After dinner, we went back to the Vid room and some Due South was showing, twas the episode where RayK appears, if you're like me and like details. We more or less paid attention, while talking and just chilling.

Something I loved at the con is the relaxed atmosphere. People were just left to their own devices, no pressure of any kind, know what I mean? There were the panels which attracted a lot of people - for good reasons, as they were quite interesting - and if you wanted to watch some stuff, you'd go the Vid room, where you could, ok, watch stuff, but also just talk and have fun, read a zine, or just go on-line. The vast majority of people had their laptops and the sight was actually really awesome! Girls everywhere, alone or in groups, sitting on seats or on the floor, sometimes sprawled, with their laptops, checking their LJ, cruising the net.

Geeks are just the best, really \o/

By 11.00 PM I was a bit tired and was thinking of going to bed but that's when [livejournal.com profile] seiyaharris, who'd downloaded SPN 4.03 in the morning, announced now would be a good time for us to watch the episode on the big screen and HI! There was no way I felt tired after that! So, of course, I stayed with Terri, Tai and James.

Reaction after the episode was over?

Room: *is completely silent*


Man, no-one was talking! Lol Pretty funny reaction, when you think of it - everyone was still in silent-awe mode. That third season is so incredibly awesome! It's sorta exceeding all my expectations right now. I mean, it started with 4x01 and it feels like it's not going to stop anytime soon. That is, not before next week as 4x04 should be a hell of a ride, too.

We went back to our room after that. As a bedtime story to lull us to sleep, Tai and I read and commented the kink list on the zine. Fun times!

Saturday

Woke around 7.00 AM to the sound of seagulls, feeling wonderfully rested and ready to tackle a whole day of con. Tai and I lazed around in the room a little - we like to take our time - and then we headed to the breakfast room. We're usually some of the last going there - I noticed that the last time too. James and Terri were in the lounge because they're the kind of persons who don't take forever to get up and shower and take their breakfast.

We met them again in the Vid room before we girls left James to his own devices; we and went to the 10.30 AM Panel: Bastard Alien Assbaby Lovechild of the Badfic Panel managed by - I'm hoping I'm not mixing up names - [livejournal.com profile] moonlettuce. I just couldn't imagine Terri missing that panel, dude! And it was a lot of fun - albeit a bit traumatising sometimes; badfics can be scary!

Always a good thing; none of my own stories were used as an example. Talk about a relief :-p Because, as Claire said, if it turned out someone in the room had written one of those stories? They would have been mercilessly mocked. We didn't want that, did we?

After the panel we had coffee and tea and the three of us went back to the Vid room - I did mention we loved that room, right? - where we met with [livejournal.com profile] krazykipper who'd arrived in the morning. It was lovely seeing her again.

I know I'm focusing on just our little group here but to put things in context, you have to imagine a gazillion people always coming and going around us, standing in groups, sitting in groups, walking around, cruising LJ, knitting, drawing, writing, laughing, sometimes singing, too, all kinds of -inging. It was never dull or quiet or silent. It's incredibly lively and I love the energy that is in the air.

Also, you can find some pretty interesting stuff like this Comic Strip or the Tentacles Tales Corner. [Disclaimers: I'm sharing those because I assume they're up for public consumption but in case they're not - I mean, you never really know? - I'll just delete them, no problem.]

Or you can come upon that kind of scene :



From a different and closer angle:



Slash convention, remember?

Okay so, anyway, back to what we did after the panel : we retreated to 'our' corner of the Vid room to drink our tea/coffee/coffee with milk and chatted some more before heading to the third panel of the day: RPS/RPF what is that about? by [livejournal.com profile] airinshaw. Obviously we couldn't miss a RPS panel, right? Right.

Another hit. Those panels are always so much fun; you laugh your ass off because some of the things those girls - and guy, okay, let's not forget David - come up with is always so hilarious, but there're also some very interesting points thrown in the midst and you sometimes go 'hey, I hadn't thought of that!'

The panel ended and it was lunch time - I just love how very HP-like the food was during the weekend. Food would appear out of nowhere all the time! Sandwiches! Crisps! Chicken! Salad! Quiches! Ohh, cakes!

We were in the Vid room again to eat and discuss our schedule in the afternoon because, see, we had a busy time ahead of us. Terri and Tai had decided to pimp me into Merlin so the plan was to watch the first two episodes via James' laptop on the big screen in the afternoon. Go to the 4.00 PM panel. Chill around. Then watch the new Merlin live at 6.00 PM, before going to dinner and then attend the Vid show at 8.00 PM.

Never let it be said that we're lazy bums!

If I remember correctly, during our little eating-and-chatting-up session, The Covenant was on. We were told that Teh Pretty makes up for Teh Bad and I'm not disagreeing but wow was that a lot of badness in just one film! And how long did those fight scenes last? They just never stopped!

And, actually, it felt like the Never-ending Film because when it was over, [livejournal.com profile] seiyaharris popped out of nowhere and put it back on again... except she chose the scenes this time and we got to see Teh Gay that goes with Teh Pretty. And it was pretty slashy, yes, no-one can deny that.

Anyway, after that, James Took Control of Things and we started watching Merlin - thank you BBC iPlayer.

We watched the two episodes in a row and I completely fell for the show, hook line and sinker. I think it might belong to the guilty pleasure category but those are delicious too! Also, watching any kind of show with slashers always makes thing better. Hail to slashers and Arthur/Merlin! ;-)

When it was over, we still had time before the 4.00 PM panel start so Tai and I tried The Lair - as bad as Dante's Cove. Or worse, maybe, I'm not sure. All I know is that it was bad. Really bad. Not even The Covenant came close to its badness.

Though I have to say Tai seemed pretty into it and was theorising about what came next and what she thought was going to happen to the characters and that cracked me up.

I'm sure she made a huge sacrifice when we left for the next panel: the fannish tipping point : what takes something from being 'that thing I watch/read' through to obsession (and maybe back again) by [livejournal.com profile] graculus. Which was right up in my alley.

We got a diagram! I love diagrams. And we had a Fandom hierarchy! And lists! I love those too. It was just a really good panel - talking about obsession always please me, anyway :-)

After that, we went back to the, wait for it, vid room and chatted and chilled some more. I think by then [livejournal.com profile] davidbrider had joined us again. No, I know he did because when we left to our room to watch Merlin live, he was with us.

So off we went - meaning [livejournal.com profile] yami_tai, [livejournal.com profile] turps33, [livejournal.com profile] shamus2uk, [livejournal.com profile] krazykipper, [livejournal.com profile] davidbrider and me - to our room for some new Merlin.

Again, there's nothing better than watching a show with fellow slashers. We're always on the same page and it's such a load of fun! I fell for it a little bit more even. Then the trailer for next week happened and as Kip quite aptly said 'this is going to be the best episode ever! I can't wait *bounces*

Then dinner came and Kip had to go back to [livejournal.com profile] decor_noctis' place, so she abandoned us *sad face* The five of us found a table with , IIRC, [livejournal.com profile] almell, and kept the good convo going.

After dinner a Vid show was held and I'll always be grateful to [livejournal.com profile] theoret for teaching Tai and me the beauty of vids at Wincon 2.0, because we were able to really appreciate what we were seeing. I had a lot of fun. I wrote down the titles of some vids which I have to have on my HD because some were just too awesome for words! Among those was a XF/SPN Krycek/Dean vid with one of those clever cut made in such a way you can 'watch' the guys fucking and omg, so hot!

We also went through a very painful moment when someone decided to share William Shatner's The Rocket Man 'speech' and it was cringe worthy! I didn't know whether to die of embarrassment for him or just die laughing. That was epic, no other words for it.

Oh and there was this Tremours Tyler/El Blanco vid and after watching it, I finally understood why Tremours was at the very, very, very bottom of the lowest low in the fandom hierarchy thing. Wow! It did put things in perspective, though, cause after that, I didn't think The Lair was that bad, you know? lol

Anyway, here ended our Saturday.

Sunday

Sunday came and I didn't feel as rested as the day before. It took Tai and me longer to get ready and when we arrived in the breakfast room there were just two ladies left.

The day before I wanted to attend the 'Oh John Ringo, no! John Ringo, venom!cock and the Twilight phenomenon' panel because I wanted to know about this Twilight business but it was just too early for us, I'm afraid - yes, 9.30 AM can be considered 'too early' in some particular cases, ush. We lazed around in the common room till the 'Secret life as a slasher' panel by [livejournal.com profile] pomkeygeekange, though like Tai said 'secret? My life as a slasher isn't secret at all'. Twas another interesting panel.

Then coffee and tea time. Still in the Vid room. Someone had put The Middleman and we started watching and before you know it, we'd watched three episodes in a row and [livejournal.com profile] fides had burnt the whole thing on a DVD for Tai.

Why it's so funny is because I tried to get into The Middleman not once but twice. Each time I thought that, yes, I did enjoy the characters, I liked the premise but there was something missing, that little spark that makes me go 'hee I love that show!' Well, whatever it is that was missing was found in the Vid room because I watched the episodes and when it was over I felt like I needed more. So I'll download the whole season today. Again.

At a moment there was a bit of a commotion when James - who's been outside for a little while - came back to the room and talked about Red Arrows in the sky. Tai got all excited, then a bunch of people got excited too and they went outside. I had no idea what those 'red arrows' were but I followed because I didn't want to miss whatever it was I could be missing if I stayed inside.

Turns out the Red Arrows are the Royal Air Force Aerobatic Team and I'm certainly glad I followed everyone because it was a very nice show we got to see.





I wish I'd been able to take the pic of that moment when the planes flew just above our heads because it was quite impressive.

I also took advantage of our being outside - see, we did leave the hotel once \o/ - to take some pics of the beach. All weekend long surfers were in the water. Those guys are dedicated because even though Sunday was a beautifully sunny day where we were, it was still cold and I can only imagine how freezing the water was.





Nice view, isn't it?

We came back in after that, chilled some more in the Vid room, got to talk about kinks with [livejournal.com profile] davidbrider, handed in our quizz answers - even though we had shame and thought we wouldn't win anything - were offered chocolate homemade cookies by SadlyIdon't KnowHerName!Girl, which were delicious and watched some more of TMM.

Things flew by after that as Tai and I had to leave at 2.15 PM to catch our train that would bring us back to London. I had to take my Eurostar after that.

I gave some more recomendation to Terri and [livejournal.com profile] seiyaharris about the things I did.not.want from the Loot table, should I win something at the raffle, meaning the High School Musical stuff, btw, but Becca assured me I wouldn't get them, so it was all fine ;-)

James, being the sweetheart that he is, drove us to the station and off we went, leaving him and Terri and Connotations behind us, a very sad state of affair!

Then it was Tai I had to leave behind - sad things come pair don't they? - and went to catch the Eurostar and that's when I had a lovely surprise. Because of the incident/accident in the channel they're still having problems with train and stuff so they had to cancel some trains and give us new seats. Turns out I got a new seat in a new coach... in first class! Which, wow, is certainly different from second class! First, the seats are much comfier and so much roomier, they give you drinks and food! Just like in a plane. I got to drink apple juice and I was able to have dinner.

Awesome way to end my weekend, believe you me :-)

Though speaking of surprises, turns out Tai and I won something at the raffle. And, even more surprising, we actually won the quizz! And we weren't even there for our Moment of Glory, how unfair!

The quizz prize was - I thought it was nicely ironical seeing how much we'd mocked it - a box set of Dante's Cove, which, jokes aside, is a lovely gift to give! Since we'd cheated done the quizz as a team and there was only once price, Terri decided to let David get aforementioned prize. To which, I say, good move, sis ;-)

In conclusion and to make it short - yes, I can do that, it's just not my preferred method, is all - I: had a fantastic weekend, spent time with my friends which is always the best thing ever, went to great panels and had mucho fun there, got pimped into Merlin, dragged back into The Middleman, flailed over SPN, ate too much candy, drank too much coffee-milk, and just fell in love with cons a little more. Like my love for Dean, even when I think I can't love cons more, I actually do ♥ ♥ ♥

Date: 2008-10-06 12:15 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] janedavitt.livejournal.com
I come from the other Newcastle (Newcastle under Lyme) and we have no sea, sadly :-)

Awesome report and pictures and I'm so glad you had fun! ::hugs::

Date: 2008-10-08 11:15 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Having no sea is a bit sad but I sympathise because we don't exactly have the sea in Ile-de-France either.

Hey, thanks! I'm always surprised when people who didn't go to the con read my report - even though I'll read con reports I didn't attend myself so I don't see why I'm surprised, but that's another story - and I'm delighted you didn't die of boredom while doing so lol

Date: 2008-10-06 12:27 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] decor-noctis.livejournal.com
Oh man, it sounds so awesome! Krazy showed me some of the loot she brought back and told me tales of epicness. I'll have to go to next year's, there's really no excuse when I live so close. Speaking of, isn't Tynemouth gorgeous? I love going to the beach. Though you're right, it is incredibly windy down there. It's awesome :D

Glad you had such a good time ♥!

Date: 2008-10-08 11:19 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
It was completely awesome, Jamie, you totally need to come next year! Imagine the fun you'd have - and, hey, it would mean one more guy with us, imagine that too :-p This year, I think we had three guys at the con.

And I agree, Tynemouth is gorgeous. I really loved what I saw of the city and wished I had more time to walk around it. Oh, well, next time :-)

Thanks!

Date: 2008-10-06 01:12 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] carodee.livejournal.com
You give good con report! I had fun just reading it. :-)

Date: 2008-10-08 11:20 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Hey thanks! Always nice to know I don't kill people with boredom, you know? :-)

Date: 2008-10-06 01:45 pm (UTC)
greedy_dancer: (Default)
From: [personal profile] greedy_dancer
Sounds like an awesome time! Not that I was doubting it. I can't tell you how I envied you watching 4x03 with fans ... I watched it with the bf (he asked!) and squeed and clapped and gasped while he looked at me like I'd grown wings or something (heh). Why can't he be a fan like everybody else?? lol

anyway, nice pictures. and the beach, wow! that blue sky is ... surprising, for England ;)

Date: 2008-10-08 11:23 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
I always have the most amazing time at those cons, I'm so smitten with them :-)

Watching SPN with a bunch of fangirls is quite the experience.

And I'm not laughing but I just can imagine the bf's face when you were busy flailing over the episode lol

Thanks! And tell me about it! I was like 'wow, sun! In England!' Un mythe s'écroule :-p

Date: 2008-10-06 02:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] admiralandrea.livejournal.com
The Red Arrows are awesome! They often appear at big UK events - they did a flyby during the post-Beijing Olympic handover party in London. We saw them from our window recently too, as they did a flyby in Weston super Mare.

Glad you had a good time. Maybe one day I'll get to a con again, when I no longer have to study and stuff.

Date: 2008-10-08 11:24 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
They really are, I'm so glad I had the opportunity to seem them!

I'd love for you to go to a con again; especially if it means I'll get to see you one more time :-)

Date: 2008-10-06 03:15 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] yami-tai.livejournal.com
Awesome review of the weekend! And I can't believe we won raffle prizes and the quiz O.o!

P.S. I'm so happy that you like Merlin too. I still need an icon...

Date: 2008-10-08 11:26 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Thank you, ma belle! And I'm still laughing my ass off at the thought of us winning the quiz lol

PS: Well, thank you for being a good pimp :-)

Date: 2008-10-06 03:40 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] simonesa.livejournal.com
Wow! Awesome pics. Great report. *so jealous*

Date: 2008-10-08 11:26 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Thanks! *preens*

Date: 2008-10-06 04:21 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] nicelyobsessed.livejournal.com
Alors ça c'était du report!

Sérieux ça avait l'air super, ça doit être trop trippant de rencontrer des gens que tu connais depuis si longtemps.

J'ai bien rigolé en voyant les deux poupées, j'ai fais ça y a pas longtemps avec mes poupées du Joker et du Doctor. Mon Joker est un peu frustré, faudrait vraiment que je lui achète son Batsy, pour Noël sûrement, if he's a good boy^^

Tu sais que j'ai failli t'envoyer un texto pour te dire que j'ai adoré le dernier SPN, mais je me suis dis que tu n'aurais peut-être pas l'occasion de le voir avant que tu reviennes en France. En tout cas, ça me rappelle l'épisode qu'on avait pu voir lors de la première convention Asylum. C'est trop trippant de matter des épisodes avec des slasheuses *loves*

Les photos que tu as prises sont très chouette, c'est un joli petit coin (j'adore la mer).

Date: 2008-10-08 11:32 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Quand je commence à écrire sur ce genre de sujet, je ne m'arrête plus lol

C'était vraiment génial, j'ai adoré. Faut que je me trouve une autre conv' là, parce que ça va faire long jusqu'à octobre prochain sinon !

Lol Pauvre Joker de Cookie, tiens !

Bah alors figure toi que j'ai bloqué mon portable quand j'étais là-bas ! On regardait Merlin et j'ai voulu allumer mon portable et j'étais absolument pas concentrée sur ce que je faisais, je me suis gourée trois fois en mettant mon code PIN. Bam ! Portable bloqué. Donc j'aurais pas eu ton texto avant mon retour en France, de toute façon :-)

Merci bien. Et Tynemouth est vraiment trop joli, ça et la mer, c'est un coin que j'ai adoré. Même si j'ai pas franchement visité lol Une prochaine fois.
Edited Date: 2008-10-08 11:33 am (UTC)

Date: 2008-10-06 06:05 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] shamus2kuk.livejournal.com
Hi Mouse so happy to have met you. I loved that you got an upgrade how good was that especially getting 1st class and having food. Can't wait till we all get together again. xxx

Date: 2008-10-08 11:34 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
It was fantastic meeting you, James, so I know the feeling :-)

Yes, the upgrade was such a lovely surprise! Though I'm afraid I got hooked on first class now lol

Date: 2008-10-06 06:16 pm (UTC)
enigel: Sam and Dean and slashy innuendo (SPN S/D boys interrupted (me))
From: [personal profile] enigel
Awesome report, pretty pics, and I'm glad you got to see SPN 4x03 on the big screen, *with* fellow fans! I'm still expecting a separate review from you. ;) And congrats for winning!

Date: 2008-10-08 11:37 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Thanks and thanks :-)

Watching SPN - or any kind of shows - with other fans is always so good! Beats being your own, all right!

Don't know if I'll do a separate review but if you want to discuss it with me, I'm game!

I might not be able to do meta though because I usually only can think of very important moments like Skinner, granddaddy YED sniffing Dean and then my mind goes blank.

Though I might make an effort because, yes, the episode certainly deserves some serious convo! Mind you, I can sum up the whole thing with two words :

Oh, Dean!


Very handy two-words where this shows is concerned, imho!

I still can't believe we won! lol Lovely surprise, that :-)

Date: 2008-10-06 06:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rosengirl.livejournal.com
WOW that type of con does seem rather awesome indeed !
Your report makes me want to try one out next time.

And I agree, Merlin 104 looks, shall we say, gayer if possible interesting XD

Date: 2008-10-08 11:39 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
I'd be really happy if I managed to entice you enough that you're thinking of maybe trying one next time! You'd have an amazing time, I just know it!

And I agree, Merlin 104 looks, shall we say, gayer if possible interesting XD

It does, doesn't it? *bounces*

Date: 2008-10-06 06:52 pm (UTC)
ext_1650: (love)
From: [identity profile] turps33.livejournal.com
I am so in awe of your report!

It makes me miss the con and you guys though.

<333333

Date: 2008-10-08 11:39 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Thanks lol I guess I was inspired :-)

Reading those reports always make me nostalgic too! *misses you*

Date: 2008-10-06 08:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] theoret.livejournal.com
:D I'm glad you had such a great time! It sounds awesome. You're kind of tempting me to come along to connotations next year. *g*

Date: 2008-10-08 11:40 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Thanks! And omg you should come along next year, yes, please! Plus, imagine the fun you'd have during the vid show!

Date: 2008-10-08 04:38 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] theoret.livejournal.com
From the sounds of it I'd be having fun all weekend long! *g* Obviously I'll have to wait and see how I'm doing money-wise this time next year, but spending a weekend pimping people into stuff and being pimped into stuff and watching vids and discussing slash? Yes please! *g*

Date: 2008-10-08 09:43 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
From the sounds of it I'd be having fun all weekend long!

You most certainly would!

Did you know there's an actual Pimp panel? We missed it because it was on Sunday and we'd already left but, yes, there's a moment during the con when people actually actively pimp their beloved shows. Not that the pimping isn't done naturally otherwise but I love the idea of a Special Pimping Moment :-)

Yes please!

Here's to hoping we'll both go next year, then!

Date: 2008-10-08 11:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] theoret.livejournal.com
I didn't! Thats so cool! Although it might be inconvenient to be pimped into too much at once. Ha! I'd probably end up ODing on television in an attempt to catch up on all the shows I'd been introduced to. xD

Hopefully! *g*

Date: 2008-10-09 07:54 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
It is really cool. And something we're all familiar with, too!

I'd probably end up ODing on television in an attempt to catch up on all the shows I'd been introduced to.

Lol That is one of the risks, yes :-)

Date: 2008-10-06 08:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sockich.livejournal.com
Reaction after the episode was over?

Room: *is completely silent*


Ahahaha, AWESOME! God, I adore SPN this season. Seriously, I'm just overwhelmed with love and this ep was just...yeah. Not enough hearts in the world.

The con sounds awesome, I'm glad you had a good time. :D

Date: 2008-10-06 08:28 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sockich.livejournal.com
Also, yay for Merlin! And Arthur/Merlin. *nods*

Date: 2008-10-08 11:48 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
You're into it too? Great! I can't wait for this week's episode *bounces*

Date: 2008-10-08 11:47 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Ahahaha, AWESOME!

Seriously, it was such an impressive reaction to the post! I think we should write a letter to Kripke telling him 4x03 managed to make a room full of fangirls go completely silent!

SPN rocks so much this season, wow!

Thanks :-)

Date: 2008-10-06 09:18 pm (UTC)
turlough: castle on mountain top in winter, Burg Hohenzollern (gonna give you a smirk)
From: [personal profile] turlough
Awesome con report!! It really sounds like a most excellent convention, I'm more envious of you than ever :-)

And you got to see an airplane show, yay! (What a gloriously sunny Sunday!)

PS "badfics can be scary" - what do you mean "can be"? Badfic is ALWAYS scary ;-)

Date: 2008-10-08 11:49 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
It is a wonderful convention, I most certainly agree :-) And I wish you could come too!

PS: Eeep yes but no 'cause sometimes they're just 'funny', know what I mean? lol And sometimes, they're just plain 'scary'.

Date: 2008-10-08 01:34 pm (UTC)
turlough: castle on mountain top in winter, Burg Hohenzollern (made from the sharpest things)
From: [personal profile] turlough
Are you coming to Camp Sparkle in May? We're going to be quite a little bandom contigent there I think.

Terri and other have tried to show me the fascination of badfic but I just can't see it. To me it's only painful and/or scary.

Date: 2008-10-08 09:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Thing is, Camp Sparkle is just way too popslash oriented and I'm just not into that fandom at all. I only know popslash stuff because how could I not, being friend with Terri, right? :-)

I mean, there'd be the bandom contingent, but what about the rest? It would be like being in a room where people talk a different language, somehow, if it makes sense? So I don't think I'll go.

Date: 2008-10-09 04:32 pm (UTC)
turlough: castle on mountain top in winter, Burg Hohenzollern (frank iero is remarkably pretty)
From: [personal profile] turlough
I'm sure being friends with Terri would totally make you absorb a certain amount of popslash even if you hated it :-)

I totally understand how you're thinking. It would've been fun getting to meet you but there will be other times in the future, I'm sure of it.

Date: 2008-10-09 08:36 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Knowledge by osmosis, it's just not a word, is it? lol

I'm sure we'll find other opportunities to meet, yes :-)

Or we just should create our very own Bandom con!

Profile

castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
Mouse

January 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 05:26 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios