castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Dean / slodicons)
[personal profile] castalie
Am taking a break from the washing & cleaning to cruise LJ and write an entry. Hi, people *waves* Also because a) TIM TAMS! I got Tim Tams in my mailbox today *smooches Babycakes* I've been dreaming of tasting those again and lo! It was there, just for me, so I wanted to make you all jealous, for I am mean like that sometimes *is mean* Thank you Babycakes. And the card? Was perfect. Christmassy!Newton on one hand and a funny us!reference on the other - you can't go wrong with that *loves* and b) I watched SPN and it had lots of nice stuff so I had to talk about it :-)

But first. DUDE! My file ended right at the moment when Sam answers the phone, shots up in bed and says "Dad". Is that the last second of the episode or did they rob me from a precious scene? Cause I didn't even get the first second of the ending credits like I usually do, so I don't know if it was the very last moment of the ep or if I missed something. In any case, woohoo cliffhanger!

Back to everything that came before that scene - Supernatural 1x10 - "Asylum".

Nicely creepy episode. Not to the extent of "Bloody Mary" - yes, I was scarred by that episode, why do you ask? - but creepy ghosts haunting asylums - or prisons or whatever - always work with me.

We also had my favourite themes in that episode, namely the daddy issue plus the brother issue so it was of the good :-)

Hey seriously, Dean is so the good little soldier - talk about having blind faith in your CO dad. I keep wondering what is the proportion of real faith and wishful thinking in all that, though. Each time he gets on Sam's case for doubting their dad, I wonder if it's because he's angry at Sam for not having faith in their father or if it's because he's angry at Sam for expressing the doubts he himself refuses to consider. It could be both, mind.

But there is something painful in Dean's belief that their dad is still alive no matter what, that - of course - they'll find him and hey maybe he'll even join them soon. And the text message just added to the feeling because it was like "Ha see? Dad is still following what we're doing, he's still watching over us." And Dean's line about how daddy!Winchester may be there when they'll arrive sounded kinda sad. Not in a pathetic way - but in a real sad way because for all Dean's cockiness, for all that we're supposed to see him as this tough guy, how technically he should be the most cynical of the two, here he is talking about an improbable reunion with his dad and as always when he talks about his father, there's this neediness that just breaks my heart. Oh my woobie!

Speaking of which, so Dean did tell Sam about calling their dad in "The Journey Home"? Nice touch.

Something else that was great was the whole brother issue which can be divided in two sub-categories as well, come to think of it: one which has to do with their father [Sam being Scully and Dean being in Mulder in that particular case] and the other which has to do with the siblings themselves and how Sam sees his brother. Which btw? Made me laugh a bit cause, like, Sam has all this rage inside him because of Dean's "bossiness"? Well sure! Because Sam has been so very submissive all this time, never bossying Dean himself - always doing everything against his will. Like I distinctively remember Dean dragging Sam along in the pilot and refusing to bring him back to his house when Sam asked him too - even though Dean needed him to come with him. And I remember Dean refusing and not caving in when Sam wanted to go and help his friend in "Bloody Mary". Also, Dean never ever followed Sam's ideas, not even once throughout the whole season, nor did he ever let Sam take the lead in the questioning witnesses and stuff. Just not ever - he always dismisses him. I can see why he would feel all this rage! Except for the part when I don't, no.

Which okay isn't really accurate because I do get the point - Dean is supposedly the one who calls the shots and I can see where the whole issue came from. Thing is, I've seen them as equals since day one so it amused me to see Sam's issues about the whole thing. I always have this image of quiet strength and maddening stubbornness with Sam. But anyway all that to say, okay I get it *g* And it also brought me the whole Pulls the Trigger moment which was of the good, too.

I have to say I really enjoyed the moment when Sam pulls the trigger that second time. With the supposedly-loaded gun. Because the first time wasn't that traumatising, or surprising for that matter. Considering it was salt in lieu of bullets and that it wouldn't have killed Dean, it was clear possessed!Sam was going to do it. But the second time, with Dean's own weapon, I didn't think it would happen. I mean, usually the whole "I know you love me and I trust you to be stronger than the evil spirit that took possession of you because of that love" always works. Which is so cliched and all but there you go - it's expected. Except SPN added a little twist here and when not!Sam did pull the trigger - well, it surprised me a bit, yeah. It also kinda hurt me on Dean's behalf. Not!Sam pulling the trigger of an unloaded gun didn't physically hurt, obviously - and btw? When exactly did Dean pull that off? - but the fact that it came right after Dean asked if Sam "hated him that much?" wad kinda painful. As if he didn't have enough issues already.

And this is also another reason why I liked that scene right after they left the Asylum because Dean didn't believe him when Sam apologised for what had happened and tried to explain that he never meant what he said, did he? And Sam saw it too. I mean, Dean looked... disappointed to me. Or maybe defeated somehow, I don't know. But he certainly didn't look like he was buying it at all. Actually he didn't even try to pretend otherwise. And Sam couldn't even try to convince him better as Dean effectively cut off the conversation. Would it have upset Sam enough to keep him awake that night? The knowledge that he'd hurt Dean? That and the fact that he - Sam - had big issues with his brother, issues he might not have wanted to acknowledge before. Or both.

Then we have the very last scene - I men, even if the file cut something, it couldn't be long - and daddy!Winchester called! I mean... okay so technically we don't have any proof he did, the only thing was saw was Sam being completely taken by surprise by the call and going "Dad" but seriously! And isn't that typical that Dean was sleeping and didn't hear this bloody mobile ring? Argh! But at that moment, the second we heard the "Dad" I might have squeed a little because eeek that was so brilliant! Also, will the call have something to do with the "Faith" storyline? Because that would be even more awesome, considering said storyline. [livejournal.com profile] katikat linked me to a detailed recap of the ep but I decided not to read it in the end because I want to go in there relatively spoiler-free. I know the gist of it and it's enough *bounces* Except for the fact that we have to wait til january to get it, of course. I hate every single hiatus my favourite shows are subjected to, man!

Some random stuff:

  • Dean is really into pop culture, isn't he? I don't count how many times he did a tv or movie reference. You would think he spent all his nights watching shows and then talking about them on his journal, I swear.


  • Sam's trip to the psychiatrist - you have to wonder what he told him exactly re: his feelings with "this brother he's road tripping with" I mean, if we got the short version with not!Sam, I wonder if he gave the long one to the doc.


  • Ghosts use mobiles! Wonder what kind of plan they have?


  • When Dean's flashlight died on him and he went "It's okay I have a lighter" my first thought was "Too bad you don't have new batter". So okay we know it didn't have anything to do with the battery itself but having a spare one wouldn't be amiss.


  • So yeah, that was nice. And I can't believe we'll have to wait til next year - well, january 2006 is next year, right? - to get the rest of the season. What about Numb3rs, then? *is worried* Although, maybe it'll give me the opportunity to catch up on Lost?

    Date: 2005-11-24 02:19 pm (UTC)
    ext_230: a tiny green frog on a very red leaf (balance)
    From: [identity profile] anatsuno.livejournal.com
    from what i read, numb3rs is not on hiatus (or not yet anyhow):

    2005-11-25 2x09 Toxin
    2005-12-02 2x10 Bones of Contention
    2005-12-09 2x11 Scorched

    *looks forward!*

    I have the same SPN file I think, stopping right after *soiler* *g*, and I didn't know either if it means I was missing a bit or not...

    Date: 2005-11-24 09:21 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    That's great news regarding Numb3rs, thanks for the heads up *g*

    Also, from another comment it seems the "Dad" moment was, indeed, the very last second of the episode so we didn't miss anything.

    Date: 2005-11-24 02:25 pm (UTC)
    crazybutsound: (supernatural sam and dean nag nag nag)
    From: [personal profile] crazybutsound
    I really loved that episode for all the reasons you've given and for one extra reason: the show has been so very good cinematicall speaking lately, I feel really spoiled and happy. I know, I know, you're going to laugh at me for being traumatized by that night-that-lasted-3-seconds scene in the bugs ep, but seriously, up until last week, and with the exception of the very first ep and the Bloody Mary one (though even that one wasn't perfect, just really scary), there were a lot of kinks in the storylines and the realization. With the last two eps... I'm seeing something better, a show that's really getting there and one I might even stop calling "bad" if it keeps up that way. Nothing would make me happier to see this mediocre but really fun show turn into a more than decent one. I so would love to be able to call it "good" for real, you know? So yes, that ep on top of last week's just made me really happy. Not to mention it totally creeped me out. :-)

    It's also reminded me that I need to get the pictures I took a couple of years ago in that old Hospice around here out again...

    Date: 2005-11-24 09:26 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    know, you're going to laugh at me for being traumatized by that night-that-lasted-3-seconds scene in the bugs ep

    As it happens I won't laugh at you because I'm still kinda traumatised by that scene too. It was beyond ridiculous and will certainly haunt a lot of us *nods*

    I'm seeing something better, a show that's really getting there and one I might even stop calling "bad" if it keeps up that way.

    I completely hear you and I'm glad you're seeing it that way. Also, I have to agree with you - there's something happening here and it almost feels like SPN found a missing piece somehow... or maybe they're still looking for it, but they're coming closer to the solution and it's making their show better and better *g* I can only hope that the next episodes will follow the pattern they set with the last ones. I have faith in "Faith" - sorry pun not intended - and I can't believe we'll have to wait so long to get it. Life for a fangirl is sometimes so touch *sigh*

    Date: 2005-11-24 05:43 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] wistful-fever.livejournal.com
    This episode...

    I was *proud* of this episode. That's weird, but through this episode I can tell this show is becoming itself. Does that make sense?

    Date: 2005-11-24 09:28 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Does that make sense?

    It totally does make sense! And actually, if you're curious and want to check out the comment [livejournal.com profile] crazybutsound posted, you'll see you're not the only who's thinking there's something great going on with SPN :-)

    Date: 2005-11-24 05:45 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] stone-princess.livejournal.com
    That was actually the last second of the episode, you didn't miss anything.

    Date: 2005-11-24 09:28 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    We didn't miss anything, then, great! Thanks for letting me know :-)

    Date: 2005-11-24 07:08 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] frayen.livejournal.com
    ::ignores the spoilers*

    I am not finding SPN to be scary, though there have not been any clowns in it yet. I am very afraid of clowns. The first few minutes of 'Prime suspect' killed me *g*

    But then I haven't watched 'Bloody Mary' yet, I am just about to though, i have all the eps downloaded, just gotta watch 'em now.

    I have to say that I love this show!

    What? Is it on hiatus now? *meep*

    Date: 2005-11-24 09:33 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    SPN is hitting on several of my fears so I have to say some episodes totally freak me out. And if they do a Clown storyline one day? I think I'll have to watch the episodes with my eyes closed *shudder*

    "Bloody Mary" really creeped me out, like really. This is one of my biggest fears so it was spot on, ya know? *g* I'm curious to see what you'll think of that one - and the others, of course *g* "Bloody Mary", "Skin", "Bugs", "The Journey Home" and now "Asylum" are my favourites. Then again, even with the episodes I liked least, namely "Wendingo" there was at least one brother scene that made it worht watching *g*

    I have to say that I love this show!

    Go you!

    What? Is it on hiatus now? *meep*

    Yes, it is sadly. "Faith" will air in January *cries*

    Date: 2005-11-24 11:28 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
    you received it! you received it! I was biting my tongue to keep the fact that I had sent it secret, believe you me! (and yeah, the card made me giggle *giggles*)

    *smootches like crazy*

    Date: 2005-11-30 10:10 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    I did! And wow you kept the secret all this time, Babycakes? I'm so impressed lol It was a great parcel to reeive, thank you honey *kisses*

    PS: I'll send you an email later today, alright?

    Date: 2005-11-30 10:13 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
    well, don't get too used to it, okay? Christmas is coming and you *know* I suck at keeping my mouth shut *giggles*

    mail received and read and I'll reply to it after sending my comments :D

    Date: 2005-11-25 05:02 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] veradeath.livejournal.com
    Does anyone have a text recap of 'Faith' that they might link me? Pretty please with gay,hot, incesty subtext on top?

    Date: 2005-11-30 10:09 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    With a request like that, how could I not try whatever I can to help you, right? lol

    Okay I have this link (http://loyalfans.net/j-forum/viewtopic.php?t=203&sid=49e3ed72bbf524e41d418a222142bcd4") which has a detailed recap of the episode. I didn't read it because it seems to tell everything and I decided I wanted to stay as unspoiled as possible for that episode, ie I know the gist of it and it's enough, so I'm linking it to you but be warned that it might spoil everything... dunno if that's what you wanted or not *g*

    Date: 2005-11-30 09:25 pm (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    You're welcome *g*

    Date: 2005-11-25 07:04 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] naeara.livejournal.com
    Guess what? Tomorrow night I'm watching my first episode of Numb3ers! Ok so I'm only watching because IMDB told me my boyfriend Connor Trinneer was in it but still...Numb3ers! Yay! I'm very excited. *G*

    Date: 2005-11-30 10:11 am (UTC)
    From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
    Watching a show - or an episode - because your boyfriend an actor you love guest stars in it is a valid reason to watch it lol So... did you enjoy it? *g*

    In any case, YAY you watched Numb3rs!

    Profile

    castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
    Mouse

    January 2023

    S M T W T F S
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031    

    Most Popular Tags

    Style Credit

    Expand Cut Tags

    No cut tags
    Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 12:12 pm
    Powered by Dreamwidth Studios