castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Simon & River / naughtyelf)
[personal profile] castalie
Henry and I didn't feel like doing anything going out yesterday so we didn't go to the signing but I did something today, so go me. Btw, French Posse? Thanks again for going for Plan A and not Plan B *hugs*

So yes! Serenity has been seen! This afternoon with aforementioned French Posse - minus [livejournal.com profile] greedy_dancer because of a mix up. The girl must be cursed *feels sorry for GD*

All I can say about the film is I'm so glad I went into the movie spoiler free! It certainly made the viewing so much more intense - of course, there was this moment when I wondered whether I shouldn't have read every spoiler I could find because that way I would have known for sure whether everyone died or not and I would have been able to relax a bit. Maybe.

Because dude! I seriously thought at one point - read after Wash's death - that everyone was going to die! I mean, for real. And talk about a trauma. Losing Book was one thing. I felt sorry but - well, as much as I liked him I wasn't that invested in his character and anyway it's not as if we'd seen a lot of him in the movie so in a way... it was kinda shocking and sad but not traumatising per se. Wash's death now? Was traumatising! I couldn't believe it! It happened so swiftly too and just - NOT WASH OMG! I love Wash. I love Zoe/Wash, they couldn't do that to me! Except they did. Well Joss Whedon did - cruel, cruel man! Then during The Fight - I suddenly remembered that yes, Joss Whedon was the little guy behind the curtain and you couldn't trust him cause the man? Has a habit of killing his main characters without remorse. So suddenly I was truly worried. And I thought "He's going to kill Zoe, he's going to kill my woman beloved character. I just know it" And then I was going "He's going to Kaylee too!" and then "Omg he'll off SIMON AS WELL" and no, just no! So at that point I realised that in the end? He was going to kill them all and er that wasn't good. Also, I'm the sensitive kind on a good day, so just imagine my reaction today *shakes head* But the massacre stopped and when everything was over and done with I could finally breathe. But not a second before.

Scaring your audience like that should be illegal *is still traumatised*

There's another death I did not like - how dare Mr Operative do this? He killed Charlie Mr Universe! He wasn't my favourite guy before that but when he killed Charlie Mr Universe, he definitely crossed the line! Btw, speaking of David Krumholtz? He rocked! He was so great, I loved him. And we saw him more than twenty seconds too, so it was a wonderful bonus *is a happy fangirl*

Back to the rest of the movie - I really liked it and thought it was worth the wait. I'm not saying it was The Best Movie I've Ever Seen - but I did think it was awesome and good Firefly. Except when Book and Wash died, mind. I'll certainly wait for the DVD impatiently. And I'll probably look for a downloadable version in the meantime.

  • I loved that we saw Simon's rescue of River - I always wondered about that. And the Sibling Unit was a thing of beauty - I mean, I always loved the Simon-River relationship and the film didn't disappoint. They're incredible together.


  • I loved the humour - pure Firefly. Pure Joss Whedon, I guess *g*


  • The characters rocked and it was quite awesome to follow them once more. Even if some of them didn't make it.


  • Oh! And I enjoyed the first scene with Serenity - the ship, I mean. I thought it was one hell of a good moment.


  • And speaking of first scenes and good moments - er yeah okay, see, I've always been slashing Simon alternately with Mal or Jayne. And when I can't choose, I like a nice Simon sandwich and love seeing him with both. But the movie? Was 100% Mal/Simon to me. Well no, canon it still was Inara/Mal but fanon? Mal/Simon. Oh yeah. I'll have to see if I can find some post-Serenity Mal/Simon fics.


  • So all in all - me happy :-)

    Also flist? Would you be so kind as to link me to your Serenity reviews? Well, those who want to, of course. But I didn't bookmark them when you were all writing your reviews and I would enjoy reading them now, so if you feel like it, be my guest. Ta!

    Now I'm watching Cold Case [two episodes in a row, what a treat!] and it's a testament to how much I love that show that I'm watching it instead of Numb3rs - I still have to see "Calculated Risk" and "Assassin" [2x04 and 2x05] I'll have to treat myself with a mini Numb3rs marathon soon. Oh and I have to watch "Skin" [Supernatural] too and Lost. Well, I'll be busy this week, methinks :-)

    Date: 2005-10-23 09:07 pm (UTC)
    greedy_dancer: (Default)
    From: [personal profile] greedy_dancer
    bouhouhouhouhouh .... je suis maudite, c'est la lose totale. j'ai pas lu la review pour pas etre spoilee, mais j'espere que tu l'as assez aime pour revenir le voir avec moi? j'ai une copine qui est interessee (faut que je lui montre mes eps de Firefly d'abord), mais ces plans ont ete faits depuis tellement longtemps, ca me rend toute triste de pas les voir se realiser! :(

    (dis, si on se voit pas pour Serenity, y'a moyen qu'on aille boire un verre et que je t'emprunte tes eps de Numb3rs? impossible de les trouver online ... surtout maintenant que je suis offline!)

    Date: 2005-10-23 11:47 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Retourner voir le film avec toi ça ne me dérangerait pas, non. Maintenant, je dois t'avouer que mon côté asocial préférerait te laisser y aller seule avec ton amie si effectivement elle veut voir le film. Je suis pas trop à l'aise avec des gens que je connais ni d'Eve ni d'Adam et quand on est trois comme ça, j'ai peur que ça fasse un peu trop 2 + 1 - même si ça ne serait pas votre attention du tout, évidemment *is painfully honest*

    L'important c'est que tu ailles voir le film - c'est clair qu'y aller ensemble c'était un peu notre plan depuis, quoi, mai? Pfew lol

    On pourrait se faire un Starbucks? Et tu parles de quelle saison alors, la première? Je suppose que je pourrais te les prêter oui, si tu me fais le serment sur ta vie que tu protègeras mes CDs au péril, bah de ta vie, oui lol

    Date: 2005-10-25 09:43 pm (UTC)
    greedy_dancer: (Default)
    From: [personal profile] greedy_dancer
    bon, j'y suis toujours pas alle, donc il faudra voir ca la semaine prochaine - je rentre chez moi jusqu'a mardi la.

    je jure que Don et Charlie seront entre de bonnes mains! *main sur le coeur*

    Date: 2005-10-24 11:19 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] dont-callmebabe.livejournal.com
    Désolée qu'on se soies loupées...

    Suis partante aussi pour boire le verre (si c'est ok avec vous 2, off course)

    Date: 2005-10-24 12:14 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Ce serait okay pour moi - c'est toujours ça de gagné lol

    Date: 2005-10-24 12:51 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] dont-callmebabe.livejournal.com
    *happy dance*

    Date: 2005-10-25 09:42 pm (UTC)
    greedy_dancer: (Default)
    From: [personal profile] greedy_dancer
    ca serait vraiment cool!

    je suis toujours offline, et je rentre chez moi pour le week end, mais il faut s'organiser ca bientot!

    Date: 2005-10-26 09:31 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    On aura qu'à se faire ça la semaine prochaine...

    Date: 2005-10-24 06:18 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] french-hobbit.livejournal.com
    Coucou ! quand est-ce que tu reviens ? tu nous manques !

    Et pourquoi t'as raté le rendez-vous ?

    Date: 2005-10-25 09:40 pm (UTC)
    greedy_dancer: (Default)
    From: [personal profile] greedy_dancer
    je serai online ce week end depuis chez mes parents, et hopefully qd je rentre mardi prochain mon cable pourra etre repare ... moi aussi vous me manquez!!!

    en fait la veille du rdv y'a eu un changement de plans, certains membres voulaient voir un film au festival lgbt de paris, donc Mouse m'a transmis les emails et a 2h30 qd j'ai rendu son ordi a la pauvre [livejournal.com profile] clairegoeswest qui me l'avait gentiment prete, une decision n'avait pas encore ete prise ... ou du moins je le croyais. bref, next thing i know je recois un message de Babe pour me dire qu'elle est devant le cinema, et un appel de Mouse qui me demande si elle me prend une place, alors que j'etais chez moi a peine levee :(

    probleme d'organisation donc, mais hey, c'etait a prevoir! j'ai la lose qqchse de terrible ces temps ci ...

    Date: 2005-10-23 09:47 pm (UTC)
    crazybutsound: (crazy silly dork = me)
    From: [personal profile] crazybutsound
    Moi aussi j'ai vu Serenity ce weekend! Tu devrais être fière de moi, lol. Je ne serais pas allée le voir si il n'y avait pas eu de multiples mentions de Firefly et compagnie dans ton journal sur ma flist.

    As for a review... well, I haven't written mine really yet. I think I might, but right now I'm still undecided. I mean, on the one hand I loved it and want to see it again (though not in French because dear gawd, the dubbing was AWFUL), and on the other hand it left me hungry because there was so much missing from it. Basically, I thought it was a weak movie but I still loved it, which means any review I'm going to write is going to take time and give me a headache, lol.

    As for slash, though, see me? I so totally see the tension between Mal and Simon on the show. Can totally see it and all, but in the movie? There was zero sexual tension between any of them. Which was one of my complaints. I still very very very much enjoyed seeing Simon without his shirt on. Yum.

    And as for the killings? I cried for Wash and I cried when I thought everybody was going to die. I mean, like you said, it's Joss so it's not like I didn't think he might do it. Man, my poor little heart. On the other hand, killing them all off would have been gutsy and I might have approved. Still, I'm happier that he did not kill them all.

    Why do I not have a Simon icon yet? I shall have to remedy that soon.

    Date: 2005-10-23 11:52 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Je suis effectivement très fière de toi. L'osmose LJ fonctionne toujours à ce que je vois *g*

    Well see, that's funny cause if he had killed them all? I think I would have found it, kinda, I don't know - easy maybe, bordering on lame. Like, they're the Big Heroes all dying for the Good Cause, maybe even dying one after the other - exactly one after the other - the last one dying just in time to save the day, here to send off the signal. So in a way, to "only" kill Book and Wash was better to me - it also means Zoe and the other will have to survive their grief and go on, now feeling incomplete. It was even more painful that way. If it makes sense *g*

    In any case, we do agree that we're both happy that he didn't kill them all *is relieved*

    Why do I not have a Simon icon yet? I shall have to remedy that soon

    You should *nods*

    Date: 2005-10-23 09:48 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] ithiliana.livejournal.com
    Am a new fan, but did get through all the eps before seeing the film. (Can also recommend Kirby Crow's Mal/Simon/Jayne mixture although it's the television series not the film--it's at her slashgirls site. To die for).

    I'm interested in the language issues as well--esp. the extent to which the border characters' language includes Ozark usages ([livejournal.com profile] ozarque who is one of my favorite sf writers, Suzette Haden Elgin, just posted on Ozark English--she is native speaker, and linguist, and has used it in her sf to brilliant effect).

    And, oh, hell, I have no shame, I've started writing fic as well. Shameless self pimpage.

    "Hey, You!" which is Inara/Kaylee and Me and Mine" which is I don't know what but involves Mal, River, and Simon. More television series than movie (got to see movie twice--but damn it's left our area--but had only seen once when I wrote these, and have a slightly better grasp of eps). But the second one is all about leading up to that moment in the film when Mal goes back and picks River up off the floor of the bar. Because, OMG!!!!

    Not any adult rating yet--I have erm to get to know the characters better I don't go all the way on a first date er chapter and write up to that point.


    Date: 2005-10-23 11:55 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Thanks for linking me to your review, that was really interesting. I'll go and read your two fics later, thanks for that too - Inara/Kaylee is one of those pairings that are practically canon to me, I love them both dearly *hugs them*

    Thanks also for the link to [livejournal.com profile] ozarque, I think I'm going to learn all kind of interesting things, this is awesome.

    And I already know of Kirby Crow's Firefly fics - I even have my very own Kirby Crow Firefuly folder and all, I love her stories that much *g* Thanks anyway cause I'm sure I would have hated missing them!

    Date: 2005-10-23 10:34 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] dont-callmebabe.livejournal.com
    Btw, French Posse? Thanks again for going for Plan A and not Plan B *hugs*

    *hugs back*

    On remet ça quand tu veux.

    Moi aussi j'ai bien aimé ce film, même si je ne connaissais pas vraiment la série. *is sorry for both Charlie Mr Universe, & Wash*

    Date: 2005-10-23 11:56 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    On remet ça quand tu veux.

    Moi je suis partante *g*

    Faut que tu harcèles Catia pour récupérer les épisodes!

    Date: 2005-10-24 04:51 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
    a) what were plan A and B?

    b) OMG you finally have an icon like that!!!!

    Date: 2005-10-24 09:26 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    a) Plan A was Serenity and plan B was the avant-première of another film at the Festival du Film Gay et Lesbien, which [livejournal.com profile] moimoietmoi realised was showing on Sunday too. Except I didn't want to go so I told them we would be seeing each other another time, but they didn't want to hear any of it, so in the end, they came back to plan A *beams*

    b) Yes! And I made it myself and everything, isn't it the sexiest thing ever?

    Date: 2005-10-24 07:21 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
    a) *squee* they're the best! you got to see Charlie and all!!!

    b) *nods* it is, love... it is *blinks*

    Date: 2005-10-24 12:14 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    PUNKY BREWSTER ICON! *dies*

    just kidding

    Date: 2005-10-24 12:50 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] dont-callmebabe.livejournal.com
    *bouche à bouche*

    Date: 2005-10-23 11:59 pm (UTC)
    ext_1774: butterfly against blue background (Can't Stop -- Wash (by blackbauble))
    From: [identity profile] butterfly.livejournal.com
    All of the posts that I've made containing movie spoilers are here.

    I just... adore the movie. Saw it for the fifth time today and still freaked out at Wash's death (and Simon's near death, even though I know he won't die).

    Date: 2005-10-24 12:10 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Ohhh so many entries! I'll enjoy going through them, thanks *g*

    I couldn't believe it when it happened. I mean, I don't want to sound naive because technically I know those things do happen - in particular if we're talking about Joss Whedon - but I don't know, it happened so quickly and they gave us no time to really assimilate his death. I mean, it was done wonderfully - it hurt a lot.

    And it hurt a lot too when I thought Simon would die. I mean, for a second I started thinking that Zoe and Kaylee would maybe survive the thing and then bam! Simon was shot and I was telling myself it was him who would die next and just - well yeah, talk about a roller coaster! lol

    Date: 2005-10-24 05:20 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] fangirl1981.livejournal.com
    I feel your pain. I was very upset when Wash died and I didn't even watch the series. Also Joss has a tendency to kill of my favorite characters: Tara, Anya, Wesley, Cordelia, Jonathan.

    Date: 2005-10-24 09:29 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Wash was a wonderful character and Zoe/Wash was one of those het couples I root for in canon. His death was so fucking sad! And it happened so quickly and he didn't have to say goodbye and Zoe either and yeah, sadly those things happen but - it was just so sad *sigh*

    Yes, I'm still traumatised by the characters Joss killed in both Buffy and Angel...

    Date: 2005-10-24 06:24 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] french-hobbit.livejournal.com
    J'ai lu très en diagonale, pour pas être trop spoilée maintenant que j'ai décidé de regarder les épisodes de la série ;)

    Au fait, ils peuvent faire une suite (un Serenity 2) ou c'est fini-fini ? (comme j'ai cru comprendre qu'il y avait des character's deaths...)

    Ohlala moi aussi je suis à la bourre pour Lost !

    Mince, j'ai commenté en français... c'est de la faute des autres Frenchies au dessus lol

    Date: 2005-10-24 06:31 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Sans te spoiler de trop, disons que techniquement il reste assez de perso pour faire un Serenity 2 si Joss Whedon le voulait vraiment. Ce dont je doute, mais ça serait possible...

    J'ai l'impression que je vais jamais rattraper mon retard pour Lost, j'te jure lol

    Date: 2005-10-24 06:39 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] french-hobbit.livejournal.com
    Ah ben aussi, t'as décidé que Numb3rs venait avant, alors... :)

    Date: 2005-10-24 08:22 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    En même temps oui, faut bien avouer *g*

    Date: 2005-10-24 06:43 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] moimoietmoi.livejournal.com
    I really loved this movie! I'm sorry I couldn't stay after that for the Starbucks.

    Now, you were talking about Mal/Simon/Jayne on Sunday. Do you have any recs? *g*

    Date: 2005-10-24 08:21 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I'm sorry I couldn't stay after that for the Starbucks.

    I'm sorry too. Maybe next time *fingers crossed*

    As for the recs, I don't have specific fics in mind - I'm not in the fandom enough for that - but you could try those two writers:

    [livejournal.com profile] kirby_crow over at her site (http://slashgirls.tripod.com/firefly.html) and The Tenth Muse . Heed the warnings, though.

    You'll have to check the pairings...
    (http://www.madbrilliant.com/thetenthmuse1/firefly/firefly_main.html)

    Date: 2005-10-24 08:42 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] moimoietmoi.livejournal.com
    *crosses her fingers too*

    Thanks for the recs! :)

    Date: 2005-10-24 09:36 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    You're welcome - always happy to share the hotness *g*

    Profile

    castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
    Mouse

    January 2023

    S M T W T F S
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031    

    Style Credit

    Expand Cut Tags

    No cut tags
    Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 12:12 pm
    Powered by Dreamwidth Studios