castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Scott / wicked_signs)
[personal profile] castalie
Hey, guys. How was your weekend? Mine was fantastic! I got back to France on Sunday and wished I could have stayed in Budapest a little while longer. Alas, I've heard that the rule dictates that all good things to come an end so what can you do, right? We managed to do everything that we'd planned - and even visited a couple more churches that were not part of our program \o/

Budapest is a gorgeous city. And we had an amazing weather - well, some people might say it was almost too hot, but we've had such a rotten weather in France for the past month that it made for a fantastic change of scenery - but, yes, it was hot, to give you an idea, around 8.00PM, when the temperature starts getting cooler, it was still 31°C.

On the first day - make that early afternoon after we'd made it to our youth hostel, where we left our luggage - we climbed the Gellert hill, visited the cave church, saw the Citadel and admired the amazing view of the whole city from up there. We went to the Buda castle, strolled around the Fishermen's station and St Mathias church - to the sound of a little orchestra playing waltzes nearby - and took a well deserved break on the Margaret island in the evening. We had dinner there and had fun watching the dancing fountain. We came back to our (lovely) youth hostel around 10.00PM and just crashed :-)

On the second day we visited the Parliament, saw the Heroes square, visited the St Stephen basilica (omg, so gorgeous!) and the Opera (same thing - and our guide was the cutest thing), had a drink in a Starbucks, walked along the Andrassy avenue, couldn't stay too long at the Millenium place because the sun reflection on the ground was killing us, then went to the Vajdahunyad castle before we headed to the Széchenyi Bath - omg, it was divine! Imagine walking around for a whole day under a +37°C temperature, being kinda tired and sweaty, and then taking your first step in one of the three outdoor thermal pools in that amazing place. Divine, I say.

On Sunday, we had breakfast at the Gerbeaud coffee house and had one last little stroll around our neighbourhood and we visited a couple more churches we found on the way before we headed to the airport.

In between all that, there were the different bridges we either walked by or crossed and the gazillion beautiful buildings that we couldn't visit (like the museums, for instance) but that were still worth the look. I'll try to share a couple of pictures later on, for those interested :-)

Today I was pretty knackered and basically spent the whole day in bed watching Teen Wolf. I'm officially up-to-date, now \o/ And I stand corrected (re: my last post), my favourite is still Scott. I absolutely love him. Sure, he makes mistakes and sometimes he's a bit dense, but I love that he's always trying to do the right thing, even when it's difficult - and when he fails, that he tries to fix it - and, most of all, I love that he's basically trying to take care of everyone all the time. He deeply cares for people and for a sixteen-year-old who's suddenly thrown in a life filled with violence and hard choices, I think he's not doing so badly.

Two moments that I especially liked: when Jackson listens on Scott, Allison and Stiles talking about what they're going to do with him and hears Scott's heartfelt plea to save him, no matter what happened between them before and no matter what he's become now. Jackson was so moved by it! And that little scene in 2x08 in the warehouse when Scott asks Isaac to be careful; Isaac misinterpreting his warning and Scott insisting that he just doesn't want him to be hurt - the look on Isaac's face... I couldn't help but squee both times, you go, Scott! You show everyone how much you care for them, even when they think they don't deserve it ♥

Also, dude, Scott was willing to become part of Derek's pack so that he could protect Jackson! Aww, Scott!

The Teen Wolf fandom is failing me, though. So hard. Where are all the Derek/Scott fic? Where? Also, what about the Isaac/Scott fic? Because I quite like Isaac as well and wouldn't mind reading about him and Scott. If you want to share your Scott love with me, be my guest!

Tonight is 2x10, right? Good timing! I'll download the episode before going to the library tomorrow morning and watch the episode once I get home. Perfect reward for a day spent studying.

Date: 2012-07-31 07:26 am (UTC)
ext_1650: (Lydia ( by tw08-imaginary_lives ))
From: [identity profile] turps33.livejournal.com
Your vacation sounds amazing, and I was highly amused that you have all these cultural visits with a Starbucks right in the middle. It's so you *g*

I love how you talk about Scott, and yeah, the addition of the wolf pack is my favourite thing in s2. That and Jackson's situation where I constantly change between wanting someone to hug him and someone to punch him.

I've got the new ep ready to be watched after my LJ catch up. Which is why I'm off twitter at the moment and the inevitable detailed spoilers.

Date: 2012-08-01 09:00 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
It was pretty amazing, yes, and I love that my sister and I have this new tradition together :-) Next year, we're planning on going to Vienna #FingersCrossed

Omg I have so much love for Scott! I've realised that I hadn't watched the very first episodes of the show and that pilot? Made me love him even more; he's so adorable! And I just - I love characters, especially male characters, who care so much for people around them, friends or not, characters who always try find an alternative to violence. It's a trait of character that really gives me ALL THE FEELINGS!

Which, incidentally, makes the whole Scott-Gerard "alliance" that much difficult to watch (re: last episode).

Lol I'm the same regarding Jackson. I was giving Cookie a crash-course on the show/characters and it was kinda difficult with him because I was all "ok, that's Jackson, he's a dick and I want to slap him a lot. But he's also a bit lost and, ok, see now he's crying and I want to give him a hug."

Date: 2012-07-31 11:50 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] http://users.livejournal.com/_profiterole_/
Je viens de regarder le nouvel épisode. *is dead from all the awesome*

Date: 2012-08-01 09:01 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
J'apprécie que tu l'aie mentionné ici parce que j'ai pu aller directement sur ton LJ pour voir ce que tu avais à dire sur le sujet :-)

Date: 2012-08-01 10:01 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] http://users.livejournal.com/_profiterole_/
Je n'avais même pas encore prévu de faire de post à ce moment-là, j'étais encore en phase de digestion. XD

Date: 2012-08-02 07:56 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Imagine tout ce qu'on va avoir à digérer (enfin j'espère !) avec les deux derniers épisodes de la saison ? Eeeek!

Date: 2012-08-02 05:52 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] http://users.livejournal.com/_profiterole_/
J'espère aussi. Enfin, je ne m'inquiète pas trop, ça a de fortes chances d'être génial. *flails*

Date: 2012-07-31 02:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] reddwarf75.livejournal.com
Sounds like u had a great time :)
Marie

Date: 2012-08-01 09:03 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
I did, thank you!

Date: 2012-07-31 04:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] aswanargent.livejournal.com
You had a busy mini-vacation, but it sounds wonderful! And I have to smile and agree with [livejournal.com profile] turps33's comment about you and Starbucks. :-D

Date: 2012-08-01 09:05 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
You know how it is, when you're only visiting for a weekend, you don't want to waste a second ;-)

Lol Guess I'm predictable :-)
Edited Date: 2012-08-01 09:05 pm (UTC)

Date: 2012-08-01 02:39 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] whitevanilla.livejournal.com
Sounds like a lovely trip! I hope you'll be sharing some photos? :)

Date: 2012-08-01 09:06 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
It was lovely, yes :-)

Just posted a dozen of photos, mate!

Profile

castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
Mouse

January 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 03:16 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios