May, 1st + Numb3rs 1x11
May. 1st, 2005 09:49 amOkay first things first, here a little something for you, as is the tradition on the First day of May here - you offer a bunch of lilies of the valley to your family and friends on that day:

Lovely lucky charm *g*
Now, before starting with therambling "Sacrifice" review, I have a question for you [I'll also need your help for something later, either today or tomorrow, btw] - could someone link/YSI me to some nice codec packages? Cause see, I had this codec - already forgot his name, codecs and I don't get on well usually, we're barely on speaking terms - and it fucking disappeared! Turns out I actually downloaded a trial. I really need to ask myself: Self? Why can't you can pay attention when you download something? Cause when you don't, this is what happened.
Anyway - on with the rambling:
#1- Where the hell was Terry? What did they do with her? At one point, I got scared and thought they'd pulled a Rose on her [/Lost reference] Except... no, they really did pull a Rose on her, ie she's not there, then she's back for a minute to reassure the viewers they didn't lose her, then bam, she's off to Wherever again. I want Terry back *clings to smart-assertive-gorgeous-notbimbo!female character*
#2- This episode? Was really not what I expected it to be and almost seemed just, I don't know, different? Somehow, it wasn't as good as I'd imagined. Having said that, I still thought it was awesome because apparently, even when Numb3rs doesn't exactly meet my expectations, it still makes me fall in love with it all over again. The love I have for that show knows no bound... it's their fault though, they keep writing great scenes and wonderful interactions and omg the love!
#3- Larry... how much do I love Larry, let me count the ways. That character... is like the gift that keeps on giving. He's fucking incredible. Also, he has such an important role in that series, in Charlie's life. He's like... the voice of reason - when we speak about how Don and Alan might try to bring Charlie back to Earth, I think Larry is the one who really knows how to do it because he speaks the same language as Charlie and lives on common grounds and he knows how easy it would be to just, you know, forget about human interaction and focus on the equations only - he knows from the inside, and he knows the right way to reach Charlie. From day one - ie from the first episode - he's the one to remind Charlie that human behaviour and people have a life of their own and just can't be quantified and that, even better yet, they shouldn't be. He seems to be always bringing Charlie back on more human grounds... he's like Wisdom Guy... or Yoda. A bit like Locke except Larry doesn't scare us and would be a zero on my freak-o-meter. Which btw, I'm quite grateful for. Larry is fucking awesome!
#4- David kicks ass too. Which incidentally isn't exactly news, but admittedly he's usually in Terry's shadow so to speak and oh yeah all right, Terry being absent in the episode gave more focus on him, but I'd like Terry back please? They can shine together, seriously.
#5- Hee Scott was Tommy from 3rd Rock From The Sun! My, does he look all grown-up now. But no I'm not happy with you because what you did was bad! And quite ironical too because somehow, it actually validated Hoke's equation. I thought it was sad.
But it brought me:
#6- The Great Geek Confrontation! Well first there was bonding - It's all there in the numbers, aww look at that! Charlie and Scott speak the same language. Only with different accents - I prefer Charlie's though, ie Everything Is Numbers and of course, it doesn't have anything to do with the fact that's it, you know, Charlie's line. Anyway, first we had bonding and then disappointment and the awesome confrontation between Scott and Charlie followed. Because Scott succumbed to the dark side of the Force! Well actually, that might be Hoke and his equation, but it had a nice ring to it and anyway, Scott gave me The Scene, not Hoke, so...
#6b- The Scene? Did you see Charlie's look? Did you see? The intensity! The doubt, the angst, the anger, the insecurity OMG that was awesome! And I really loved how his other consultant's works were mentioned since, yeah, I always wonder what kind of job he did/does for them and about the consequences.
#7- Maths, physics, philosophy... that series makes you feel so smart all the time *g* Oh and we had physics joke! A bit like Teal'c and his jaffa joke, how can anyone resist those?
#8- Not a lot of daddy!Eppes in that episode but still quite a great and angsty scene. And wow, he and mommy!Eppes had a rough patch at one point! And they hid it from their children because that's what parents do and then they overcame their problems because they loved each other too much and wow, that couple just became even more perfect! I wish I knew mommy!Eppes' name so that I could worship it right next to Alan's. Also, the whole jealousy angle? Was so cool. I mean, that's angst brought on a plate - and it brings even more complexity in the whole family dynamic. I love-love-LOVE those tidbits on their lives Before.
#8b- Something I'm dying to learn more about [hopefully in S2 if we don't get it by the end of S1] is the whole Estrangement thing. Seeing Don and Charlie together now makes the idea of them being estranged from one another really painful. I can only hope the writers will explore that theme more later on *crosses fingers*
Also?
#9- That series knows how to play with the subtext, they're good at it, because the first discussion between Charlie and Scott? Could be translated as some wonderful Larry/Charlie or Don/Charlie subtexts - turned into text if you want to, even *eg*
I love that show so fucking much *happy sigh*
Oh and incidentally, I read this little piece which makes for a nice coda for "Sacrifice" - it's by
restless_jedi.
Also,
moimoietmoi? I received the CDs! Thanks *kisses* I'll treat myself with a wonderful Desperate Housewives marathon this week, methinks *bounce*
And now... must get ready to go to the market - man, the weather is so beautiful that it feels like it's summer! Yesterdy already we were all catching our first tan in Paris.

Now, before starting with the
Anyway - on with the rambling:
#1- Where the hell was Terry? What did they do with her? At one point, I got scared and thought they'd pulled a Rose on her [/Lost reference] Except... no, they really did pull a Rose on her, ie she's not there, then she's back for a minute to reassure the viewers they didn't lose her, then bam, she's off to Wherever again. I want Terry back *clings to smart-assertive-gorgeous-notbimbo!female character*
#2- This episode? Was really not what I expected it to be and almost seemed just, I don't know, different? Somehow, it wasn't as good as I'd imagined. Having said that, I still thought it was awesome because apparently, even when Numb3rs doesn't exactly meet my expectations, it still makes me fall in love with it all over again. The love I have for that show knows no bound... it's their fault though, they keep writing great scenes and wonderful interactions and omg the love!
#3- Larry... how much do I love Larry, let me count the ways. That character... is like the gift that keeps on giving. He's fucking incredible. Also, he has such an important role in that series, in Charlie's life. He's like... the voice of reason - when we speak about how Don and Alan might try to bring Charlie back to Earth, I think Larry is the one who really knows how to do it because he speaks the same language as Charlie and lives on common grounds and he knows how easy it would be to just, you know, forget about human interaction and focus on the equations only - he knows from the inside, and he knows the right way to reach Charlie. From day one - ie from the first episode - he's the one to remind Charlie that human behaviour and people have a life of their own and just can't be quantified and that, even better yet, they shouldn't be. He seems to be always bringing Charlie back on more human grounds... he's like Wisdom Guy... or Yoda. A bit like Locke except Larry doesn't scare us and would be a zero on my freak-o-meter. Which btw, I'm quite grateful for. Larry is fucking awesome!
#4- David kicks ass too. Which incidentally isn't exactly news, but admittedly he's usually in Terry's shadow so to speak and oh yeah all right, Terry being absent in the episode gave more focus on him, but I'd like Terry back please? They can shine together, seriously.
#5- Hee Scott was Tommy from 3rd Rock From The Sun! My, does he look all grown-up now. But no I'm not happy with you because what you did was bad! And quite ironical too because somehow, it actually validated Hoke's equation. I thought it was sad.
But it brought me:
#6- The Great Geek Confrontation! Well first there was bonding - It's all there in the numbers, aww look at that! Charlie and Scott speak the same language. Only with different accents - I prefer Charlie's though, ie Everything Is Numbers and of course, it doesn't have anything to do with the fact that's it, you know, Charlie's line. Anyway, first we had bonding and then disappointment and the awesome confrontation between Scott and Charlie followed. Because Scott succumbed to the dark side of the Force! Well actually, that might be Hoke and his equation, but it had a nice ring to it and anyway, Scott gave me The Scene, not Hoke, so...
#6b- The Scene? Did you see Charlie's look? Did you see? The intensity! The doubt, the angst, the anger, the insecurity OMG that was awesome! And I really loved how his other consultant's works were mentioned since, yeah, I always wonder what kind of job he did/does for them and about the consequences.
#7- Maths, physics, philosophy... that series makes you feel so smart all the time *g* Oh and we had physics joke! A bit like Teal'c and his jaffa joke, how can anyone resist those?
#8- Not a lot of daddy!Eppes in that episode but still quite a great and angsty scene. And wow, he and mommy!Eppes had a rough patch at one point! And they hid it from their children because that's what parents do and then they overcame their problems because they loved each other too much and wow, that couple just became even more perfect! I wish I knew mommy!Eppes' name so that I could worship it right next to Alan's. Also, the whole jealousy angle? Was so cool. I mean, that's angst brought on a plate - and it brings even more complexity in the whole family dynamic. I love-love-LOVE those tidbits on their lives Before.
#8b- Something I'm dying to learn more about [hopefully in S2 if we don't get it by the end of S1] is the whole Estrangement thing. Seeing Don and Charlie together now makes the idea of them being estranged from one another really painful. I can only hope the writers will explore that theme more later on *crosses fingers*
Also?
#9- That series knows how to play with the subtext, they're good at it, because the first discussion between Charlie and Scott? Could be translated as some wonderful Larry/Charlie or Don/Charlie subtexts - turned into text if you want to, even *eg*
I love that show so fucking much *happy sigh*
Oh and incidentally, I read this little piece which makes for a nice coda for "Sacrifice" - it's by
Also,
And now... must get ready to go to the market - man, the weather is so beautiful that it feels like it's summer! Yesterdy already we were all catching our first tan in Paris.
no subject
Date: 2005-05-01 09:05 am (UTC)just passing by to say that I had a Season 1 marathon this weekend - I'm trying to keep up with the Nerds R' Us discussion we had on Y!M *giggles*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-01 11:15 am (UTC)Et ce matin au marché j'ai trouvé une tour de 100 cd vierges pour le prix de 50 donc j'ai des munitions, yay! Je vais faire un tir groupé pour toi, je pense. Faut vraiment que je me remette à jour, désolée pour l'attente *sigh*
Nerds R Us, wicked! lol And marathons? There's nothing better than those *shakes head vehemently*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-01 08:42 pm (UTC)Seriously? you're my hero! c'est vraiment pas grave d'attendre, t'inquiete - merci beaucoup de me fournir mes doses lol
Never mind
Date: 2005-05-01 07:17 pm (UTC)Re: Never mind
Date: 2005-05-01 08:53 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-01 09:08 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-01 11:17 am (UTC)Also... isn't it lilies of the valley? Like, lilies are a flower and lilies of the valley are another? I sorta suck at flower names, I'm afraid. Then again, even in French, I'm not exactly a pro with all those botanic terms lol
no subject
Date: 2005-05-01 01:07 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-01 03:42 pm (UTC):::twirls you:::
Thanks for the flowers...how sweet! *snuzzly smooch* I love lillies, the Calla Lily is my favorite. I do hope the bulbs I planted last Fall will bloom this time. *is hopeful* I'm a lousy gardener. I have lily of the valley along the side of my house, but they've not bloomed here yet.
:::twirls you again:::
May Day!
no subject
Date: 2005-05-01 06:54 pm (UTC)You're quite welcome *smooches* As far as being a gardener goes, I'm not a natural but still does a lot of gardening at my grand-father's place. Since he's no condition of, well, doing anything really, The Esu and I replaced him and we're keeping his garden in one piece for him - we're doing one hell of a job, too believe me *wipes brow* We did several hours of gardening today, for instance, as we do every week, and after the weekend I had, I'm quite exhausted... but it's worth it, of course *g*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-01 03:57 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-01 06:56 pm (UTC)And really? I heard about that movie here and there... might want to investigate further *takes notes*
The shit hath hittith the fan...
Date: 2005-05-01 09:21 pm (UTC)Re: The shit hath hittith the fan...
Date: 2005-05-02 05:07 am (UTC)Re: The shit hath hittith the fan...
Date: 2005-05-02 07:49 pm (UTC)If you do be sure to watch the credits, they have outtakes and they have this one where Cameron (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) has just gotten blown off by Bianca and Michael (David Krumholtz) goes to comfort him and says "Don't worry there's better for you and it's right here." Then he tries to kiss him and they wrestle and he says "I've wanted you for so long!" *LOL*
Re: The shit hath hittith the fan...
Date: 2005-05-02 08:00 pm (UTC)Also thanks for the screencap!
Also also? The line 'Cameron (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) has just gotten blown off by Bianca and Michael' killed me, because the way I read it first was that Cameron had been blown by Bianca and Michael lol Then I realised I needed to read the rest of the sentence lol Which btw, create some really sweet imagery, so it was all right *g*
Re: The shit hath hittith the fan...
Date: 2005-05-02 08:06 pm (UTC)I am so a pimp when it comes to stuff I love. I have this impulse to make everybody watch the movies or shows I like, it's a sickness really. *L* I've been trying to get my friend Sean to read slash too. :)
Also thanks for the screencap!
You're welcome.
the way I read it first was that Cameron had been blown by Bianca and Michael lol
Well I think that would be a bit much for a teen romantic comedy.
Re: The shit hath hittith the fan...
Date: 2005-05-02 08:07 pm (UTC)completely 100%relate here lol You have to spread the love, that's what I always say *g*no subject
Date: 2005-05-01 04:41 pm (UTC)And I'm glad you've received the DS CDs! I've also realised there are other episodes(not 15 but 24 episodes! yay!) but I still haven't downloaded them.
no subject
Date: 2005-05-01 06:59 pm (UTC)I have quite a lot to catch up with atm, so I won't go into withdrawal too soon *g* Also, I burnt the first two episode of Numb3rs for you, will send them this week.
no subject
Date: 2005-05-01 06:24 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-01 07:02 pm (UTC)And you know, I'm not surprised. I had the feeling this episode would disappoint some viewers - it did seem different somehow. And I'm waiting for the CBS site to upload the trailer so that I can see what it is about... though I did that for last week's episode and got the wrong impression about it, so maybe I should wait lol Oh well *shrug*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-01 09:34 pm (UTC)I haven't seen the episode yet as it seems a little silly downloading new stuff when I'm trying to burn the old but man, I want to see! I'm consoling myself with your posts as you always do such a kick ass job of reviewing. Though most people seem to dislike the episode so it'll be interesting to see if I'm the same.
no subject
Date: 2005-05-02 04:47 am (UTC)Try to catch up sis, cause... cause everyone should always catch up with Numb3rs episodes, is all *is obsessed* I'm not surprised people got disappointed, really not - just happy I'm not one of them lol
no subject
Date: 2005-05-01 11:54 pm (UTC)Can I just say that I love, love, love this show? *bg*
They were evil to take Terry away from us - maybe it's one of those where the actress needed time off or something? She is one of my favorite characters, too - she so compassionate to the victims, have you noticed? Like she isn't afraid that just because she's a woman she can't show that depth of feeling.
Yes! I wasn't exactly disappointed in the episode, but I expected it to be different, too. BUT what I've noticed about this show is that they don't skimp on the relationship scenes - like if we're having a Larry and Charlie conversation, we get the full exchange, not three lines and out. Charlie musing about science and having a family, David telling the story about his sister - all long enough - I didn't feel cheated.
Completely. *bg* And I believe Peter McNicol's portrayal 100% - his mannerisms, pattern of speech - I'm buying it all, the whole quirky-genius act. *bg*
I'm just going to squee with you on 6, 6b and 7.... *bg*
Angst-chocolate! G and I were watching together, and after Alan (Alex? what is his name?) told Charlie that the separation was hard on them and there was irrational jealousy, G says,"But don't feel guilty or anything, son." I had to re-watch b/c I lost the moment. *bg* Charlie keeps getting wake-up calls about his world, doesn't he? *g*
</i? OMG yes! I want those details! Now I have a question. Has it ever been said if they were estranged as in big-fight-never-speak-to-me-again estranged, or was it slowly-drifting-apart-lives-going-their-separate-paths estranged? I'm downloading all the episodes and plan to re-watch, but I'm curious if you know. *sigh* *loves new show* (Once again, I am going for the longest comment award, apparently. *bg*)
Part 2 of impossibly long comment
Date: 2005-05-01 11:58 pm (UTC)Love,love,love this show.
Re: Part 2 of impossibly long comment
Date: 2005-05-02 05:06 am (UTC)And you know it's funny because in my "A Different World" fic? I put their enstrangement on the count of them finally admitting to themselves they're attracted to each other and kissing for the first time and suddenly feeling like they just can't start a relationship and everything, and of course within the context of my story, it worked - well, obviously I thought it did, but I keep thinking their drifting apart had to do with their differences and the way they didn't live in the same world. And maybe Don needed some time alone from his Brother The Genius and wanted to make a life of his own without his bro's shadow... and maybe he lost himself in it. And since Charlie might have been lost in his own world, well neither of them were there to at least meet half way.
In any case, it's intriguing and I hope they'll tell us more one of these days *g*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-02 04:59 am (UTC)Re: Terry. Oh yeah I certainly did! She's compassionate and always paying attention to what is happening around her. And it's not just the victims, I love how she is with Charlie too. And yes, I love how she's not afraid to feel that way for people - it's really a strength, not a weakness and I'm glad they're showing it here.
Re: the relationship themes, I love them so much it's not even funny! This is one of the strongest points in that series, IMHO, and why I love it so much. It's not just a cop show, it's so much more than that, and yeah of course the cases they work on are important, without them there's no starting point and it's a catalyst for everything, after all it is a cop show but to another level. And what is interesting is that they don't just focus on the Eppes family, like they would in any other show, but also on the peripheral characters and those convo Charlie has with Larry are a wonder *g* I love them to pieces.
And I believe Peter McNicol's portrayal 100% - his mannerisms, pattern of speech - I'm buying it all, the whole quirky-genius act.
I hear you! You know, I already love Peter McNicol in Ally McBeal, he happened to be one of my favourite characters, but though I liked that series I didn't, you know, worship it or anything, so with Numb3rs it's a tad different, of course and just... his character? Is fucking brilliant!
That's Alan. For once, no Alex in sight, which for an American show seems quite incredible - no Alex nor Jack. Wow lol The jealousy thing had me perk up because hel-LO angst alert, angst alert! lol
Charlie keeps getting wake-up calls about his world, doesn't he? *g*
He does, poor guy. Though I liked how Alan reassured him and said that Don hadn't known either. Now, the real question is did Don really ignore about it or not? It actually gave me some lines for an eventual third fic lol
no subject
Date: 2005-05-03 03:41 pm (UTC)It definitely was different, and I think that's what I liked about it. It's my favorite episode so far.
I loved Scott's character, and not only because he is played by Joseph Gordon-Levitt, who I fell in love with in Mysterious Skin. (Oh, and by the way, if you have any chance to see it, I'm very highly recommending this movie to you, it's, with de Battre Mon Coeur s'est Arrêté, the best I've seen this year. I think you can still catch it at MK2 Beaubourg)
And I really liked that Scott chose to sacrifice himself for the future generations in his neighborhood and in extension, all poor neighborhoods. I mean, he probably had conversations with what's his name again ? anyway, the guy who got murdered, and tried to convince him that what he was working on was horrible, but obviously didn't manage to stop the guy. And he could have wiped out the research all he wanted, he couldn't wipe out the guy's brains, so I kind of condone the choice he made. Aux grand maux les grands remèdes. His cause was just.
The final confrontation with Charlie, indeed, was great. I loved the shadow of doubt and uncertainties dawning on Charlie's face.
And I think Larry's last sentence doesn't solve anything at all. A scientist does carry a responsability over his research. He has to weigh the consequences, at least the ones he can forcast.
no subject
Date: 2005-05-03 07:13 pm (UTC)Ensuite, "Sacrifice". It was different, wasn't it? And it's really a testament to that series that I loved it even though it was, theoritically, less than what I expected - it's just that like I said, there were way too many things in that storylie that were a hit.
Scott's decision to kill Hoke did come from a sense of sacrifice, which yeah, was the whole point of the story, and I'm usually a bit ruthless and think that if the cause is just, you can go to whatever end to accomplish what you want - at the same time, I can never really come to terms with the fact that a Good Cause is actually quite an abitrary decison and there are a lot of things outside my comfort zone and murdering someone, even for the good cause, is definitely one of them. Because in the end, it does condone murder indeed, but who's to say what cause is really just or not? What criteria decide what is what?
But you can't not understand where he's coming from, yes, which makes the whole situation so much sadder. At the same time, if someone were to follow with Hoke's equations it's also quite sad to imagine they could actually take into account his crime - this guy who was actually the ultimate proof that you could do something out of your life no matter your point of origin, who basically was the exception that could prove the equation wasn't valid - and after all, Scott wasn't the only guy who had the same background - was suddenly following the pattern Hoke described and proving his equations - it's like a sacrifice which proved more dangerous than anything with a potential for back-firing...
Anyway, this was quite a great storyline lol
no subject
Date: 2005-05-03 09:24 pm (UTC)Yeah, I know that any decision about what cause is just and what cause isn't is necesarily arbitrary, that's why I believe Scott should still go to prison for what he has done, but if I was in the jury, I would give his crime extenuating circumstances.
And I see your point about proving the theory, I do. Still, the murder doesn't erase Scott's talent as a scientist, his intelligence and the fact he could only come that far thanks to government aid, but it certainly does weigh heavily on the Hoke equation side of things.
Ah, tough question, that one. That's another reason why I really loved this episode.
no subject
Date: 2005-05-04 09:08 pm (UTC)It was a great episode for all the reasons we mentioned, I totally agree *g*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-04 08:38 pm (UTC)even when Numb3rs doesn't exactly meet my expectations, it still makes me fall in love with it all over again.
As our American friends say, 'Word.' ;-)
You make an excellent point about Larry.
re: #5 I thought it was sad too. Very sad, as from the beginning I was quietly begging "please don't make Scott the killer!" I sort of suspected it, though, but it made me even more sad.
Charlie angst! :D The whole thing reminded me a little of Jarod and his angsting about the bad purposes for which his talent had been used. Well, sort of.
*nods madly to #8 and #8b*
*and another nod to the 'Jaffa joke'* I mean, I get it, but was "buh? Oh, that! Aah, ha-ha!" at first.
I re-(re-)watched Sniper Zero too, in search of the icon muse... Yep, I still get all 'Squee!' when Edgy enters the scene :D
no subject
Date: 2005-05-04 09:06 pm (UTC)Re: Larry, thanks *g* I watched the pilot again the other day and it really struck me. Like, it was right there, from the start.
I know about Scott, I mean they were setting him up from the start I think, like for instance the immediate bonding? It just tasted like betrayal in the making - and did you notice how similar Charlie and Scott looked? It was as if they'd done that on purpose, to make Scott's behaviour even harder for Charlie later on. Well, that's how I saw it, I mean *g*
Hey yeah, there's some Jarod angst vibes in that, I agree *g*
"Sniper Zero", man that episode is so fucking good there's no word for it lol
no subject
Date: 2005-05-04 09:24 pm (UTC)I did! I forgot to mention it in my comment, though it was one of the first things on my mind *g*
And yeah, we usually don't get gratuitous bonding in our TV shows *sighs*
(The Edgerton-interaction wasn't quite bonding[1], even if he insisted on his similarities with Don - more like competition, taunting - and we like it like that :D)
[1] I said bonding, not bondage. Ok? :P
no subject
Date: 2005-05-05 04:11 pm (UTC)I said bonding, not bondage.
Spoilsport!
no subject
Date: 2005-05-05 07:01 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-05 09:14 pm (UTC)