castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Chris / psylocke86)
[personal profile] castalie
I'm totally using my Charmed Amnesty Card today. Hey, since I have it and since I don't want it to go to waste and everything, I am going to use it and TALK and SQUEE about Charmed, yes I am! You can't stop me. But you can skip this entry, this is the bright side of LJ, you can ignore people when they've crossed a line you never ever wanted to be crossed. But hey, it'll be short. Because even in my fannish decline, I still refuse to, like, take notes for Charmed. I won't do it! Not yet.

So. In between everything I have to do these days, I still managed to watch a couple of Charmed episodes during the night, for everyone knows sleep is for pussies! And, seriously? It was a lot of fun. Chris just makes the whole thing so much more watchable but, even without him, the sisters just rock. In their own way. And I love their house. Also I don't know if I was just trying to justify myself or whatnot but the second degree really is everywhere in that show.

Yeah so anyway, I went through a couple of episodes - actually since I started writing this I've watched til the season finale so it's a bit more than 'a couple' - and, really, I had a LOT of fun.

Charmed, despite all its flaws, is a really sweet show and apparently I just can't resist family driven series, who would have thought? *rolls eyes* I can't resist siblings on a good day and here I have it doubled; the Halliwell sisters and the Halliwell brothers and, sure, technically we kinda see Chris only - apart from twice, I think? - but from the moment we get confirmation that Chris is Wyatt's brother, then it becomes a sibling thing all the way.

And, man, Charmed is a saccharine show but even then, when you think of it, it's lovingly dark. I mean, here we have a young man who lost pretty much everything he ever loved - mother, brother, nonexistent father - who lived in a dark and violent world led by his own brother, and who decides to risk everything - his life included - to travel back in time and save his brother, thus, okay, saving the world but it's just very personal.

I mean, this is powerful stuff, here. Not only that, but he's ready to go to any length to do so in a household where his own family sees him with distrust and, at the beginning, with dislike. Not that he doesn't gives them as good as he gets, but you know what I mean. Dude! It's so fucking sad. No, it is! He's completely alone in a world where he should be loved and accepted and he knows he has a mission and he knows that his mother will die and his mother dislikes him and his aunts as well and his father - well let's not even talk about his father. But Chris still fights and fights because he knows why he's here and it's to save everyone, no matter what. And no matter the cost.

I just love that.

Of course, s6 gets really interesting when Chris' identity starts to be known. And when everyone does know, oh man, it's pure joy! All the issues he had are all coming to the foreground and it's explosive and angsty and Chris is LOVE! Also, he cries and angsts beautifully.

I couldn't watch all of season 6 because my box set is the second part - though believe me I'm so gonna get the first one soon - so I have from "Used Karma" to "It's a Bad, Bad, Bad, Bad World".

And two of my favourite episodes are "Hyde School Reunion" and "Spin City", I think. "Hyde School reunion" because of the talk with his grandfather and also because of the very cute moment when he calls Piper 'Mom' for the first time and their reaction to it - Piper and Chris look almost unbearably cute then - and "Spin City" because of the scene where Chris punches Leo over and over again even after he's back to being completely human; I thought it was a very intense moment. I mean he wasn't under the influence of anything by then, it was all of him, all his anger and resentment and sadness and need all coming to the surface and it was violent, a son is beating his own father, but it was awesome! And then there was the last Leo-Chris scene on the bridge and this one was great too. Did I say that Chris angst and cries beautifully? Because he does.

Then there's "It's a Bad, Bad, Bad, Bad World" - which btw has a very beautiful name in French as it's "Pour l'Amour d'un Fils", ie it's all about the love Piper and Leo have for their sons, either one. And that episode... the ending? I don't think it ever did NOT make me cry. God it's just so bloody sad. Not Chris omg! It's like, yeah okay, baby!Chris is born and like Paige - I think - said, it's as if he never really left but no! It's still sad because this!Chris died. And the Chris we get afterwards is him but not, he's not the same. This!Chris died saving his brother and saving his family and saving the world and it won't ever not make me cry, ever.

And it's also because of Leo's reaction. The way he hurts when he realises what has happened, the way he refuses to admit Chris might die, it's in the reassurance and the love he's giving Chris and it's in the kiss and in the fear and when finally Chris dies... Leo goes crazy and it's just so awesome! I also loved how Chris called his dad when he was hurt, and the way he was looking at him right before he died and - oh man! *gets all teary*

This is the story line that made me love Charmed more than I ever thought I would. Charmed has always been a guilty pleasure for me. I always thought it was so easy, pretty lame on a lot of issues, so incredibly cheesy and yet, I don't think I ever missed a repeat on M6. Actually, I think I missed it this time but it's around noon and I'm not always available but I'll try to catch it *nods*

There's just something about that show. It's the sisters first - I love them as siblings. Also, even if a lot of things are lame, the witchcraft thing is still pretty cool. Then it's because Charmed is very funny, in particular the second degree thing. It cracks me up. So I already liked the show a lot but when Chris appeared, insta!überlove! Sibling + sacrifice + angst + daddy issue + family issue all rolled in one pretty boy? Er, yeah, count me in, man!

So anyway, me loves Charmed - me loves the Halliwell sisters and me adores Chris! Chris should have stayed *cries*

Also, know what? I think Dean and Chris would get along just fine.

By the way, re: the Charmed Amnesty Card that brought this entry? If you have any complaints, please be going to [livejournal.com profile] greedy_dancer's journal to express them, cause it's her all fault for being the one who thought of creating that card. I'm merely using it, you know? *adjusts halo*

But you know, this little obsession of mine is still fully in control. It's not as if I'd hunted down some Chris icons, right? *frowns* Oh my God, look! Someone uploaded a Chris icon - blimey, who could that be? No wait, I remember now, it was me! *waves*

PS: X3 was seen again last night with The Boys, yay! And the HP4 DVD was bought, woohoo!

Date: 2006-06-02 09:31 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sockich.livejournal.com
Oh, honey, you are just too cute for words. *squishes*

Date: 2006-06-03 09:06 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Lol Just so we're on the same page here, cute isn't synonym to crazy, is it? :-)

Date: 2006-06-03 10:41 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sockich.livejournal.com
Heh, no, cute is a synonym for cute. And squishy. *g*

Date: 2006-06-02 11:59 am (UTC)
ext_1650: (pete brighter)
From: [identity profile] turps33.livejournal.com
I can't really comment as I've only seen eps here and there. But I will tell you, your comment about Chris and Dean killed me. And yes, taking my own twist on the words, but still.

This is such a you post, I loved it :)

Date: 2006-06-03 09:09 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
I'm not gonna tell you try and catch s6 if it ever airs again on UK tv but admittedly, Chris' storyline and the way the whole family interacts is a sight to behold.

The comment about Chris and Dean kind killed me too, so I guess I do share your twist on the words lol

Date: 2006-06-02 02:29 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hirikosaunders.livejournal.com
I so agree....*smiles* I should gush more about Chris and Charmed...yes I know. I play Chris on an RP (I worry constantly that I am getting all of the layers of his character let me tell you) and well I'm dying for a Wyatt, but truly that is not the point. Chris and Piper are my favorite characters and I am quite upset that I was unable to see season 8...waiting on the dvds for me. At least 6 will be on dvd soon, hopefully before the end of the year....anyway I'll shut up now....*grins* (end gush or something like that)

Date: 2006-06-03 09:15 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Another Chris lover, yay! And you actually play him in a RPG? Must be fun. Though I hear you about worrying about getting all the layers of his characters, he's quite a multi-layered one, all right.

Piper is also my favourite of the sisters, though I love Phoebe a lot too, in particular in the last seasons. I love how she grew up as a character; she was still the wild one in the family but there was a lot of maturity and, I don't know, wisdom to her. I really enjoyed that.

I only watched the s8 finale and I don't think I'm gonna look for the torrents but Charmed has a place on M6 and I know I just have to be a bit patient and they'll air it. Maybe in September when all 'new' seasons and shows come to France :-)

Date: 2006-06-02 03:58 pm (UTC)
greedy_dancer: (giggleloop!)
From: [personal profile] greedy_dancer
wait, there are Halliwell brothers? lol

i used to watch Charmed actually, with my sister, it was kind of our "thing" ... i used to love the snark and the fashion. not that i was a "fan" or anything, mind you ;)

i'm waiting for your flist to come after me with torches and pitchforks now! lol

Date: 2006-06-02 07:16 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] moimoietmoi.livejournal.com
Damn you, GD! I am so holding you responsible for this!
*shakes fist with spork*

Date: 2006-06-02 08:38 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] french-hobbit.livejournal.com
What were you thinking, seriously!

Date: 2006-06-03 09:22 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
She was thinking that she loves me and she wanted me to have fun with my girlywhackycrackcheesy but also siblingangsty show *sticks tongue* She was ready to sacrifice a bit of herself for me on my bday... man, I feel all verklempt! *sniffles*

Date: 2006-06-03 11:07 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] french-hobbit.livejournal.com
*hands you tissues* Okay, okay. If it's a siblingangsty show, what can I say! *puts Rosie's seal on the Charmed Amnesty Card*

Date: 2006-06-03 01:48 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
I knew you'd see it my way!

Spoilers for 8x22 in the comment.

Date: 2006-06-03 09:20 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Yes, there are Halliwell brothers, you never reached s6, did you? lol

Chris here:
Image

Is Wyatt's - *points below* - little brother:
Image

And that's the baby version of them:
Image

I watched the show with my sister too, she likes Charmed a lot. Actually, we watched the series finale together yesterday, I knew she would like it so I sat her down and put her in front of the ep; and I was right, she did enjoy it a lot. Score!

Hope you prepared yourself re the torch and pitchfork thing lol

Date: 2006-06-02 04:54 pm (UTC)
ext_6610: (DeanSam)
From: [identity profile] webbgirl.livejournal.com
Joins in your Chris!lovefest. My love for him also increased when it was revealed that he was Wyatt's brother. There was something in the whole thing of him wanting to protect and change his big brother in combination with some clear sibling rivalry issues.

I did cry when he left. I kept hoping they'd find a way to bring him back as a regular somehow. :(

Chris and Dean would definitely get along. ::has lovely visions of them snarking together::

Date: 2006-06-03 09:24 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
The Chris storyline is just beautiful; the sacrifices he was willing to make to save his brother... all the while fighting against his own angst and insecurity, man, it was a sight to behold *nods*

I did hope against hope that he would come back as a regular somehow. I was so sad when he didn't. Sure, we got him back for two - at least I only know of those two - episodes but it wasn't nearly enough.

They would, wouldn't they? *enjoys the vision with you*

Date: 2006-06-02 05:31 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] katikat.livejournal.com
Me + Chris = pure love XD I've always had a weak spot for this show but since Chris appeared, it was twice the truth.

And did you notice? He obviously remembers everything what happened and suddenly, even though Wyatt should be the older one, Chris feels to be the older one, the wiser one. And I would even say a bit world-weary. Like he is there to watch over his big bro so that Wyatt doesn't go bonkers again.

But then, I have always been a sucker for brotherly relationships. And besides Bad!Wyatt and Selfsacrificing!Chris had such a great slashy vibes *sparkles*

Date: 2006-06-03 09:30 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
I have the feeling Chris increased the viewers' love for the show a lot, just a hunch lol

Yes, yes, I totally did! My sister too actually as she mentioned how Chris almost acted like the big brother between the two - and yes, a bit more world-weary, that's a good description.

It's just weird how this happens though, since technically 8x22!Chris is the Chris that grew up with good!Wyatt and never had to come back... or is he s6!Chris that faded away to actually appear in the new timeline he created, thus keeping all his memories with him but also having the ones he'd helped created with good!Wyatt? Dude, time travel is just headache inducing lol

Also I've been re-reading your Charmed stories last night; they're really great. Hope your muse will visit you again?

Profile

castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
Mouse

January 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 12:12 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios