Okay. Started my download this morning, left the house thinking of aforementioned download, survived the cold and the rain and came back to Teh Reward, namely "Noisy Edge" being all completed and pretty for me. Sometimes, life is nice to you for no particular reason *nods wisely*
Numb3rs 1x12 aka When Numb3rs Meets X-Files. Only Not.
So first two quick observations, and I'm going to pull a Lost here, so be warned:
#1- Where the hell isRose Terry! This isn't amusing me anymore, where the hell is she? *feels sad* And not even a glimpse of her this time - this doesn't bode well. Was Sabrina Lloyd working on something else or was she taking some personal time? Not that it's any of my business, but I so miss her! Come back, Terry. Please? *puppy+bambi look*
#2- OMG Golf Course!
#2b- And now I'm having some silly xover ideas:
Charlie P: I'm taking Charlie on my team. He's a math genius, it'll give him an edge.
Charlie E: *cocks his head to the side slighly and briefly strokes his ear with a finger* Well see, as a matter of fact, it won't. I learnt the hard way that balls don't follow the same rules of physics as other objects.
Charlie P: Bollocks - you'll do fine, you're on my team *turns to Hurley* Sorry Hurley.
Hurley: Dude!
Yeah anyway, after Lost and Numb3rs, I decided to make of golf my FDR - ie my Favourite Dorky Reference - by default. There.
Second, since so many fans are drawn to Numb3rs for the characters and the dynamic between them as opposed to the cases the FBI is working on per se - and in particular the Don-Charlie team [outside work but also at work] I hope TPTB won't keep them separated more and more with each new episode. Not that I'm suddenly finding those scenes lacking, but the last two episodes seem different somehow from the previous ones and I just love seeing Charlie and Don work together - well, I love seeing them together, period, and I get my wish a lot, so no, not complaining... but if that happened? I wouldn't be a happy camper - I mean, technically maybe it would be more realistic if we did somehow, but man, I don't care, I want the Eppes team all the time *nodnod*
Having said that, I did get a lot of great scenes between pretty much all my favourite teams so yay! And this brings me to my third point:
a) The Eppes Family. Is it possible to keep falling in love with the three of them? I mean, I'll watch an episode and think, this is it, this time I won't love them much more than that because it's not possible, then a new episode happens and OMG no, my love for them, it grows again!
#1- The first Don-Charlie scene. Killed me dead! We're like, twenty seconds into the episode - tops - and I'm already deep in fangirl mode, squeeing and bouncing, and thinking I may not survive too many scenes like that because it's so sweet there's no word for it! It's just so... so them and so domestic and so *dies* Yeah. I liked it. A lot. And there was daddy!Eppes talk and it was even cuter.
#1b- The scene at Charlie's office. So I could have done without the Eye Rolling Amita reference - will talk about that later - but it was a cute scene anyway, cause I just enjoy it so much when they're chatting and bonding and being all brotherly towards each other.
#1c- How much does Don trust Charlie btw? Charlie might always be seeking his big brother's approval but Don already trusts him a lot. Charlie just needs to trust his relationship with his brother a little more, maybe? Not that I'd want to lose the insecureseekingapproval!Charlie theme because I truly love it, but still...
#2- The whole Golf thing - was cute beyond the telling of it. And not just cute but Meaningful and Deep too. Like it's quite funny at first - well not just at first, admittedly, but it's mostly funny at first - with daddy!Eppes trying to teach Charlie how to play golf and Charlie being all bratty and cranky because sadly, math doesn't give him an edge this time and how dare math not give him an edge, anyway - and since I'm here, his whiny the ball has to follow the rules of physics like any other object line cracked me up like you wouldn't believe. And I just... I love how he thinks, you know? If the ball is being stubborn and if it's not following the rules of physics and if it's messing up with everything and if I can't find it then I need to look elsewhere because it'll be where I'm not expecting it to be and okay, so it wasn't Charlie's ball but still, just loved the whole thinking process *g*
Yeah anyway, where was I? Oh yeah, it's mostly funny at first but then it becomes So Much More, and btw? Thank you, Don, for enlightening clueless!little bro - because it would have been so sad if Charlie had indeed quit. But he didn't and then oh my, they were both playing golf with daddy!Eppes and Charlie was being sweet to his dad and telling him he liked golf after all and that he was a great teacher and making daddy!Eppes so happy and just... *happy sigh* Loved that scene.
It also gave us some more background info on Charlie's education/childhood and the impact on his parents. Having a kid who always understands everything at once and whose intellect beats yours must be a little painful - I mean, being robbed from the joy of teaching your kid must be a little sad - glad he got to remedy that, even a little bit *hugs daddy!Eppes*
Loved Don's own happy smile and approving look he gave Charlie too. That was just a beautiful scene, period *g* They make such a great them those three, don't they? There's so much love here - and I also feel happy for Alan when they're doing things just the three of them because it's like he's finally having his sons back. And really, after losing his wife, that was the best thing that could happen.
Man, The Eppes Men, they bring out my inner sap big time!Not that my inner sap is exactly hidden either, mind you *cough*
b) With the Eppes family scene, I also had some lovely Geeky Trio scenes and that's always of the good - know what? Each time Larry is in the room and each time he opens his mouth, I, like, lean a tad more towards the screen because I don't want to miss a single word coming from him. I love him that much and he's just... I wouldn't mind making of him my guru. I'm just sayin'.
Speaking of which and this is my fourth point it seems - the Big Eye Rolling Moment, which yeah is the Amita/Charlie thing. So. First, let me say that I actually cheer on Amita's action because here is a woman who obviously knows what she wants - I'm talking about Charlie, since it's obviously what TPTB wants us to believe - and who's not afraid of actually taking the first step, as small as it is. She's not one of those women who, say, would be whining about the clueless/shy guy they have a crush on in their LJs but who wouldn't ever do a thing about it - no, she's doing something. She's more or less taking things into her hands - and it's actually sweet and, not subtle, but just... slow and sweet. So yeah, nothing against Amita here, technically I quite liked her decision, and btw? A second PhD? *dies* So yeah, I happen to like her a lot.
But.not.with.Charlie.
Damn, I'm sorry but I just can't picture them together. No, just no. Goods friends? Oh yeah, definitely works, but more than that? It doesn't compute. And no, don't even bother mentioning the slasher in me, I happen to watch my shows without my slash goggles on - I only put them when I'm back on-lineor when they do episodes likes "Sniper Zero" which advertises it all over the place so it doesn't have anything to do with that. Actually, I like the idea of Terry/Don because it works for me. Not that I'd ask for it, but I can see it. Here? No, I don't. Amita/Charlie? *looks right and left in the room* Where? Not that this is a stupid pairing - I don't even think it is - it's just that I can't think of them together that way.
So please, don't do that?
I never saw a pairing as something that could really bother me per se - like, in Lost? The Pairing That Was just made me roll my eyes and laugh because OMG so not working, but I didn't care - Jack/Kate? Would bore me, but why not? In SG, Jack/Sam? Would make me lose faith in love but man, it's their show not mine, they do whatever the hell they want - but not Amita/Charlie, all right? Thanks.
Having said that... Charlie's reaction was fucking cute and trying to imagine him starting a relationship with Amita is... quite the experience, actually. His admitting that he's 'happy' about Amita not going anywhere seemed to say a lot while not saying much. Whenwe people talk about social inadequacy re:Charlie, I have to say this particular moment gives us them ammunition, because wow. I wonder how that would work out... but no don't tell me, and even better yet, don't show me either, all right?
*pulls self together* Yeah, anyway - I loved the Eppes Men moments and the Geeky Trio moments and let's focus on those, all right? lol
Oh a last thing: I really love their guest stars *g*
I can't believe there's only one episode left *sobs* And Lost is also coming to an end, and boy what am I going to download on a weekly basis after that? Only no, I know what I'm going to download because QAF S5 starts in two weeks OMG! And I'm also looking forward to SG S9 in July. You don't care, but this is quite exciting, because I had to rely on the generosity of
lerefuge to get the episodes before, but now I'll just download them as they appear, yay!
Numb3rs 1x12 aka When Numb3rs Meets X-Files. Only Not.
So first two quick observations, and I'm going to pull a Lost here, so be warned:
#1- Where the hell is
#2- OMG Golf Course!
#2b- And now I'm having some silly xover ideas:
Charlie P: I'm taking Charlie on my team. He's a math genius, it'll give him an edge.
Charlie E: *cocks his head to the side slighly and briefly strokes his ear with a finger* Well see, as a matter of fact, it won't. I learnt the hard way that balls don't follow the same rules of physics as other objects.
Charlie P: Bollocks - you'll do fine, you're on my team *turns to Hurley* Sorry Hurley.
Hurley: Dude!
Yeah anyway, after Lost and Numb3rs, I decided to make of golf my FDR - ie my Favourite Dorky Reference - by default. There.
Second, since so many fans are drawn to Numb3rs for the characters and the dynamic between them as opposed to the cases the FBI is working on per se - and in particular the Don-Charlie team [outside work but also at work] I hope TPTB won't keep them separated more and more with each new episode. Not that I'm suddenly finding those scenes lacking, but the last two episodes seem different somehow from the previous ones and I just love seeing Charlie and Don work together - well, I love seeing them together, period, and I get my wish a lot, so no, not complaining... but if that happened? I wouldn't be a happy camper - I mean, technically maybe it would be more realistic if we did somehow, but man, I don't care, I want the Eppes team all the time *nodnod*
Having said that, I did get a lot of great scenes between pretty much all my favourite teams so yay! And this brings me to my third point:
a) The Eppes Family. Is it possible to keep falling in love with the three of them? I mean, I'll watch an episode and think, this is it, this time I won't love them much more than that because it's not possible, then a new episode happens and OMG no, my love for them, it grows again!
#1- The first Don-Charlie scene. Killed me dead! We're like, twenty seconds into the episode - tops - and I'm already deep in fangirl mode, squeeing and bouncing, and thinking I may not survive too many scenes like that because it's so sweet there's no word for it! It's just so... so them and so domestic and so *dies* Yeah. I liked it. A lot. And there was daddy!Eppes talk and it was even cuter.
#1b- The scene at Charlie's office. So I could have done without the Eye Rolling Amita reference - will talk about that later - but it was a cute scene anyway, cause I just enjoy it so much when they're chatting and bonding and being all brotherly towards each other.
#1c- How much does Don trust Charlie btw? Charlie might always be seeking his big brother's approval but Don already trusts him a lot. Charlie just needs to trust his relationship with his brother a little more, maybe? Not that I'd want to lose the insecureseekingapproval!Charlie theme because I truly love it, but still...
#2- The whole Golf thing - was cute beyond the telling of it. And not just cute but Meaningful and Deep too. Like it's quite funny at first - well not just at first, admittedly, but it's mostly funny at first - with daddy!Eppes trying to teach Charlie how to play golf and Charlie being all bratty and cranky because sadly, math doesn't give him an edge this time and how dare math not give him an edge, anyway - and since I'm here, his whiny the ball has to follow the rules of physics like any other object line cracked me up like you wouldn't believe. And I just... I love how he thinks, you know? If the ball is being stubborn and if it's not following the rules of physics and if it's messing up with everything and if I can't find it then I need to look elsewhere because it'll be where I'm not expecting it to be and okay, so it wasn't Charlie's ball but still, just loved the whole thinking process *g*
Yeah anyway, where was I? Oh yeah, it's mostly funny at first but then it becomes So Much More, and btw? Thank you, Don, for enlightening clueless!little bro - because it would have been so sad if Charlie had indeed quit. But he didn't and then oh my, they were both playing golf with daddy!Eppes and Charlie was being sweet to his dad and telling him he liked golf after all and that he was a great teacher and making daddy!Eppes so happy and just... *happy sigh* Loved that scene.
It also gave us some more background info on Charlie's education/childhood and the impact on his parents. Having a kid who always understands everything at once and whose intellect beats yours must be a little painful - I mean, being robbed from the joy of teaching your kid must be a little sad - glad he got to remedy that, even a little bit *hugs daddy!Eppes*
Loved Don's own happy smile and approving look he gave Charlie too. That was just a beautiful scene, period *g* They make such a great them those three, don't they? There's so much love here - and I also feel happy for Alan when they're doing things just the three of them because it's like he's finally having his sons back. And really, after losing his wife, that was the best thing that could happen.
Man, The Eppes Men, they bring out my inner sap big time!
b) With the Eppes family scene, I also had some lovely Geeky Trio scenes and that's always of the good - know what? Each time Larry is in the room and each time he opens his mouth, I, like, lean a tad more towards the screen because I don't want to miss a single word coming from him. I love him that much and he's just... I wouldn't mind making of him my guru. I'm just sayin'.
Speaking of which and this is my fourth point it seems - the Big Eye Rolling Moment, which yeah is the Amita/Charlie thing. So. First, let me say that I actually cheer on Amita's action because here is a woman who obviously knows what she wants - I'm talking about Charlie, since it's obviously what TPTB wants us to believe - and who's not afraid of actually taking the first step, as small as it is. She's not one of those women who, say, would be whining about the clueless/shy guy they have a crush on in their LJs but who wouldn't ever do a thing about it - no, she's doing something. She's more or less taking things into her hands - and it's actually sweet and, not subtle, but just... slow and sweet. So yeah, nothing against Amita here, technically I quite liked her decision, and btw? A second PhD? *dies* So yeah, I happen to like her a lot.
But.not.with.Charlie.
Damn, I'm sorry but I just can't picture them together. No, just no. Goods friends? Oh yeah, definitely works, but more than that? It doesn't compute. And no, don't even bother mentioning the slasher in me, I happen to watch my shows without my slash goggles on - I only put them when I'm back on-line
So please, don't do that?
I never saw a pairing as something that could really bother me per se - like, in Lost? The Pairing That Was just made me roll my eyes and laugh because OMG so not working, but I didn't care - Jack/Kate? Would bore me, but why not? In SG, Jack/Sam? Would make me lose faith in love but man, it's their show not mine, they do whatever the hell they want - but not Amita/Charlie, all right? Thanks.
Having said that... Charlie's reaction was fucking cute and trying to imagine him starting a relationship with Amita is... quite the experience, actually. His admitting that he's 'happy' about Amita not going anywhere seemed to say a lot while not saying much. When
*pulls self together* Yeah, anyway - I loved the Eppes Men moments and the Geeky Trio moments and let's focus on those, all right? lol
Oh a last thing: I really love their guest stars *g*
I can't believe there's only one episode left *sobs* And Lost is also coming to an end, and boy what am I going to download on a weekly basis after that? Only no, I know what I'm going to download because QAF S5 starts in two weeks OMG! And I'm also looking forward to SG S9 in July. You don't care, but this is quite exciting, because I had to rely on the generosity of
no subject
Date: 2005-05-07 05:07 pm (UTC)I am happy you can get all the episodes you wish now, because I have been very bad at bringing them to you in a timely fashion ;) Have you gotten the last season 8 episodes?
no subject
Date: 2005-05-07 05:37 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-07 05:43 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-07 09:30 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-07 10:57 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-07 08:46 pm (UTC)Are you kidding? You've been fantastic with the whole sending the episodes thing! I was so very grateful, girl, so very grateful *g* And yes, I managed to get my hands on some of the last episodes - besides S8 is airing atm, and okay it's not in English, but still, it's okay with me *g*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-07 05:34 pm (UTC)The first scene, what a great debut for the episode :D Like you said, instant fangirl mode.
Thank you, Don, for enlightening clueless!little bro - because it would have been so sad if Charlie had indeed quit.
I loved that it was Don who told him this; it sounds like a Larry-thought, but in what concerns family, Don can bring Charlie with his feet on the ground too :>
My eyes are crossing from looking at the download bar for four hours (why did I never use BT before? Right, because of the firewall thing...) but basically my comment is one big "yes" for your points, especially 1#, a), the second 1# with subpoints and b)
I also agree that the last two episodes have been somehow different, but hey, we were anticipating a decline from the heights of 1x09 :P
*is in denial about there being only one more episode until who knows when*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-07 08:51 pm (UTC)Hee that moment? I was like, why do you think you'll lose your job over it? *blink* You'll just work with Fox Mulder, is all. Men are so clueless sometimes!
The first scene seems to have killed a lot of fangirls lol How could it not, really *dreamy smile*
Problem with eps like 1x09 is that most of the others pale in comparison lol But even if the new episodes had sucked - which was so not the case - we would still have 1x09 *happy sigh*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-08 12:04 pm (UTC)And she'll be pregnant when she comes back.Great Eppes content in this episode, anyway you take it ;)
no subject
Date: 2005-05-07 09:01 pm (UTC)I know you don't expect to see me here on a weekend, but I'm at the library today, so I thought I'd check in.
So, okay, I watched Numb3rs last night. Still feel neutral about it, but I'm willing to give it a try. Actually, I find the locales interesting since the show is set where I live and work. So ... when they were talking about the Staples Center being a possible soft target for a terrorist attack? The SC is six blocks south of my office. And the mysterious aircraft was first noticed from the San Fernando Valley? I live at the west end of the SFV. And if you were wondering what all that stuff was in Signal Hill (where they finally found the aircraft and the dead pilot), well Signal Hill is home to a lot of oil refineries. Wish they'd given the name of the golf course so I could have placed that for you. Tell me, do we know where the Eppes family lives?
no subject
Date: 2005-05-07 09:19 pm (UTC)I don't know how many episodes you saw and which ones those were, but the last two were somehow different than the previous ones, so if I were to pimp someone to Numb3rs, I wouldn't have started with the last ones.
Really? That's so cool lol Living in Choisy, I can't say we get series/movies set here - I can think of two scenes in two movies where they were in Choisy. Oh no wait, only one, the other was in Thiais... but they did film the scene at the mall where we all hang out all the time, so it still counts. Kinda lol
And I have no idea where the Eppes family lives. I'm not even sure they gave the address or the place - having said that, there's sometimes details I miss because without subtitles, some stuff are sometimes difficult to understand *g* But I'm not sure it came up at all.
no subject
Date: 2005-05-07 10:15 pm (UTC)Oh, btw, I've already seen a "turnip-head" icon, and an "Uncle Sawyer" icon. *G*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-07 10:56 pm (UTC)LOL I was wondering when those icons would start to appear *g*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-08 12:05 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-08 06:25 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-09 03:40 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-08 02:03 pm (UTC)First, OT - I have managed to download ALL of the episodes now! *bounces* I'm so happy about this I feel possessive. *bg*
*sob* I rewatched the opening credits to see if she was still in them. I agree with you that this doesn't look good. If she is in fact gone, they need to replace her with another strong female agent-type, I think - the Don and David dynamic is fantastic, but it's a little too much all guys all the time without her. :(
hee! My favorite parts of the show. I thought the are-you-happy-about-that scene was wonderful also b/c it showed how much Don wants Charlie to be happy. (no slash goggles either. ;) The very first scene ("I love that about you." *dies*; that scene; it's obvious that Don wants Charlie to do something for fun, to have a life, that his big-brother-protectiveness extends beyond keep-Charlie-safe to make-sure-Charlie-is happy. I love that!
Yes, yes! I thought of Lost immediately, too! hee! The golf metaphor! Sometimes it's obvious that wealthy guys write these shows, isn't it? :)
I join you in the disappointment about the Charlie/Amita pairing. I like her lots, too (what's not to like? *g*) but I fear we are in for a comic-relief, math-as-applied-to-romantic-relationships story arc. They are going to be all cute and clueless and inept. *sigh* One bright spot, though - if this show was on 10 years ago, we'd have The Girlfriend Inevitably Must Die story arc, so at least she isn't automatically doomed. *g*
One episode left! Did you get to see the preview of next week there? Don't worry - no spoilers. :) Let me know if you want to know what it was. *g*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-08 06:38 pm (UTC)Hail to you having downloaded all the episodes - what would we do without them! *clings*
the Don and David dynamic is fantastic, but it's a little too much all guys all the time without her. :(
I totally agree here. If TPTB think that Amita will be enough, they're sadly mistaken. I happen to like Amita a lot, but it's nothing compared to my love for Terry and I'm truly missing her.
Speaking of women in Numb3rs - I love how the aforementioned PTB include female characters a) quite often and b) at high level jobs too. Like the experts we're seeing coming and going in the show aren't all male characters, we get men and women alike, and it certainly makes for a nice change compared to, well, a lot of series out there, actually.
The family scenes or the friends scenes are such an important part of the show and really are my main attraction to it. If I want 100% case driven shows, I'll turn to CSI or, say, L&O, with Numb3rs I want more than that. They sorta created a new standard here, one I'm enjoying so damn much *happy sigh* I certainly don't want them to forget about it, though admittedly it's not happening anyway *g*
The golf metaphor! Sometimes it's obvious that wealthy guys write these shows, isn't it?
LOL I guess it is *g*
I really hope they won't get too far with the Amita/Charlie thing, though it's not exactly promising for us right now lol Damn that woman for being so fucking smart and sweet and assertive enough to actually take the first step lol
One episode left!
It's so sad, isn't it? *sob* And no, I didn't watch the preview yet. I always go to CBS after a few days to check it out, but I think it's not up yet... I'll go later, but yeah, did it look good? *bounce*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-08 06:59 pm (UTC)Yes, it's really noticable! I also find it refreshing that the women who do show up aren't all Barbie dolls, either - like the gallery owner in Sniper Zero - they look real. The FBI office personnel don't look like they're waiting to shoot a Gap commercial, either.
You think the family/friend interaction scenes have decreased? I thought so for sure in Dirty Bomb, but I thought this one and the one last week still had a lot of really good moments, but maybe there are less compared to the early episodes - I don't know. I wasn't really paying attention in the beginning. (Shockingly. *g*)
Maybe they'll forget the Amita/Charlie thing... or take it really slow. They'll probably start next season with her being Larry's thesis advisee *g*.
And the preview? Next week's episode looks pretty good. It also looks like they're gonna be evil, though, and leave us with a cliff-hanger to obsess about all summer. :) I'd like to know what you think after you've seen it. :)
no subject
Date: 2005-05-08 07:17 pm (UTC)Exactly! It's so refreshing, that! Another thing I like quite a lot *nodnod*
You think the family/friend interaction scenes have decreased?
Hmm no, not as such. I mean, "Dirty Bomb" did seem different enough in that regard - though even here, I really enjoyed the scenes we got - but we certainly had enough great Family-Friends scenes with "Noisy Edge", so I'm not seeing a new trend or anything. It's just something that... it's not that it worries me per se, cause hi, it's a tv show, but it's something I'm really hoping won't change, know what I mean?
Eeek you're making me quite impatient to get the preview! lol Hopefully CBS will decide to cooperate soon and will let me grab it *g*