castalie: (PoI - Working Together)
[personal profile] castalie
Being at work when the whole university seems to be on vacation is both a blessing and a curse: a blessing because it's all quiet and you can work without being interrupted every two minutes and a curse because you can't help but imagine yourself at home, maybe even still in bed, with a whole day of Fun Stuff ahead of you. Still, I'm not complaining too much because a) tomorrow is bank holiday and b) I'll hop on the vacation bandwagon on Friday, so.

This weekend I managed to cram diversed activities including work (I invigilated my last exam of the year \o/), a roller derby game (it was my first time seeing one and it was so much fun! Case in point, I might go see another one this Saturday), a family dinner (Dad is set on feeding Cookie and me ALL THE RED MEAT to help with the iron deficency so he cooked a meal especially for us ♥) a brunch (yet a new place was visited, one which was pretty lovely #Score) and tv. I watched the latest PoI & Hannibal (meaning in this case 1x05 & 1x04 - though I'm waiting for the complete version, will have to look it up tonight now that I think of it) and the show finale of Spartacus, which I still hadn't seen. Oh, and I also maybe downloaded and watched Frequency with younger!Caviezel and Adam with Hugh Dancy, as you do.

Some spoilery comments about PoI 2x20, now. Things should get interesting for those last two episodes of the season, shouldn't they? Wonder what kind of cliffhanger they have in store for us. Btw, I'm completely unspoiled and wish to stay so, so please no comments if you've heard/read things?

I wish John had been the one who got to play hide-and-seek with Stills' corpse, if only because I felt like he owed it to Fusco. And I know that, technically, back when this part of the storyline occured, Fusco had been about to kill John but, as the leitmotiv of "In Extremis" said, people make mistakes! (I can't believe I'm making excuses for an attempted murder - especially when the character who was supposed to be killed and buried is our beloved Mr Reese! See what you've done, show? Now people won't look to me as a moral benchmark either!). The problem is that I feel for Fusco and often feel like he's ostracised by the others and sometimes I wish John were nicer to him and, Idk, I can't help but sympathise with him, is all. He looks so lonely! And he shouldn't be made to feel that way because he's supposed to be part of a team, there!

Then again, John obviously wanted Carter to have Fusco's back so I guess she had to take that step but what a step it was! I actually didn't believe she would cross that line... Hope she won't resent John and Finch too much for it. I'd hate for the foursome to split, though it'd make for a great development, of course. Just, if it does happen, I want them to go back together at one point? And, if possible, sooner rather than later, I'd miss them working together (or as "together" as they do) too much. Also, it'd hurt to have them at odds with one another.

So I know that I mentioned in an earlier entry that I'd watched Hannibal and felt underwhelmed but I refused to let it go so easily and gave it another try, which went much better than the first. I'm now firmly on board. I'm even (on the third viewing of the pilot) slowly warming to Mads Mikkelsen, which I didn't think was possible. I'm delighted because this is a show I hoped to enjoy :) It seems to have been tailored for me somehow because I'm always much more interested in the characters' dynamics than the cases in that kind of show and this is exactly what Hannibal seems to be about, ie the characters' relationships.

Speaking of, funny thing about Hannibal and Person of Interest, don't they both seem to tell the story of how two men end up falling in love despite all their issues and becoming the fathers of a problem-child? American tv is more progressive than one might expect, after all ;)

And Spartacus now. Omg I cannot believe that Agron and Nasir survived o_O I swear till the very last nanosecond I was certain a spear would come out of nowhere and impale them both lol Isn't that beautiflly subversive, you guys? To have the canon gay couple actually make it out alive? ;) Hee ♥

That finale was of course tragic and sad but so gorgeous! It did feel like the characters who died finally were at peace. I was so moved by Spartacus' words about how he would finally get to hear his true name again, spoken by his wife...

Oh, also very moving, that very last shot in the ending credits with Andy Whitfield screaming "I am Spartacus". I loved that they included him that way...

No more Spartacus (ever omg!), only two PoI episodes left... let's hope they do show the thirteen episodes of Hannibal so that we still have something to watch atm! Admittedly, I could use the hiatus to catch up with the gazillion shows I fell behind...

Profile

castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
Mouse

January 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 07:05 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios