castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Fact about Dean / hannibal_murder)
[personal profile] castalie
Can't believe it, but guess who might go to London in November? *points at self excitedly* Yes, me! It's not set in stone yet, but it's looking good - we have dates and a program and all, well the transport is still missing so this is why I'm not packing already. That and, I guess, the fact that we're kinda not in November yet *cough* But I haven't left Choisy for several years so if it becomes true, it'll be wonderful *hugs [livejournal.com profile] yami_tai tight* I'm not going to forget the offer anytime soon ma belle, even if something happens and prevents me from going *kisses*

And guess who's going to the movie in thirty minutes to see Batman Begins *points at self* Me, again. Which is why I don't know if I'll finish writing the entry before I have to leave. Guess who finally watched Batman Begins! Yes, I finally did it! My reaction? Oh la la, truc de ouf! Aka Holy shit BATMAN! Which hi! Was so very easy, but I had to do it lol Yeah anyway, I loved the movie, it was fantastic! It was worth the wait *g* And it was also lovely because there were like nine people in the theater and we were already three - so it felt like we had the film just for ourselves *g*

So. I finally finished reading HPB. Reading at work is quite lovely as it makes time fly but it's not exactly propitious to a peaceful reading because you're, like, interrupted every two minutes - sometimes quite literally, too - including by your colleague who happens to think reading is boring - hee! blasphemy! - which means that she never brings anything that would take her mind out of the job which in turn means that the needs to be entertained - and yeah, I'm talking about a fifty-something woman - and she needs someone to talk to. Since there're only the two of us at reception, you do the math. She keeps talking to me all the time. Which okay, not a problem as such except when I'm trying to read omg! But hey, can't exactly let her die of boredom right in front of me, right?

But anyway, I did succeeded in finishing the book today so, yay! And because everything can happen, here something I didn't think would ever happen on my LJ:

A Harry Potter review.

So. I did like the book. Not in a OMGITWASSOINCREDIBLYGOOD way, but in a I Did Like The Book way. There were things I loved, things that I liked and things... that I could have done without. Then again, I never expect a book to meet all my needs, I'm not that egotistical, thank you very much. Sometimes it happens and it's fantastic, sometimes it doesn't and hey, it's okay.

Let's start with some of the things that I didn't exactly appreciate - and I think most people will think they're just details but I'm a detail whore, so there.

My problem is that I found the behaviour of some of the characters petty at times, down annoying at others. Like Ron's behaviour toward some first years each time he got frustrated with something. He's lucky he's a Gryffindor, or else he would have been labelled as a bully. Same thing with Harry who apparently didn't have a problem practising those unknown - therefore potentially dangerous curses on people he didn't like. Exactly like Ginny, come to think of it.

What a charming bunch of fellows. I learnt something new here, it seems you're not a bully because you act like one, but because you don't belong to the right House.

And Molly? She was not only needlessly rude but fucking mean to Fleur and I didn't find the Weasleys' reaction to the couple amusing. At all. I particularly thought the whole They All Received a Jumper For Christmas But Fleur particularly petty and mean. Molly - or Ginny, for that matter - certainly didn't endear themselves to me over that one. Not that I ever fangirled Ginny in the first place, mind.

It sometimes irks me when I read the book to see those sixteen-year-old kids behave as if they actually knew better than those powerful wizards who's fought the good fight for, like, twice longer than aforementioned kids were alive. Which is really my problem because I shouldn't forget I'm reading a book supposedly meant for kids where kids are the main protagonists, so of course that would happen. And I don't know why it bothers me here, but sometimes I just want to put the trio in its place because they're just kids - except they're not. So yeah, that's something that is entirely my problem and I just have to suck it up *pout*

Something else I've been having more and more trouble dealing with - well, that's an exaggeration but whatever - is Dumbledore himself. I remember thinking he was so awesome and so good to Harry and whatnot but now I'm like isn't he just the worse manipulator ever? I mean, it felt like he was using Harry all the time, not in a good way I mean. Pulling guilt trips on him, using his need to please and his desire to belong, flattering his ego so that he would do things for him... I don't know, suddenly the whole relationship felt perverted somehow: Dumbledore's man through and through. Yeah, tell me about it. But suddenly I felt sad for Harry. Which just confused me. I don't know what to think of it. Technically I should go and re-read the whole series to see if I can really make up my mind about Dumbledore, but I don't think I want to do that either.

Now okay, on to the things that I loved and all:

Tom Riddle's backstory. That was pretty fascinating. Those chapters really suckered me in. It might be a kink of mine when I think of it: seeing someone becomes the Great Villain we always knew them to be - going back to the sources. It's just, you know, fascinating. You discover their motivations, their single-mindness'ness - even better when you meet them when they're children. You're a witness to GV birth and since you actually know how it'll end, it only makes the discovery more powerful, gives it a sense of doom that is brilliant.

Something else that was brilliant is Snape. I've always been more or less indifferent about him. I never disliked him nor liked him per se. He's a favourite of mine when I read HP slash - though my canon OTP is Remus/Sirius, go figure - but in the book? Not so much. Except things changed in HBP somehow. Maybe because his "status" as a true and unredeemable Death Eater was made even more ambiguous.

I mean, I don't know if we were supposed to think that we'd been wrong all those times and that Harry & Co had been right to doubt him and that, finally, we got our answer - yes omg, Snape is a big ole traitor - but for me, nothing was resolved at all. Rendered more complex, certainly, but not resolved.

Like, I'm not saying what I believe is right - pretty much everything that happened not only throughout the whole book but more particularly in the last 100 pages could be interpreted one way or the other, and until we know for sure, both affirmations are true. Snape aka Schrodinger's Cat On Two Legs *g* - but as far as I'm concerned, I'm still waiting for the Big Evidence that Snape is, indeed, the traitor Harry claimed he was, because I still didn't see It.

I mean okay, Dumbledore's death - which is the climax of the story and a pivotal point as far as Snape's situation is concerned - well, supposedly. So. Snape killed Dumbledore. Right, okay. But to me, that scene? Didn't reveal anything. At first, I thought he was going to kill Dumbledore because of the Unbreakable Vow since Draco was obviously in need of help at that moment. But then, Dumbledore spoke. Just one tiny word - "please" - and this is where I changed my mind. Apparently it wasn't what I thought it was. So I don't know what those two concocted - or if they even concocted anything but to me, Snape couldn't betray Dumbledore because he's been basically told by Dumbledore himself to kill him, which might be quite predictable when you think of it, but whatever.

I mean, Dumbledore? Pleading for his life? For mercy? If Harry had been in his right mind, he might have found this moment a little OOC - though with all the pleading Dumbledore went through after the poisoning, it might not have. He'd just been conditioned in a way. As he had more or less brainwashed himself into believing that Snape was going to betray Dumbledore anyway - and since we're seeing the scene through Harry's eyes, of course it feels like Snape is actually doing exactly just that.

And for instance, the wole "Snape gazed for a moment at Dumbledore, and there was revulsion and hatred etched in the harsh lines of his face" [and OMFG I'm quoting the book, I can't believe it!] could work either way. It could mean that Snape is indeed a cold-blooded murderer and about to do what he's always wanted to do, namely get revenge on Dumbledore and all - except damn, I have the hardest time believing it and it's all Dumbledore's fault. If he hadn't said anything, I wouldn't be so convinced Snape isn't a traitor. Because yes, it might also show the revulsion he was feeling at what he was about to do and the hatred? If it is hatred, like Harry thinks it is, it might have been toward, well both Dumbledore and himself, when you think of it. Hatred for what Dumbledore was asking of him and hatred toward himself because he was going to obey. I mean, it works.

So okay. Dumbledore asks Snape to kill him, and Snape does it. So I'm trying to find a reason why Dumbledore might have given up at this point and well, I'm thinking... maybe he knew he was already dead and thought it was the right thing to do at the time. Like the poison he drunk? Was actually killing him, he knew he was dying anyway... and then, well, maybe he wanted to spare Draco? And er okay, I actually don't really know at this point lol But I'm going with the He Knew He Was Dying Anyway theory because wow, the whole scene makes so much sense all of a sudden ;-)

To tell the truth, I even had some SW flashbacks and I was like, eeek, did Dumbledore just pull an Obi-Wan on us? *blink*

Anyway back to Snape. The whole scene that followed, with Snape taking off with Draco and engaging in a little battle with Harry - it actually gives me more ammunition to my little theory in a way, as weird as it might sound. Cause, like, if I was Snape? If I'd betrayed my master - the most powerful and dangerous wizard that ever lived, if I'd suffered so much for the good side, if I'd taken so many risks, if I'd gone through years of resentment and doubts from my "colleagues" because they always doubted my real allegiance, if in the end, I'd had to kill someone who I thought had a good chance at helping me win the war - if I'd done all those things and I had to stand the accusation and hatred of a fucking sixteen-year old brat who assumed the worst all the fucking time, well, believe me, I would be enraged too.

Back to the matter at hands: one way or the other, I'm not affirming anything. But up to book 6, I still don't see anything that proves to me, without the shadow of a doubt, that Snape is still a Death Eater through and through. And Harry might have convinced everyone that Snape is a traitor, but I'm not. And it's not denial, btw - as it happens, I quite love the idea of someone being faithful to their master no matter how evil they are and going as far as playing a double/triple game in order to keep serving aforementioned master. So I wouldn't be disappointed if Snape wound up being a real traitor. It would be quite impressive actually, from a twisted point of view, of course *g* So, it's not the denial of a Snape fangirl.

Still, right now, it almost sounds obvious to me that Snape isn't a traitor at all, as if I'd wasted my time even trying to justify myself, so there has to be something complex involved here. Or else... predictable much?

Changing the subject now. The ending.

When Fleur told Molly off for thinking she would break off the wedding, I was cheering like you wouldn't believe! First because it was a beautiful moment and a wonderful proof of love and commitment, second because I've hated Molly's behaviour toward Fleur and I've been waiting and waiting for someone to shut Molly up. Too bad Bill had to pay such a high price before it happened.

Then out of nowhere appeared the whole Remus/Tonks thing. Well of course. There was still two people who hadn't paired off, you couldn't leave it here, right? Except apparently it seems it didn't come out of nowhere: "And the meaning of Tonks' patronus and her mouse coloured hair [...] it had not been sirius that Tonks had fallen in love with". It was there the whole time, I just hadn't paid attention. My bad *rolls eyes*

People sometimes asks us slashers why the m/m obsession? Well it makes me smile because there seems to be quite a f/m obsession going on too and no one ever asks why. Even in non-romance stories, you have those. So why do I like same sex pairings? Because it makes for a nice and unexpected change among the f/m obsession, is all [/random tangent]

And finally, Dumbledore's funerals? Broke my heart! It was...beautiful and so sad and just, intense and wow. And Harry's leaving Hogwarts definitely surprised the hell out of me. In the end - quite literally, too - it might have been the one twist that really threw me off *g*

So yeah, I did like it well enough *g* Now I think I should go and hunt others' reviews... read what true HP fans thought of the book and all *g* Well, later today tomorrow, I mean.

And on a side note - GIP! Remember when I was whining about sg s9 icons? Well as it happens, [livejournal.com profile] artifuss made a bunch which are pretty awesome, and she was kind enough to take a request which resulted in my brand new icon *g* Thanks again!

Date: 2005-07-28 10:14 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] aswanargent.livejournal.com
Much as I love your reviews, I skipped past the HBP one because I haven't read the book yet. And since I read each book just in advance of the film, it will probably be 2007 before I open the pages of HBP. I suppose I should flag this lj post of yours so I can go back and read it then, lol!

Yay for you on two fronts: London (*is jealous*) and Batman Begins. I'm SO glad you liked the film; it would have been awful if you'd waited this long to see it and then been disappointed.

Tell me, please, just where is Choisy? I know it's somewhere near Paris, but I'm completely unable to find it on my big foldout map of France. If Paris lies at the centre of a clock face, what number would represent Choisy?

Date: 2005-07-29 03:42 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
You purposedly don't read the books before the films come out? Man, you certainly have more willpower than I have lol I mean, even though I'm not a HP addict, I don't think I could wait for so long *g* Case in point, I didn't wait October for the French version to be released *g* Hope you won't be spoiled accidentally til then.

I'm really hoping I'll be able to go *fingers crossed* And re:the movie, yeah I was relieved as well *g* It would have been so disappointing otherwise.

Hmm okay so Choisy is South-East of Paris, which means it would be something like 5, I think.

Wait. Go here (http://idf.grog.org/images/ile-de-France.gif): 75 is Paris. 94 is Val-de-Marne and that's where Choisy is. Does it help?

Date: 2005-07-29 04:12 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] aswanargent.livejournal.com
94 is Val-de-Marne and that's where Choisy is. Does it help?

Ouais! Merci. :-)

HBP

Date: 2005-07-28 10:53 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
hey, you came to Montpellier! sea-side and all... so yeah, you left Choisy a little lol

HBP on your LJ?! *shocked* you didn't expect *me* not to comment on that, did you?

it seems you're not a bully because you act like one, but because you don't belong to the right House.
well, remember in OotP, how shocked Harry was when he found out that his father and Sirius were bullies? I guess that point had already been made then - that it all depends on who you know and all - welcome to high-school lol

So yeah, that's something that is entirely my problem and I just have to suck it up *pout*
it's okay sweetie lol - but remember that the book is aimed for kids, and a plot of 'oh no we have a curfew let's go to bed' wouldn't be as appealing. It's all about making kids dream about fantastic things they could do... a good way to breed future bullies? maybe *giggles*

re: Dumbledore: ever since OotP I had been wishing for his death - couldn't stand the manipulative bastard...

aaaaaah the Riddle backstory... man I adored it! Voldemort is okay, but Tom Riddle is more interesting...

I've always been more or less indifferent about him. I never disliked him nor liked him per se.
same here!

When Fleur told Molly off for thinking she would break off the wedding, I was cheering like you wouldn't believe!
I actually cried - that and the Remus/Tonks thing *g* (re: Tonks: maybe you're not enough of a Mary Sue Wannabe to have noticed it lol)

here is my own post, btw

Re: HBP

Date: 2005-07-29 04:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Can't say I expected you not to comment, no lol

how shocked Harry was when he found out that his father and Sirius were bullies?

Yeah but here, it didn't even register. I mean, they did their stuff without even realising how it could appear to an outsider. Like, their hexing people and being mean to them were funny and normal. No problem here, we're not doing anything remotely bad, why? *blink* Which I really didn't like.

I felt cheated re: Dumbledore... because apparently I still liked him, you know? And now, now I feel like he let me down lol I mean :-(

Tom Riddle is definitely even better than Voldemort - which is why I couldn't get enough of those pensieve scenes *g*

Tonks: maybe you're not enough of a Mary Sue Wannabe to have noticed it lol

Hey, thanks! Am feeling better about not seeing now *snicker*

And thanks, I'll go and read your post right after I come back from the mall. We're still looking for Charlie *g* Am hoping to get him in the next few days *fingers crossed*

Re: HBP

Date: 2005-07-29 04:27 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
Hey, thanks! Am feeling better about not seeing now *snicker*
any time, babe lol you're one of the least Mary-Sueish person I know anyway lol - and I'm really thrilled you read that book *g*

*crosses fingers for Charlie*

Date: 2005-07-28 10:54 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
oh, and I'll keep my fingers crossed for London! *crosses fingers*

Date: 2005-07-29 04:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Thanks, honey *kisses*

Date: 2005-07-29 02:17 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jessriley.livejournal.com
I've already snagged a few of artifuss icons - love them! Having trouble getting used the beard in your icon. Not quite sure I like it *g* I think I'll still to my Daniel without the face fuzz - LOL

Hope your trip comes together

Date: 2005-07-29 04:28 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
I positively loved her batch of icons, which might be why I snagged most of them lol

And know what? This beard thing really surprised the hell out of me, because I? Usually dislike facial hair and stuff on my favourite characters. And here, it doesn't even register! I mean, I'd lie if I told you I won't be happy once he shaves it, but in the meantime, I'm not having a problem at all with it - so yeah, it doesn't register per se *g*

And thanks *g* I've never been to the UK and I've been dreaming of going for some time now.

Date: 2005-07-29 04:29 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] whitevanilla.livejournal.com
Yay for London and Batman!

And of course, lovely review. I agree with you on the Snape thing, even though I've never liked that man. I never considered your point on Dumbledore, but it's something to consider and think about.

Date: 2005-07-29 04:31 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Yay is right *g*

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it *g* I can't wait to know once and for all the truth about Snape's situation, but in the meantime... I won't budge *is stubborn*

Seriously that really hit me, here. Wonder if it would hit me so much more if I re-read the series *ponder*

Date: 2005-07-29 03:33 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] catiadoodle.livejournal.com
Like Ron's behavior toward some first years each time he got frustrated with something. He's lucky he's a Gryffindor, or else he would have been labelled as a bully

Exactly. That's what I like --among other things, of course-- about HP, each and every character is biased. Harry obviously couldn't care less about Ron bullying first years (pousse-toi de là que je m'y mette, etc...). I don't think he's really condoning it or anything, he just doesn't really notice, because it's Ron, his Friend, someone on the Good Side.

And Molly was rude to Fleur, oh yes ! I liked that she behaved like a mother-in-law-from-hell, it makes her more human. Honestly, I would have cried if everybody had received a present but me.

Dumbledore : He is manipulative ! He's been even before, and I like that, it gives him depth and doesn't necessarily make him a bad man, because he does love Harry, sincerely.

It might be a kink of mine when I think of it: seeing someone becomes the Great Villain we always knew them to be - going back to the sources.

Tell me about it ! Why do you think I like Anakin and Episode III so much. *g* Yeah, the Tom Riddle stuff was really fascinating. I especially loved that we could see him as a child. Already slightly deranged and creepy. Maybe too creepy though, like he's born bad and hasn't become bad. I don't really like the idea of a natural born sociopath.

About Snape killing Dumbledore, yeah I think Dumbledore asked him to do it too. There's just no way Dumbledore would plead for his life. A lot of people in the fandom think so too.

You can read a few of my thoughts on the book here if you like. :D

Date: 2005-07-29 04:38 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Their attitude really got on my nerves, I have to say. And considering how they're always on Slytherins' backs for about everything, they suddenly looked so very hypocritical to me.

Maybe too creepy though, like he's born bad and hasn't become bad. I don't really like the idea of a natural born sociopath.

I thought it was more a matter of proof that an unhappy childhood turned children who could have had a life into psychopaths - but yeah, you're right, come to think of it, it sometimes sounded like he was born that way, and that nothing would have changed his fate.

There's just no way Dumbledore would plead for his life. A lot of people in the fandom think so too.

Dumbledore pleading for his life didn't even register a second to me because it just sounded... surreal somehow. Which is why it was clear to me - not that I'm saying it was true, just that it's how it appeared *g* - that he was asking Snape to kill him and as a result, that Snape couldn't be the traitor Harry claimed he was.

Date: 2005-07-29 08:08 pm (UTC)
ext_1650: (trickc squee)
From: [identity profile] turps33.livejournal.com
You finally saw Batman?!

YAY!

I still haven't read HP so can't comment but will say your review is awesome as usual, and London too! This is a post of much glee! I really hope you get to go.

Date: 2005-07-29 09:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
I finally did! Incredible, isn't it?

Thanks for the review compliment and yay London, indeed!

Date: 2005-07-29 08:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] yami-tai.livejournal.com
Can't believe it, but guess who might go to London

*grins* I really hope we can pull everything together... I have a question to ask you actually, so I'll be emailing you in a mo.

I loved your in-depth HP review, you feel the same way as me about a lot of things in it ^_^!

Date: 2005-07-29 09:33 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Answered your mail... and got a reply so I know you got it, but sometimes I just have to state the obvious lol

I did write an in-depth HP review... man, I still can't believe it lol But I guess it did inspire me and all *g* And *high fives* Great minds think alike, don't they? *g*

Date: 2005-07-30 12:59 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] yami-tai.livejournal.com
but sometimes I just have to state the obvious lol

*grins* And I like that!

And *high fives* Great minds think alike, don't they? *g*

*high fives back* They do... You told me that in French once a long time ago, was it - 'Les grands esprits se rencontrent'? J'ai oublié ^^;!

Date: 2005-07-30 06:46 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
T'as pas oublié, c'est bien ça *g*

And eeek you have a TS icon *loves*

Date: 2005-07-30 07:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] yami-tai.livejournal.com
T'as pas oublié, c'est bien ça *g*

Ah, bon ^________^!

And eeek you have a TS icon *loves*

I do, it is from [livejournal.com profile] auster's icon post you directed us too, so thank you for sharing the gorgeousness ^_~!

Date: 2005-07-30 07:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
I love her style *g* Am hoping she'll make sg s9 icons too *hopes*

Date: 2005-07-30 07:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] yami-tai.livejournal.com
Am hoping she'll make sg s9 icons too *hopes*

Season 9 will be on over here in September so I'm waiting till then and remaining spoiler free... so far *grins*!

Date: 2005-07-30 01:41 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fangirl1981.livejournal.com
Then out of nowhere appeared the whole Remus/Tonks thing. Well of course. There was still two people who hadn't paired off, you couldn't leave it here, right?
I hate when they do that! Like everybody has to be paired off in neat little pairs simply so no one is single. So lame. And that Remus/Tonks came completely out of left field. It made me angry quite frankly that Tonks was supposedly falling apart because she was rejected by him. They've had hardly any interaction at all, where the hell did J.K.R come up with that one?!

People sometimes asks us slashers why the m/m obsession? Well it makes me smile because there seems to be quite a f/m obsession going on too and no one ever asks why. Even in non-romance stories, you have those.

It's the same thing as asking when did you decide you were gay? (I dont know when did you decide you were straight!) and How do you know you're not straight if you don't try sleeping with someone of the opposite sex? (how do you know you're not gay if you've never tried sleeping with someone of the same sex?)

Date: 2005-07-30 09:10 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
It did come out of lef field, didn't it? And then, like to tell us 'no, really, it was there six hundred pages ago' she goes with her little explanation, but it didn't ring true to my ears *shrug*

It's the same thing as asking when did you decide you were gay? (I dont know when did you decide you were straight!) and How do you know you're not straight if you don't try sleeping with someone of the opposite sex? (how do you know you're not gay if you've never tried sleeping with someone of the same sex?)

Exactly! That's actually what I always said to people who asked me how I knew and all. Strangely enough, each time I asked them how they knew they were straight, or asked them when exactly they'd slept with someone of the same sex - since they apparently was so sure they were straight themselves - they usually found the question stupid or offending. Double standards, it's not just a word. But it did shut them up afterwards, so it was cool anyway.

Profile

castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
Mouse

January 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 02:06 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios