Lost 1x15 - Homecoming
Feb. 10th, 2005 11:03 pmJust a quick note. I'm so gonna miss my free Thursday of yore. Or, you know, of last semester. Yes, I will *nodnod*
Before I start,
crazybutsound? I received the CD! Yes, I did lol And thank you so fucking much because WOW it was full of pretties and goodness, it was so worth the wait - I just... this is awesome, thanks! I can't wait to watch the CDs *bounce* And the Carnivale one? Had me laugh cause just last week, when I went in my download frenzy, I downloaded the first episode but it didn't grab me. That is, not enough to take 15 hours to download the second one, ya know? But
aswanagent, good fan that she is, told me that I should try more than just the pilot cause I would see the beauty of that series later on. Since I trust fans to know their business I agreed that should I have the opportunity I'd give it another try, but as far as opportunity goes, I didn't know when that would happen because I don't have cable and I don't see that series airing on my regular networks, you know? But I have the episodes now! So this CD? Was a streak of genius, girl! As for the rest, well I'm quite impatient to watch everything *eg*
Now, and because even this new schedule at the uni won't defeat me - here my weekly ritual:
First, I think it needs to be said that watching Lost again after the mini-hiatus felt good, in as understatement-of-the-month good. I already knew I missed my show, but while watching it I realised that I'd really missed it, you know?
So random facts, cause I'm actually too lazy to do a proper and structured review, seriously *cough*
On the silly front:
- Hey, maybe Ethan is Fake French Woman's son after all, he sure has some Thierry la Fronde moves [/French reference]
- Golf course is still here, yay!
- Hurley still rocks my world. His eulogy was just the best ever!
On the not-so-silly front:
- Loved that we got a bit more of both Jin and Sun/Jin. They're so my favourite canon couple - I don't want them to break up. Ever *hugs them* So I was just a happy camper when we saw them spooned next to the camp fire. And re Jin, I really enjoyed the little scene with Charlie too - and eek, Charlie knows a word of Korean! How sweet was that?
- Where the fuck is Rose! Did I miss her somewhere? We sure saw a lot of people in the background, so I'm still hoping I missed her but this is starting to annoy me, where is she? I want to see Rose, dammit *stamps foot*
- Boone is so Locke's bitch, it's not even funny. Wow, I don't think Locke ever thought he would get a puppy on the island, but he sure got one.
- Amnesia. Check. I guess a show can't be complete without the whole amnesia thing? But to be honest, I don't exactly know what to think of it - it wasn't faked, was it? Not that Sayid and I want to pull a Fox Mulder or anything, besides I love Claire and can't imagine her being on Ethan's side now but what about brainwashing? Then again, I don't see the point cause... in the end, nothing happened apart from Ethan getting killed. Which as far as hidden agenda goes kinda sucks cause talk about a plan backfiring on you. Technically Charlie's little deadly stunt couldn't have been foreseen at all, but still... I guess brainwashing and fake amnesia don't really make sense... so I suppose it was real amnesia plot... Maybe the reason is that I didn't exactly like that plot, after all, there was something off - oh hell, I don't know lol It sure brought me some drama though, and I had some great intense!Charlie moments so I'm not complaining, but I couldn't help but wonder if it wasn't a plan or something. I just thought Ethan's plan was a little stupid. I mean,Thierry la Fronde Mr Psycho obviously had the opportunity to approach the group when he wanted to and without anyone's being the wiser, re Scott's death. So if he'd been a tad patient and even more cunning, he could have waited and gotten Claire back somehow - we're talking about a man who succeeded in kidnapping not one but two persons at the same time, after all. But what does he do instead? He attracts the attention of just about everyone and attracts it so good that he causes a manhunt on his ass, which in the end has him killed... Real smooth, pal.
- Speaking of Ethan and the whole What The Hell Is He Doing Anyway thing - just... okay, with Ethan at the end? So the guy could kidnap two people at the same time, as already established, he was able to drag Charlie up in a tree and hang him there, he was also capable of beating Jack to a bloody pulp but he can't even stop a pregnant woman? So what, to defeat the guy you need to be a pregnant petite blond? I guess Charlie had the small and blond part, too bad he didn't have the pregnant one, he might have been saved from the Big Bad Tree.
- I'll admit that the whole Manhunt thing was really cool though, and that seeing the Alpha Members of the island gather in their little deadly army, armed, dangerous, focused - oh and all wet, too, was just... toosexy good for words. Besides the way it was filmed and the way they kept screaming at each other to hold their fire and the way they had their guns on Ethan and circled him, with the rain pounding and stuff was... quite primal and raw and just very brilliant, yes. But I can't help but wonder what they would have done once they had overpowered Ethan if Charlie hadn't appeared and offed the guy. I mean... like Charlie said, did they really think he was going to say anything to them? And sure, we know that Sayid isn't above torturing someone for information, but I seriously don't think Ethan would have caved in. He was way too crazy for that - so what would have they done? Create their own jail? Execute him? Getting primal when adrenaline is pumping is one thing, but when everything seems to be clearer it's definitely another, how would you react?
- So yeah, re Charlie and his Dirty Harry stunt. Well seriously, when I heard the first gunshots followed by all the others, I couldn't believe someone had actually fired and I was doing a mad dance at trying to find who it was. Imagine my surprise when I saw Charlie holding the fucking gun. And where did he find it, btw? He really looked... deadly, yes, that's one way of putting it. That man just mesmerises me when he's being intense, I swear! You know, when he's doing that intense staring of his? Like when was looking at the Merry Pseudo Bounty Hunters about to leave with Claire for example, I thought he was... well stunning, actually. I mean, did you see his look? So focused, so intense... wow. And seeing what he ends up doing afterwards, it's even more chilling when you think of it. Loved it!
- Did I ever mention that I loved fucked-up characters? Because yeah. Fucked-up!Charlie, alright. So being a junkie wasn't enough, was it? But yeah, no band, no job, no money and a big addiction to satisfy, a junkie has to do what a junkie has to do - no matter how pathetic it makes you *shakes head* Poor Lucy, she so didn't deserve that. Poor Charlie as well, I guess, because talk about a shitty action and a shitty life but it was his own doing... or undoing, I'll conceed. And so now, he succeeded in taking care of someone he loved, didn't he? First the kicking off the drug habit, then the I'm-a-hero-even-if-I'm-a-psychotic-hero - twice a winner that Charlie. Good thing he ended up on the island, I'm just sayin'.
So? SMILWTS, thank you very much *g* Also, 1x16 looks good as well, can't wait! *bounce*
Finally, sekrit message to
lornelover: My 5b is still good and strong, you go 5b! And I now have one name crossed on my YouKnowWhat List, yay!
Now, off to a) read the flist and b) click on the Lost cut-tagged-reviews I saw here and there and finally satisfy my curiosity *g*
Before I start,
Now, and because even this new schedule at the uni won't defeat me - here my weekly ritual:
First, I think it needs to be said that watching Lost again after the mini-hiatus felt good, in as understatement-of-the-month good. I already knew I missed my show, but while watching it I realised that I'd really missed it, you know?
So random facts, cause I'm actually too lazy to do a proper and structured review, seriously *cough*
On the silly front:
- Hey, maybe Ethan is Fake French Woman's son after all, he sure has some Thierry la Fronde moves [/French reference]
- Golf course is still here, yay!
- Hurley still rocks my world. His eulogy was just the best ever!
On the not-so-silly front:
- Loved that we got a bit more of both Jin and Sun/Jin. They're so my favourite canon couple - I don't want them to break up. Ever *hugs them* So I was just a happy camper when we saw them spooned next to the camp fire. And re Jin, I really enjoyed the little scene with Charlie too - and eek, Charlie knows a word of Korean! How sweet was that?
- Where the fuck is Rose! Did I miss her somewhere? We sure saw a lot of people in the background, so I'm still hoping I missed her but this is starting to annoy me, where is she? I want to see Rose, dammit *stamps foot*
- Boone is so Locke's bitch, it's not even funny. Wow, I don't think Locke ever thought he would get a puppy on the island, but he sure got one.
- Amnesia. Check. I guess a show can't be complete without the whole amnesia thing? But to be honest, I don't exactly know what to think of it - it wasn't faked, was it? Not that Sayid and I want to pull a Fox Mulder or anything, besides I love Claire and can't imagine her being on Ethan's side now but what about brainwashing? Then again, I don't see the point cause... in the end, nothing happened apart from Ethan getting killed. Which as far as hidden agenda goes kinda sucks cause talk about a plan backfiring on you. Technically Charlie's little deadly stunt couldn't have been foreseen at all, but still... I guess brainwashing and fake amnesia don't really make sense... so I suppose it was real amnesia plot... Maybe the reason is that I didn't exactly like that plot, after all, there was something off - oh hell, I don't know lol It sure brought me some drama though, and I had some great intense!Charlie moments so I'm not complaining, but I couldn't help but wonder if it wasn't a plan or something. I just thought Ethan's plan was a little stupid. I mean,
- Speaking of Ethan and the whole What The Hell Is He Doing Anyway thing - just... okay, with Ethan at the end? So the guy could kidnap two people at the same time, as already established, he was able to drag Charlie up in a tree and hang him there, he was also capable of beating Jack to a bloody pulp but he can't even stop a pregnant woman? So what, to defeat the guy you need to be a pregnant petite blond? I guess Charlie had the small and blond part, too bad he didn't have the pregnant one, he might have been saved from the Big Bad Tree.
- I'll admit that the whole Manhunt thing was really cool though, and that seeing the Alpha Members of the island gather in their little deadly army, armed, dangerous, focused - oh and all wet, too, was just... too
- So yeah, re Charlie and his Dirty Harry stunt. Well seriously, when I heard the first gunshots followed by all the others, I couldn't believe someone had actually fired and I was doing a mad dance at trying to find who it was. Imagine my surprise when I saw Charlie holding the fucking gun. And where did he find it, btw? He really looked... deadly, yes, that's one way of putting it. That man just mesmerises me when he's being intense, I swear! You know, when he's doing that intense staring of his? Like when was looking at the Merry Pseudo Bounty Hunters about to leave with Claire for example, I thought he was... well stunning, actually. I mean, did you see his look? So focused, so intense... wow. And seeing what he ends up doing afterwards, it's even more chilling when you think of it. Loved it!
- Did I ever mention that I loved fucked-up characters? Because yeah. Fucked-up!Charlie, alright. So being a junkie wasn't enough, was it? But yeah, no band, no job, no money and a big addiction to satisfy, a junkie has to do what a junkie has to do - no matter how pathetic it makes you *shakes head* Poor Lucy, she so didn't deserve that. Poor Charlie as well, I guess, because talk about a shitty action and a shitty life but it was his own doing... or undoing, I'll conceed. And so now, he succeeded in taking care of someone he loved, didn't he? First the kicking off the drug habit, then the I'm-a-hero-even-if-I'm-a-psychotic-hero - twice a winner that Charlie. Good thing he ended up on the island, I'm just sayin'.
So? SMILWTS, thank you very much *g* Also, 1x16 looks good as well, can't wait! *bounce*
Finally, sekrit message to
Now, off to a) read the flist and b) click on the Lost cut-tagged-reviews I saw here and there and finally satisfy my curiosity *g*
no subject
Date: 2005-02-10 10:53 pm (UTC)re: pulling a Fox Mulder: I'll have to go with Sayid on that one. There's something really fishy with Claire. Remember when the FFW (fake french woman) said that the island had gotten the others, that it has changed them? it had felt at the time like the island was a disease you just caught. What if this is what happened to Claire? What if the island thought that now Ethan was disposable? What if they pull a Shannon on us and Ethan isn't dead after all? (yeah, I don't believe that either, but it would be fun. Let's just hope they bring a bigger bad guy!)
re: the wet fighting scene... to quote Wayne's World: "schwing!" I mean... *fans self*
the rest you'll see in my review *giggles*
no subject
Date: 2005-02-11 06:09 am (UTC)I'm so with Sayid, there's something off with that story. Claire's story wasn't clear at all. So your theory is good for me, because there's something wrong going on. Or they totally mess up with us and we're getting paranoid, but tough!
And thanks for the icon *g*
no subject
Date: 2005-02-11 06:14 am (UTC)re: Didier Bourdon: it's okay. Just a tad of ridicule in the show - the show's good enough that it hasn't ruined it for me *giggles*
re: Sayid: go Sayid! *does cheerleading routine*
re: Numb3rs: so seriously dude, when is the next episode? (you're my dealer, you bad girl! Stop it - NOT!)
re: remember the first episode of Lost, when Jack says his name and we were all 'well, duh! he had to be called Jack' - well, now I'm 'well, duh! he's emotionally fucked up, he had to be called Charlie' *huggles Numb3rs*
no subject
Date: 2005-02-11 06:18 am (UTC)Numb3rs is supposedly tonight. I'll try to keep with the dealing of episode. I may have found someone - generous people rock my world *g*
LOL I like that! No surprise, I guess *eg*
no subject
Date: 2005-02-11 06:19 am (UTC)yeah, I'm, like, normal and all, why do you ask?
no subject
Date: 2005-02-11 06:22 am (UTC)...
*accepts Kinder with little LotR toys anyway*
Well of course you're normal! You're so normal your picture is in the dictionary right next to that word... or not!
no subject
Date: 2005-02-11 06:23 am (UTC)I thought my picture was already in the dictionary under 'stress' and 'weird'? damn, I'm all around! This is fame - woohoo!
no subject
Date: 2005-02-10 10:57 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-02-11 06:11 am (UTC)Hail to Paranoids R Us *high fives*
no subject
Date: 2005-02-10 11:01 pm (UTC)That has to be the best part of the review, because man, Boone as a bitch has to be a good thing!
no subject
Date: 2005-02-11 06:12 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-02-10 11:16 pm (UTC)Exactly This so doesn't make sense. And how could petite, pregnant Claire escape him so easily in the first place? (and I still love her, even if she is now amnesia-possibly-Other-possessed girl. *g*) I'm thinking Ethan isn't real. I'm thinking he's a manifestation of the island, created for one single purpose - to get the guns out of the locked case. Claire's back, Ethan's dead, and now all of our island alphas are armed. heheheh. Gunfight at the OK Corral by way of Lord of the Flies.
Sorry your schedule's so harsh, man. *g* RL interfering with Lost - sadness! *bg*
no subject
Date: 2005-02-11 06:15 am (UTC)And I so had a Wyatt Earps and Co thought when I saw Alpha Members going on the war path too! lol I second the OK Corral going Lord of the Flies thing *g*
And thanks. RL interfering with Lost is quite sad indeed *glare*
no subject
Date: 2005-02-11 03:31 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-02-11 06:18 am (UTC)Dude: amen! This is a great idea... we all seem to agree that Jack beat Ethan a little too easily (having to wait a whole week for the next episode is so annoying *giggles*)
no subject
Date: 2005-02-11 06:20 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-02-11 06:22 am (UTC)but come on... Ethan was stupid, it was too easy, you said so yourself... but I'm not doubting the alpha team! my hormones would not tolerate it *giggles*
no subject
Date: 2005-02-11 06:23 am (UTC)Except when you can't. But don't worry, I still love you.
It was too easy, which is why I couldn't believe he'd really succeeded, which is my point *sticks tongue* And we won't doubt the Alpha Team, promise *pets you*
no subject
Date: 2005-02-11 06:25 am (UTC)*puts hand over Mouse's mouth*
*to Jack* don't listen to her, she doesn't know what she's saying. You rock honey *smootches* damn it's hard to smootch someone while silencing another person!
good, cause all my crushes are in that Alpha team! *bats lashes at 3 alpha members*
no subject
Date: 2005-02-11 03:39 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-02-13 08:18 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-02-13 08:50 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-02-13 08:53 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-02-13 08:58 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-02-11 06:06 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-02-11 06:39 pm (UTC)