castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
[personal profile] castalie
DUDE! I was right, I was right! Okay so I watched Lost, right? US and French version. And I was impatient about two things a) their voices and b) Danielle's nationality. How they were going to deal with her being a fake French and all. I mean, Shannon translating French into French... obviously couldn't work so they had to find something else. And when we were waiting for the dubbed version, I joked that they would turn the French into German... I was joking around, you know? Except not so much because I wound up being right - that's what they did lol So now Shannon translated the brand new German message into French and we learnt that she spent a year in Berlin. Oh man, this is just too funny for words lol Except of course what are they going to do with the written French, but then, they'll just have Sayid asking for Shannon's help differently, I suppose. Anyway, we'll see - one obstacle down, another to go. Seriously that was cool *g*

Their voices now.. I quite like them. Babycakes? They did keep Merry's voice. Sawyer is dubbed by the same guy who dubs Julian McMahon. I'm having some trouble with Jack's but I think I'll get used to it - apparently it's the same guy dubbing Michael Weatherly and I liked Logan's voice, so I don't know... I'm having some problem with Kate's too but maybe it's more Kate's fault *cough* And of course, we still have the original voices of Jin and Sun's...

Also I was waiting for the vouvoiement v tutoiement issue because god knows it sometimes drives me crazy [Jack and Daniel still saying 'vous' to each other after so many years and after everything they went through? ARGH! But that's neither here nor there *cough*] but they dealt with it well enough that I didn't want to kill anybody *g* So some characters start with 'vous' and turn to 'tu' fairly quickly: Jack and Kate, Charlie and Kate, Charlie and Jack, some start with 'tu' immediately: Sayid and Charlie, Claire and Charlie, and some still say 'vous' at the third episode like Sawyer and Jack etc... the 'tu' thing doesn't come easily for everyone and they don't know each other after all. Plus, someone like Sawyer... doesn't exactly encourage you to be friendly. But anyway, that was cool, mehappy.

Which brings me - don't ask - to the insult thing... You know, seeing a series in French is just so relaxing. It just sounds so familiar, for er obvious reasons lol And I'm always curious to see who will say what - who will use slang the most etc... and I also always wait to see if the characters are going to cuss - and they did okay. So. Wanna learn some French insults? Not the worst, btw, but nice enough - in a unpolite kind of way, obviously.

- Connard.
- Va te faire voir, pauvre mec! [Sayid to Sawyer]
- Tu vas fermer ta gueule! [Sayid to Sawyer or vice versa, I already don't remember]
- Toi la grosse, ferme ta gueule! [Sawyer to Hurley, which really, wasn't just rude but fucking mean]
- Le fumeur de clope est un vrai con [Hurley re: Sawyer]

And specially for Babycakes, the translations of some lines I was waiting for and you might be curious about:

Remember Charlie's "terrific" in 1x01, the first time they hear the Freaky Noise Coming From The Jungle? It's "mortel" in French which is just cool because it's both slang and quite accurate too as far as literal translation goes *eg* Also "Sayid, I'm on it, Sayid" turned into "Sayid, je m'en occupe Sayid" which has a nice rhythm to it as well. Oh and Hurley's "dude" is either "mon pote" or "vieux" so far, which yeah works... Finally the polar bear thing which didn't offer any surprise, of course, but made me laugh because "C'est un ours polaire" just sounds awesome, in whatever language *g*

I'm falling in love all over again *happy sigh* And my mom's first impression after catching some glimpses of the episodes [she couldn't watch so she taped them - which made me so proud of her btw]: "Ca a vraiment l'air passionnant." My mom is apparently hooked on what she saw already \o/

Lost in French!

Date: 2005-06-25 09:47 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
LOL! German! well at least it's not Italian - this would have been too cliche...

re: the dubbings: yeah, I don't think anyone would do it for Kate - unless they used Emmanuel Curtil, but that might be weird *giggles*

how about Hurley's dubbing?

I'm glad they dealt with the tu/vous well!

"mortel" - brilliant! (how did you know I was a translation freak?!)

YOUR MOM IS THE BEST!

Re: Lost in French!

Date: 2005-06-26 10:07 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Yeap, German lol

I think even Emmnuel Curtil, dubbing god that he is would have had some problem pulling that off lol

I'm not sure about Hurley, actually. I need to hear this voice a little more, maybe. But Locke's voice? Is actually... Derek Rayne's! *cringe* They must really have hated that character to give him that voice, don't you think? *feels sorry for Locke*

How did I know you were a translation freak? Intuition féminine? lol

Re: Lost in French!

Date: 2005-06-26 09:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
hey! Emmanuel Curtil can do anything *worships*

*shocked* now I really feel sorry for Locke! (well at least it gave us a chance to mention Derek Raynes again *shivers*)

yeah, you must have a freakishly strong intuition to know that *giggles*

Re: Lost in French!

Date: 2005-06-26 09:43 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
I feel ashamed for I spoke ill of Emmanuel Curtil. Yes, he can do anything *worships with you*

No seriously, poor Locke! He didn't deserve that. I mean... no, no one deserves that!

I'm like, impressing myself re:my intuition, man!

Re: Lost in French!

Date: 2005-06-26 09:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
*a la Eddie Izzard and the pilot and the chocolate biscuits* Emmanuel Curtil... do anything... Emmanuel Curtil...

I don't think the people from PL know how much trauma they put us through! and still put us through...

*smootches your intuition*

Re: Lost in French!

Date: 2005-06-26 09:52 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Emmanuel Curtil, the force is strong with you. A bloke told me. Strong like a small pony or something like that. Let's pray at his altar (http://www.emmanuelcurtil.com/).

I don't think the people from PL know how much trauma they put us through!

Or maybe they did it on purpose? *gasp*

Emmanuel Curtil and He Who Shall Not Be Named

Date: 2005-06-26 09:54 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
HE HAS HIS OWN WEBSITE?! *worships even more*

if they did it on purpose, they should DIE DIE DIE AND ROT IN HELL! (sorry, the cold makes me hyper)

Date: 2005-06-25 09:57 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] spookyronny.livejournal.com
Here because Babycakes told me you were talking about the dubbing of Lost. She called you 'dubbing wizard' lol!!!!

I wanted to know for Charlie's voice because one of my friends is a fan of LotR but didn't watch the french version so she didn't know if they had kept Dom's french voice. Now i know, thanks to you :D

My mum loved it too LOL!!! She now understand why i was so happy every thursday :D

Date: 2005-06-26 10:11 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Hi there, stranger *g* Well not so much a stranger actually since yeah, I remember seeing you commenting on Babycakes' LJ a lot *g*

She called you 'dubbing wizard' lol

Awww *blushes* That's awesome lol

Re: Charlie's voice, happy to be of service *g* His voice makes me smile when I think of it cause it happens to also be Nicky Larson's [Ryo] voice...

Damn, it's three mothers who're apparently interested in the series... this is nothing short of a miracle! lol

Dubbing Wizard

Date: 2005-06-26 09:47 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
THANK YOU! I hadn't made the Merry-Nicky Larson connection and TADA! once again, the Dubbing Wizard (complete with cape and spandex leggins - you get to pick the color) did it! *superhero theme starts*

Re: Dubbing Wizard

Date: 2005-06-26 09:53 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
J'ai une réputation à préserver après tout! And I get to pick my colour, really? *teary eyes* Thank you so much! *sniffles*

Re: Dubbing Wizard

Date: 2005-06-26 09:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
tu veux quelle couleur? Noir? a la batman? *giggles*

Date: 2005-06-26 07:56 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] french-hobbit.livejournal.com
I managed to get my mom hooked, too - she kept asking questions, and guessed from the beginning that Charlie was a junkie, and she found Boone sexy lol

I knew about the German thing because i've watched some of the DVD in canadian version and i thought they would keep it in french version - it sounds weird of course, but it's the way to make it works... i'm waiting for Danielle's German accent now, will she be La Fausse Allemande? *g*

Date: 2005-06-26 10:13 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Three mothers already hooked. I'm so impressed. In particular considering my mom isn't a series freak. So seeing her tape the thing was just awesome. Then again, with the brainwashing advertising I did, maybe it wasn't so surprising *cough*

It did sound weird at first, but I think they pulled that off quite well, yes. La Fausse Allemande, argh! Please no lol

Profile

castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
Mouse

January 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 06:18 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios