No snow! I woke up this morning to the same ol' city without the slightest trace of snow even though they promised me announced some snow on Ile-de-France yesterday on the weather forecast. I just have the feeling it snowed everywhere but Val-de-Marne *pout* And they showed some pictures of Saint-Etienne and I'm ever so jealous of
french_hobbit now *is jealous* But I don't give up hope - we had snow on the 1st last year, we'll have snow this year on the 1st too - or sooner... or later, I'll take everything, kthxbai *is a true believer à la Mulder*
Okay so I didn't have time to watch ROTK:EE in the afternoon nor the evening yesterday due to an impromptu visit from one of The Friends so I watched it later, as in much later... which also explains why I went to bed at 5.00 am *cough* Or well, I was already snuggled in bed to watch it, but I went to sleep at 5.00 am. Same difference. Oh and I watched it in French! Twas the first time I watched one of the movies in French... or the second one, but I watched TTT with a bunch of philistines and didn't hear anything so it didn't count. Well, I really love the French version - love the actors they chose to dub our guys, they really have voices I enjoy really much. And for the record? Eomer is dubbed by the same actor who usually dubs Brad Pitt - love those little details *g*
So as per
babycakesin's orders, here my little recap.
But before I even start, let me just express one small complaint, because as brilliant and so very perfect the whole thing was, there's still a particular scene I was hoping to see and didn't get and... I sulked for, like, ten secs because I'd been really counting on that line. Cookies for the one who actually knows what line I'm referring to here. So... why oh why didn't they include the My lord, you called me. I come. What does the king command Aragorn/Faramir scene? Why? I was SO crossing my fingers for that one tiny little scene and... no, they didn't include it. Where has my beloved line gone??
Having said that, I don't hold a grudge because the scenes in the House of Healing were just... beautiful as they were and definitely a wonderful addition, and as shocking as it may sound to everyone who knows me even a little bit, I actually loved the Eowyn/Faramir scenes. Yes, I said that. What can I say, LotR brings out the hetter in me. I've rooted for Arwen/Aragorn from the start and I've melted at the oh so very sweet moments between Eowyn and Faramir in ROTK:EE, so there!
I may have melted so much more for Eowyn/Faramir as a matter of fact because, well a) Faramir is my favourite character ever in LOTR and b) as much as I love Arwen, I sorta worship Eowyn so this pairing is perfect enough as it is, ya know? *g*
And no, you won't see me start reading LotR het - Faramir still belongs to Aragorn or Boromiror both in fanfic. It's just one of those differences between canon and fanon that I don't have a problem reconciling at all *g*
Speaking of Faramir?As if you expected anything else, seriously! I'm really grateful to PJ for including a new scene between Denethor and Faramir because The Scene - which, as you all forgot by now [if you even knew in the first place] is the whole 'Think better of me, Father' scene - was made even more poignant thanks to the new one added before it. And since The Scene is the one that turned me into the Faramir fan that I am, well, I was thrilled to get more of it... I positively loved the Pippin-Faramir scene as well... and cheered when Pippin told Faramir he had strength too, just a different kind. Twas like when Sam told Faramir he was a man of highest quality - or something like that - and I was like, everyone sees how great you are, Faramir, see, see?? That little scene was really sweet and poignant too - I always ache for my boy, he's so lost and so sad and always looking for his father's love and approval and trying to prove himself and he's always found lacking... good thing the Fellowship is here to at least try to show him his own worth!
I know, I know, this movie isn't Return of Faramir so I did see the rest and enjoyed it, thank you very much lol
I finally got to see the Drinking Game scene, which Babycakes enjoyed so much and I laughed at Legolas' I think it's affecting me too. So Babycakes? Now I'll be able to appreciate your caps for the goodies that they are lol
The Eomer-Eowyn scene when he explains to her how war is a man's job - well, you know what I mean - had me bouncing on my bed - not always the easiest thing to do when you're sprawled like I always am btw, but hey, I'm a pro - because of course I was already anticipating Eowyn's departure with the rest of the men and kicking some major asses - you go, girl!
The added scenes weren't the only thing I enjoyed, far from it - and it felt really good to finally see the movie again. This trilogy is by far one of my favourites, after all - I say 'one of' because, hello, major SW fan talking here *waves* The original trilogy I mean, not the more recent one *shudder*
I still love Aragorn and Legolas and Eomer and Theoden... there's something about nobility - personality wise, I mean - which is very attractive. And the Hobbits are still sweet and funny and strong and so very brave... twas almost weird seeing Dom Monaghan playing Merry though, because it was the first time I watched ROTK since becoming a major Lost and Charlie fan and it was funny seeing him playing Merry.
Oh and a last thing... the beacon scene? Still makes me shiver. I just... I absolutely adore this scene. One of my favourite scenes ever - it gives me goosebumps and I couldn't being to tell you why, there's just something special about that scene. I love it *g*
I know I'm forgetting a lot of things, but I'm sorta in a hurry right now because I'm supposed to go to the movies with Rissy in a few and I'm sorta not ready at all *cough* But I wanted Babycakes to have her recap, so there.
Okay so I didn't have time to watch ROTK:EE in the afternoon nor the evening yesterday due to an impromptu visit from one of The Friends so I watched it later, as in much later... which also explains why I went to bed at 5.00 am *cough* Or well, I was already snuggled in bed to watch it, but I went to sleep at 5.00 am. Same difference. Oh and I watched it in French! Twas the first time I watched one of the movies in French... or the second one, but I watched TTT with a bunch of philistines and didn't hear anything so it didn't count. Well, I really love the French version - love the actors they chose to dub our guys, they really have voices I enjoy really much. And for the record? Eomer is dubbed by the same actor who usually dubs Brad Pitt - love those little details *g*
So as per
But before I even start, let me just express one small complaint, because as brilliant and so very perfect the whole thing was, there's still a particular scene I was hoping to see and didn't get and... I sulked for, like, ten secs because I'd been really counting on that line. Cookies for the one who actually knows what line I'm referring to here. So... why oh why didn't they include the My lord, you called me. I come. What does the king command Aragorn/Faramir scene? Why? I was SO crossing my fingers for that one tiny little scene and... no, they didn't include it. Where has my beloved line gone??
Having said that, I don't hold a grudge because the scenes in the House of Healing were just... beautiful as they were and definitely a wonderful addition, and as shocking as it may sound to everyone who knows me even a little bit, I actually loved the Eowyn/Faramir scenes. Yes, I said that. What can I say, LotR brings out the hetter in me. I've rooted for Arwen/Aragorn from the start and I've melted at the oh so very sweet moments between Eowyn and Faramir in ROTK:EE, so there!
I may have melted so much more for Eowyn/Faramir as a matter of fact because, well a) Faramir is my favourite character ever in LOTR and b) as much as I love Arwen, I sorta worship Eowyn so this pairing is perfect enough as it is, ya know? *g*
And no, you won't see me start reading LotR het - Faramir still belongs to Aragorn or Boromir
Speaking of Faramir?
I know, I know, this movie isn't Return of Faramir so I did see the rest and enjoyed it, thank you very much lol
I finally got to see the Drinking Game scene, which Babycakes enjoyed so much and I laughed at Legolas' I think it's affecting me too. So Babycakes? Now I'll be able to appreciate your caps for the goodies that they are lol
The Eomer-Eowyn scene when he explains to her how war is a man's job - well, you know what I mean - had me bouncing on my bed - not always the easiest thing to do when you're sprawled like I always am btw, but hey, I'm a pro - because of course I was already anticipating Eowyn's departure with the rest of the men and kicking some major asses - you go, girl!
The added scenes weren't the only thing I enjoyed, far from it - and it felt really good to finally see the movie again. This trilogy is by far one of my favourites, after all - I say 'one of' because, hello, major SW fan talking here *waves* The original trilogy I mean, not the more recent one *shudder*
I still love Aragorn and Legolas and Eomer and Theoden... there's something about nobility - personality wise, I mean - which is very attractive. And the Hobbits are still sweet and funny and strong and so very brave... twas almost weird seeing Dom Monaghan playing Merry though, because it was the first time I watched ROTK since becoming a major Lost and Charlie fan and it was funny seeing him playing Merry.
Oh and a last thing... the beacon scene? Still makes me shiver. I just... I absolutely adore this scene. One of my favourite scenes ever - it gives me goosebumps and I couldn't being to tell you why, there's just something special about that scene. I love it *g*
I know I'm forgetting a lot of things, but I'm sorta in a hurry right now because I'm supposed to go to the movies with Rissy in a few and I'm sorta not ready at all *cough* But I wanted Babycakes to have her recap, so there.
no subject
Date: 2004-12-28 12:55 pm (UTC)We've had no snow at all yet even though a white Christmas was promised. The weather people need kicking, really they do.
no subject
Date: 2004-12-28 05:56 pm (UTC)I saw some people in the UK getting a White Christmas and hoped you would belong to the group - too bad you didn't because SNOW! *pets you*
no subject
Date: 2004-12-28 02:31 pm (UTC)*excited* WHEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!! I have so much power, dude!
Actually in a way it's nice that they didn't include that particular line. Can you imagine the uproar in the movie theater? I mean, there's already slash all over the place - hearing Faramir say to Aragorn 'I come' would have been too much for poor slashers' brains! It's just an attempt to keep all of us alive.
I was worried about you and the Eowynn/Faramir but hurray you liked it! :D I just love her to pieces (from the books first, then the movie)
Wheeeee! The Drinking Game! You can count on me: my favorite scene in that epic, fantastic movie is a comic one *facepalm*
re: SW... what recent trilogy? Attack of the clones and the likes? *snorts* Puh-lease! Let's stay among real SW fans, shall we? *waves 'I <3 Han Solo' flag*
Aaaaaah the beacons... maaaaan! *goosebumps*
And what did you think about that scene with Saruman and Grima? I thought it was really great - and it was moving that Theoden was willing to forgive Grima.
Thanks for the recap, sweetie *smootches like crazy*
no subject
Date: 2004-12-28 05:58 pm (UTC)Oh yeah, the Saruman and Grima scene. I was really impressed with Theoden for being willing to forgive him. He's such a noble man that one - yes, that scene was moving alright.
Hey, you're welcome *bows*
no subject
Date: 2004-12-28 09:21 pm (UTC)Theoden is a great king - and boy do I love that moment after the beacons are lit when he says 'and Rohan will answer'!
no subject
Date: 2004-12-29 11:58 am (UTC)So yeah, as I was saying --damn, it's disctracting... wait, I'm going to preview the comment, it'll be black on white as it should be-- alright, I'm there : so yeah, the Boromir thing was new and really moving indeed. It also hurts because of the contrast in Denethor's behaviour, ie his coldness when he's talking to Faramir and his joy at seeing Boromir... fucked up guy, this one was *shakes head*
And Theoden is a GREAT king, oh yeah *nodnod*
no subject
Date: 2004-12-29 12:02 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-12-30 12:48 pm (UTC)RotK EE babble
Date: 2004-12-28 04:06 pm (UTC)Did you like the extra scenes of the Paths of the Dead, or whatever it was? I liked the Legolas-comfort of Aragorn at the end - plus the original made it seem too easy to get those ghost guys to help. I also liked the extended battle sequence (which is odd for me) b/c it also seemed a little too easy in the original for the dead guys to triumph. "We're here! We win!"
Feel the Eowyn-love, dude. She so totally rocks - "I am no man." There should be a t-shirt. Also, I loved Eomer's scene when he finds Eowyn on the battle-field.
Totally! I kept thinking, why is he so short? *g*
All in all, much coolness. Glad you're enjoying your vaca!
Re: RotK EE babble
Date: 2004-12-28 06:05 pm (UTC)Ghost: We won't come... oh and we'll kill you btw.
Aragorn: I'm the King! You'll come with me and fight.
Ghost: No.
Aragorn: Yes!
Ghost: Oh alright.
I mean, yeah real impressive! And the battle-field?
Soldiers: *fighting - dying - being so brave and going at it for, like, forever*
Battle: *almost ending*
Aragorn: *finally arrives, all vigorous and everything* I'm here! I'm the King! Battle? I'll keel u ded - end now!
Battle: *ends*
So of course I know it's not how it happened lol And yeah, I enjoyed it the first time but there was something lacking... which the EE filled, as was its purpose, but they did a good job *g*
no subject
Date: 2004-12-30 10:55 am (UTC)I do agree with the French version: it's good and not as frustrating as in other movies!
twas almost weird seeing Dom Monaghan playing Merry
Charlie is so much closer to Dom (as we see him in fandom anyway) than Merry is for me. I see Dom under Charlie, but not under Merry, i don't know why... :)
no subject
Date: 2004-12-30 12:47 pm (UTC)I see your point. I feel the same way. I can see Dom in Charlie --even though I'm not even a real Dom pro-- but I just can't recognise anything in Merry, which is funny because it's always funny when a character doesn't even slightly resemble the actor who plays him *g* This is why I always love seeing Michael Shanks, Christopher Judge or Hal Sparks in action - they're so fucking different from their characters that it's a real show in and of itself *g*