Let's start with a Happy Birthday to the lovely
yami_tai. You'll receive the e-card before the real-card because I suck at life and I seem to always be sending my cards later than late and I'm truly sorry *bows head in shame* But still, Joyeux Anniversaire to you, honey, hope you'll have a fantastic day *hugs* I also hope this year will allow us to meet again because I think about it a lot and would so love to do that again one of these days *kisses*
Then, let me thank all those who filled the questionnaire yesterday because eek, we [The Sis and I, obviously] got quite the nice sample - she was ecstatic. Also I can't help it if I looked smug when I gave her the results, but it's just that I've been raving about my flist [though I had people outside my flist who joined too, which was even nicer] for some time now and she received proof that I hadn't lied or obfuscated or anything, so you know, you rock lol Seriously, thanks *g* I had to play assistant and make a table and a chart and everything - twas quite interesting actually *g*
Now, remember that counter that lists the words you use the most? I used it again cause I wanted to check something and the results killed me:
20. charlie (169) - 21. don (163) - 97. numb3rs (37) - 49. brother (69) - 83. jim (42) - 89. blair (40)
Jim 42 and Blair 40? *blink* That is... so outrageous, OMG what did I do. Well no, I know what I did. But how did that happen? And when? And okay I know the answers to those too. Wow... there's something really wrong here - though never fear, I never give up an obsession for another, only add it to my long list of obsessions. But I thought to myself: self, you need to remedy it immediately because no, just no. Then I realised I wouldn't play at
sentinelsecrets this time around - just, 'song title' was mentioned and each time it is, my muses do a Houdini on me and disappear - and I thought, hell I need something. Then bam! The very first TS ficathon was born! Let's welcome
ts_ficathons in our ranks - and thank their creators. Also, there're two kind of ficathon, one I absolutely can't get into and one I usually think is nice, and lo! It's the latter. Greatness *g* Turns out the dates coincide with the end of both my finals and my concours, so I'm thinking hey, why not? [ETA: signed up!]
And btw, back to the list thing, as much as I love Jim - and boy do I ever - how come Blair comes after Jim? *frowns then snickers* Oh man, It sounds like a dirty joke: why does Blair come after Jim? Because Jim doesn't allow him to come before he does, of course.
Yeah anyway lol
Changing the subject here - and taking the risk to make the list worse - I watched some Numb3rs last night, namely "Identity Crisis", and I think I'm changing my mind about the Fingerprint Lady scene. Or not so much changing my mind, but being a little nicer on Charlie. What I mean is, the first time I watched that scene, I disliked the idea that TPTB would have Charlie always come up with an idea that even experts wouldn't - ie, I didn't want Charlie to become a Marty Stu and this scene seemed to go in that direction because hell, Fingerprint Lady did know her job and did everything according to her expertise.
I thought she had the patience of a saint not to really snap at Charlie and tell him to let her do her job, which yeah, she actually was damn good at, thank you very much. But after all, I think this scene was spot on because it's not really Charlie telling someone they might be wrong because he's so smart he can think way ahead of them - which admittedly, he's capable of, because hi, genius speaking there - it's really just Charlie trying to stretch a theory in order to give Don what he needs. So he comes off as stubborn and annoyingly insistant but of course he would, Don needs help and Charlie's doing whatever he can can to give his brother something to work on - so he's doing it for a good cause, the best in his mind, no doubt.
So yeah, I do understand what he's doing here and in the end, I don't find the scene weak anymore. What I don't get is why I didn't really see it the first time - maybe because I just didn't want the show to turn into Super Charlie Eppes Always Has The Right Answers show and I focused on that?
Anyway, now it's different - it doesn't change anything per se, like in the grand scheme of things, it doesn't register, but still lol
NOW the apotheosis of this post - and
simonesa, if you're reading this? You may be real proud of me - I actually found [via friendfriends surfing, hail to friendfriends surfing] an active torrent for Firefly! Yes, I'm downloading Firefly right now. Well to be exact, I started the download before going to sleep [around 2.00 am] and when I woke up I realised it had frozen... at 94.1%. Blimey! But I have hope it starts again soon *is hopeful*
Then, let me thank all those who filled the questionnaire yesterday because eek, we [The Sis and I, obviously] got quite the nice sample - she was ecstatic. Also I can't help it if I looked smug when I gave her the results, but it's just that I've been raving about my flist [though I had people outside my flist who joined too, which was even nicer] for some time now and she received proof that I hadn't lied or obfuscated or anything, so you know, you rock lol Seriously, thanks *g* I had to play assistant and make a table and a chart and everything - twas quite interesting actually *g*
Now, remember that counter that lists the words you use the most? I used it again cause I wanted to check something and the results killed me:
20. charlie (169) - 21. don (163) - 97. numb3rs (37) - 49. brother (69) - 83. jim (42) - 89. blair (40)
Jim 42 and Blair 40? *blink* That is... so outrageous, OMG what did I do. Well no, I know what I did. But how did that happen? And when? And okay I know the answers to those too. Wow... there's something really wrong here - though never fear, I never give up an obsession for another, only add it to my long list of obsessions. But I thought to myself: self, you need to remedy it immediately because no, just no. Then I realised I wouldn't play at
And btw, back to the list thing, as much as I love Jim - and boy do I ever - how come Blair comes after Jim? *frowns then snickers* Oh man, It sounds like a dirty joke: why does Blair come after Jim? Because Jim doesn't allow him to come before he does, of course.
Yeah anyway lol
Changing the subject here - and taking the risk to make the list worse - I watched some Numb3rs last night, namely "Identity Crisis", and I think I'm changing my mind about the Fingerprint Lady scene. Or not so much changing my mind, but being a little nicer on Charlie. What I mean is, the first time I watched that scene, I disliked the idea that TPTB would have Charlie always come up with an idea that even experts wouldn't - ie, I didn't want Charlie to become a Marty Stu and this scene seemed to go in that direction because hell, Fingerprint Lady did know her job and did everything according to her expertise.
I thought she had the patience of a saint not to really snap at Charlie and tell him to let her do her job, which yeah, she actually was damn good at, thank you very much. But after all, I think this scene was spot on because it's not really Charlie telling someone they might be wrong because he's so smart he can think way ahead of them - which admittedly, he's capable of, because hi, genius speaking there - it's really just Charlie trying to stretch a theory in order to give Don what he needs. So he comes off as stubborn and annoyingly insistant but of course he would, Don needs help and Charlie's doing whatever he can can to give his brother something to work on - so he's doing it for a good cause, the best in his mind, no doubt.
So yeah, I do understand what he's doing here and in the end, I don't find the scene weak anymore. What I don't get is why I didn't really see it the first time - maybe because I just didn't want the show to turn into Super Charlie Eppes Always Has The Right Answers show and I focused on that?
Anyway, now it's different - it doesn't change anything per se, like in the grand scheme of things, it doesn't register, but still lol
NOW the apotheosis of this post - and
no subject
Date: 2005-05-03 08:13 am (UTC)I'm still undecided about Sen Secrets this time, because I do like the challenge and do have an idea about what I could write but I suspect if anyone guessed the album they'd know it was me fast. Maybe I'll go and have a look at the new ficathon comm instead.
Random thought, won't Charlie consist of both Charlie lost and Charlie numb3rs? So that would mean you talk about Don more? ;)
Okay, going now *g*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-03 08:24 am (UTC)LOL I was already picturing myself doing a search at amazon to find all the albums you could have used, too bad *eg*
And OMG but you're right lol That may be it. Damn, and I didn't even think of that *blink* I wonder if there's a time limit or some sorts with the counter, because comparatively speaking, it's impossible that I talked more about Don and Charlie [and let's say it's just Charlie Eppes here] that I did about Jim and Blair - or is it? *scratches head* But wow... didn't think of that lol
no subject
Date: 2005-05-03 09:05 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-03 11:46 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-03 10:19 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-03 10:27 am (UTC)i think you're going to like it. (the seires, i mean)
no subject
Date: 2005-05-03 11:55 am (UTC)Really? If you think so, I might trust you - it's not as if I never rambled and rambled about my likes in dislikes around here, right? *cough*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-03 12:28 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-03 01:44 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-03 11:48 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-03 11:51 am (UTC)no time anyway. should work. ha!
no subject
Date: 2005-05-03 11:56 am (UTC)And yeah I know, good luck *cheers*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-03 10:19 am (UTC)Merci beaucoup! I am having a lovely day so far ^_^! And please don't worry about lateness... I am hardly someone who can criticise ^^;!
I also hope this year will allow us to meet again
Me too, me too! I still need to see Giverny and Versailles... not that I need an excuse to come and see you again, honey *kisses*!
Jim 42 and Blair 40? *blink* That is... so outrageous
*laughs* Poor Jim and Blair! I'm sure they'll catch up eventually but it just goes to show how addictive Numb3rs is! And I have still got your fics to read ^____________^!
no subject
Date: 2005-05-03 11:51 am (UTC)I trust my guys to catch up, indeed, and anyway, they know they're always #1, it's just they're closely followed by other guys. Usually they're mainly sharing with Jack and Daniel but these days, they have to make more room. Not that they don't like it, it's how it works in this household, we're used to it *is crazy*
No worries *g*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-03 01:27 pm (UTC)I was hoping you'd say that ^_~!
they know they're always #1
Ah, well, I'm sure that they will understand then, and as for having to share more gorgeous guys... somehow I don't think they are going to complain ^_~!
Btw, do you still want answers for your questionnaire? I only saw it this morning and I'm very happy to fill it out if you want more answers.
no subject
Date: 2005-05-03 01:43 pm (UTC)I was hoping you'd say that lol
I think we have enough people for now. She was hoping for twentish replies and she got twice as much *g* Also, I already written down all the data and stuff lol Thanks a lot though *g*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-03 11:08 am (UTC)Heh heh. Heh heh heh. ;-)
no subject
Date: 2005-05-03 11:51 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-03 07:11 pm (UTC)*bounce* I'm glad you like the idea of it. *g* Thanks for the pimp, and for signing up! A lot of folks have signed up after just one day. I'm so excited!!! *squeees*
(Just a little pimp of my own. *g*)
no subject
Date: 2005-05-03 08:45 pm (UTC)