castalie: (Season - Warm & Cozy)
[personal profile] castalie
I know it's not officially Autumn yet but it's grey and a bit cold outside today so I'm using it anyway #LovesOnIcon

Lazy Sunday in bed today, wrapped in a couple of blankets. My favourite kind of Sunday mornings :-) I'm having a very nice weekend, all told. Yesterday was spent with Cookie's posse and we spent the whole afternoon in a brand new geek bar that opened in Paris. The place is awesome. From the decoration to the actual name of said bar, ie The Last Bar Before The End of the World (a bit of a mouthful but still a lot of fun). There is a actual countdown at the entrance ;-) You have several tv screens, big posters of sci-fic/comics, figurines and props all over the place, the name of the cocktails all come from pop culture: to give you an idea, my cocktail was a Fulguro Poings (which is a reference to UFO Robo Grendizer), Cookie got a Precious etc. Oh, and if you order the USS IDontRememberTheName cocktail, you get the first issue of the comic. They used to have a TARDIS cocktail as well but it's been removed for now, hopefully it'll be back soon. And have no alcohool in it since I don't drink alcohol #Selfish

The room we were in looked like the interior of a spaceship, the guys and girls sitting at the tables next to us were deeply involved in role playing card games, our waiter wore an Angry Birds tshirt and while we were there they installed an old skool two-player Pacman arcade game table. They often play music and their playlist is made of tv show opening credits. Seriously... how cool is that bar?? ♥ ♥

Today's program is... well, we've only planned on going to see Lawless in the afternoon, basically, so today is very lazy, indeed. I've just downloaded the new Doctor Who and Cookie needs to catch up on The New Normal so if I manage to get out of bed, we might just do that.

Oh, and I watched the White Collar's Summer finale. Season 4 is about to become my favourite season of the show; the Peter-Neal relationship has always been a joy to see but this season it felt like the writers were outdoing themselves... The boxing scene of last week was so good! Even though it was nothing compared to that very last scene with the Break Up. Omg, they played that one so incredibly well, the both of them. Seeing them at odds is always painful to witness but to see Neal break things off with Peter was even more so. With all the things they wen through since season 1 and all the lies between them, they should have gone to couple therapy, imho. They should have taken the time to really sit down and talk about their issues and feelings.

Watching Peter try to reach out to Neal after aforementioned break-up without ever really managing to... Aww, Peter, you really were afraid your boyfriend had broken up with you for good, weren't you?

I just loved the difference between the two panels they did at the FBI convention. It was different as night and day and I was so happy to see them be a team again. Also very relieved for them because, obviously, they hurt so much when they're not together. I also loved that Peter told Neal that he basically decided to help him, back in the pilot, because he liked him. Neal's little face when he heard ♥

Then there was the "Big Reveal". Obviously, it was no surprise but I do feel that the revelation was not really important. What I'd been waiting for ever since Sam came into the picture wasn't so much to learn whether he truly was Neal's father or not, but to see Neal's reaction if he really were and he learnt the truth. Not only that but to see Peter react to the news. I mean, Peter has been protecting and taking care of Neal for years now and I can't help but wonder how he's going to react to Sam now that he knows who he truly is. I can't help for next episode!

In conclusion: I love WhiCo! And geek culture. Not that it's anything new, mind, but some things bear repeating ;-)

Date: 2012-09-23 10:16 am (UTC)
sperrywink: (FOB Pete SHOES)
From: [personal profile] sperrywink
That does sound like the coolest bar EVER!

Date: 2012-09-24 01:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
It totally is omg! You do feel like you're at home and among people who get you ;-)

Date: 2012-09-23 10:46 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] nicelyobsessed.livejournal.com
Geeky afternoon♥

"The precious" cocktail was deliiiiiiiiciouuuuus, this bar is awesome!

Date: 2012-09-24 01:56 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Geeky afternoons ftw!

It most definitely was, next time I decide to spend my salary on a cocktail (well, you know what I mean lol) I'll pick the Prrrrrecious as well #SmacksLips

Date: 2012-09-24 01:51 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] reddwarf75.livejournal.com
I've never been a bar person but that place sounds really fun :D
Marie

Date: 2012-09-24 01:58 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
I'm not really a bar person either but this is more like a mix between coffeehouse and bar, you have very comfy sofas and armchairs as well as regular tables, know what I mean? People get there to play cards as well as drinks or eat and they can do fannish stuff for hours if they want, no-one bothers them. It's such a relaxed - and relaxing - atmosphere :-)

Date: 2012-09-24 05:07 pm (UTC)
ext_1650: (Default)
From: [identity profile] turps33.livejournal.com
That bar sounds amazing, and I approve of your icon use!

Date: 2012-09-30 07:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
It really is the best thing! You feel so at home over there ♥

Profile

castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
Mouse

January 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 04:41 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios