Lost - Walkabout
Oct. 16th, 2004 11:39 amI know that out of the 148 people who read my LJ --though we all know that you can be put on a filter and never be read, so the real number may be way different-- only, like, 6 are actually interested in Lost, which as ratio goes is pretty uneven, but that's LJ life for you - so yeah yet another Lost post *g*
Sooooooooo I finally watched it! Had to do it this morning as a matter of fact because I didn't have time last night, though it's okay because last night was great - we ate a mean raclette with some delicious pastries for desserts and it was just cool being at my sister's *g*
Anyway, let's go back to the subject at hands :
The episode was a tad calmer than what I thought considering how 'calm' the previous one was, but I absolutely can't say I was disappointed or anything because dude! This show is so bloody good and messes with my head like you wouldn't believe! Well, unless you're into it as well, because in that case you know what I'm talking about - and it messes with us in such a good way, too *happy sigh*
So let's not waste time and let's talk about THE main twist of this episode - because the shock I had during the few seconds I'm thinking about here was of epic proportion. So okay, we're learning more about Locke and I'm suddenly thinking that his creepiness may be diminishing on my creepy-o-meter after all. What do you know, he's human - woohoo! Sure, he's apparently a human with issues because he seems so intent on doing the walkabout that's it's bordering on obsessive and his boss is such a fucking asshole and when we realise who Helen exactly is it brings some new 'light' on his character again, but so far so good, right? Who doesn't have issue and who doesn't have a jerk for a boss? As for Helen... well huh, why not? I'm sure he has his reasonswhich he sure had, btw.
Anyway, that's when TPTB decide to mess with our heads!
So I'm watching the scene in the little office in Australia and I'm wondering about his condition, because that's what I'm supposed to do, ya know? Hmm so does he have cancer, then? Or maybe a heart condition? Because man, I'm trying to find some 'conditions' that could work and sure those two are sooo obvious but still, it could have worked, right? Besides, it has to be one serious condition because the Other Guy isn't going to change his mind apparently - and poor Locke is getting so angry. Well yeah, I can imagine his disappointment if he's been waiting for this for years.
Then the Other Guy stands up and Locke starts to yell and-- HOLY SHIT he's in a WHEELCHAIR!! A wheelchair! Dude, are you listening to me?? He's in a wheelchair and from what he told the OG he's been in one for the last four years... but-- but... he's walking now, I mean no seriously he is! Oh boy! That's just... wow! This twist? Was so far out of my mind that it didn't even register on the radar *wide eyes*
So yeah, now we know what was the miracle he was talking about when he was speaking with Walt. Because yeah, talk about a miracle, wow *blink*
And let's stay with Locke. What did he see exactly? Because The Thing was right in his face, right? And why didn't it kill him btw? And why doesn't he want to say anything? But you know, if I were him? I wouldn't be so impatient to be rescued because considering all the weird shit happening in that place, I couldn't help feeling that the island made me walk again so I wouldn't be in any hurry to leave it and go back to the 'real' world. And of course it can have a logical and rational explanation but still, we can have no certainty with that show - yet *g* But if I were Locke again? I would go and ask Jack. If someone could answer my questions about this new miracle, I guess he would be the one... unless you're afraid of the answer, in which case you just don't say anything. Also, you don't want all the attention that kind of news would bring you, I get that too.
Now, my favourite guy *g* I could say there wasn't enough Charlie in that episode, but seriously the few scenes we had with him were just a blast so I'm a happy Charlie fan. First because I had two scenes with junkie!Charlie which is a storyline I simply adore, in case you hadn't noticed yet. Second because the fishing scene with Hurley? Was so bloody cute! And it felt so good seeing two of the survivors laughing like they did. And third because the scene right after Boone apologised on his sister's behalf for 'using' him and the look he had just broke my heart and made me love him even more. hurt!Chalie really appeals to my inner angst queen. So all in all? It was perfect! Also, my guy is coming at the end of his stash!! Angst - woe - withdrawal - happy Mouse!
Sayid was great as well. He has such charisma that man, it's incredible!
Rose broke my heart and gave me another little twist in a way. Here I thought she was finally going to accept to join the group and at least try to start her mourning process and then bam, she talks about how her husband doesn't need her to say a few words for him during the little memorial --which was a beautiful idea btw, and I was glad to see Claire do it-- because of course he's still alive - and at the same time what she said about the ones who are supposedly dead intrigued me. I mean, when I watch that show, I can never take everything at face value. So, was that just Rose in denial and refusing to believe her husband was dead, or was that some kind of hint we're supposed to grab? Like... maybe what she said actually is really important to the enigma we're all following.
Something else I liked in her characters is how she's grieving and not reacting well. Someone needs to do that, and with our active merry little band? We didn't exactly see it. Shannon was kind of Denial Girl though she took action too at one point but as whole, she's just selfish and manipulative - so somehow, I prefer Rose lol
I really don't know what to think of the whole situation. I know some people have suggested that maybe they're all dead in reality and everything, and I woud love to believe that but what about Marshall Guy, then? If they were all dead, why would someone, huh.. well die on them? If they're lost in some kind of weird dimension/reality or whatnot, Marshall Guy still comes to give me some more headache, because I can't understand what his role could have been - if he had any role to begin with.
Also, as if the situation wasn't mysterious and creepy enough, we now have Dark Suit Guy appearing out of nowhere and turning out to be Jack's dad - or at least that's what we're supposed to believe from the preview. Man! And is it a coincidence that Jack mentioned his family --and I'm sure he was focusing on his father when he did-- then bam! We're apparently seeing his dad? What's the deaaaaaaaaaaaal?
Oh boy this show is SO awesome! *bounces*
Oh and something that amused me a lot? How Michael chose the only person who didn't speak English to keep an eye on his son. Yeah, good move, Walt.
This is becoming my new motto but seriously - am still madly in love with that show. Maybe more each time *g*
And now, if I have time before leaving, I'll go and read the essay on Andrew that was posted at
idol_reflection and I'll try to reply to some mails *g*
Also, when are we going to get the results for
sentinelsecrets? *bounces* The deadline is over, right? Or not yet over there?
Sooooooooo I finally watched it! Had to do it this morning as a matter of fact because I didn't have time last night, though it's okay because last night was great - we ate a mean raclette with some delicious pastries for desserts and it was just cool being at my sister's *g*
Anyway, let's go back to the subject at hands :
The episode was a tad calmer than what I thought considering how 'calm' the previous one was, but I absolutely can't say I was disappointed or anything because dude! This show is so bloody good and messes with my head like you wouldn't believe! Well, unless you're into it as well, because in that case you know what I'm talking about - and it messes with us in such a good way, too *happy sigh*
So let's not waste time and let's talk about THE main twist of this episode - because the shock I had during the few seconds I'm thinking about here was of epic proportion. So okay, we're learning more about Locke and I'm suddenly thinking that his creepiness may be diminishing on my creepy-o-meter after all. What do you know, he's human - woohoo! Sure, he's apparently a human with issues because he seems so intent on doing the walkabout that's it's bordering on obsessive and his boss is such a fucking asshole and when we realise who Helen exactly is it brings some new 'light' on his character again, but so far so good, right? Who doesn't have issue and who doesn't have a jerk for a boss? As for Helen... well huh, why not? I'm sure he has his reasons
Anyway, that's when TPTB decide to mess with our heads!
So I'm watching the scene in the little office in Australia and I'm wondering about his condition, because that's what I'm supposed to do, ya know? Hmm so does he have cancer, then? Or maybe a heart condition? Because man, I'm trying to find some 'conditions' that could work and sure those two are sooo obvious but still, it could have worked, right? Besides, it has to be one serious condition because the Other Guy isn't going to change his mind apparently - and poor Locke is getting so angry. Well yeah, I can imagine his disappointment if he's been waiting for this for years.
Then the Other Guy stands up and Locke starts to yell and-- HOLY SHIT he's in a WHEELCHAIR!! A wheelchair! Dude, are you listening to me?? He's in a wheelchair and from what he told the OG he's been in one for the last four years... but-- but... he's walking now, I mean no seriously he is! Oh boy! That's just... wow! This twist? Was so far out of my mind that it didn't even register on the radar *wide eyes*
So yeah, now we know what was the miracle he was talking about when he was speaking with Walt. Because yeah, talk about a miracle, wow *blink*
And let's stay with Locke. What did he see exactly? Because The Thing was right in his face, right? And why didn't it kill him btw? And why doesn't he want to say anything? But you know, if I were him? I wouldn't be so impatient to be rescued because considering all the weird shit happening in that place, I couldn't help feeling that the island made me walk again so I wouldn't be in any hurry to leave it and go back to the 'real' world. And of course it can have a logical and rational explanation but still, we can have no certainty with that show - yet *g* But if I were Locke again? I would go and ask Jack. If someone could answer my questions about this new miracle, I guess he would be the one... unless you're afraid of the answer, in which case you just don't say anything. Also, you don't want all the attention that kind of news would bring you, I get that too.
Now, my favourite guy *g* I could say there wasn't enough Charlie in that episode, but seriously the few scenes we had with him were just a blast so I'm a happy Charlie fan. First because I had two scenes with junkie!Charlie which is a storyline I simply adore, in case you hadn't noticed yet. Second because the fishing scene with Hurley? Was so bloody cute! And it felt so good seeing two of the survivors laughing like they did. And third because the scene right after Boone apologised on his sister's behalf for 'using' him and the look he had just broke my heart and made me love him even more. hurt!Chalie really appeals to my inner angst queen. So all in all? It was perfect! Also, my guy is coming at the end of his stash!! Angst - woe - withdrawal - happy Mouse!
Sayid was great as well. He has such charisma that man, it's incredible!
Rose broke my heart and gave me another little twist in a way. Here I thought she was finally going to accept to join the group and at least try to start her mourning process and then bam, she talks about how her husband doesn't need her to say a few words for him during the little memorial --which was a beautiful idea btw, and I was glad to see Claire do it-- because of course he's still alive - and at the same time what she said about the ones who are supposedly dead intrigued me. I mean, when I watch that show, I can never take everything at face value. So, was that just Rose in denial and refusing to believe her husband was dead, or was that some kind of hint we're supposed to grab? Like... maybe what she said actually is really important to the enigma we're all following.
Something else I liked in her characters is how she's grieving and not reacting well. Someone needs to do that, and with our active merry little band? We didn't exactly see it. Shannon was kind of Denial Girl though she took action too at one point but as whole, she's just selfish and manipulative - so somehow, I prefer Rose lol
I really don't know what to think of the whole situation. I know some people have suggested that maybe they're all dead in reality and everything, and I woud love to believe that but what about Marshall Guy, then? If they were all dead, why would someone, huh.. well die on them? If they're lost in some kind of weird dimension/reality or whatnot, Marshall Guy still comes to give me some more headache, because I can't understand what his role could have been - if he had any role to begin with.
Also, as if the situation wasn't mysterious and creepy enough, we now have Dark Suit Guy appearing out of nowhere and turning out to be Jack's dad - or at least that's what we're supposed to believe from the preview. Man! And is it a coincidence that Jack mentioned his family --and I'm sure he was focusing on his father when he did-- then bam! We're apparently seeing his dad? What's the deaaaaaaaaaaaal?
Oh boy this show is SO awesome! *bounces*
Oh and something that amused me a lot? How Michael chose the only person who didn't speak English to keep an eye on his son. Yeah, good move, Walt.
This is becoming my new motto but seriously - am still madly in love with that show. Maybe more each time *g*
And now, if I have time before leaving, I'll go and read the essay on Andrew that was posted at
Also, when are we going to get the results for
no subject
Date: 2004-10-16 02:23 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-10-16 11:27 am (UTC)So about the raclette, right? La raclette is one of my favourite meal, seriously. Don't know if you already know about it and what's it's called over there but let's try this :
The first thing you need when you're doing a raclette is a raclette machine (http://www.goldaskitchen.com/merchant.ihtml?id=110&pid=2535&step=4). Because see, without it, it's not a real raclette *makes face* Une raclette is basically melted cheese which you serve over boiled potatoes and which you eat accompanied with charcuterie, ie ham and other 'dried meat'. We usually choose seven or eight different kind of charcuterie to go with it. We also add quail eggs to the whole thing because those eggs are small enough to fit the 'block' we use to melt the cheese *g*
It's called a 'raclette' after the verb 'racler', which means 'to scrape' - because we scrape the melted cheese off the 'block'.
Don't think I'm explaining that well, but I'm afraid I don't know all the English words to translate it *sheepish look* Just trust my words when I tell you it's delicious! Though it's not the kind of meal we'd cook to start a diet! lol
no subject
Date: 2004-10-17 06:03 am (UTC)That's just SO yummy!
I love French food btw. Well, mediteranean food. Or just good food. ;)
My strongest memories of France are of bathing and sun and great food, even as a child. I had crepes with lemon and coconut. And I had lemon icecream in a REAL lemon skin! :D
I can't wait to go to France and have a Fruits de Mère or whatsitcalled?
no subject
Date: 2004-10-17 02:47 pm (UTC)What place did you use to visit when you were a child, then?
no subject
Date: 2004-10-18 04:24 pm (UTC)I've been in Paris twice...and on Ile d'Yeu (spelling?)...and Dunkirk (I think it was) and just around Bordeaux, I think.
I just remember beautiful landscapes. Seeing real maize for the first time. Real grapes! And the beaches...and the food!
no subject
Date: 2004-10-16 02:55 am (UTC)Shannon is his not!sister ::nods and pokes::
And how do you know the guy was Jack's dad btw? Are you spoiler whoring for next week? He reminded me of a sane Cheese Guy from Btvs.
no subject
Date: 2004-10-16 11:31 am (UTC)Technically we can't say it was his dad, but it was getting too complicated otherwise lol And as odd as it may sound, I'm getting into that show totally spoiler-free. I decided it would be even better this way *g*
Wait, the only 'spoilers' I get is the preview for the next episode but as spoiler goes it's not much because they know how to trick us all with their little scenes *g*
no subject
Date: 2004-10-16 11:43 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-10-16 12:33 pm (UTC)You definitely have a point here lol
no subject
Date: 2004-10-16 04:38 am (UTC)And yeah, I figure I'm on a lot of filters *g*
no subject
Date: 2004-10-16 11:32 am (UTC)Can't wait to see what you'll have to say about it *bounces*
no subject
Date: 2004-10-16 06:27 am (UTC)Yes! This was *exactly* what I was saying! I was all, "Oh no, they're killing the creepy Locke character and making him just a sad old man!" and then - WHAM! A fucking WHEELCHAIR! I was floored.
Love, love, LOVE this show. So glad you're getting to see it too!
(And psst! Do you read
no subject
Date: 2004-10-16 12:23 pm (UTC)The POLAR BEAR omg!1!!11!
And now we have :
The WHEELCHAIR omg!1!!11!
This is just too good!
I think I remember you mentioning her and at the time I needed to see the episode for myself so I delayed my reading the recap and huh yeah I forgot *cough* But I'll run to your memories to remedy it, thanks *g*
no subject
Date: 2004-10-16 07:06 am (UTC)Ugh, I have so little free time since I started back to school... ;_;
no subject
Date: 2004-10-16 12:26 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-10-16 08:13 am (UTC)*shrugs*
I still loved the episode though, so it really doesn't matter. :-)
We're apparently seeing his dad? What's the deaaaaaaaaaaaal?
In my honest opinion? Jack's seeing things.
no subject
Date: 2004-10-16 12:32 pm (UTC)And that would be so lame, I hope it's something different *crosses fingers* Of course, it'd be a nice way to drive everyone crazy with their even crazier theories - to cloud the issue or something *g*
Lost
Date: 2004-10-16 04:37 pm (UTC)Also - your story (#8, right?) was lovely - didn't guess correctly, but I'm new, so most of mine were wild guesses anyway. *g*
Re: Lost
Date: 2004-10-16 04:49 pm (UTC)But let me congratulate you on your decision to start taping Lost *applauds*
Get up to speed? You mean, somewhere where you can get the episodes and everything? In any case, I have all the four episodes on my HD and I can upload them and YSI them to you, if you want *g*
Yes #8 was mine. Did they finally announce the results, then? Need to refresh my flist, methinks lol
And thank you Audra *g* I actually saw your comment over there but wanted to wait until the time was up. I know I could have logged out and be done with it, but in case someone replies you don't get the notification and I thought it would be simpler to wait a little bit *g* But thanks a lot for your great comments, it's always a pleasure to see your fic worked for some of your readers *g*
Oh and if you didn't guess correctly, may I ask who you thought I was? I'm curiouuuuuuuus lol
Re: Lost
Date: 2004-10-16 05:37 pm (UTC)This is humiliating, but I don't know what YSI means ::covers eyes:: It also sounds like a lot of work for you - is it a big deal? But if possible, very cool!
And... I thought #8 was written by Carodee (in my book, this is quite a compliment - I love her stuff) I won't tell you which one I thought was yours, b/c it was honestly a guess. I can tell you I'll be looking for your future stories, however! *bg*
Re: Lost
Date: 2004-10-17 02:45 am (UTC)It's not a lot of work for me, promise. It just sometimes takes a long time depending on how big the files are, but I don't mind *g* I don't think I'll go out today so I'll upload Lost 1x01 for you *g* Also, here the link for Lost 1x04. I know it's like beginning at the end, but you don't need to watch it yet, and since I uploaded it yesterday, let's take advantage of it, right?
http://s7.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=179D6494D8496A053852A12C885D3BFA
And I definitely this is a compliment because I love Carodee's work too, so thanks *g* And thank you so much for the interest too *g* So huh... did you read the fics I already wrote? The ones that were archived on my site/852 Prospect then? Just in case *g*
Re: Lost
Date: 2004-10-17 04:52 am (UTC)You may want to download Lost 1x01 first *g*
Date: 2004-10-17 11:52 am (UTC)So here the link for Lost 1x01 :
http://s11.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=BBDB3B7CC8C9791723E363C3B6713FE6
Enjoy *g*
Re: You may want to download Lost 1x01 first *g*
Date: 2004-10-17 12:47 pm (UTC)Thank you so, so much for doing this - I feel bad that it took so long, though. I'm sure this will be enough to get me up to speed for this week's episode. :-) You rock, girl!
Re: You may want to download Lost 1x01 first *g*
Date: 2004-10-17 11:49 pm (UTC)And you're most welcome. I'm thrilled I can share the love with someone else *g*
Re: You may want to download Lost 1x01 first *g*
Date: 2004-10-18 04:02 am (UTC)Again, if it doesn't work, don't hesitate to tell me, I'll just go back to YSI *g*
Re: You may want to download Lost 1x01 first *g*
Date: 2004-10-18 05:16 pm (UTC)Oh well *g*. I'm going to watch 4 tonight, and then 5 tomorrow - I got the set-up, which is the important part! Thanks again for doing this - I so appreciate the time you spent. I'm going to screen cap Charlie while I watch - Said too (I loved him in English Patient).
Re: You may want to download Lost 1x01 first *g*
Date: 2004-10-19 12:58 am (UTC)In the meantime, here 1x03 :
http://s11.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=88E7066BC335C2C8695A170BB2E12BDD
And I'm really happy to be doing this. Usually, I'm the one who asked for help, so I'm glad to be the one on the giving end this time lol
Re: You may want to download Lost 1x01 first *g*
Date: 2004-10-19 08:10 am (UTC)I've said this a lot, but thanks! ::lj hug:: *g*
Re: You may want to download Lost 1x01 first *g*
Date: 2004-10-19 12:21 pm (UTC)http://s11.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=1F964E3944DA742891D6A40DC9600E3B
Should work like a charm this time. YSI may be capricious like I said, but when it works, we can really trust it to work good lol
YES!! 1x01 first *g*
Date: 2004-10-19 02:39 pm (UTC)Re: YES!! 1x01 first *g*
Date: 2004-10-19 02:43 pm (UTC)And you're welcome *g* Now you'll be able to catch up with the rest of us... and before me actually, since I usually have to wait until Thursday before being able to download the new episode, which is still a miracle because otherwise... I would have to wait forever!
Thank you!!
Date: 2004-10-17 09:37 pm (UTC)Completely hooked - the crash was hellish, I think I'm in love with Jack, and what the HELL was that thing in the woods?
Thank you so much! In fact, I made you the hot Boone thank you icon by my name. He's all yours if you want him - I just have to figure out how to get him to you. I'll figure it out. I'll make you others if you like - who is your favorite character?
I have two wishes for this series: 1, that there is eventually a reason to slash Jack and Boone, (oh, please!)and 2, I hope these guys have access to razors, b/c they will be lots less attractive with huge ZZ Top beards.
Thanks again!:-)
Re: Thank you!!
Date: 2004-10-18 12:01 am (UTC)I have someone on my flist who's going to fly to Spain soon and she suddenly started to talk about how she hopes she's not going to die a horrible death over there and that she had to thank Lost for the wonderful thought! lol
And WOOHOO you're hooked too? Man, I was hooked at once as well. Totally and hopelessly. It's like a new crack or something for me lol So I'm glad you're seeing the attraction too *g*
Ohhh you made an icon for me? How sweet! I'm addicted to icons! Even when I can't use them all immediately, I keep them all safe in my little icon folder and treasure them until I can use them. Thankyouthankyou *g* Also, to send the icon to me, can't you just email it my way? I mean, you could post it on LJ --upload it on a photo hosting site, then paste its code here or on your own LJ-- but it's usually simpled to just mail them *g*
And my favourite character is Charlie *g* I love him to pieces *happy sigh* It's funny because I've never been a Dominic Monaghan fan - that is, I liked him well enough in LoTR but I wasn't obsessing over him but in Lost? I fell hard for his character *hugs poor hurt!Charlie*
So far and on the slash department, you usually hear about Sayid/Charlie *raises hands here* and Jack/Boone so you chose wisely lol And for the razors I see your point, I'm also thinking of all the women and hope they'll find something to shave/wax too because in their little shorts? Would definitely look like the yeti at some point! lol Though of course, they won't show that little side effect of living on an island, I'm sure lol Though bis, let's say they did find wax and stuff in the remaining of the stuff on the plane.
no subject
Date: 2004-10-17 09:47 am (UTC)Oh, really! Wow, I didn't know that; Matt and I were just discussing the whole 'man in suit' hallucination and what it could mean yesterday but we didn't come up with that!
no subject
Date: 2004-10-17 09:49 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-10-17 09:54 am (UTC)*pouts* You got a preview of the next episode... the .avi file I downloaded cut off just before the credits *pouts more*!
no subject
Date: 2004-10-17 09:51 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-10-17 09:57 am (UTC)*grins* Yeah, Matt and I have been spending some quality time together this weekend so no 'puter time for me. It has been really nice but now I need an LJ fix ^_~!
no subject
Date: 2004-10-18 04:47 am (UTC)No comment on the 'heartbreaking look', we did that on my LJ already (but take Sirius for instance: it's his funny side I love the most in him, not his angst potential - and I hadn't talked about Sirius in a while so no it's not OT - just a little bit)
Re: 'what's the deaaaaaaal?' - dude, I sure want to know *looks forward to next Thursday*
no subject
Date: 2004-10-19 02:11 am (UTC)No comment indeed *g* Oh I like Charlie's fun side as well, the guy cracks me up, but this wasn't even remotely funny to me, like we both established.
Two days left only.. or you know, three if the little fiasco of last week happens again, which huh won't happen of course!
no subject
Date: 2004-10-19 04:05 am (UTC)