castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (French Posse / moimoietmoi)
[personal profile] castalie
So. It finally happened! Today I met [livejournal.com profile] french_hobbit [livejournal.com profile] moimoietmoi [livejournal.com profile] catiadoodle and [livejournal.com profile] dont_callmebabe! And my summary could go like this: four new flist!people were met, mucho fun was had and lots of slash talks were given but dude! It wouldn't be half as fun. So I'll go with the... longer version? Yeah.

I'm always a bit nervous before meeting flist!people because I always want things to go well, I'm sure you know the feeling. And since I've been so comfortable on LJ with [livejournal.com profile] french_hobbit [livejournal.com profile] moimoietmoi and [livejournal.com profile] catiadoodle - I didn't have [livejournal.com profile] dont_callmebabe on my flist, she's a friend of Catia's - I really hoped things wouldn't be different once we met IRL cause I would have been so disappointed - but boy I needn't worry because everything went to smoothly and so perfectly! It was different, but a good different, as in, you have the girls in the flesh and that's delightful *g*

So anyway - our rendez-vous was at 2.00 at the place Saint Michel next to the fountain, on the left - we had a pretty tight organisation, you see - and when I arrived, Rosie, Catia and Babe were already there. I recognised the three of them immediately, which was also a relief because this is another thing I dread each time I'm meeting with people I never "saw" - but Catia had sent me a pic and we had given our descriptions - you wouldn't believe the number of emails I sent on Friday lol - down to the clothes we would be wearing so it worked like a charm *g* SAM joined us, like, five minutes later and off we went to the jardin du Luxembourg - the weather was with us that day, man, everything was just perfect *g* - though not before buying some food to eat because some of us hadn't eaten yet.

We started chatting up right away, no awkward silences or anything, you know? That's also wonderful because there's nothing worse than those blank moments when everyone is desperately trying to think of something to say. But it didn't happen here and well, yeah, that was just great - that was quite a good start *g*

So we took our seats in the Jardin and went down to business, ie we started talking about Life On The Net. We started talking... and kinda never stopped lol We talked about LJ and LJ users and LJ dynamics, we talked about slash - our beginnings, our preferences, our kinks, what worked, what didn't etc etc.. - we talked about series and/or fandoms - Lost and HP and Numb3rs - boy, did I ever - and The Sentinel - they agree that the series is Oh So Slashable - and Oz and Stargate and Lotrips and House and Veronica Mars and boy I could go on forever so I'll just stop here - we talked about fandom in general - canon v fanon, pairing, slash again... - we talked about books and movies and sometimes about our lives thanks - about our travels in particular - and then it was back to slash and LJ and fandom and meta and stuff. No, seriously, we did meta - that was great *hugs self* *hugs Girls*

Then Babe left us to go and risk her life - read do some rollerblading - and we stayed at the Jardin to chat some more. Then around, what, five? SAM told us she had to go too and Catia offered that the three of us - ie Catia, Rosie and I - went for a drink. So we kissed SAM goodbye - not for long, I'll spare you the suspense - and decided to go to Starbucks. Not even because I harassed the girls and made them do it, nah uh - but because Rosie has never gone to one and she wanted to give it a try. And seriously, if you knew sweet!Rosie? You would want to grant her every wish!

So anyway, there we were wandering the boulevard Saint Michel, just the three of us, when my mobile rang and guess who it was? SAM. Why? Because obviously she couldn't live without us anymore - she was actually joining us again. It filled us with glee because, like, it was the ultimate proof she had fun with us, right? Or else she wouldn't have bothered. So we stopped at the square Cluny to wait for her a little bit and then, well okay I'll admit, I had to call one of The Best Friends to ask her where exactly the Starbucks was, cause I sorta had forgotten how to go there. There, I said it! Turns out it was the Starbucks Coffee Odéon - to my defense, I'll say that I did recognise the road once we went.

But we first we made a little detour to my favouritest shop, Album, which sells comics, goodies and mangas, because I might have asked to go there *cough* But we were so close, ya know? And anyway, I'm not the only who knew of that store so it's okay. We didn't stay long though and off we went to Starbucks, where - miracle of miracles - we ended up finding four seats. For us. Yes, it can happen. I could tell you I picked a caramel macchiato with a donut and the girls chose a cappuccino and an espresso and... okay so I don't remember anyway, but I guess that would be too much details, so I won't.

Suffice it to say we had great drinks and yummy food and we were good for round #2. So at this point, it was, what, five? Five thirty, something like that? It's actually important because one minute it was, say, 5.30 pm and the next it was 7.50 pm! How did that happen! I guess talking about TV and books and movies and series - oldies as well as newish and btw? Rosie asked me to burn Numb3rs for her, whee! - and slash and LJ and fandom again and okay you get the picture, kinda have something to do with that? Yeah. This is when Catia left us. But Rosie, SAM and I didn't have anywhere else to go - for which I'm so very grateful - so we stayed right where we were and chatted some more. About the same subjects, so sue us. There's so many things to discuss with those topics, you can hardly blame us.

In the end, I realised it was getting dark outside - and admittedly the Starbucks was getting less and less crowded - and when I checked my mobile imagine my surprise when I saw that it was past nine! Wow, time sure flies by when you're in good company!

So we kissed SAM goodbye - for the second time - and Rosie and I walked together for a little more until we separated to take our respective trains... and I went home, quite high from the whole thing, I'll be honest with you *g*

Boy it was so GOOD! We need to do that again. And again! Thank you girls, for a fantastic afternooon - and evening ;-)

Also hey - [livejournal.com profile] babycakesin, [livejournal.com profile] greedy_dancer, [livejournal.com profile] crazybutsound, [livejournal.com profile] alinewrites and [livejournal.com profile] aswanargent? Your names came up in the conversation quite often *kisses* GH? We certainly missed you like crazy, but we'll do it again, don't worry *g*

PS: Btw? I did watch Charmed tonight *sigh*

Date: 2005-08-27 10:29 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] french-hobbit.livejournal.com
I did watch Charmed tonight
What a shame when you could have had men in skirts *g*

Brilliant review for this brilliant afternoon, Mouse. I was quite high, too, couldn't help smiling for myself in the métro!

Date: 2005-08-28 09:03 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
The men in skirts are for today, never fear lol

Why, thank you. I needed something to remain, I mean, in my LJ lol And we did have a blast, didn't we? *happy sigh*

Date: 2005-08-27 10:46 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] moimoietmoi.livejournal.com
PS: Btw? I did watch Charmed tonight *sigh*
Well, consider yourself lucky to have watched Charmed tonight... I'm in a sister/brother bonding period, so I played nice with my brother and had to watch "Les 100 plus grands... Le meilleur" (some kind of best of about people being ridiculous on tv) on TF1. That was horrible and not funny at all!

I spent a wonderful afternoon though! It was really great meeting you all and talking about slash, tv series etc. I'm really glad we managed to meet! *hugs*

Date: 2005-08-28 09:03 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Ouch, poor you! I had fun at least lol

We did have a blast - it was grand!

Date: 2005-08-27 10:47 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] aswanargent.livejournal.com
Mouse, if you talk the same way you post, I can't imagine there would ever be awkward silences if you're around, lol!

I'm so glad you all had such a good time. I was at the office starting about 7:30 pm your time. [livejournal.com profile] crazybutsound called me about 15 minutes after I got here (the call was planned), and we talked for an hour. Well, it was the first time we'd spoken since her visit to me last month, and we had a lot to say. Plus it's really cheap for you guys to call the U.S. (one-tenth of what it would cost if I call France).

I didn't get nearly as much work done today as I'd planned to do, but you know what? I don't care. *g*

Date: 2005-08-28 09:05 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Mouse, if you talk the same way you post, I can't imagine there would ever be awkward silences if you're around, lol

Well, yeah maybe lol But funny you would say that cause Catia and Rosie did mention I was IRL like I was in my LJ... well, it's nice to see you don't "disappoint", if you get my meaning ;-)

Hey so you had your own mini-gathering with Jem? That's lovely *g*

I didn't get nearly as much work done today as I'd planned to do, but you know what? I don't care. *g*

Go you!

Date: 2005-08-28 08:31 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] catiadoodle.livejournal.com
You are indeed, as enthousiastic IRL as in your LJ, which is great !

On the other hand, I have now tons of other show I have to watch, dammit ! *g*

Date: 2005-08-29 05:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] aswanargent.livejournal.com
Hmmm, yes, Mouse does have that effect on people. I'm watching Numb3rs and Dead Zone all because of her. *g*

Date: 2005-08-27 10:54 pm (UTC)
crazybutsound: (Default)
From: [personal profile] crazybutsound
Oh, how I wish I'd been there... You better all do it again some time so I can join! ;-)

Date: 2005-08-28 09:06 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
It would have been perfect if you and GD and Aline had been there, next time? Actually, we need to do a Fierté Slasheuse in Lyon *nodnod*

Some assistance, plese?

Date: 2005-08-27 11:25 pm (UTC)
winterhart: (Default)
From: [personal profile] winterhart
I've got song lyrics on my LJ... in French... from a J/D wallpaper... My french is WAY rusty for that.

When you have a chance, no rush.

Date: 2005-08-27 11:25 pm (UTC)
greedy_dancer: (Default)
From: [personal profile] greedy_dancer
awww! so glad to hear it all went well, not that i was having any doubts, but you know? it's nice to hear you all had a blast! i'll speculate that GH is me? lol. we better do it again, i'm telling you! i have your number now! lol

Date: 2005-08-28 09:08 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
I do know, I felt the same way *g*

Also damn! I always call you GH, dunno why *sigh* But yeah that was you alright lol We'll do it again, don't you worry. And we'll do one-on-one, anyway *g*

We might also go to Lyon one of these days?

Date: 2005-08-27 11:54 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
place saint michel? luxembourg? Album? *misses Paris like crazy*

wow it sounded like a fantastic time! I'm glad you guys got along (then again, when you already get a along on LJ, there wasn't much of a suspense!)

Date: 2005-08-28 09:10 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
We had quite the Parisian day - though Starbucks is hardly French, but you know what I mean lol

Well that was the question actually - would we get along in the flesh as well? Cause there's always a dout, ya know... so far, I've never been disappointed but I always worry about that *g*

Date: 2005-08-28 01:59 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] oohlaphlegm.livejournal.com
place saint michel? luxembourg? Album? *misses Paris like crazy*
Ahahaha that's weird, I just said practically the same thing. ;D

Date: 2005-08-28 07:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] babycakesin.livejournal.com
*giggles* *high fives*

Date: 2005-08-28 12:07 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dont-callmebabe.livejournal.com
*delighted to meet you all*

Date: 2005-08-28 09:10 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Likewise! Obviously lol

Date: 2005-08-28 09:54 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] catiadoodle.livejournal.com
no awkward silences or anything, you know?

I'm always worried of awkward silences, since they are my specialty and I tend to dread them, but you really managed to avoid that. You're quite talkative, which for me is always a reassuring trait. <33

No, seriously, we did meta

Ha ha, you make it sound like we were a gathering of intellectuals discussing the way of the world. But you're right, hey, we're French and have a reputation to hold. *g*

It really was a nice day, I didn't think about my dead cat at all, and I enjoyed a lot talking freely about slash and shows and travels and... OK I stop, you summed it up perfectly already. *g*

Date: 2005-08-28 03:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
Those are the worst - so I'm definitely glad we avoided them *g* And I think we were all pretty talkative, anyway :-)

I already said it, but I'm glad we could take your mind off your cat - albeit without knowing we were doing it...

Date: 2005-08-28 01:58 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] oohlaphlegm.livejournal.com
Aaaaaaaaargh you torture me!!!!!! Saint Michel? Jardin de Luxembourg? Album? Starbucks? AND slash?????

Me wants. Me wants. Me wants. *pleurniche* :(((((((

I'm glad you had a fab time though. It sounds awesome. :)

Date: 2005-08-28 03:21 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
I can imagine how frustrating it is for you *hugs*

It was awesome - not that I want to insist on the awesomeness of the day, of course lol

Date: 2005-08-29 10:48 am (UTC)
ext_1650: (trickc squee)
From: [identity profile] turps33.livejournal.com
What a fabulous day!

I so love meeting fellow slashers/fans and it sounds like you just had the perfect day. So did you tempt some of them to the dark side of the slashy world? ;)

But yes, I so love reading about slash meet ups like that, and having the details, like the coffee, hmmmmm, just made it even better!

I'm so glad you had such a great day!

Date: 2005-08-31 09:17 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
It was fantastic! And meeting with fellow slashers/fans is just wonderful. It was quite special that day too, cause it was the first time I met more than one slasher at the same time, know what I mean? That was good!

So did you tempt some of them to the dark side of the slashy world? ;)

Some of them were already there lol But no, I didn't do any kind proselytism or anything *snicker* Well, I certainly talked about the dark side of the slash, of course, it's just different lol

Date: 2005-08-30 09:08 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] yami-tai.livejournal.com
It sounds like you had a wonderful time ^__________^! And you mentioning the Album brought back happy memories for me ^_~!

Date: 2005-08-31 09:17 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com
I had a blast, really *happy sigh*

And yeah, it did bring back happy memories for me too *g*

Profile

castalie: If you know who made this icon, please tell me so that I can properly credit? Tia (Default)
Mouse

January 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 10:08 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios