I'm enjoying Cold Case a little more with each new episode, and considering it was literally love at first sight, well it's saying something! I love pretty much everything about that series - and I know I already mentioned it in my little squeeing report last week, but I don't care it's true. The main characters, the secondary characters, the storylines, the flashbacks, the turn from current!version to younger!one, the atmosphere, the music, the poignancy of the cases, the characterisation... everything is a hit as far as I'm concerned. If I had to pick a favourite moment though, it would be the very last minute or so of each episode... those very last scenes are so very moving each time, so poignant that they sometimes give me goosebumps, I can't explain exactly why but the the sense of closure and peace we get during this very last minute really speaks to me.
Something else I love is the songs we can hear throughout the flashbacks, truly adds to the atmosphere. Oh and I'm still in love with the show's theme song - and I know there's practically no chance I'll get a reply here but just in case... would someone by any chance have the song? It's apparently Nara by E.S Posthumus. I tried to find it but iMesh hates me so yeah... in case someone has the song - you never know, after all - could you send it to me via YouSendIt? I'd be eternally grateful.
Today's episodes were Disco Inferno which amused me here and there because the whole Disco scene always makes me smile, though the case in itself wasn't funny at all obviously, and Volunteers. This second episode was my favourite for several reasons. Well first I just love the American 50's/60's so it was right in my alley and second because I had several lovely little surprises in that episode - the kind that the TV geek that I am find amusing every time *g* Among the cast, I found Amber Benson who played one of the two victims/future victims and Maggie Grace who played a girl who wanted to abort and had to find an underground organisation to help her. She was so very difference from our Lost!Shannon but I recognised her immediately! She's pretty even as a brunette btw *g*
The second thing that amused was that I recognised Bernard Lanneau and Lionel Tua's voices dubbing two of the characters, and those two happen to be the actors who respectively dub RG and GM in The Sentinel. Too bad the two characters didn't have a single scene together in Volunteers because that would have been fun - Jim and Blair's voices... only not *g*
On a different note. I wonder if some of you followed the little flame war against Darkdreamer and her Seduction to Submission series? Because I've been more or less reading the aforementioned series and I saw last night that she'd posted a new part and after reading first the warnings about said new part and second the new fic in question, I couldn't help wondering whether she'd always planned on writing this little piece or if she more or less decided to write it in response to the negative and ever-so-over-the-top reactions her series provoked. And I really hope she always intended to write it because if she did it just for all the people who flamed her and couldn't take the hint and just stop reading her series since they obviously loathed it, well I really think it was a waste of time. Why justify yourself anyway? Then again, she may have thought about writing this new part from the beginning and if that's the case, well it's just good timing.
Considering all the stupid drama over the series I don't feel like she would welcome my question, the girl must be tired of talking about her motivation and so on and so forth, but I'm sure curious about it, I'll admit.
Something else I love is the songs we can hear throughout the flashbacks, truly adds to the atmosphere. Oh and I'm still in love with the show's theme song - and I know there's practically no chance I'll get a reply here but just in case... would someone by any chance have the song? It's apparently Nara by E.S Posthumus. I tried to find it but iMesh hates me so yeah... in case someone has the song - you never know, after all - could you send it to me via YouSendIt? I'd be eternally grateful.
Today's episodes were Disco Inferno which amused me here and there because the whole Disco scene always makes me smile, though the case in itself wasn't funny at all obviously, and Volunteers. This second episode was my favourite for several reasons. Well first I just love the American 50's/60's so it was right in my alley and second because I had several lovely little surprises in that episode - the kind that the TV geek that I am find amusing every time *g* Among the cast, I found Amber Benson who played one of the two victims/future victims and Maggie Grace who played a girl who wanted to abort and had to find an underground organisation to help her. She was so very difference from our Lost!Shannon but I recognised her immediately! She's pretty even as a brunette btw *g*
The second thing that amused was that I recognised Bernard Lanneau and Lionel Tua's voices dubbing two of the characters, and those two happen to be the actors who respectively dub RG and GM in The Sentinel. Too bad the two characters didn't have a single scene together in Volunteers because that would have been fun - Jim and Blair's voices... only not *g*
On a different note. I wonder if some of you followed the little flame war against Darkdreamer and her Seduction to Submission series? Because I've been more or less reading the aforementioned series and I saw last night that she'd posted a new part and after reading first the warnings about said new part and second the new fic in question, I couldn't help wondering whether she'd always planned on writing this little piece or if she more or less decided to write it in response to the negative and ever-so-over-the-top reactions her series provoked. And I really hope she always intended to write it because if she did it just for all the people who flamed her and couldn't take the hint and just stop reading her series since they obviously loathed it, well I really think it was a waste of time. Why justify yourself anyway? Then again, she may have thought about writing this new part from the beginning and if that's the case, well it's just good timing.
Considering all the stupid drama over the series I don't feel like she would welcome my question, the girl must be tired of talking about her motivation and so on and so forth, but I'm sure curious about it, I'll admit.
no subject
Date: 2004-10-24 09:39 am (UTC)I confess I have been a bit cynical about the whole thing, especially the idea that she got TOS'ed from geocities when someone complained. D/S is not a kink of mine, hence I haven't been particularly interested in the series, especially not with a Blair that is that far OOC. But the melodrama over the whole thing kept me coming back to read her latest bits of outrage posted on her (now defunct) webpage -- very much along the lines of the famous Anne Rice wank that was up on Amazon (you don't understand me! I *know* what I am talking about, I am a professional! If you don't understand the problem is with you!). I've also found it amusing that she complains about the attention and ostracism yet posts to the 852 Prospect archive. Judging by her posts on some of the lists she is still posting to, she is greatly enjoying all of this.
Having said that, I am not sure *why* people felt it was so necessary to send her negative feedback, except that she kept encouraging them.
no subject
Date: 2004-10-24 10:00 am (UTC)I am not sure *why* people felt it was so necessary to send her negative feedback
People aren't ever happier than when they started a new wank, flamed someone and just bitched and vented about the smallest stupidest things, that's why - fandom taught me that. Darkdreamer and her series were just the perfect target, they'll find another one soon enough. And as for encouraging them... I'm usually for ignoring wankers myself but if it brought her more readers, I'd say it's a nice revenge *g*
no subject
Date: 2004-10-24 10:34 am (UTC)And what I meant was:
a) Naruto
b) un documentaire sur la loutre: "24 heures dans la vie de Kiki, loutre hermaphrodite"
c) un débat sur l'influence du cinema Ouzbek sur les studios Gibli
and the question was: what did you do this weekend? *giggles*
*points at icon* Kakashi sensei. C'est juste pour te mettre sur la bonne voie *g*
no subject
Date: 2004-10-24 02:00 pm (UTC)And I say 'practically' because Lost is here of course *nodnod*
no subject
Date: 2004-10-27 03:44 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-10-29 01:17 pm (UTC)Btw? This comment is purely to make the number of comments on the thread even. Yours didn't exactly need a reply, I know *g*
no subject
Date: 2004-10-31 02:33 am (UTC)yeah, I know, that was pretty useless as well lol
no subject
Date: 2004-10-31 02:37 am (UTC)Btw? Hi, honey *kisses*
no subject
Date: 2004-10-31 02:38 am (UTC)this is me, pushing for comments to make thread even *whistles innoncently*
no subject
Date: 2004-10-31 02:42 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-10-31 02:46 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-10-31 03:10 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-10-31 03:24 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-10-31 05:39 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-10-25 09:34 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-10-25 10:02 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-10-31 07:45 am (UTC)Pat
:-)
no subject
Date: 2004-10-31 08:56 am (UTC)In other words, your average ranty and whiny fanfic readers *shrug*