castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Tennessee / paperhalos)
[personal profile] castalie
I just realised that I took pictures today, thinking I still had one more day to go when yesterday was, in fact, the last one. Well, I won't have any other choice but to do a +1 Day, will I? I guess the meme had to end at one point? I'm going to miss it, though! I might try to do a "Week in the life of" every other Sunday or so to make up for the loss. Could be nice.

Day in the life - Monday

IMG01593-20120326-1301
Starting my Monday with a presentation on the new e-learning platform we'll be using in September. It was pretty fun as each of us had to pretend to be a teacher in charge of a class on the platform so that we could to try out the different functionalities. To do that, we created fake lessons and posted fake texts to our pages; P. posted about roses, Ba. about penguins, B. about crêpes and I used Cupcake Ipsum for the content of my own page. Fun ;-)

IMG01594-20120326-1320
Lunch at the park. Working on our tan little by little!

IMG01596-20120326-1556
Spending some time in the afternoon to do more research on mind mapping for a project my co-worker L. and I are working on at the moment.

IMG01601-20120326-1757
Library time after work. With orange juice and a banana to keep my strength up \o/

IMG01602-20120326-1956
Getting back home to Cookie. In daylight, thanks to DST.

IMG01603-20120326-2019
Dinner, lovingly made by Cookie.

IMG01606-20120326-2208
Posting Day in the life - Previous Day.

Day in the life - Tuesday

IMG01607-20120327-0827
The clock says 7.36AM but my inner alarm clock still believed it was 6.36AM, which made the waking process a bit problematic - especially as I hadn't been reasonable the night before.

IMG01608-20120327-0846
A bit of White Musk (from The Body Shop) before leaving the flat.

IMG01615-20120327-0952
Because two computers aren't enough, sometimes!

IMG01616-20120327-1254
At the store because I wanted some crisps and omg look! Tyrrells! In buckets! We're totally buying one of those for our next FP Night. Of for our next XP (Cookie's posse) Night.

IMG01618-20120327-1307
Lunch. With the addition of aforementioned crisps plus pieces of coconut for dessert. Also, I know, the "main dish" is exactly the same as the previous day. Sometimes you just don't feel like cooking, ok?

IMG01622-20120327-1442
Blood drive at work. They organise one each semester (at least) at the university, that was the Spring edition.

IMG01620-20120327-1432
I'm used to donating blood whenever there's a blood drive at work but couldn't do it the last time (whooping cough was to blame) so I didn't want to miss it this time.

IMG01624-20120327-1648
Mind mapping project again.

IMG01627-20120327-1808
After work and before Florence + the Machine's gig: I went to a Starbucks near the venue and worked for a little more than an hour before heading to the Casino de Paris (said venue). Chai tea latte is the one drink I have during Lent when I go to Starbucks (except if it's Sunday, mind) and I got a Venti instead of a Grande because they'd forgotten my order :-)

IMG01628-20120327-1851
You'd think I was reading a math book or something, but I wasn't. This was actually an essay on Friends lol

IMG01630-20120327-1911
Casino de Paris.

IMG01629-20120327-1911
Ditto. It's a gorgeous venue and I took some pics inside but they were absolutely rubbish so I'm not sharing here.

IMG01636-20120327-2140
I know you can't really see anything but I decided to post that picture anyway because that's Florence down there! With her LOTR-like dress and her incredible voice and her charisma and just ALL THE LOVE! We were actually seeing the stage much better than what the crappy picture could make you believe and heee, Florence! More about the concert later on.

IMG01637-20120327-2259
Ha, the surprise of the night. There was an accident on the C line and, guess what? They stopped the whole line. Sometimes it feels like the RATP (public transport) just doesn't want you to reach your destination. Ever.

Except I got back home, of course (or else I'd have turned back and sleep at SAM's, who'd sent me an invitation when I tweeted about my "adventures".

Anyway, a bit about the gig now.

The thing that really made an impression on me right from the start was how different that gig was from the others I'm used to going. It was different though, of course, still as brilliant as usual. I had such a blast ♥

I loved the set: it looks like in a church somehow with a lighting that looked like stained-glass. The band made an impressive sight as well, all eight of them; six musicians, one backing singer and Florence.

Then Florence made her entrance, slow and graceful, and oh the love! She had a dress a bit similar to a medieval gown, and had those long sleeves that reached the ground? Oh, and she was barefoot, too. The whole thing, the set, the musicians, the dress, it all reminded of me of LOTR, to be honest. Then again, I associate Florence + the Machine with Game of Thrones, so.

Florence was amazing. I was completely smitten! And also, she's so incredibly cute! I mean, I had no idea she was so cute? I knew she was talented, obviously, but yeah, so.cute ♥ I love how powerful her singing voice and her presence one stage are and how sweet she sounds like when she speaks. Hearing her talk you'd never know she's capable of singing the way she does. One could wonder where it comes from :-)

She'd walk, jump, run from one side of the stage to the other, she'd twirl and twirl and play with the sleeves of her dress and I don't know how to describe it really but it was like this mix of powerful and sweet, of strength and grace? Did I say I was smitten?

I'm usually fairly bad at remembering setlists so I'll leave others to it, though I can tell you she sang my Most Favourite song of hers, namely Cosmic Love. I was really hoping she'd get to sing it but had no idea whether she'd include songs from her previous album so when I heard the first note I was so excited!

I had a blast and I'm so happy I got to see her live ♥

Oh, look what I found! Someone uploaded the whole concert on YT, Part 1 (Cosmic Love is at 6.58 \o/) Part 2, Part 3 and the final part, Part 4

Date: 2012-03-28 09:28 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] whitevanilla.livejournal.com
Hooray for this Day in the Life meme! It's been really fun following your posts. I'm currently taking photos for 2 day of mine. Unfortunately there may be a backlog and I'll post 3 days or so at once. But I'm getting there!

Hooray for Florence! I'll be going to see her at Red Rocks this July. I can't imagine a more perfect venue for this show...check it out! http://www.redrocksonline.com/ (Sorry, I can't remember how to insert links anymore! lol)

Date: 2012-03-28 09:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
I'm delighted you've decided to do the meme! I can't wait to see your entries, even if it's a backlog and you have several days at once.

Omg, that venue is just amazing!! You'll have to tell me how it went :-)

Date: 2012-03-29 10:18 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] babydracky.livejournal.com
C'est vrai que c'est bien sympa comme meme^^
White musk c'est le meilleur truc ever! ;)

Date: 2012-04-07 07:27 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Il y a encore quelques personnes qui sont en train de le faire dans ma flist donc je peux encore en profiter.

Il sent trop bon, je l'adore !

Date: 2012-03-29 03:21 pm (UTC)
ext_9226: (ammo8 - snailbones)
From: [identity profile] snailbones.livejournal.com


I do love your piccie posts *g*

I've never seen Florence play live, but love the music... I'm so happy she/they are as good live... and cute you say? *makes note* :D

Date: 2012-04-07 07:29 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
And it was a lot of fun taking all those piccies too :-)

Really cute as well, yes ♥ If you ever have the opportunity to see her live, don't hesitate, you'll have such a blast. I'll probably go back to see her in November, I'll invite Cookie this time, it'll be her bday gift :-) The venue will be much bigger so it'll be different, but it'll be better than nothing.

Date: 2012-03-31 01:03 pm (UTC)
ext_1650: (Default)
From: [identity profile] turps33.livejournal.com
Your three computer picture made me laugh, and all your food looks great.

But dude, Tyrrells in buckets. Whoa.

Date: 2012-04-07 07:30 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
I thought people around here would appreciate the three computers :-)

Yes, Tyrrells in buckets! I had to check when I saw them lol

Profile

castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
Mouse

January 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 03:18 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios