castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Ben/Michael / eelrak)
[personal profile] castalie
Finally watched 412 *beaming* Queer Eyes doesn't like me on Mondays and Thursdays and Fridays and Saturdays and Sundays and-- but I'm usually back in its good grace on Tuesday mornings or eventually Wednesday mornings so no new tantrum today - go figure *shrug*

Let's hope next week won't see me cry for several days in a row because I can't get 413. Hmm what? Me obsessed with 413? Hell yes, didn't you notice?

So what I thought of this episode. Well I really liked it - and all thanks to Hunter because his storyline really rocked. It's funny how the boy grew on me. I didn't really have any particular interest in him, apart from the fact that he gave a nice plot line for my favourite couple, aka Ben/Michael, and also that his back story just rocked because angst-angst-angst. But I didn't really have anything to say about the character in particular - but as S3 and S4 went, he really grew on me, yes *g*

Believe it or not, but I actually like/liked Hunter/Callie - I don't know if things are really over now, I mean, she sorta broke up with Hunter but then again, it was a lot to take for a sixteen year-old girl, so she may come back? I have no idea actually. Anyway, I liked it when it lasted, so there *g*

Her reaction when Hunter told her about his status as HIV positive impressed me - and I thought it was ironical that she didn't freak out at all and encouraged Hunter to make love to her, whereas Michael had backed down that first night with Ben - that being said, you don't have the same insight when you're 16 than when you're 30, so Michael was really aware of all the implications of being HIV+ and being with someone who's HIV+ and I can see why he got scared. And he wasn't the only one, everyone was encouraging him to stop dating Ben - which incidentally is exactly what Callie's parents did btw. They reacted exactly like Debbie did, or Ted for that matter.

So yeah back to Callie, it was really nice seeing her not rejecting Hunter for being HIV+ but my enthusiasm was a bit deterred after her rejection in the end, granted. It's also a bit ironical to note that she didn't reject him for something that would have had an influence on their future --if future together they had, I mean-- but for something that totally belonged to the past. But let's give the girl a break, she just learnt that her boyfriend carried the virus and that he'd gotten it while fucking and being fucked by men for money - not really your average high school love story, is it? It's a lot to take. And back to her parents now, yeah, they reacted exactly like Debbie or pretty much everyone else around Michael did - so we can't really say anything against them. Or yes we can, but let's not forget that our beloved gang did the same thing. And Michael was an adult, not a sixteen year old kid, we can't fault parents for being dead afraid of something like that. I'm not saying it's right btw, like I said, I love Hunter now and it broke my heart to see him doubt himself at the end of the episode and doubt that he'll found someone who will love him - and things like that shouldn't matter, but from their POV, they were just trying to protect their daughter.

Speaking of Ben and Michael - they were so fucking perfect with Hunter *happy sigh* I love this pairing so much, man! They really make good parents, don't they? And again, I really love the Gay or *straight*, we still love you bit - it's just so against the We'll love you even if you're gaymainstream, know what I mean? Here it's the opposite. Brilliant *g*

I felt really disappointed for Ben and Michael btw. Their foray into the 'straight' world started so good, with the very positive teacher-parents thing first and then with their meeting with Callie's parents. It was so nice, and I was like Hey look at that, a straight couple that a) isn't disgusted by them and b) seems interested in Ben and Michael, not because they're gay but because they're their the parents of their daughter's boyfriend. It was so refreshing - I swear I was as excited as Michael about their get-together! lol Too bad it had to end like this though *sigh*

Oh, since I mentioned the teacher-parents meeting. Know what? I actually liked how Michael introduced himself. Okay so he never never introduced himself that way, and never referred to himself like this either, not that I remember of at least - but I thought it was cute. Also, I think it was just a way of legitimating his role as a parent or something in that regard, like okay, Callie's parents (can you tell I don't remember their last names?) introductions included their last names, they offered a sort of unity, they're a couple, a family - when Michael added Bruckner to his own name, I took it as a way to join the club so to speak, he was Ben's partner and just showed it - and the little pause just before he added Ben's last name made me think it really was just a spur of the moment kinda thing, as in they did it, I'm going to do it too.

I also liked that he was the one to do it and not the other way around btw, but that's a me thing lol Or did they try to introduce the next episode? Oh we'll see anyway... but to make a long story short --it always makes me laugh when I say stuff like that because I couldn't make a long story *short* even if my life depended on it!-- I actually enjoyed the whole Michael Novotny-Bruckner thing - I think it was really endearing of him, and just a Michael thing to do. I also know I'm apparently the only one, but I never had a problem with being the only one to like something, so I'll survive *g*

Now Brian... Brian is being all noble these days, isn't he? I suppose getting cancer will do that to a person. But hey, his best friend's uncle died of AIDS and his best friend's lover is positive too, so it's not as if it wasn't already part of his life and it may not be such a stretch of the imagination to see him get involved that way. And Brian you're such a stubborn bastard *shakes head* But damn, I still love you - well, I guess I love you because you're such a stubborn bastard? lol And yeah, you have one huge heart, but I won't tell anyone. And anyway, I don't think anything will beat what he did at the end of S3 to sack Stockwell's campaign. That was sacrifice at its best.

And Justin or Brian/Justin? Well I'm afraid I sometimes forget about Justin - and even B/J sometimes seem a bit... well I don't know, I mean, their sex scenes are still fucking hot, sure, you won't hear any complaint coming from me but sometimes I just feel there's something missing. Or I think it's this season in particular because I clearly remember liking B/J so it has to be this season, right?

Emmett? How I love this guy! And I was so happy to see him stand up to Drew. I mean, it wasn't going anywhere, or it was leading to deceit and lies and more heartaches for him, and I'm happy he broke up with Drew. I don't know what Drew is going to do, how he's going to react, but at least Em did what he had to do to protect himself and get his self-respect back in the process - being someone's dirty little secret isn't healthy. I see Drew's point, but it was just too unfair to Em *pets him* Em really is one hell of a strong character, isn't he? It always reminds me of Michael's description of him in the first episode Emmett can be a bit campy - okay a lot campy, but you'll have to admit it takes guts to be a queen in a world full of commoners or you know, something like that *g* So I know Em's heart is broken right now, and I can only hope things will get better - with Drew or Ted, I don't know, but I just want him to find someone who will deserve him, dammit! And speaking of Ted, was he jealous or something? Or was he just being Ted? lol

OMG I almost forgot about Mel and Lindsay! Know what? Everyone treated Melanie as they would Brian - ie assume he's the one who did wrong and he's the one who should try to fix whatever the hell he messed up with. I thought it was pretty ironical --yeah, I like Irony, can you tell? lol. It was so fucking unfair seeing everyone around her tell her to shut up, to chew up, to just go with the flow - or how she was the one put on the spot. Poor Mel. She sure didn't deserve that kind of treatment, did she? I think what took the cake was the doctor's little you're so lucky to have such a dedicated partner. I have to recommend Melanie for her self-control, I would have strangled someone a long time ago!

That's all for 412 *cough* And in case some of you would like to ask me whether I could write a longer review, well better think again before doing so, because I can *always* detail something better, and my inner story teller could take your question as a challenge - and trust me, you don't want that *makes shushing motions*

I re-read In the Dark --which is the for-now title for the ficlet-- and I still like what I wrote, didn't change a thing after all *is happy* I'll send it to my betas today I guess - huh [livejournal.com profile] yami_tai and [livejournal.com profile] starwatcher307? I'm sorta thinking of you too btw. Though as usual, if you can't/won't do it - I won't take offense *g* And you know I do mean it, right?

Finally - hey guys, did you watch the lowdown for SG/SG:Atlantis last night? Well, you'd better and I'd better see some neat spoilers once I'll check my flist, because I'm really curious *g* And wow, is it S8 Premiere D-3 already? *bouncing* And huge thanks to [livejournal.com profile] lerefuge, she knows why *hugs*

Beta-reading

Date: 2004-07-06 05:51 am (UTC)
starwatcher: Western windmill, clouds in background, trees around base. (Default)
From: [personal profile] starwatcher
Hi, Mouse.

Right now, I'm snowed under with (a) helping my best friend finish costumes before Friday. (She's directing our community theatre production of Romeo and Juliette, and opening night is in 4 days.) And (b) getting ready to leave the house to join a three-week driving trip that will culminate at Moonridge. This includes finishing making script-copies, getting in a load or two of hay, laundry and packing.

In other words, if you can wait, I'll have time to beta on Sunday and Monday, but probably not before then. Sorry. :( I didn't expect to spend so much time on this costuming gig, but my friend is post-polio. Her spirit is strong, but her body fails her; she *really* needs my help. (Of course, I'd help anyway, because she *is* my friend, but you see it's not something I can take a day off from.)

Re: Beta-reading

Date: 2004-07-06 07:22 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Hi Linda *g*

That's why I always precise that really, I don't mind if the beta isn't possible because we sometimes just don't have the time. And don't apologise, girl, you have other priorities - my story will wait *g*

I can wait til then, no problem. The thing is, I usually post the story at my LJ first, and one beta is enough for that - I like to have different betas when I decide to send my baby to archives and the like, which is why I can wait because I'm in no hurry - so, see, everything is cool with me *g*

Thanks for taking the time to do it even though you have other things to do, important things at that *g*

Date: 2004-07-06 10:24 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] yami-tai.livejournal.com
Though as usual, if you can't/won't do it

Won't do it? You are kidding, right?! I will take a look at it right after dinner ^_^! I'll have a look at the banner too...

Date: 2004-07-06 11:52 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
You never know *g* I don't want to assume you'll do all my betas just because a) we're you know, mates and b) you did the previous ones *g*

So I'm being cautious, and like that you don't feel any obligation to beta my work if you don't want to *g*

Date: 2004-07-06 08:52 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lornelover.livejournal.com
Heh. I'm watching The Lowdown again right now, and I keep wanting to just make a whole transcript of it. It's just so damn funny. Unless you know of somewhere else where it's already been done. Dude. RDA and Peter DeLuise are, once again, comic GODS. *loves*

Date: 2004-07-07 01:57 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Oh a transcript of it would be so cool! And I don't know if it's already been done, so hey go for it! *g* Think of all those Gaters who're lowdown or S8 challenged lol

Profile

castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
Mouse

January 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 07:47 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios